DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to amendments filed on 1/6/2026. Claims 1-24 are pending.
** Claim 20 is amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 1/6/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
The Applicant Argues:
Applicant does not dispute that a UE may perform cell reestablishment after expiry of the T310 timer, but that does not mean the duration of the T310 timer is equivalent to "an amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch," as alleged by the Office Action. Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) technical standard 38.331 defines the T310 timer. T310 is a timer started by the UE upon detecting consecutive "out-of-sync" indications from lower layers (physical layer). It supervises the time the UE waits for conditions to improve or a recovery response from the network before declaring radio link failure. For example, T310 may be stopped upon receiving a number of consecutive "in-sync" indications, which indicates recovery of the radio link. Upon expiry of T310, the UE declares a RLF and initiates a reestablishment procedure. Thus, the T310 timer may be tangentially related to a service link or feeder link switch in that a service link or feeder link switch is one of many events that may eventually result in a RLF, but the value of the T310 timer is not an amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch occurs.
For example, a service link or feeder link switch may occur before a T310 timer is ever started, i.e., the service link or feeder link switch may cause the UE to detect consecutive "out- of-sync" indications and then start the T310 timer. As another example, a service link or feeder link switch may occur after a T310 timer is started, but before the T310 timer expires. The T310 timer is thus an arbitrary amount of time the UE waits to see if either a link recovers or if the link does not recover and UE declares RLF and performs reestablishment. The T310 timer is not an indication of when a service link or feeder link switch is to occur.
In fact, as described in reference to Applicant's Specification above, claim 1 is directed to modifying an RLF parameter (e.g., T310) based on the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch occurs to improve the efficiency of the RLF procedure. Thus, the T310 timer cannot be equated to both the claimed amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch occurs and the claimed RLF parameter to be modified based on the determined amount of time, as alleged by the Office Action (see Office Action at p. 4 alleging that Wigard discloses modifying a T310 timer). The mapping proposed by the Office Action would result in an illogical circular situation where the UE determines the value of the T310 timer and then modifies the value of the T310 timer based on the value of the T310 timer.
Accordingly, the proposed Lin-Wigard combination at least fails to disclose, teach or suggest "determining an amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch; and based on the determined amount of time, modifying a radio link failure parameter," as recited in independent claim 1. Thus, the proposed Lin-Wigard combination fails to disclose, teach or suggest every element of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 and each of its dependent claims are in condition for allowance. For analogous reasons (i.e., T310 is not equivalent to an amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch), Applicant further contends that claims 11, 21 and 23, and their dependent claims, are in condition for allowance.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s perspective. First, Applicant is arguing different topics from Applicant’s specification that are not even mentioned in the Claims such as Claim 1. Secondly, based on Applicant’s own explanations above, the amount of time the UE waits to see if a link recovers from a link failure or does not, is broadly understood as: “determining an amount of time until a service link occurs (i.e., link recovery) or feeder link switch occurs”. Thirdly, Lin in para[0059] teaches UE is configured with a T310 timer during which time period, as it counts down, UE monitors the communication links, and in para[0085] it indicates the UE shall monitor the link of PCell for recovery (i.e., service link switch) using the evaluation period until expiry of the T310 timer. Therefore, T310 is understood broadly, as an amount of time until a service link switch (i.e., recovery) or a feeder link switch occurs, based on teachings of Lin.
Examiner has used Wigard, to show that a UE can modify the values certain timers such as T310, T311, N310, and N311. Therefore, combination of Lin and Wigard, teaches and suggests T310 as a time period until a link recovery occurs, and whrein the T310 duration can be adjusted by UE, consistent with Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240056931 A1 to LIN (hereinafter Lin) in view of US 20210273717 A1 to Wigard et al., (hereinafter Wigard).
