Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-18, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirochi; Yukitomo (US 20170062254 A1) in view of Chan; Yu-Peng (US 20160076688 A1). Hirochi teaches a plasma (252; Figure 5)-enhanced atomic layer deposition apparatus, comprising: two gas mixing structures (T-branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a,b; Figure 3,5) including a first gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a; Figure 3,5) and a second gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55b; Figure 3,5); two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) including: a first process chamber (100a; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]) connected to the first gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a; Figure 3,5); and a second process chamber (100b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]) connected to a second gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55b; Figure 3,5); a precursor supply device (123+all downstream of 123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 3; Figure 2) including a precursor source (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3), communicating with gas inlet structures (235a,b; Figure 4,5) of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) via the first gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a; Figure 3,5) and the second gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55b; Figure 3,5) wherein each gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a,b; Figure 3,5) including a gas mixing block (“T” branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 551; Figure 5) and a gas mixing pipeline (piping downstream of T-branches; Figure 4-Applicant’s 552; Figure 5), and configured to selectively provide a precursor or a purge gas to at least one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example); a reaction gas supply device (113+all downstream of 113; Figure 4-Applicant’s 6; Figure 3), communicating with the same gas inlet structures (235a,b; Figure 4,5) of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) via the first gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a; Figure 3,5) and the second gas mixing structure (T-branches along 121b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55b; Figure 3,5) and configured to selectively provide a reaction gas to at least one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example); a radio frequency device (252; Figure 5 for each 100a,b; Figure 4; [0081]-[0082]-Applicant’s 82a,b; Figure 4) connected to the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) and configured to selectively output radio frequency power to at least one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example); and a pressure adjustment device (226a,b+225a+222a+223a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 7; Figure 3) communicating with exhaust openings (224a,b; Figure 4; [0080]) of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) and configured to independently control (226a,b; Figure 3; [0080]) chamber pressures of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) - claim 13
Hirochi further teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the precursor supply device (123+all downstream of 123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 3; Figure 2) includes, a gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4), a switching pipeline group (125a,b, 170a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 4; Figure 3), and a gas pump device (“exhaust”; [0075]-Applicant’s 10a-not shown), wherein: the precursor source (123+143; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30; Figure 3,4) is configured to provide the precursor or purge gas and communicates with the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4) through the switching pipeline group (125a,b, 170a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 4; Figure 3); the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4) communicates with the gas inlet structures (235a,b; Figure 4,5) of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example); the switching pipeline group (125a,b, 170a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 4; Figure 3) is configured to selectively communicate the precursor source (123+143; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30; Figure 3,4) to the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4) or the gas pump device (“exhaust”; [0075]-Applicant’s 10a-not shown); and the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 125a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4-see above 112(b)-assumed to be “gas inlet pipeline group”) is configured to selectively communicate the precursor source (123+143; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30; Figure 3,4) to at least one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example), as claimed by claim 14
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4) includes a first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and a second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4), wherein: a gas outlet end (111a,b; Figure 4) of the first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and a gas outlet end (131a,b) of the second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4) each communicate with the corresponding gas inlet structure (235a,b; Figure 4,5) of a respective one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example); a gas inlet end (112) of the first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and a gas inlet end (132) of the second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4) communicate with the switching pipeline group (125a,b, 170a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 4; Figure 3); and a first on-off valve (160; Figure 4-Applicant’s 52a; Figure 5) and a second on-off valve (135x; Figure 4; [01015]-Applicant’s 52b; Figure 5) are arranged at the first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and the second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4), respectively, as claimed by claim 15
The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein: the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4) further includes a first dilution branch (131a; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53a; Figure 5) and a second dilution branch (131b; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53b; Figure 5); gas inlet ends of the first dilution branch (131a; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53a; Figure 5) and the second dilution branch (131b; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53b; Figure 5) communicate with a dilution gas source (133; Figure 4; [0077]) configured to provide the dilution gas, respectively; gas outlet ends (131a,b-176a,b; Figure 4) of the first dilution branch (131a; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53a; Figure 5) and the second dilution branch (131b; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53b; Figure 5) communicate (via 131a,b-176a,b; Figure 4) with a first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and a second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4), respectively; and a first flow controller (right 156b; Figure 4) and a second flow controller (135b; Figure 4) are arranged at the first dilution branch (131a; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53a; Figure 5) and the second dilution branch (131b; Figure 4-from 133-Applicant’s 53b; Figure 5), (assumed respectively), as claimed by claim 16
