DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41-43, 45-49, 54-63 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2023/0262827 A1), hereinafter “LIU” in view of Huang et al. (US 2024/0031880 A1), hereinafter “HUANG”
Regarding claim 41, LIU teaches, ‘A method for a source donor centralized unit (CU) in
an integrated access backhaul (IAB) wireless network, the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0007], communication method applied to an integrated access and backhaul IAB system. Paragraph [0169], The donor node (IAB donor) may be an access network element having a complete base station function, or may be in a form in which a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) are separated, that is, the donor node includes a central unit of a donor base station and a distributed unit of the donor base station. Paragraph [0225], source IAB donor-CU (for example, the IAB donor-CU 1 in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4) through the source IAB donor-DU (for example, the IAB donor-DU 1 in the FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4)):
‘determining that traffic between the source donor CU and a top-level IAB node in the wireless network needs to be offloaded to a target donor CU in the wireless network;’ (Paragraphs [0225]-[0226], in inter-donor CU RRC re-establishment scenarios shown in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4, the recovery IAB-MT (namely, an MT part of the first IAB node) is connected to the source IAB donor-CU through the source IAB donor-DU. After the at least one of the following procedures is triggered: the RRC re-establishment procedure, the F1 connection establishment procedure, or the F1 connection reestablishment procedure, the recovery IAB-MT is connected to the target IAB donor-CU through the target IAB donor-DU. The IAB donor (corresponds to source donor CU) of the first IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) changes, changes from a source IAB donor to a target IAB donor. IAB donor connected to the first IAB node changes, for example, an inter-CU (Inter-donor-CU) RRC re-establishment (corresponds to offloaded) scenario. In this case, because the IAB donor of the first IAB node changes, the IAB donor may determine, in step S101, the configuration information of the BH RLC CH between the first IAB node and the source parent node of the first IAB node based on a message sent by the source IAB donor of the first IAB node);
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘and sending, to one or more descendant nodes of the source donor CU, a first indication that at least one configuration for traffic between the source donor CU and at least one IAB node is suspended, in association with migration of the top-level IAB node from the source donor CU to the target donor CU.’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message) to the IAB-DU (corresponds to descendant node). The F1AP message includes a transmission action indicator information (corresponds to first indication), which is used to indicate specific actions that can be taken by the gNB-DU (corresponds to IAB node) for data transmission to the UE. In an example, the transmission action indicator information can be used to indicate that the IAB-DU stop transmission of data sent from source donor CU (corresponds to suspended). Paragraph [0043], During an inter-donor CU migration procedure, the migrating IAB-node's source parent node is served by a different IAB-donor-CU than the target parent-node. FIG. 2 shows an example of an inter-donor CU (or inter-CU or inter-donor) migration. As shown therein, IAB-node 3 (corresponds to top-level IAB node) migrates between IAB-donor-CU 1 (corresponds to source donor CU) and IAB-donor-CU 2 (corresponds to target donor CU)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
Regarding claims 42 and 58, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 41, LIU further teaches, ‘wherein the first indication includes one of the following:’ (Paragraph [0249], S108: The first IAB node sends first information to a child node of the first IAB node. Paragraph [0255], S109: The child node of the first IAB node triggers at least one of the following procedures based on the first information: the RRC re-establishment, the F1 connection establishment, or the F1 connection re-establishment):
‘respective first identifiers of the at least one configuration;’ (Paragraphs [0267]-[0268], The context of the recovery IAB-MT includes a configuration of a BH RLC CH used by the recovery IAB-MT to access the source parent node (or configuration information of a BH RLC CH established on the link between the recovery IAB-MT and the source parent node), including at least one of the following information: an identifier of the BH RLC CH (BH RLC CH ID), a logical channel identifier corresponding to the BH RLC CH (BH LCH ID), an RLC configuration (RLC-config), or a logical channel configuration (LCH-config));
‘or respective second identifiers of at least one descendant node that needs to be migrated to the target donor CU, wherein each configuration is associated with only one of the descendant nodes.’ (Paragraph [0299]-[0300], indication information indicating a change of a donor-CU (corresponds to target donor CU), RRC re-establishment indication information, an identifier of a base station for the re-establishment (for example, a gNB ID), and an identifier of a cell for the re-establishment (for example, a PCI). The identifier of the cell for the re-establishment (for example, the PCI) indicates, to the child node, a cell identifier corresponding to a selected (corresponds to associated with only one) cell in the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that when performing cell selection, the child node selects the corresponding cell for the re-establishment. The identifier of the base station for the re-establishment (for example, the gNB ID) indicates, to the child node, a base station identifier corresponding to the selected cell in the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that when performing the cell selection, the child node selects a cell for the re-establishment under a specified (corresponds to associated with only one) base station (where a base station corresponding to the cell for the re-establishment is a base station identified by the gNB ID).
Regarding claim 43, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 41, LIU further teaches, further comprising: ‘after offloading the traffic to the target donor CU, determining that the traffic no longer needs to be offloaded to the target donor CU;’ (Paragraph [0209], FIG. 10-1 is an example of an inter-donor-CU RRC re-establishment (corresponds to offloading) scenario. A source IAB donor-CU (for example, an IAB donor-CU 1 in FIG. 10-1) … target IAB donor-CU (for example, an IAB donor-CU 2 in FIG. 10-1). Paragraph [0214], an RRC re-establishment procedure, an Fl connection establishment procedure, or an F1 connection re-establishment procedure, the recovery IAB-DU establishes an F1 connection to the source IAB donor-CU. The recovery IAB-DU needs to establish/re-establish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, and release the Fl connection to the source IAB donor-CU. Paragraph [0192], The IAB donor-CU remains unchanged before and after the recovery IAB-MT triggers an RRC re-establishment procedure to recover the link. Therefore, an F1 connection between the recovery IAB-DU and the IAB donor-CU remains unchanged (corresponds to no longer needs to be offloaded).
