DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 10/10/2023 has been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner suggests the following title “A method of transferring an ongoing communication from a first UE to a second UE”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-14, 17-25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen (US 20110040836).
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Allen teaches a method for handling an ongoing communication session with a remote party in a communication network, a user being associated with a set of User Equipments, UEs, in a single user subscription, which set of UEs comprises at least a first UE and a second UE, the ongoing communication session with the remote party involving the first UE ([0046] Using the present system a network serving a user with multiple UEs, each sharing a common identification, may receive an invitation to participate in a session that includes various media types.), the method comprising:
for each respective UE out of the set of UEs, obtaining information related to the respective UE's name recognizable by the user (nickname),
communication capabilities (supported media types), and
communication session status (notifications that describe the ongoing sessions on a particular UE or all the UEs associated with the user) (“[0098] During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) .. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”; [0103] “The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be updated periodically or not periodically by re-broadcasting, sending, or communicating the list, broadcasting updates only as the list is changed and updated, or by each controller UE requesting an updated list” [0158] During operation of the present system, an IUT controller UE may subscribe to receive notifications that describe the ongoing sessions on a particular UE or all the UEs associated with the user. The notifications may identify various ongoing sessions and their associated controllee and/or controller UEs. In one example, a user A has initiated two sessions; one with user C and user D, and another with user B. With reference to the session with users C and D, user A has three sessions for his IUT controller UE set (i.e. devices 1, 2 and 3). For the conversation with user B, user A has two sessions on his IUT UE set (i.e. devices 2 and 3)”;
obtaining a user indication based on the received information, which indication indicates to transfer the ongoing communication session with the remote party ([0074] “As shown in FIG. 1, the multimedia session includes two media components (Media-A and Media-B) and UE-1 wants to transfer the collaborative session control and one of the media components (media-A) to UE-2 via an IUT... by communicating or sending a transfer request to the SCC AS. The transfer request indicates that the collaborative session control and media type (Media-A) are to be transferred to UE-2.” [0077] “In step 104, a session carrying media-A between UE-2 and the SCC AS is established. At this point, the system may optionally update the remote leg between the SCC AS and the remote party in accordance with the establishment of the new session with UE-2.”); and
according to the indication (a transfer request), requesting a network node (SCC) to transfer the ongoing communication session from the first UE to the second UE ([0074], Fig. 1, "As shown in FIG. 1, the multimedia session includes two media components (Media-A and Media-B) and UE-1 wants to transfer the collaborative session control and one of the media components (media-A) to UE-2 via an IUT. As illustrated, in step 101, UE-1 initiates the process of transferring the collaborative session control and media type (media-A) to UE-2 by communicating or sending a transfer request to the SCC AS. The transfer request indicates that the collaborative session control and media type (Media-A) are to be transferred to UE-2 ... The UE-2 may be identified by, but not limited, to GRUU .. UE-2's GRUU is stored in the SCC AS (valid REGISTRATION exists) and stored against that GRUU are media feature tags that match those that have been received in the request from UE-1", [0077], Fig. 1, "In step 104, a session carrying media-A between UE-2 and the SCC AS is established. At this point, the system may optionally update the remote leg between the SCC AS and the remote party in accordance with the establishment of the new session with UE-2").
