DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argued that Applicant respectfully submits that Yu does not disclose, teach, or suggest each and every feature recited in Applicant's Claim 34.
For example, Yu does not disclose, teach, or suggest "transmitting, to a second network node, a message comprising search window information, the search window information comprising ... information associated with an uncertainty level of the expected angle," as recited in Claim 34. Rather, Yu merely discloses that "[t]he LMF network element sends a measurement request message to the serving base station of the terminal device and a neighboring base station of the serving base station." (Yu, para. 159). Yu further provides a table indicating the parameters included in such measurement request message. (Yu, para. 159; page 13, Table 1). Even to the extent that Table 1 discloses an optional parameter called "Search Window parameters," Yu merely describes this parameter as being "used to measure a relative uplink arrival time." (Yu, page 13, Table 1). There is no disclosure in Yu that the search window parameters include "information associated with an uncertainty level of the expected angle," as recited in Claim 34. Likewise, though Table 1 includes a parameter called "Angle range" and indicates that this "is the embodiment of the present invention" of Yu, the reference merely describes this parameter as a plane angle from -180 to 180 and including a first plane angle AAoA from -180 to 180 and a second plane angle ZAOA from 0 to 180. (Yu, page 13, Table 1). Again, there is no disclosure in Yu that any of the parameters of the measurement request message includes "information associated with an uncertainty level of the expected angle," as recited in Claim 34. As such, Applicant respectfully submits that Yu does not disclose, teach, or suggest each and every feature recited in Claim 34. Certainly, Yu does not clearly and unequivocally disclose all of the limitations arranged or combined in the same way as recited in the claim.
For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and allowance of Claim 34, together with Claims 35 to 40 that depend on Claim 34. For analogous reasons, Applicant also requests reconsideration and allowance of Claims 42, 52, and 53, together with Claims 43 to 49 that depend on Claim 42.
In response, Yu disclosed, See Fig 3, 12 “disclosed a first, and second network node, such as performed by a first network node which is a Serving base station, transmitting a message comprising search window information to second network node which is a “Location management function LMF”; wherein a message comprising search window information which the parameters carried in the NRPPA message are shown in the following TABLE 1 with periodicity Search Window Parameters Optional Used to measure a relative uplink arrival time Measurement Quantities Optional Indicating the base station to measure par [0159] which defined as a search window information message.
the search window information comprising: information associated with an expected angle wherein the expected angle (as defined in specification, Fig. 19, and Example D23-D24; integers ranging from 0 to N-1 so that their resolution is 360/N degrees.) comprises at least one of: an expected Azimuth of Arrival AoA with angle AOA measurement parameter as disclosed the same as feature of Yu [0159], and Yu, the reference merely describes the same as a feature of this parameter as a plane angle from -180 to 180 and including a first plane angle AAoA from -180 to 180 and a second plane angle ZAOA from 0 to 180. (Yu, page 13, Table 1), and an expected Zenith of Arrival, ZoA, and information associated with an uncertainty level of the expected angle, and receiving, a response message from the second network node [0163] an uncertainty level of the expected angle performed by measuring an incident angle of a strongest path of the reference signal of Yu, the reference merely describes this parameter as a plane angle from -180 to 180 and including a first plane angle AAoA from -180 to 180 and a second plane angle ZAOA from 0 to 180. (Yu, page 13, Table 1), or the UAOA may be obtained by measuring an incident angle of a line-of-sight path of the reference signal; the UAOA obtained by measuring an incident angle of a second strongest path of the reference signal may be used as an alternative option, wherein the response message comprises at least one of: a Physical Cell Identifier of at least one measurement, a Cell Global Identifier of at least one measurement, a Transmission and Reception Point Identifier of at least one measurement [0159], and TABLE 1; ); an uplink AoA; an Uplink Sounding Reference Signal-Reference Signal Received Power; a time stamp associated with at least one measurement; and a quality level associated with at least one measurement [0163] applied the UAOA obtained by measuring an incident angle of a second strongest path of the reference signal may be used as an alternative option.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34-40, 42-49, 51-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0266859).