‘and sending, to the one or more descendant nodes, a second indication that that the at least one configuration is reactivated.’ (Paragraphs [0250]-[0251], the first IAB node sends, in step S108, the first information (corresponds to second indication) to the child node (corresponds to descendant node) of the first IAB node. Correspondingly, the child node of the first IAB node receives, in step S108, the first information from the first IAB node. The first information includes at least one of the following: indication information indicating the change of the IAB donor (corresponds to configuration reactivated) connected to the first IAB node, indication information indicating the RRC re-establishment, identification information of a base station for RRC re-establishment, or identification information of a cell for RRC reestablishment. The indication information indicating the change of the IAB donor connected to the first IAB node is indication information indicating the change of the donor-CU).
Regarding claim 45, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 41, LIU further teaches, wherein: ‘the descendant nodes of the source donor CU include the top-level IAB node and a source donor distributed unit (DU);’ (Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a multi-hop scenario (where at least one another IAB node exists between a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) and an IAB donor-DU (corresponds to source donor DU)) is used as an example. In an IAB intra-CU re-establishment procedure shown in FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor DU). Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. In this embodiment, an IAB node that detects a radio link failure (RLF) or an IAB node that detects a link RLF and attempts to recover may be collectively referred to as a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level node). Paragraph [0259], the first IAB node obtains the new configuration, and notifies a descendant node (the child node) to trigger the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that after the recovery IAB node performs the RRC re-establishment to the new IAB donor, the descendant node of the recovery IAB node can still work normally, and establishes/re-establishes the F1 connection to the target IAB donor);
‘and the at least one configuration for the traffic between the source donor DU and the top- level IAB node includes any of the following:’ (Paragraph [0233], in intra-donor-CU RRC re-establishment scenarios (corresponds to configuration for the traffic) shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, a parent node connected to the recovery IAB node (namely, the first IAB node – corresponds to top-level IAB node) changes, changes from the IAB donor-DU 1 (correspond to source donor DU) to the IAB donor-DU 2):
‘mapping configurations for downlink (DL) traffic at the source donor DU; (Paragraph [0199], Step 11: The IAB-donor-CU configures a corresponding BH RLC channel and BAP route configuration for the target path of the recovery IAB-MT, and configures a DL bearer mapping on the target IAB donor-DU for the recovery IAB-MT (corresponds to at the source donor DU)); mapping configurations for uplink (UL) traffic at the top-level IAB node; and Internet Protocol (IP) addresses used by the top-level IAB node. ingress-egress mapping configurations for backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channels at the top-level IAB node; and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing tables at the top-level IAB node.’ (Paragraph [0279], The target IAB donor-CU (corresponds to top-level IAB node) sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the recovery IAB-MT, where the message carries a BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node, a default BH RLC CH ID and a default route routing ID newly allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node on a target path, and an IP address allocated by a target IAB donor (corresponds to BAP routing tables) to the recovery IAB node. The target path refers to a path between the recovery IAB node and the target IAB donor through the target parent node).
Regarding claim 46, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 45, LIU further teaches, wherein: ‘the descendant nodes of the source donor CU also include one or more ancestor nodes of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], Each IAB node considers a neighboring node that provides a wireless access service and/or a wireless backhaul service for the IAB node as a parent node. Correspondingly, each IAB node may be considered as a child node of the parent node of the IAB node. Alternatively, the child node may also be referred to as a lower-level node or a downstream node (corresponds to descendant nodes of the source donor CU), and the parent node may also be referred to as an upper-level node or an upstream node. Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a multi-hop scenario (where at least one another IAB node exists between a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) and an IAB donor-DU) is used as an example. In an IAB intra-CU re-establishment procedure shown in FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node – corresponds to include one or more ancestor nodes), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path – corresponds to include one or more ancestor nodes), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor-DU));
‘and the at least one configuration for the traffic between the source donor DU and the top- level IAB node also includes any of the following at the ancestor nodes of the top- level IAB node:’ (Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node – corresponds to ancestor node), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path – corresponds to ancestor node), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor-DU):
‘ingress-egress mapping configurations for backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channels;’ (Paragraph [0199], The IAB-donor-CU configures a corresponding BH RLC channel and BAP route configuration for the target path of the recovery IAB-MT, and configures a DL bearer mapping on the target IAB donor-DU for the recovery IAB-MT);
‘and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing tables.’ (Paragraph [0197], The default UL configuration includes: a configured default BH RLC channel that is used for UL F1-C/non-F1 service transmission and that is on the target path, a default backhaul adaptation protocol routing ID (backhaul adaptation protocol routing ID, BAP routing ID), and the like. Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information (corresponds to configuration at ancestors) on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU).
