DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, and the following species (from Fig. 5, see interview summary), claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged.
During a telephone conversation with Giorgios Kefallinos on 01/08/26 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the species of FIG. 5, claims 1-5. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim(s) 6 (non-elected species of FIG. 18) and 7-16 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirokami (U.S. 2015/0274759) in view of Dual-Cross-Linked Supramolecular Polysiloxanes for Mechanically Tunable, Damage-Healable and Oil-Repellent Polymeric Coatings (2019, hereinafter NPL 1) in view of Adhesion Behavior of Catechol-Incorporated Silicone Elastomer on Metal Surface (2020, hereinafter NPL 2).
Regarding claims 1-5, Hirokami discloses an adhesive composition formed from a catechol bearing silane monomer, which may be a catechol methyl dialkoxysilane compound (when R6 and R7 are methyl, and n is 2) that may be cured along with another polymerizable monomer ([0018]-[0026], [0042]). Such a catechol methyl dialkoxysilane compound would form linear (D) units upon condensation of the two alkoxy groups, as in claim 2. The catechol group may be bonded to the methyl dialkoxysilane portion via a urea substituted hydrocarbon group, as in claims 4 and 5, ([0009]) with the formulae in [0026] showing that the hydrocarbon group may have the “separating” group (i.e., “selected from ether, thioether, carbonyl, thiocarbonyl, amino, urethane, and urea”) between CH2 hydrocarbon segments that have “s” and “m” number of repeating units, that overlap the hydrocarbon groups on either side of the elected urea bond ((CH2)3 and (CH2)2, respectively).
Hirokami does not disclose that the urea group is formed of a primary amine (instead exemplifying a secondary amine, i.e., N(CH3)(C=O)N(H) vs N(H)(C=O)N(H), [0033], but also generally calling for urea groups, [0009]). However, NPL 1 is also directed to adhesives based on catechol groups bonded to linear siloxane polymers via urea bonds, and discloses that such catechol groups may also be bonded via urea bonds formed from primary amine groups (see abstract, FIG. 1), thus forming N(H)(C=O)N(H) urea bonds as in the elected species. Thus, it would have been obvious to have formed the generic urea group of Hirokami from a primary amine and isocyanate, as taught by NPL1 because NPL1 shows that such a type of urea bond achieves the function of attaching the catechol group to the polysiloxane polymer for an adhesive composition, as sought by Hirokami. The resulting catechol methyl dialkoxysilane compound of modified Hirokami would thus have a catechol group bound to a (CH2)2 group (when s is 2), bound to a N(H)(C=O)N(H) group, bound to a (CH2)3 group (when m is 3), bound to a methyl dialkoxysilane, which corresponds to the elected catechol monomer (and forms the adhesive repeating unit in present FIG. 5 when the alkoxy groups are condensed to form Si-O-Si bonds).
Hirokami discloses that the above catechol monomer may be combined with other polymerizable monomers but does not disclose the claimed dimethylsiloxane comonomer. However, NPL2 is also directed to catechol/siloxane based adhesives and discloses that the catechol side groups provide the adhesion properties while linear PDMS repeating units (i.e., D units as in claim 2) can be included to provide a flexible structure, as well as electrical insulation, transparency, chemical inertness, and biocompatibility (see abstract, 2444, and Scheme 1) such that it would have been obvious to have included PDMS forming monomers along with the catechol bearing silane monomers of modified Hirokami (i.e., catechol urea methyl dialkoxysilanes) so that the PDMS forming monomers can impart flexiblity, as well as electrical insulation, transparency, chemical inertness, and biocompatibility. Based on the above recognized properties of the respective monomers (i.e., PDMS for flexibility vs catechol urea methyl dialkoxysilanes for adhesion) it would have been obvious to have adjusted the relative amount of such monomer/repeating units based on the desired optimized degree of flexibility vs adhesion, as in claim 3.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787