Claim 1. A method performed by a wireless device (i.e., UE) capable of operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising:
determining an amount of time (i.e., T310 timer) until a service link or feeder link switch; (i.e., cell reestablishment with target cell) and
(Lin: See para[0059], UE is configured with a “T310 timer” (i.e., an amount of time), via “t310-r13” included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” that UE receives from network (i.e, Base Station), during which time period (i.e., during T310 as it counts down), it monitors the communication links. See para[0039] UE performs “cell reestablishement with a target cell” (i.e., service/feeder link switch), after expiry of the T310 timer. See also para[0085])
Although Lin teaches various RLF parameters, such as T301, T310, T311, N310, and N311, identified in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” that UE receives from network and is configured with, however, Lin does not explicitly disclose that UE can modify or adjust or (re)configure, any one of the radio link failure (RLF) parameters, either during T310 timer (i.e., the determined amount of time), or upon expiry of T310 timer (i.e., the determined amount of time) or even the value of T310 itself, as understood by:
based on the determined amount of time, modifying a radio link failure parameter used to determine when to declare a radio link failure (RLF).
However, in a similar field, Wigard in para[0058] teaches UE receives “RLF-TimersAndContants” and UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., the determined amount of time), T311, N310, and N311 accordingly.
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the amount of time (i.e., T310 timer) until a service link or feeder link switch (i.e., cell reestablishment with one target cell) is based on an elevation angle of a satellite (i.e., elevation angle of the serving cell/satellite and/or target cell/satellite) associated with the service link or feeder link.
(Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according to which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, and an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells.)
Claim 3. The method of claim 2, wherein the elevation angle of the satellite is in relation to the wireless device.
(Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells.)
Claim 4. The method of claim 2, wherein the elevation angle of the satellite is in relation to a center of a cell (i.e., elevation angle of the serving cell/satellite center; and/or target cell/satellite center) served by the satellite. (Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells.)
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch is based on an expected time to be served. (Lin: See para[0190] UE receives from network, information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target cell for UE arrives, and as such network configures the UE with a corresponding timer, allowing UE to trigger cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero. The network also provides constellation information to UE to measure the position of the target cell and distance/elevation angles between UE and the target cell.)
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch is based on a position of the wireless device in a cell. (Lin: See para[0190] UE receives from network, information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target cell for UE arrives, and as such network configures the UE with a corresponding timer, allowing UE to trigger cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero. The network also provides constellation information to UE to measure the position of the target cell and distance/elevation angles between UE and the target cell.)
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch is based on an overlap period between a first satellite and a second satellite. (Lin: See para[0190] UE receives from network, information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target cell for UE arrives, and as such network configures the UE with a corresponding timer (i.e., overlap period time), allowing UE to trigger cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero. The network also provides constellation information to UE to measure the position of the target cell and distance/elevation angles between UE and the target cell.)
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the radio link failure parameter comprises modifying at least one of an out of synchronization counter (i.e., N310 indicates a max # of consecutive “out-of-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042]) and an in synchronization counter (i.e., N311 indicates a max # of consecutive “in-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042])).
(Wigard: See para[0058] teaches UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., the determined amount of time), T311, N310 (i.e., an out of synchronization counter), and N311 (i.e., in synchronization counter) accordingly)
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the radio link failure parameter comprises modifying a RLF timer (i.e., T310 timer). (Wigard: See para[0058] teaches UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., the determined amount of time), T311, N310 (i.e., an out of synchronization counter), and N311 (i.e., in synchronization counter) accordingly)
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 10. The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the radio link failure parameter comprises modifying a RLF threshold (i.e., N310 indicates a max # of consecutive “out-of-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042]).
(Wigard: See para[0058] teaches UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310, T311, N310 (i.e., N310 indicates a max # of consecutive “out-of-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042]), and N311 accordingly)
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 11. A wireless device (i.e., UE) capable of operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the wireless device comprising processing circuitry operable to:
determine an amount of time (i.e., T310 timer) until a service link or feeder link switch; (i.e., cell reestablishment with one target cell) and
(Lin: See para[0059], UE is configured with a “T310 timer” (i.e., an amount of time), via “t310-r13” included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” that UE receives from network (i.e, Base Station), during which time period (i.e., during T310 as it counts down), it monitors the communication links. See para[0039] UE performs “cell reestablishement with a target cell” (i.e., service/feeder link switch), after expiry of the T310 timer.)