Regarding claim 47, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 45, LIU further teaches, wherein: ‘the descendant nodes of the source donor CU also include one or more descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], Each IAB node considers a neighboring node that provides a wireless access service and/or a wireless backhaul service for the IAB node as a parent node. Correspondingly, each IAB node may be considered as a child node of the parent node of the IAB node. Alternatively, the child node may also be referred to as a lower-level node or a downstream node (corresponds to descendant nodes of the source donor CU), and the parent node may also be referred to as an upper-level node or an upstream node. Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a multi-hop scenario (where at least one another IAB node exists between a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) and an IAB donor-DU) is used as an example. In an IAB intra-CU re-establishment procedure shown in FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node – corresponds to include one or more ancestor nodes), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path – corresponds to include one or more ancestor nodes), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor-DU));
‘and the at least one configuration for the traffic between the source donor DU and the top- level IAB node also includes any of the following used by the descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node:’ (Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU. Paragraph [0259], the first IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) obtains the new configuration, and notifies a descendant node (the child node) to trigger the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that after the recovery IAB node performs the RRC re-establishment to the new IAB donor, the descendant node of the recovery IAB node can still work normally, and establishes/re-establishes the F1 connection to the target IAB donor):
‘Internet Protocol (IP) addresses, and cell resource configurations.’ (Paragraph [0181], After accessing a network (namely, initial access) through the IAB donor, an IAB-MT may obtain configuration information of an IAB-DU from an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) server through the accessed IAB donor. The configuration information includes at least one type of the following information: an identifier (an IAB-DU id or an IAB-DU name) of the IAB-DU, cell information (a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell of the IAB-DU, a cell identity of the cell, and synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block, SS/PBCH block or SSB) information of the cell) of the IAB-DU, and a peer internet protocol (IP) address (an IP address of an IAB donor-CU) of an Fl interface of the IAB-DU. Paragraph [0279], The target IAB donor-CU sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the recovery IAB-MT, where the message carries a BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node, a default BH RLC CH ID and a default route routing ID newly allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node on a target path, and an IP address allocated by a target IAB donor to
the recovery IAB node).
Regarding claim 48, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 41, LIU further teaches, ‘wherein the traffic between the source donor CU and the at least one IAB node, for which the at least one configuration is suspended, includes traffic between the source donor CU and any of the following:’ (Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU (corresponds to traffic between the source donor CU and the at least one IAB node). Paragraph [0192], The IAB donor-CU remains unchanged before and
after the recovery IAB-MT triggers an RRC re-establishment procedure to recover the link. Therefore, an F1 connection between the recovery IAB-DU and the IAB donor-CU remains unchanged (corresponds to at least one configuration is suspended)):
‘a distributed unit (DU) part of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. An IAB-MT part of the recovery IAB node is referred to as a recovery IAB-MT and an IAB-DU part of the recovery IAB node is referred to as a recovery IAB-DU (corresponds to DU part of the top-level IAB node));
‘one or more IAB nodes that are descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0171], the IAB-DU is configured to provide an access service for a child node of the IAB-DU. Paragraph [0259], a descendant node (the child node));
‘and user equipment (UEs) served by the top-level IAB node or any of the descendent nodes.’ (Paragraph [0173], FIG. 4, UE accesses an IAB node 2. The IAB node 2 is referred to as an access IAB node of the UE (or a parent node of the UE), the UE is referred to as a child node of the IAB node 2, and a link between the UE and the IAB node 2 is referred to as an access link. Paragraph [0195], Before step 1, an IAB-donor-CU may exchange uplink user data and downlink user data with UE through the source path).
Regarding claim 49, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 41, LIU further teaches, further
comprising ‘offloading the traffic to the target donor CU based on one of the following:’ (Paragraph [0195], Before step 1, an IAB-donor-CU may exchange uplink user data and downlink user data with UE through the source path):
‘a proxy-based migration in which the top-level IAB node's mobile terminal (MT) part migrates to the target donor CU, but F1 and radio resource control (RRC) connections of top-level IAB node's distributed unit (DU) part and of all descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node remain anchored at the source donor CU;’ (Paragraph [0192], The IAB donor-CU remains unchanged before and after the recovery IAB-MT triggers an RRC re-establishment procedure to recover the link. Therefore, an Fl connection between the recovery IAB-DU and the IAB donor-CU remains unchanged);
‘or a full migration in which all F1 and RRC connections of the top-level IAB and all descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node are migrated to the target donor CU.’ (Paragraph [0214], the recovery IAB-DU needs to establish/re-establish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, and release the F1 connection to the source IAB donor-CU. Similarly, a descendant node (for example, another IAB
node) of the recovery IAB node also needs to establish/reestablish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, but the current IAB node does not support a procedure of changing an F1 connection. Paragraph [0259], the child node of the first IAB node triggers the RRC re-establishment and/or the establishment/ re-establishment of the F1 connection to the target IAB donor (corresponds to descendant node are migrated) based on the first information, so that the child node of the first IAB node performs communication in the IAB network through the first IAB node).
Regarding claim 63, LIU teaches, ‘A source donor centralized unit (CU) configured to
operate in an integrated access backhaul (IAB) wireless network, the source donor CU comprising:’ (Paragraph [0169], The donor node (IAB donor) may be an access network element having a complete base station function, or may be in a form in which a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) are separated, that is, the donor node includes a central unit of a donor base station and a distributed unit of the donor base station. Paragraph [0225], source IAB donor-CU (for example, the IAB donor-CU 1 in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4) through the source IAB donor-DU (for example, the IAB donor-DU 1 in the FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4)):
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘communication interface circuitry configured
to communicate with a target donor CU and one or more descendant nodes of the source donor CU;’ (HUANG – Paragraph [0129], The apparatus 905 can include transceiver electronics 915 to send and/or receive wireless signals over one or more communication interfaces. The apparatus 905 can include other communication interfaces for transmitting and receiving data. Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message) to the IAB-DU (corresponds to descendant node). Paragraph [0043], During an inter-donor CU migration procedure, the migrating IAB-node's source parent node is served by a different IAB-donor-CU than the target parent-node. FIG. 2 shows an example of an inter-donor CU (or inter-CU or inter-donor) migration. As shown therein, IAB-node 3 migrates between IAB-donor-CU 1 (corresponds to source donor CU) and IAB-donor-CU 2 (corresponds to target donor CU));
‘and processing circuitry operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform the method of claim 41.’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0129], An apparatus 905, such as a base station or a wireless device (or UE), can include processor electronics 910 such as a microprocessor. The apparatus 905 can include transceiver electronics 915 to send and/or receive wireless signals over one or more communication interfaces. The apparatus 905 can include other communication interfaces for transmitting and receiving data. The processor electronics 910 can include at least a portion of the transceiver electronics 915. At least some of the disclosed techniques, modules or functions are implemented using the apparatus 905).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