Regarding claim 11 and 25, Allen teaches a method performed by a network node, for handling an ongoing communication session with a remote party in a communication network, a user being associated with a set of User Equipments (a user with multiple UEs), UEs, in a single user subscription, which set of UEs comprises at least a first UE and a second UE, the ongoing communication session with the remote party involving the first UE ([0046] Using the present system a network serving a user with multiple UEs, each sharing a common identification; [0076] “the collaborative session includes a logical set of one or more IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) sessions, possibly on two or more UEs sharing the same IMS subscription”), the method comprising:
for each respective UE out of the set of UEs, obtaining information related to the respective UE's name recognizable by the user (nickname),
communication capabilities (supported media types), and
communication session status, which information is transmitted to at least one UE out of the set of UEs (notifications that describe the ongoing sessions on a particular UE or all the UEs associated with the user) (“[0098] During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) .. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”; [0103] “The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be updated periodically or not periodically by re-broadcasting, sending, or communicating the list, broadcasting updates only as the list is changed and updated, or by each controller UE requesting an updated list” [0158] During operation of the present system, an IUT controller UE may subscribe to receive notifications that describe the ongoing sessions on a particular UE or all the UEs associated with the user. The notifications may identify various ongoing sessions and their associated controllee and/or controller UEs. In one example, a user A has initiated two sessions; one with user C and user D, and another with user B. With reference to the session with users C and D, user A has three sessions for his IUT controller UE set (i.e. devices 1, 2 and 3). For the conversation with user B, user A has two sessions on his IUT UE set (i.e. devices 2 and 3)”;
receiving a request from the at least one UE, requesting to transfer the ongoing communication session from the first UE to the second UE; ([0074], Fig. 1, "As shown in FIG. 1, the multimedia session includes two media components (Media-A and Media-B) and UE-1 wants to transfer the collaborative session control and one of the media components (media-A) to UE-2 via an IUT. As illustrated, in step 101, UE-1 initiates the process of transferring the collaborative session control and media type (media-A) to UE-2 by communicating or sending a transfer request to the SCC AS. The transfer request indicates that the collaborative session control and media type (Media-A) are to be transferred to UE-2 ... The UE-2 may be identified by, but not limited, to GRUU ... UE-2's GRUU is stored in the SCC AS (valid REGISTRATION exists) and stored against that GRUU are media feature tags that match those that have been received in the request from UE-1"); and
based on the request, transferring the ongoing communication session from the first UE to the second UE ([0077], Fig. 1, "In step 104, a session carrying media-A between UE-2 and the SCC AS is established. At this point, the system may optionally update the remote leg between the SCC AS and the remote party in accordance with the establishment of the new session with UE-2")
Regarding claim 2, 14 and 18 and 28, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: when the ongoing communication session has been transferred, for each respective UE out of the set of UEs, obtaining updated information related to the respective UE's name recognizable by the user, communication capabilities, and communication session status ([0077] “In step 104, a session carrying media-A between UE-2 and the SCC AS is established. At this point, the system may optionally update the remote leg between the SCC AS and the remote party in accordance with the establishment of the new session with UE-2… After successful establishment of the collaborative session control and transfer of media-A to UE-2 .. UE-1 becomes a controllee UE (a UE that receives and/or transmits media flow (media-B) as part of the collaborative session, while being subordinate to the controller UE for session control) and UE-2 assumes the role of controller UE. Media type (Media-A) is communicated between UE-2 and the remote party and media type (Media-B) continues to be communicated between UE-1 and the remote party“; [0116] an IUT controller UE sends SIP OPTIONS to the UEs identified in the list to determine the capabilities of the other IUT UEs (for example, by using the received IUT controller feature tag in the 200 OK response) and to discover which are currently available, IUT capable and which can have the IUT controller function transferred to them. The IUT Controllee UEs can obtain the capabilities of the other UEs including the media feature tag that indicates support for IUT controller/controllee functionality via a message such as the 200 (OK) response returned in response to a message such as a SIP OPTIONS request.”; [0098] “During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) to the controller UEs or a set of IUT UEs allowing the identification of which UEs are controller or controllee, which UEs support IUT controller function and to which UE an IUT controller function can be transferred. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”; [0103] “The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be updated periodically or not periodically by re-broadcasting, sending, or communicating the list.. Updating the list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be important as UEs may be constantly added (or registered) or removed (or de-registered) to/from the serving network entities such as HSS, S-CSCF, SCC AS in the serving network such as S-CSCF, HSS, or SCC AS. Updates may include the deletion, addition, or modification of entries as described above. The network node such as the SCC AS, DM Server provides the list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs”).