Although Lin teaches various RLF parameters, such as T301, T310, T311, N310, and N311, identified in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” that UE receives from network, however, Lin does not explicitly disclose that UE can modify or adjust or (re)configure, any one of radio link failure (RLF) parameters, either during T310 timer (i.e., the determined amount of time), or upon expiry of T310 timer (i.e., the determined amount of time) or even the value of T310 itself, as understood by:
based on the determined amount of time, modify a radio link failure parameter used to determine when to declare a radio link failure (RLF).
However, in a similar field, Wigard in para[0058] teaches UE receives “RLF-TimersAndContants” and may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., the determined amount of time), T311, N310, and N311 accordingly.
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 12. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to determine the amount of time (i.e., T310 timer) until a service link or feeder link switch (i.e., cell reestablishment with one target cell) based on an elevation angle of a satellite (i.e., elevation angle of the serving cell/satellite and/or target cell/satellite) associated with the service link or feeder link.
(Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according to which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, and an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells.)
Claim 13. The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the elevation angle of the satellite is in relation to the wireless device.
(Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells.)
Claim 14. The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the elevation angle of the satellite is in relation to a center of a cell (i.e., elevation angle of the serving cell/satellite center; and/or target cell/satellite center) served by the satellite.
(Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells.)
Claim 15. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to determine the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch based on an expected time to be served. (Lin: See para[0190] UE receives from network, information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target cell for UE arrives, and as such network configures the UE with a corresponding timer, allowing UE to trigger cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero. The network also provides constellation information to UE to measure the position of the target cell and distance/elevation angles between UE and the target cell.)
Claim 16. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to determine the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch based on a position of the wireless device in a cell. (Lin: See para[0190] UE receives from network, information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target cell for UE arrives, and as such network configures the UE with a corresponding timer, allowing UE to trigger cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero. The network also provides constellation information to UE to measure the position of the target cell and distance/elevation angles between UE and the target cell.)
Claim 17. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to determine the amount of time until a service link or feeder link switch based on an overlap period between a first satellite and a second satellite. (Lin: See para[0190] UE receives from network, information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target cell for UE arrives, and as such network configures the UE with a corresponding timer (i.e., overlap period time), allowing UE to trigger cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero. The network also provides constellation information to UE to measure the position of the target cell and distance/elevation angles between UE and the target cell.)
Claim 18. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to modify the radio link failure parameter by modifying at least one of an out of synchronization counter (i.e., N310 indicates a max # of consecutive “out-of-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042]) and an in synchronization counter(i.e., N311 indicates a max # of consecutive “in-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042])).
(Wigard: See para[0058] teaches UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., the determined amount of time), T311, N310 (i.e., an out of synchronization counter), and N311 (i.e., in synchronization counter) accordingly)
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 19. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to modify the radio link failure parameter by modifying a RLF timer (i.e., T310 timer). (Wigard: See para[0058] teaches UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., the determined amount of time), T311, N310 (i.e., an out of synchronization counter), and N311 (i.e., in synchronization counter) accordingly)
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 20. The wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to modify the radio link failure parameter by modifying a RLF threshold (i.e., N310 indicates a max # of consecutive “out-of-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042]).
(Wigard: See para[0058] teaches UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310, T311, N310 (i.e., N310 indicates a max # of consecutive “out-of-sync” sent/received (i.e., a threshold), Lin: para[0042]), and N311 accordingly)
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 21. A method performed by a network node (i.e., Base Station) capable of operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising:
transmitting a radio link failure configuration (i.e., RLF-TimersAndConstants) to a wireless device (i.e., UE),
(Lin: See para[0059], UE receives “RLF-TimersAndConstants” (i.e., radio link failure configuration) from network (i.e, Base Station), and is configured with a “T310 timer” via “t310-r13” that is included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” (i.e., radio link failure configuration))
Although Lin teaches UE is configured with T310 after receiving “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, and certain other parameters such as N310, N311, and T311, however, Lin does not explicitly disclose that “RLF-TimersAndConstants” includes and/or contains various parameters such as T310 (i.e., a threshold value representing a time), T311, N310, and N311, as understood by:
the radio link failure configuration (i.e., RLF-TimersAndConstants) comprising any one or more of:
a threshold value representing a time (i.e., T310 timer) until a service link or feeder link switch; (i.e., cell reestablishment with one target cell), a value or scaling factor for an out of synchronization counter; a value or scaling factor for an in synchronization counter; a value or scaling factor for a RLF timer (i.e., T310 timer); and a value or scaling factor for a RLF threshold.