Regarding claim 54, LIU teaches, ‘A method for an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node in a wireless network, the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0007], communication method applied to an integrated access and backhaul IAB system):
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘receiving, from a source donor centralized unit (CU) in the wireless network, a first indication that at least one configuration for traffic between the source donor CU and at least one IAB node is suspended, in association with migration of a top-level IAB node from the source donor CU to a target donor CU in the wireless network;’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message) to the IAB-DU (corresponds to descendant node). The F1AP message includes a transmission action indicator information (corresponds to first indication), which is used to indicate specific actions that can be taken by the gNB-DU (corresponds to IAB node) for data transmission to the UE. In an example, the transmission action indicator information can be used to indicate that the IAB-DU stop transmission of data sent from source donor CU (corresponds to suspended). Paragraph [0043], During an inter-donor CU migration procedure, the migrating IAB-node's source parent node is served by a different IAB-donor-CU than the target parent-node. FIG. 2 shows an example of an inter-donor CU (or inter-CU or inter-donor) migration. As shown therein, IAB-node 3 (corresponds to top-level IAB node) migrates between IAB-donor-CU 1 (corresponds to source donor CU) and IAB-donor-CU 2 (corresponds to target donor CU));
‘and suspending the at least one configuration in accordance with the first indication.’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message) to the IAB-DU. The F1AP message includes a transmission action indicator information, which is used to indicate specific actions that can be taken by the gNB-DU for data transmission to the UE. In an example, the transmission action indicator information can be used to indicate that the IAB-DU stop transmission of data sent from source donor CU (corresponds to suspending).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
Regarding claim 55, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 54, LIU further teaches, further
comprising: ‘receiving, from the source donor CU, a second indication that that the at least one
configuration is reactivated;’ (Paragraphs [0250]-[0251], the first IAB node sends, in step S108, the first information (corresponds to second indication) to the child node of the first IAB node. Correspondingly, the child node of the first IAB node receives, in step S108, the first information from the first IAB node. The first information includes at least one of the following: indication information indicating the change of the IAB donor (corresponds to configuration reactivated) connected to the first IAB node, indication information indicating the RRC re-establishment, identification information of a base station for RRC re-establishment, or identification information of a cell for RRC reestablishment. The indication information indicating the change of the IAB donor connected to the first IAB node is indication information indicating the change of the donor-CU);
‘and reactivating the at least one configuration in accordance with the second indication.’ (Paragraphs [0250]-[0251], The first information (corresponds to second indication) includes at least one of the following: indication information indicating the change of the IAB donor (corresponds to configuration reactivated) connected to the first IAB node, indication information indicating the RRC re-establishment, identification information of a base station for RRC re-establishment, or identification information of a cell for RRC reestablishment. The indication information indicating the change of the IAB donor connected to the first IAB node is indication information indicating the change of the donor-CU).
Regarding claim 56, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 55, LIU further teaches, further comprising: ‘and after or in conjunction with reactivating the at least one configuration, performing a second migration from the target donor CU to the source donor CU such that the source donor CU handles the traffic between the source donor CU and the IAB node according to the at least one configuration.’ (Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information (corresponds to reactivating) on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU (corresponds to traffic between the source donor CU and the at least one IAB node). Paragraph [0214], the recovery IAB-DU needs to establish/re-establish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, and release the F1 connection to the source IAB donor-CU (corresponds to second migration). Paragraph [0195], Before step 1, an IAB-donor-CU may exchange uplink user data and downlink user data with UE through the source path (corresponds to traffic)).
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘after or in conjunction with suspending the at least one configuration, performing a first migration from the source donor CU to the target donor CU such that the target donor CU handles the traffic between the source donor CU and the IAB node;’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message) to the IAB-DU. The F1AP message includes a transmission action indicator information, which is used to indicate specific actions that can be taken by the gNB-DU for data transmission to the UE. In an example, the transmission action indicator information can be used to indicate that the IAB-DU stop transmission of data sent from source donor CU (corresponds to suspending). Paragraph [0043], During an inter-donor CU migration procedure, the migrating IAB-node's source parent node is served by a different IAB-donor-CU than the target parent-node. FIG. 2 shows an example of an inter-donor CU (or inter-CU or inter-donor) migration. As shown therein, IAB-node 3 (corresponds to top-level IAB node) migrates between IAB-donor-CU 1 (corresponds to source donor CU) and IAB-donor-CU 2 (corresponds to target donor CU);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
Regarding claim 57, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 56, LIU further teaches, wherein one of the following applies: ‘the IAB node is the top-level IAB node, and the first migration is a proxy-based migration in which the top-level IAB node's mobile terminal (MT) part migrates to the target donor CU, but F1 and radio resource control (RRC) connections of top-level IAB node's distributed unit (DU) part and of all descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node remain anchored at the source donor CU;’ (Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. In this embodiment, an IAB node that detects a radio link failure (RLF) or an IAB node that detects a link RLF and attempts to recover may be collectively referred to as a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level node). Paragraph [0192], The IAB donor-CU remains unchanged before and after the recovery IAB-MT triggers an RRC re-establishment procedure to recover the link. Therefore, an Fl connection between the recovery IAB-DU and the IAB donor-CU remains unchanged (corresponds to proxy-based migration). Paragraph [0259], the first IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) obtains the new configuration, and notifies a descendant node (the child node) to trigger the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that after the recovery IAB node performs the RRC re-establishment to the new IAB donor, the descendant node of the recovery IAB node can still work normally, and establishes/re-establishes the F1 connection to the target IAB donor);
‘or the IAB node is the top-level IAB node or a descendant node of the top-level IAB node, and the first migration is a full migration in which all F1 and RRC connections of the top-level IAB and of all descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node are migrated to the target donor CU.’ (Paragraph [0214], the recovery IAB-DU needs to establish/re-establish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, and release the F1 connection to the source IAB donor-CU. Similarly, a descendant node (for example, another IAB node) of the recovery IAB node also needs to establish/reestablish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, but the current IAB node does not support a procedure of changing an F1 connection. Paragraph [0259], the child node of the first IAB node triggers the RRC re-establishment and/or the establishment/ re-establishment of the F1 connection to the target IAB donor (corresponds to descendant node are migrated) based on the first information, so that the child node of the first IAB node performs communication in the IAB network through the first IAB node).
