Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a cleaning module configured to suck in outside air in independent claims 1, 19 and 20 according to the specification at page 9 the cleaning module (160) includes a suction port (161), which includes a hole for sucking in dust along with the air, that communicates with an extension tube (150);
and a main body (110) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module according to the specification at page 6 first paragraphs the main body (110) includes a suction unit (112) that sucks in air containing dust and a dustbin for storing dust separated from the air.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-2, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2011/0113590) to Boyes.
Regarding independent claim 1, Boyes discloses a cleaning module (12) configured to suck in outside air; a main body (11) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module (12) (See paragraph [0027]);
a first rotation member (32) disposed between the cleaning module (12) and the main body (11), having a first rotation axis (axial direction) disposed in left and right directions, and configured to rotate the main body (11) about the first rotation axis (axial direction) (See paragraph [0028]);
a second rotation member (31) disposed between the cleaning module (12) and the main body (11), having a second rotation axis (vertical axis) vertically disposed, and configured to rotate the main body (11) about the second rotation axis (vertical axis);
and an anti-rotation assembly (22) having one end coupled to the second rotation member (31) and another end locked by the first rotation member (32) (See paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Boyes discloses that the first rotation axis (axial direction) is disposed at a forward end of the first rotation member (32), and with the first rotation member (32) is hingedly coupled to a rearward end of the cleaning module (12) (See FIGS. 1-3) through the first rotation axis (axial direction).
Regarding claim 14, Boyes discloses that the anti-rotation assembly (22) further includes an elastic member (plastics; See paragraph [0034]) configured to provide a restoration force to an opposite direction, when the second rotation member (31) rotates in one direction (axial direction).
Regarding claim 15, Boyes discloses that the elastic member (plastics; See paragraph [0034]) is wound on the second rotation axis (vertical axis), and with one end thereof is supported by one side of the second rotation member (31), and another end thereof is supported by another side of the second rotation member (31) (See FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Boyes discloses that the elastic member (plastics; See paragraph [0034]) is a spiral spring (See FIG. 3) having an inner side end thereof supported by the first rotation member (32), and an outer side end thereof supported by the second rotation member (31).
Regarding claim 17, Boyes discloses that the elastic member (plastic members (22) in FIG. 3) extends in a longitudinal direction of the second rotation member (31), and a forward end of the elastic member (plastic members (22) in FIG. 3) is supported by the first rotation member (32), and at least one side of a rear part thereof is supported by the second rotation member (31).
Regarding claim 18, Boyes discloses that the second rotation axis (vertical axis) is disposed at a rearer position than the first rotation member (32).
Regarding independent claim 20, Boyes discloses a cleaning module (12) configured to suck in outside air (See paragraph [0027]);
a main body (11) configured to provide a suction force to the cleaning module (12); a rotation member (30) disposed between the cleaning module (12) and the main body (11), and configured to rotate the main body (11) about a rotation axis disposed in one direction; and an anti-rotation assembly (22) having one end thereof coupled to the rotation member (30), another end thereof locked by the cleaning module or the main body (12) so as to suppress rotation of the main body (11) (See paragraphs [0033]- [0034] and FIGS. 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 3-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is allowed.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723