DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form. Claim 32 is drafted as a method claim yet depends from claim 27, which is a composition claim. A claim that changed statutory classes does not constitute a proper dependent claim under 35 USC 112(d) because it does not furth limit the parent claims subject matter in the same statutory category. Claim 32 must either be rewritten in independent form or corrected to properly depend from an appropriate process parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19, 22, 24-27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 20210010409, cited on Applicants 10/6/23 IDS). A machine translation of this document is included with this Office action.
Claim 16: Kim et al. teaches the compound
on page 4. This compound anticipates Formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to formula 1, this compound has all three R1 groups equal to hydrogen atoms, L equal to a group satisfying Formula BN-1 with both R2 groups equal to phenyl, and W equal to a group satisfying Formula II with Z equal to a single bond, all four Ra groups on the right side of Formula II as claimed being equal to hydrogen atoms, one Ra group on the left side of Formula II as claimed being equal to a hydrogen atom, and three adjacent Ra groups on the left side of Formula II as claimed forming a polycyclic system.
Claims 17 and 18: In the compound shown above, R1 and R2 are equal to hydrogen atoms and phenyl groups, which anticipates claims 17 and 18.
Claim 19: In the compound shown above, the second chemical moiety is a group which satisfies Formula IIa of claim 19.
Claim 22: The compound shown above satisfies Formula IVa-1 of claim 22 with all variables being described in claim 16 above.
Claims 24-26: Kim et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer comprising a host material and a dopant, a hole blocking layer, an electron injection and electron transport layer, and a cathode. Device example 4 employs the compound shown above (which is referred to as compound 4) as the dopant material. Device example 4 therefore anticipates all of the device limitations of claims 24-26.
Claim 27: The emission layer comprises an organic molecule satisfying claim 16 as described above, and a host material which is different, thereby satisfying claim 27.
Claim 29: The layers taught in the device examples are applied via a deposition process, thereby satisfying claim 29.
Claim 30: Because the compound shown above as taught by Kim et al. satisfies all of the structural limitations of Formula 1 of claim 16, it would be expected that device example 4, which comprises the compound shown in claim 1 above as the dopant would generate light with a wavelength between 500 nm and 560 nm as required by claim 30. A chemical compound and its properties are inseparable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20210010409).
Claim 32 is being treated as an independent claim for purposes of examination. The host material m-CPB and compound 4 are taught as being vapor deposited to form an emission layer. While Kim et al. does not explicitly teach that these two compounds are co-deposited from a single chemical deposition source, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have prepared a mixture of these two compounds to be deposited as co-evaporation eliminates the need to calibrate and synchronize multiple deposition monitors across different sources.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20, 21, 23, 28, and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Kim et al. does not teach or suggest the structural requirements of claims 20, 21, and 23. Additionally, Kim et al. does not teach an emission layer comprising a host material, the organic molecule according to claim 27, and an additional fluorescent emitter F as required by claim 28. Claim 31 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 28.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766