Regarding claim 59, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 54, LIU further teaches,
wherein: ‘the IAB node is the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. In this embodiment, an IAB node that detects a radio link failure (RLF) or an IAB node that detects a link RLF and attempts to recover may be collectively referred to as a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level node));
‘the at least one configuration includes a configuration for traffic between the source donor CU
and the IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a multi-hop scenario (where at least one another IAB node exists between a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) and an IAB donor-DU (corresponds to source donor DU)) is used as an example. In an IAB intra-CU re-establishment procedure shown in FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor DU). Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. In this embodiment, an IAB node that detects a radio link failure (RLF) or an IAB node that detects a link RLF and attempts to recover may be collectively referred to as a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level node). Paragraph [0259], the first IAB node obtains the new configuration, and notifies a descendant node (the child node) to trigger the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that after the recovery IAB node performs the RRC re-establishment to the new IAB donor, the descendant node of the recovery IAB node can still work normally, and establishes/re-establishes the F1 connection to the target IAB donor);
‘and the configuration for the traffic between the source donor DU and the IAB node includes any of the following:’ (Paragraph [0233], in intra-donor-CU RRC re-establishment scenarios (corresponds to configuration for the traffic) shown in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9, a parent node connected to the recovery IAB node (namely, the first IAB node – corresponds to top-level IAB node) changes, changes from the IAB donor-DU 1 (correspond to source donor DU) to the IAB donor-DU 2):
‘mapping configurations for downlink (DL) traffic at a source donor distributed unit (DU) associated with the source donor CU; (Paragraph [0199], Step 11: The IAB-donor-CU configures a corresponding BH RLC channel and BAP route configuration for the target path of the recovery IAB-MT, and configures a DL bearer mapping on the target IAB donor-DU for the recovery IAB-MT (corresponds to at the source donor DU)); mapping configurations for uplink (UL) traffic at the IAB node;
and Internet Protocol (IP) addresses used by the IAB node; ingress-egress mapping configurations for backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channels at the IAB node; and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing tables at the IAB node.’ (Paragraph [0279], The target IAB donor-CU (corresponds to top-level IAB node) sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the recovery IAB-MT, where the message carries a BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node, a default BH RLC CH ID and a default route routing ID newly allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node on a target path, and an IP address allocated by a target IAB donor (corresponds to BAP routing tables) to the recovery IAB node. The target path refers to a path between the recovery IAB node and the target IAB donor through the target parent node)).
Regarding claim 60, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 54, LIU further teaches,
wherein: ‘the IAB node is a descendant node of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], Each IAB node considers a neighboring node that provides a wireless access service and/or a wireless backhaul service for the IAB node as a parent node. Correspondingly, each IAB node may be considered as a child node of the parent node of the IAB node. Alternatively, the child node may also be referred to as a lower-level node or a downstream node, and the parent node may also be referred to as an upper-level node or an upstream node. Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a multi-hop scenario (where at least one another IAB node exists between a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) and an IAB donor-DU) is used as an example. In an IAB intra-CU re-establishment procedure shown in FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor-DU));
‘and the at least one configuration includes a configuration for traffic between the source donor
CU and the IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU. Paragraph [0259], the first IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) obtains the new configuration, and notifies a descendant node (the child node) to trigger the RRC re-establishment procedure, so that after the recovery IAB node performs the RRC re-establishment to the new IAB donor, the descendant node of the recovery IAB node can still work normally, and establishes/re-establishes the F1 connection to the target IAB donor);
‘and the configuration for the traffic between the source donor DU and the IAB node includes any of the following used by the IAB node: Internet Protocol (IP) addresses; and cell resource configurations.’ (Paragraph [0181], After accessing a network (namely, initial access) through the IAB donor, an IAB-MT may obtain configuration information of an IAB-DU from an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) server through the accessed IAB donor. The configuration information includes at least one type of the following information: an identifier (an IAB-DU id or an IAB-DU name) of the IAB-DU, cell information (a physical cell identifier (PCI) of a cell of the IAB-DU, a cell identity of the cell, and synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block, SS/PBCH block or SSB) information of the cell) of the IAB-DU, and a peer internet protocol (IP) address (an IP address of an IAB donor-CU) of an Fl interface of the IAB-DU. Paragraph [0279], The target IAB donor-CU sends an RRC reconfiguration message to the recovery IAB-MT, where the message carries a BAP address allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node, a default BH RLC CH ID and a default route routing ID newly allocated by the target IAB donor-CU to the recovery IAB node on a target path, and an IP address allocated by a target IAB donor to the recovery IAB node)).
Regarding claim 61, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 54, LIU further teaches,
wherein: ‘the IAB node is an ancestor node of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157], Each IAB node considers a neighboring node that provides a wireless access service and/or a wireless backhaul service for the IAB node as a parent node. Correspondingly, each IAB node may be considered as a child node of the parent node of the IAB node. Alternatively, the child node may also be referred to as a lower-level node or a downstream node (corresponds to descendant nodes of the source donor CU), and the parent node may also be referred to as an upper-level node or an upstream node. Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a multi-hop scenario (where at least one another IAB node exists between a recovery IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) and an IAB donor-DU) is used as an example. In an IAB intra-CU re-establishment procedure shown in FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node – corresponds to include one or more ancestor nodes), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path – corresponds to include one or more ancestor nodes), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor-DU));
‘and the at least one configuration includes a configuration for traffic between the source donor CU and the IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information (corresponds to configuration at ancestors) on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU).