Regarding claim 3 and 19, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication session status comprises any one or more out of: whether being involved in the ongoing session ([0158] During operation of the present system, an IUT controller UE may subscribe to receive notifications that describe the ongoing sessions on a particular UE or all the UEs associated with the user. The notifications may identify various ongoing sessions and their associated controllee and/or controller UEs); whether not being involved in the ongoing session; and a current status of another session than the ongoing session. [0098] “During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) to the controller UEs or a set of IUT UEs allowing the identification of which UEs are controller or controllee, which UEs support IUT controller function and to which UE an IUT controller function can be transferred. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”; [0103] “The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be updated periodically or not periodically by re-broadcasting, sending, or communicating the list... Updating the list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be important as UEs may be constantly added (or registered) or removed (or de-registered) to/from the serving network entities such as HSS, S-CSCF, SCC AS in the serving network such as S-CSCF, HSS, or SCC AS. Updates may include the deletion, addition, or modification of entries as described above. The network node such as the SCC AS, DM Server provides the list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs”).
Regarding claim 4 and 20, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the name recognizable by the user is any one out of: a descriptive name set by a user; a descriptive name set by an operator; and a descriptive name automatically generated ([0098] “During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) to the controller UEs or a set of IUT UEs allowing the identification of which UEs are controller or controllee, which UEs support IUT controller function and to which UE an IUT controller function can be transferred. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”);
Regarding claim 5 and 21, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the respective UE's name recognizable by the user, communication capabilities, and communication session status, further comprises device information, wherein the device information comprising any one or more out of: a tag indicating the UE supports one or more types of media ([0098] “During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) to the controller UEs or a set of IUT UEs allowing the identification of which UEs are controller or controllee, which UEs support IUT controller function and to which UE an IUT controller function can be transferred. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”); a tag indicating the UE supports one or more types of communication; and a tag indicating the UE have registered one or more capabilities associated with the UE.
Regarding claim 6, 12 and 22, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed by any one out of the first UE or the second UE ([0074], Fig. 1, "As shown in FIG. 1, the multimedia session includes two media components (Media-A and Media-B) and UE-1 wants to transfer the collaborative session control and one of the media components (media-A) to UE-2 via an IUT. As illustrated, in step 101, UE-1 initiates the process of transferring the collaborative session control and media type (media-A) to UE-2 by communicating or sending a transfer request to the SCC AS. The transfer request indicates that the collaborative session control and media type (Media-A) are to be transferred to UE-2 ... The UE-2 may be identified by, but not limited, to GRUU ... UE-2's GRUU is stored in the SCC AS (valid REGISTRATION exists) and stored against that GRUU are media feature tags that match those that have been received in the request from UE-1");
Regarding claim 7, 13, 23 and 27, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining comprises retrieving the information from a device performing the method, or receiving the information from the network node (“[0098] During operation of the present system, a network node distributes a list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs (i.e. a set of URIs or identities of UEs which can request IUT transfer or be transferred, or a set of URIs of controller and controllee UEs belonging to the same IUT set) .. The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may include information such as device nickname, supported media types per URI or identity of each IUT UEs”; [0103] “The list of URIs or identities of IUT UEs may be updated periodically or not periodically by re-broadcasting, sending, or communicating the list, broadcasting updates only as the list is changed and updated, or by each controller UE requesting an updated list” [0158] During operation of the present system, an IUT controller UE may subscribe to receive notifications that describe the ongoing sessions on a particular UE or all the UEs associated with the user. The notifications may identify various ongoing sessions and their associated controllee and/or controller UEs. In one example, a user A has initiated two sessions; one with user C and user D, and another with user B. With reference to the session with users C and D, user A has three sessions for his IUT controller UE set (i.e. devices 1, 2 and 3). For the conversation with user B, user A has two sessions on his IUT UE set (i.e. devices 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 8 and 24, Allen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the received information is presented by the first UE or the second UE to be recognized by the user ([0196] “The UE 1700 includes a display 702” [0198] “the UE 1700 has access to information on various servers, such as a server 1706. The server 1706 may provide content that may be shown on the display 702”).
Citation of Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Rawaii (US 7944896) teaches a method To Identify Voice Over Packet Device Capability And Use It To Make Appropriate Calls With Other Client Devices.
Ravichandran (US 10462291) teaches a group call sharing one group number with several devices.
Conclusion
/DUNG L LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646