However, in a similar field, Wigard in para[0058] teaches “RLF-TimersAndContants” includes various timers and parameters, wherein UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., a threshold time value used until cell reestablishmentuntil (i.e., service link or feeder link switch)), T311, N310, and N311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 22. The method of claim 21, wherein the threshold value representing a time until a service link or feeder link switch is based on one or more of an elevation angle of a satellite, a position of the wireless device in a cell and an overlap period between a first satellite and a second satellite. (Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according to which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, and “an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells” ))
Claim 23. A network node (i.e., Base Station) capable of operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the network node comprising processing circuitry (Lin: See Fig. 1, #21a) operable to:
transmit a radio link failure configuration (i.e., RLF-TimersAndConstants) to a wireless device, (i.e., UE),
(Lin: See para[0059], UE receives “RLF-TimersAndConstants” (i.e., radio link failure configuration) from network (i.e, Base Station), and is configured with a “T310 timer” via “t310-r13” that is included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” (i.e., radio link failure configuration))
Although Lin teaches UE is configured with T310 after receiving “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, and certain other parameters such as N310, N311, and T311, however, Lin does not explicitly disclose that “RLF-TimersAndConstants” includes and/or contains various parameters such as T310 (i.e., a threshold value representing a time), T311, N310, and N311, as understood by:
the radio link failure configuration (i.e., RLF-TimersAndConstants) comprising any one or more of:
a threshold value (i.e., T310 timer) representing a time until a service link or feeder link switch; (i.e., cell reestablishment with one target cell), a value or scaling factor for an out of synchronization counter; a value or scaling factor for an in synchronization counter; a value or scaling factor for a RLF timer (i.e., T310 timer); and a value or scaling factor for a RLF threshold.
However, in a similar field, Wigard in para[0058] teaches “RLF-TimersAndContants” includes various timers and parameters, wherein UE may (re)configure the value of timers and constants included in “RLF-TimersAndConstants” such as T310 (i.e., a threshold time value used until cell reestablishmentuntil (i.e., service link or feeder link switch)), T311, N310, and N311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Lin teaches methods and techniques related to a UE receiving a plurality of triggering events and configuration information causing it to perform neighbor cell measurements within a cell measurement period (i.e., T310) before radio link failure (RLF) and/or radio link recovery, which then selects one target cell based on measurements done and performs a cell reestablishment procedure (i.e., feeder link switch) or cell re-establishment with the target cell, wherein the next neighbor target cell is a Satellite. (Lin: See Abstract and para[0159]).
Wigard teaches a UE that can follow 3GPP NR specification, and accordingly, is able to update and (re)configure timers and constants related to radio link failure that UE receives via RLF-TimersAndConstants, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included a UE that is able to follow 3GPP NR specification, as taught by Wigard, with the teachings of Lin, in order to benefit from having a UE that is able to update and (re)configure all of timers and constants related to radio link failure (RLF) that UE is configured and receives via “RLF-TimersAndConstants”, such as counters N310, N311, and Timers T310 and T311. (Wigard: See para[0058])
Claim 24. The network node of claim 23, wherein the threshold value representing a time until a service link or feeder link switch is based on one or more of an elevation angle of a satellite, a position of the wireless device in a cell and an overlap period between a first satellite and a second satellite. (Lin: See para[0090] trigger conditions for UE to perform neighbor cell measurements before switching, includes, a distance between UE and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the UE, a timer (i.e., T310 timer) to time a period according to which neighbor cell measurements are triggered, and “an elevation angle of the serving cell (i.e., a source cell) and/or an elevation angle of the target cells” ))
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477