‘and the at least one configuration for the traffic between the source donor DU and the IAB node also includes any of the following at the IAB node:’ (Paragraph [0194], FIG. 9, a source path (initial Path) refers to a transmission path between a source parent node and a source IAB donor-DU, where the initial path includes the source parent node (Initial Parent IAB-node – corresponds to ancestor node), an intermediate node on the source path (Intermediate hop IAB-node on the initial path – corresponds to ancestor node), and the source IAB-donor-DU (Initial IAB-donor-DU):
‘ingress-egress mapping configurations for backhaul radio link control (BH RLC) channels;’ ((Paragraph [0199], The IAB-donor-CU configures a corresponding BH RLC channel and BAP route configuration for the target path of the recovery IAB-MT, and configures a DL bearer mapping on the target IAB donor-DU for the recovery IAB-MT);
‘and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing tables.’ (Paragraph [0197], The default UL configuration includes: a configured default BH RLC channel that is used for UL F1-C/non-F1 service transmission and that is on the target path, a default backhaul adaptation protocol routing ID (backhaul adaptation protocol routing ID, BAP routing ID), and the like. Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information (corresponds to configuration at ancestors) on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU).
Regarding claim 62, LIU and HUANG teach, the method of claim 54, LIU further teaches, ‘wherein the traffic between the source donor CU and the at least one IAB node, for which the at least one configuration is suspended, includes traffic between the source donor CU and any of the following:’ (Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU (corresponds to traffic between the source donor CU and the at least one IAB node). Paragraph [0192], The IAB donor-CU remains unchanged before and after the recovery IAB-MT triggers an RRC re-establishment procedure to recover the link. Therefore, an F1 connection between the recovery IAB-DU and the IAB donor-CU remains unchanged (corresponds to at least one configuration is suspended)):
‘a distributed unit (DU) part of the IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. An IAB-MT part of the recovery IAB node is referred to as a recovery IAB-MT and an IAB-DU part of the recovery IAB node is referred to as a recovery IAB-DU (corresponds to DU part of the top-level IAB node));
‘one or more IAB nodes that are descendant nodes of the IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0171], the IAB-DU is configured to provide an access service for a child node of the IAB-DU. Paragraph [0259], a descendant node (the child node)
‘and user equipment (UEs) served by the IAB node or any of the descendant nodes.’ (Paragraph [0173], FIG. 4, UE accesses an IAB node 2. The IAB node 2 is referred to as an access IAB node of the UE (or a parent node of the UE), the UE is referred to as a child node of the IAB node 2, and a link between the UE and the IAB node 2 is referred to as an access link. Paragraph [0195], Before step 1, an IAB-donor-CU may exchange uplink user data and downlink user data with UE through the source path).
Regarding claim 65, LIU teaches, ‘An integrated access backhaul (IAB) node configured to operate in a wireless network, the IAB node comprising:’ (Paragraph [0169], The donor node (IAB donor) may be an access network element having a complete base station function, or may be in a form in which a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) are separated, that is, the donor node includes a central unit of a donor base station and a distributed unit of the donor base station. Paragraph [0225], source IAB donor-CU (for example, the IAB donor-CU 1 in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4) through the source IAB donor-DU (for example, the IAB donor-DU 1 in the FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4)):
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘processing circuitry and communication interface circuitry configured as a mobile terminal, IAB-MT, and a distributed unit, IAB-DU,’ (HUANG – Paragraph [0129], An apparatus 905, such as a base station or a wireless device (or UE), can include processor electronics 910 such as a microprocessor. The apparatus 905 can include transceiver electronics 915 to send and/or receive wireless signals over one or more communication interfaces. The apparatus 905 can include other communication interfaces for transmitting and receiving data. Paragraph [0024], Each of the IAB nodes 106a-106d can have two functions: a base station (BS) function and a mobile terminal (MT) function. Paragraph [0032], IAB-DU: gNB-DU functionality supported by the IAB-node to terminate the NR access interface to UEs and next-hop IAB-nodes, and to terminate the Fl protocol to the gNB-CU functionality),
‘wherein the processing circuitry and communication interface circuitry are further configured to perform the method of claim 54.’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0129], An apparatus 905, such as a base station or a wireless device (or UE), can include processor electronics 910 such as a microprocessor. The apparatus 905 can include transceiver electronics 915 to send and/or receive wireless signals over one or more communication interfaces. The apparatus 905 can include other communication interfaces for transmitting and receiving data. The processor electronics 910 can include at least a portion of the transceiver electronics 915. At least some of the disclosed techniques, modules or functions are implemented using the apparatus 905).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
Claims 50-53 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of HUANG in view of Futaki et al. (US 2022/0070740 A1), hereinafter “FUTAKI”
Regarding claim 50, LIU teaches, ‘A method for a target donor centralized unit (CU) in an integrated access backhaul (IAB) wireless network, the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0007], communication method applied to an integrated access and backhaul IAB system. Paragraph [0169], The donor node (IAB donor) may be an access network element having a complete base station function, or may be in a form in which a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) are separated, that is, the donor node includes a central unit of a donor base station and a distributed unit of the donor base station. Paragraph [0225], source IAB donor-CU (for example, the IAB donor-CU 1 in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4) through the source IAB donor-DU (for example, the IAB donor-DU 1 in the FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4)):
