DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “naked segment” of claim 1 and the “groove” of claim 9 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second constraint member" in lines 3-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending the claim to initially state “an annular second constraint member” in lines 1-2 rather than “an annular second constraint piece” to clarify. Claims 8-9 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the external force" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this force is synonymous with the “radial constraint force” of the claim, or an entirely different force acting upon the device. Claims 8-9 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Armstrong et al. (US 2002/0198588 A1), “Armstrong”.
Regarding claim 1, Armstrong teaches
A medical stent (Fig. 1, endoprosthesis 10), comprising a covered segment (Fig. 1, first segment 14) and a naked segment (Fig. 1, second segment 16);
wherein the covered segment comprises a cut stent body (Fig. 1, first segment 14 comprises stent element 12) and
a film material arranged on the cut stent body (Fig. 1, cover 18 is provided along length of stent element 12 of first segment 14 [0048]);
at least one end of the covered segment is connected with a naked segment (Fig. 1, endoprosthesis 10 comprises junction between first and second segments 14, 16 [0051]), and
at least one of the naked segments comprises a braided stent body (Fig. 1, second segment 16 comprises a chain-linked stent pattern [0050]);
wherein the covered segment comprises a first section (Fig. 1, center portion of first segment 14), and
the medical stent is configured such that an inner diameter of the first section in a first expansion state is smaller than an inner diameter of the cut stent body in a free state (Fig. 1, diameter of second segment 16 is larger than first segment 14 [0053]), and
when the first section is subjected to a radially outward force, the first section expands radially outward (Fig. 4, endoprosthesis 10 expands to an enlarged deployed diameter a [0091]).
Regarding claim 3, Armstrong teaches
wherein the braided stent body is in hot-melting connection with the film material (Fig. 1, first segment 14 and cover 18 are adhered together [0049] through heat treatment [0070]); and/or,
the medical stent further comprises a connecting tape, and the connecting tape passes through a hole on the braided stent body and is in hot-melting connection with the film material (this limitation is seen as non-limiting due to the “and/or” statement).
Regarding claim 4, Armstrong teaches
wherein 3-9 holes are formed on the braided stent body in an axial direction of the medical stent (Fig. 3, second segment 16 comprises 3-4 holes in stent pattern 20); and/or,
4-8 holes are formed on the braided stent body in a circumferential direction of the medical stent (this limitation is seen as non-limiting due to the “and/or” statement).
Regarding claim 5, Armstrong teaches
wherein the medical stent is a self-expanding stent (Fig. 1, stent element 12 self-expands to deployed configuration [0052]), and
when the medical stent is in the first expansion state (Fig. 4, compacted diameter b), a region of the cut stent body corresponding to the first section is subjected to a radial constraint force that is greater than the self-expanding force of the cut stent body in the free state (Fig. 4, center portion of first segment 14 is subjected to a compacting force that minimizes its diameter [0091]).
Regarding claim 6, Armstrong teaches
wherein the film material is at least coated on an outer surface of the cut stent body (Fig. 1, cover 18 may line the outside of stent element 12 [0049]), and
an inner diameter of a region of the film material arranged on the outer surface of the cut stent body corresponding to the first section is smaller than an outer diameter of the cut stent body in the free state when the medical stent is in the first expansion state (Fig. 4, diameter b of endoprosthesis 10 expands from constrained state (first expansion state) to an expanded deployed state having a larger diameter a (free state) [0053-0054])
so that the film material exerts the radial constraint force on the cut stent body (Fig. 1, cover 18 helps maintain the dimensions of the endoprosthesis 10 and prevents uncontrolled elongation of stent element 12 [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Armstrong teaches
wherein when the first section (Fig. 1, first segment 14) is subjected to the external force (Fig. 4, endoprosthesis 10 expands to an enlarged deployed diameter a [0091]),
the region of the film material (Fig. 1, cover 18) corresponding to the first section is plastically deformed so that the radial constraint force is reduced and the first section expands radially outward (Fig. 1, cover 18 is elastic in nature and has sufficient excess material incorporated to allow for stretching to its fully deployed diameter [0091-0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong et al. (US 2002/0198588 A1), “Armstrong” in view of Shahriari et al. (US 2017/0128243 A1), “Shahriari”.