Claim 34, Yu discloses a method performed by a first network node comprising: transmitting, to a second network node (See Fig 3 “disclosed a first, and second network node”), a message comprising search window information (See par [0159] “parameters carried in the NRPPA message are shown in the following TABLE 1 with periodicity Search Window Parameters Optional Used to measure a relative uplink arrival time Measurement Quantities Optional Indicating the base station to measure “), the search window information comprising: information associated with an expected angle wherein the expected angle comprises at least one of: an expected Azimuth of Arrival, AoA (See par [0159] Table 1 with angle AOA measurement parameter), and an expected Zenith of Arrival, ZoA, and information associated with an uncertainty level of the expected angle, and receiving, a response message from the second network node (par [0163] “an uncertainty level of the expected angle performed by measuring an incident angle of a strongest path of the reference signal, or the UAOA may be obtained by measuring an incident angle of a line-of-sight path of the reference signal; the UAOA obtained by measuring an incident angle of a second strongest path of the reference signal may be used as an alternative option”, wherein the response message comprises at least one of: a Physical Cell Identifier of at least one measurement, a Cell Global Identifier of at least one measurement, a Transmission and Reception Point Identifier of at least one measurement (See par [0159] TABLE 1); an uplink AoA; an Uplink Sounding Reference Signal-Reference Signal Received Power; a time stamp associated with at least one measurement; and a quality level associated with at least one measurement (par [0163] “applied the UAOA obtained by measuring an incident angle of a second strongest path of the reference signal may be used as an alternative option”).
Claim 35, 43, Yu further discloses the method of Claim 34, further comprising: receiving, based at least partially on the search window information, at least one measurement from the second network node; and refining and/or adapting the search window information based on the at least one measurement (par [0159] “used by signal quality measurement which mandatory quality of SRS in a transmission periodicity Search Window Parameters, and further disclosed in par [0193] for example measurement from the second network node by the serving base station, or neighboring base station ”).
Claim 36, 44, Yu further discloses the method of Claims 34, wherein: the message comprises a New Radio Positioning Protocol A, NRPPA (par [0138]), measurement request message, the response message comprises NRPPA measurement response message, the first network node comprises a location server, and the second network node comprises a Central Unit, CU (par [0026] “for example, a 5G system, a base station may include a centralized unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU). The F1 application protocol is a protocol for transmission between the CU and the DU”).
Claim 37, 45, Yu further discloses the method of Claim 34, wherein: the message comprises a F1 Positioning Measurement Request message, and the first network node comprises a Central Unit, CU, and the second network node comprises a Distributed Unit, DU (par [0026] “The F1 application protocol is a protocol for transmission between the CU and the DU”).
Claim 38, 46, Yu further discloses the method of Claim 34, wherein the information associated with the uncertainty level of the expected angle indicates: a value representing a level of uncertainty of the expected angle, or that the first network node has no knowledge of the level of uncertainty of the expected angle. (par [0163] “an uncertainty level of the expected angle performed by measuring an incident angle of a strongest path of the reference signal, or the UAOA may be obtained by measuring an incident angle of a line-of-sight path of the reference signal; the UAOA obtained by measuring an incident angle of a second strongest path of the reference signal may be used as an alternative option”).
Claim 39, 49, Yu further discloses the method of Claim 34, wherein the message comprises Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, configuration information for performance of at least one measurement by the second network node, and wherein at least one measurement comprises at least one of: an Uplink Relative Time of Arrival, UL-RTOA, measurement, an Uplink Round-Trip-Time, UL RTT, measurement, an Enhanced Cell-ID, e-CID, measurement, an AoA measurement, and an ZoA measurement (See par [0159] TABLE 1); an uplink AoA; an Uplink Sounding Reference Signal-Reference Signal Received Power; a time stamp associated with at least one measurement; and a quality level associated with at least one measurement (par [0163] “applied the UAOA obtained by measuring an incident angle of a second strongest path of the reference signal may be used as an alternative option”).
Claim 40, 51, Yu further discloses the method of Claim 34, further comprising: receiving a request for the search window information from the second network node, and wherein the search window information is included in the message based on the request for the search window information (See par [0159] “parameters carried in the NRPPA message are shown in the following TABLE 1 with periodicity Search Window Parameters Optional Used to measure a relative uplink arrival time Measurement Quantities Optional Indicating the base station to measure “).
Claim 42, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 34.
Claim 52, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 34.
Claim 53, the claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 34.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41, 50 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 41, 50, the claim limitations either alone or in combination failed to disclose wherein the response message comprises indicates that the second network node used a search window that is different from the search window information.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC H DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646