‘receiving, from a source donor CU in the wireless network, an indication that traffic between the source donor CU and a top-level IAB node in the wireless network needs to be offloaded to the target donor CU;’ (Paragraphs [0225]-[0226], in inter-donor CU RRC re-establishment scenarios shown in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4, the recovery IAB-MT (namely, an MT part of the first IAB node) is connected to the source IAB donor-CU through the source IAB donor-DU. After the at least one of the following procedures is triggered: the RRC re-establishment procedure, the F1 connection establishment procedure, or the F1 connection reestablishment procedure, the recovery IAB-MT is connected to the target IAB donor-CU through the target IAB donor-DU. The IAB donor (corresponds to source donor CU) of the first IAB node (corresponds to top-level IAB node) changes, changes from a source IAB donor to a target IAB donor. IAB donor connected to the first IAB node changes, for example, an inter-CU (Inter-donor-CU) RRC re-establishment (corresponds to offloaded) scenario. In this case, because the IAB donor of the first IAB node changes, the IAB donor may determine, in step S101, the configuration information of the BH RLC CH between the first IAB node and the source parent node of the first IAB node based on a message sent by the source IAB donor of the first IAB node);
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘migrating one or more descendant nodes of the source donor CU to the target donor CU such that the target donor CU handles the offloaded traffic;’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message – corresponds to offloaded traffic) to the IAB-DU (corresponds to descendant node). Paragraph [0043], During an inter-donor CU migration procedure, the migrating IAB-node's source parent node is served by a different IAB-donor-CU than the target parent-node. FIG. 2 shows an example of an inter-donor CU (or inter-CU or inter-donor) migration. As shown therein, IAB-node 3 (corresponds to top-level IAB node) migrates between IAB-donor-CU 1 (corresponds to source donor CU) and IAB-donor-CU 2 (corresponds to target donor CU));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
LIU and HUANG do not explicitly teach but FUTAKI teaches, ‘and receiving, from the source donor CU, an indication that the offloading is revoked.’ (FUTAKI - Paragraph [0074], FIG. 6, In step 601, a source RAN node 1 sends a request for release of the resources of a candidate target cell to one or more target RAN nodes 2. The request requests each target RAN node 2 to release the resources of one or more candidate target cells reserved for a conditional handover. The source RAN node 1 may send the request to target RAN nodes 2 that manage candidate target cells different from the target cell to which the radio terminal 3 is moving. The request may be sent by a UE context release message (corresponds to offloading is revoked) (e.g., HANDOVER CANCEL, or UE CONTEXT REMOVAL) from the source RAN node 1 to the target RAN node 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FUTAKI with LIU and HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FUTAKI into LIU and HUANG is that FUTAKI provides contributing to reducing signaling overhead of an inter-RAN node interface (and an air interface) during various mobility procedures including handovers. The first configuration includes at least one configuration parameter for enabling the radio terminal to access to one of the plurality of candidate target cells or to communicate therein. Each second configuration includes at least one configuration parameter for enabling the radio terminal to access to the corresponding candidate target cell or to communicate therein. (See paragraphs, [0011]-[0012], FUTAKI)
Regarding claim 51, LIU, HUANG and FUTAKI teach, the method of claim 50, LIU further teaches, ‘wherein the offloaded traffic includes traffic between the source donor CU and any of the following:’ (Paragraph [0204], The IAB-donor-CU releases a BH RLC channel and backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing configuration information (corresponds to offload traffic) on the source path between the source parent node of the recovery IAB-MT and the source IAB donor-DU (corresponds to traffic between the source donor CU and the at least one IAB node)):
‘a distributed unit (DU) part of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0190], FIG. 8, an IAB node includes two parts: the IAB-MT and an IAB-DU. An IAB-MT part of the recovery IAB node is referred to as a recovery IAB-MT and an IAB-DU part of the recovery IAB node is referred to as a recovery IAB-DU (corresponds to DU part of the top-level IAB node));
‘one or more IAB nodes that are descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node;’ (Paragraph [0171], the IAB-DU is configured to provide an access service for a child node of the IAB-DU. Paragraph [0259], a descendant node (the child node));
‘and user equipment (UEs) served by the top-level IAB node or any of the descendant nodes.’ (Paragraph [0173], FIG. 4, UE accesses an IAB node 2. The IAB node 2 is referred to as an access IAB node of the UE (or a parent node of the UE), the UE is referred to as a child node of the IAB node 2, and a link between the UE and the IAB node 2 is referred to as an access link. Paragraph [0195], Before step 1, an IAB-donor-CU may exchange uplink user data and downlink user data with UE through the source path).
Regarding claim 52, LIU, HUANG and FUTAKI teach, the method of claim 50, LIU further teaches, ‘wherein migrating the one or more descendant nodes of the source donor CU to the target donor CU is based on one of the following:’ (Paragraph [0259], the child node of the first IAB node triggers the RRC re-establishment and/or the establishment/ re-establishment of the F1 connection to the target IAB donor (corresponds to descendant node are migrated) based on the first information, so that the child node of the first IAB node performs communication in the IAB network through the first IAB node. Paragraph [0195], Before step 1, an IAB-donor-CU may exchange uplink user data and downlink user data with UE through the source path)):
‘a proxy-based migration in which the top-level IAB node's mobile terminal (MT) part migrates to the target donor CU, but F1 and radio resource control (RRC) connections of top-level IAB node's distributed unit (DU) part and of all descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node remain anchored at the source donor CU;’ (Paragraph [0192], The IAB donor-CU remains unchanged before and after the recovery IAB-MT triggers an RRC re-establishment procedure to recover the link. Therefore, an Fl connection between the recovery IAB-DU and the IAB donor-CU remains unchanged);
‘or a full migration in which all F1 and RRC connections of the top-level IAB and of all descendant nodes of the top-level IAB node are migrated to the target donor CU.’ (Paragraph [0214], the recovery IAB-DU needs to establish/re-establish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, and release the F1 connection to the source IAB donor-CU. Similarly, a descendant node (for example, another IAB
node) of the recovery IAB node also needs to establish/reestablish an F1 connection to the target IAB donor-CU, but the current IAB node does not support a procedure of changing an F1 connection. Paragraph [0259], the child node of the first IAB node triggers the RRC re-establishment and/or the establishment/ re-establishment of the F1 connection to the target IAB donor (corresponds to descendant node are migrated) based on the first information, so that the child node of the first IAB node performs communication in the IAB network through the first IAB node).