Regarding claim 2, Armstrong teaches wherein the braided stent body is formed by braiding a wire (Fig. 1, second segment 16 comprises a chain-linked stent pattern of wire 22 [0050]), but fails to teach a first constraint member, and the first constraint member is arranged on the braided stent body and constrains an end of the wire.
Shahriari teaches a stent device comprising a first constraint member (Fig. 1, radially constraining members 24), and the first constraint member is arranged on the braided stent body and constrains an end of the wire (Fig. 1, radially constraining members 24 are configured to release first segment 94 of stent device 26 [0050]). Shahriari discloses that the release of each constraining member allows the stent to be deployed in a manner which best fits the aorta [0063]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the braided stent body taught by Armstrong with the constraint members and their features in order to deploy the stent in a controlled manner for a best fit in the vasculature.
Regarding claim 7, Armstrong teaches the first section (Fig. 1, center portion of first segment 14) and covered segment (Fig. 1, first segment 14), but fails to teach further comprising an annular second constraint piece sleeved over the first section; wherein the second constraint member is configured such that an inner diameter of the second constraint member in the first expansion state is smaller than an outer diameter of the covered segment in the free state, and the second constraint member exerts the radial constraint force on the cut stent body, and when the first section is subjected to the external force, the second constraint member is plastically deformed or broken and the radial constraint force is reduced, so that the first section is caused to expand radially outward.
Shahriari teaches a stent device comprising an annular second constraint piece sleeved over the first section (Fig. 1, radially constraining members 24); wherein the second constraint member is configured such that an inner diameter of the second constraint member in the first expansion state is smaller than an outer diameter of the covered segment in the free state (Fig. 1, radially constraining members 24 constrain a diameter of stent device 26 (first state) and then releases to allow first segment 94 of stent device 26 to expand to its deployed configuration 82 (free state) [0047-0050]), and the second constraint member exerts the radial constraint force on the cut stent body (Fig. 1, radially constraining members 24 constrain a diameter of stent device 26 [0047]), and when the first section is subjected to the external force, the second constraint member is plastically deformed or broken and the radial constraint force is reduced, so that the first section is caused to expand radially outward (Fig. 1, radially constraining members 24 are configured to release a first segment 94 of stent device 26 into expanded configuration 82 [0047-0050]). Shahriari discloses that the release of each constraining member allows the stent to be deployed in a manner which best fits the aorta [0063]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the covered segment and first section taught by Armstrong with the constraint members and their features in order to deploy the stent in a controlled manner for a best fit in the vasculature.
Regarding claim 8, Armstrong fails to teach the limitations of claim 8. Shahriari teaches a stent device wherein the second constraint member is formed by connecting both ends of a linear structure (Fig. 15, constraining members 24 are sheaths 53); and/or, the second constraint member is provided with a weakened structure to reduce a strength of the second constraint member (Fig. 15, sheaths 53 comprise eyelets 76). Shahriari discloses that the release of each constraining member allows the stent to be deployed in a manner which best fits the aorta [0063]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stent taught by Armstrong with the constraint members and their features in order to deploy the stent in a controlled manner for a best fit in the vasculature.
Regarding claim 9, Armstrong fails to teach the limitations of claim 9. Shahriari teaches a stent wherein the weakened structure comprises at least one of a hole and a groove (Fig. 15, sheaths 53 comprise eyelets 76). Shahriari discloses that the release of each constraining member allows the stent to be deployed in a manner which best fits the aorta [0063]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stent taught by Armstrong with the constraint members and their features in order to deploy the stent in a controlled manner for a best fit in the vasculature.
Conclusion
/G.G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799