Regarding claim 53, LIU, HUANG and FUTAKI teach, the method of claim 50, LIU and HUANG do
not explicitly teach but FUTAKI teaches, further comprising, ‘based on the indication that the offloading is revoked, migrating the one or more descendant nodes from the target donor CU to the source donor CU such that the source donor CU handles the traffic for which offloading was revoked.’ (FUTAKI - Paragraph [0074], FIG. 6, In step 601, a source RAN node 1 sends a request for release of the resources of a candidate target cell to one or more target RAN nodes 2. The request requests each target RAN node 2 to release the resources of one or more candidate target cells reserved for a conditional handover. The source RAN node 1 may send the request to target RAN nodes 2 that manage candidate target cells different from the target cell to which the radio terminal 3 is moving. The request may be sent by a UE context release message (corresponds to offloading is revoked) (e.g., HANDOVER CANCEL, or UE CONTEXT REMOVAL) from the source RAN node 1 to the target RAN node 2. Paragraphs [0135]-[0136], In a conditional handover (CHO), when the radio terminal 3 (corresponds to descendant node) fails (e.g., detects a Handover failure) in a handover to a candidate cell that satisfies an execution condition (e.g., threshold value), the radio terminal 3 may execute (continue) the conditional handover by switching (falling back) to another candidate cell that satisfies the condition. If the radio terminal 3 receives a handover command that includes no CHO execution condition (e.g., threshold) (i.e., a command for a normal handover) from the RAN node 1 during a period after receiving a handover command that includes a CHO execution condition (e.g., threshold) from the source RAN node 1 and before any candidate target cell meets the execution condition, the radio terminal 3 may execute a normal handover, according to the received handover command including no CHO execution condition (e.g., threshold)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of FUTAKI with LIU and HUANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of FUTAKI into LIU and HUANG is that FUTAKI provides contributing to reducing signaling overhead of an inter-RAN node interface (and an air interface) during various mobility procedures including handovers. The first configuration includes at least one configuration parameter for enabling the radio terminal to access to one of the plurality of candidate target cells or to communicate therein. Each second configuration includes at least one configuration parameter for enabling the radio terminal to access to the corresponding candidate target cell or to communicate therein. (See paragraphs, [0011]-[0012], FUTAKI)
Regarding claim 64, LIU teaches, ‘A target donor centralized unit (CU) configured to
operate in an integrated access backhaul (IAB) wireless network, the target donor CU comprising:’ (Paragraph [0169], The donor node (IAB donor) may be an access network element having a complete base station function, or may be in a form in which a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) are separated, that is, the donor node includes a central unit of a donor base station and a distributed unit of the donor base station. Paragraph [0225], source IAB donor-CU (for example, the IAB donor-CU 1 in FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4) through the source IAB donor-DU (for example, the IAB donor-DU 1 in the FIG. 10-1, FIG. 10-2, FIG. 10-3, and FIG. 10-4)):
LIU does not explicitly teach but HUANG teaches, ‘communication interface circuitry configured
to communicate with a source donor CU and one or more descendant nodes of the source donor CU;’ (HUANG – Paragraph [0129], The apparatus 905 can include transceiver electronics 915 to send and/or receive wireless signals over one or more communication interfaces. The apparatus 905 can include other communication interfaces for transmitting and receiving data. Paragraph [0092], the source donor CU sends an F1AP message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message) to the IAB-DU (corresponds to descendant node). Paragraph [0043], During an inter-donor CU migration procedure, the migrating IAB-node's source parent node is served by a different IAB-donor-CU than the target parent-node. FIG. 2 shows an example of an inter-donor CU (or inter-CU or inter-donor) migration. As shown therein, IAB-node 3 migrates between IAB-donor-CU 1 (corresponds to source donor CU) and IAB-donor-CU 2 (corresponds to target donor CU));
‘and processing circuitry operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform the method of claim 50.’ (HUANG - Paragraph [0129], An apparatus 905, such as a base station or a wireless device (or UE), can include processor electronics 910 such as a microprocessor. The apparatus 905 can include transceiver electronics 915 to send and/or receive wireless signals over one or more communication interfaces. The apparatus 905 can include other communication interfaces for transmitting and receiving data. The processor electronics 910 can include at least a portion of the transceiver electronics 915. At least some of the disclosed techniques, modules or functions are implemented using the apparatus 905).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HUANG with LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HUANG into LIU is that HUANG provides for integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor migration for mobile communications which enables wireless backhauling via New Radio (NR) and flexible and very dense deployment of NR cells while reducing the need for wireline transport infrastructure by solving how the target donor CU obtained IP address request information, how the IAB-DU obtains its updated IP address information, how the IAB-DU obtains the source donor CU's updated IP address information, how the donor CU obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information, how the CU-CP obtains the CU-UP's updated IP address information, and how the donor CU-UP obtains the IAB-DU's updated IP address information. (See paragraphs [0003], [0047], [0062], [0065], [0068], [0085], [0087], HUANG)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 44 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. In particular, Barac et al. (US 2023/0239754 A1) is noted as it shares a common inventor and assignee with the present application. While the teachings of Paragraphs [0183]-[0184] regarding radio network node signaling and handover cancellation were not utilized in the current rejections under 35 USC §103, this reference remains highly relevant to the subject matter of Claim 44 and has been considered by the Examiner in the overall evaluation of patentability.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479