The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein: the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4) further includes the two gas mixing structures (T-branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a,b; Figure 3,5) ; each of the two gas mixing structures (T-branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a,b; Figure 3,5) includes a first gas inlet end (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3), a second gas inlet end (133; Figure 4), and a gas outlet end (235a,b; Figure 4), wherein: first gas inlet ends (123,235a,b; Figure 4) each communicate with a respective one of the gas outlet ends (235a,b; Figure 4) of the first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and the second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4) ; second gas inlet ends (133,235a,b; Figure 4) communicate with a balance gas source (133; Figure 4) configured to provide a balance gas and a reaction gas supply device (113+all downstream of 113; Figure 4-Applicant’s 6; Figure 3), respectively; and gas outlet ends (235a,b; Figure 4) communicate with the gas inlet structures (235a,b; Figure 4) of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4,5; [0080]), respectively, as claimed by claim 17
The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein each of the gas mixing structures (T-branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 55a,b; Figure 3,5) includes: the first gas inlet end (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) and the second gas inlet end (133; Figure 4) being formed on an outer surface of the gas mixing block (“T” branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 551; Figure 5), a gas outlet end (235a,b; Figure 4) being formed on the outer surface of the gas mixing block (“T” branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 551; Figure 5); and the gas outlet end (235a,b; Figure 4) of the gas mixing block (“T” branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 551; Figure 5) communicating with a gas inlet end of the gas mixing pipeline (between 235a,b and “T”-Applicant’s 552; Figure 5), and the gas outlet end (235a,b; Figure 4) of the gas mixing pipeline (between 235a,b and “T”-Applicant’s 552; Figure 5) being used as the gas outlet end (235a,b; Figure 4) of the gas mixing structure to communicate with a gas inlet structure of one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4,5; [0080]), as claimed by claim 18
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the precursor source (123+143; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30; Figure 3,4) includes: a carrier gas main route (142; Figure 4-Applicant’s 31; Figure 4), a gas inlet end of the carrier gas main route (142; Figure 4-Applicant’s 31; Figure 4) communicating with a carrier gas source (143; Figure 4) for providing a carrier gas, a gas outlet end of the carrier gas main route (142; Figure 4-Applicant’s 31; Figure 4) communicating with the switching pipeline group (125a,b, 170a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 4; Figure 3), and a fifth on-off valve (left 156b; Figure 4) and a third flow controller (right 156b; Figure 4) being arranged at the carrier gas main route (142; Figure 4-Applicant’s 31; Figure 4); a source bottle (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 32; Figure 4) configured to store the precursor; a first carrier gas branch (151b; Figure 4), a gas inlet end of the first carrier gas branch (151b; Figure 4) communicating with the carrier gas main route (142; Figure 4-Applicant’s 31; Figure 4) at an upstream position of the fifth on-off valve (left 156b; Figure 4), and a gas outlet end of the first carrier gas branch (151b; Figure 4) communicating with a gas inlet end of the source bottle (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 32; Figure 4); and a second carrier gas branch (151a; Figure 4), a gas outlet end of the second carrier gas branch (151a; Figure 4) communicating with the carrier gas main route (142; Figure 4-Applicant’s 31; Figure 4) at a downstream position of the fifth on-off valve (left 156b; Figure 4), a gas inlet end of the second carrier gas branch (151a; Figure 4) communicating with the gas outlet end of the source bottle (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 32; Figure 4), and a sixth on-off valve (left 156a; Figure 4) and a seventh on-off valve (right 156a; Figure 4) being arranged at the first carrier gas branch (151b; Figure 4) and the second carrier gas branch (151a; Figure 4), respectively, as claimed by claim 21.
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the radio frequency device (252; Figure 5 for each 100a,b; Figure 4; [0081]-[0082]-Applicant’s 82a,b; Figure 4) includes: a first matcher (251; Figure 5 for 100a; Figure 4; [0094]); a second matcher (251; Figure 5 for 100b; Figure 4; [0094]); a first radio frequency generator (252; Figure 5 for 100a; Figure 4; [0081]-[0082]-Applicant’s 82a,b; Figure 4) electrically connected to one of the process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) through the first matcher (251; Figure 5 for 100a; Figure 4; [0094]); and a second radio frequency generator (252; Figure 5 for 100b; Figure 4; [0081]-[0082]-Applicant’s 82a,b; Figure 4) electrically connected to the other one of the process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example) through the second matcher (251; Figure 5 for 100b; Figure 4; [0094]), as claimed by claim 22
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the pressure adjustment device (226a,b+225a+222a+223a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 7; Figure 3) includes: a first exhaust branch (227a-225a; Figure 4); and a second exhaust branch (227b-225a; Figure 4), wherein: gas inlet ends of the first exhaust branch (227a-225a; Figure 4) and the second exhaust branch (227b-225a; Figure 4) communicate with exhaust openings (224a,b; Figure 4; [0080]) of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example), respectively; gas outlet ends of the first exhaust branch (227a-225a; Figure 4) and the second exhaust branch (227b-225a; Figure 4) communicate with the gas pump device (223a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 10a-not shown); a first isolation valve (227a; Figure 4) and a second isolation valve (227b; Figure 4) are arranged at the first exhaust branch (227a-225a; Figure 4) and the second exhaust branch (227b-225a; Figure 4), respectively; and a first flow adjustment valve (226a; Figure 4) and a second flow adjustment valve (226b; Figure 4) are arranged at the first exhaust branch (227a-225a; Figure 4) and the second exhaust branch (227b-225a; Figure 4), as claimed by claim 23
Hirochi does not teach Hirochi’s gas mixing block (“T” branches along 121a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 551; Figure 5) being wider than Hirochi’s gas mixing pipeline (piping downstream of T-branches; Figure 4-Applicant’s 552; Figure 5) – claim 13.
Chan teaches “Tee Fittings” (title) such that Chan’s gas mixing block (1H; Figure 16-Applicant’s 551; Figure 5) is wider than Chan’s gas mixing pipeline (11H,12H; Figure 16-Applicant’s 552; Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hirochi to use Chan’s “Tee Fittings” as taught by Chan.
Motivation for Hirochi to use Chan’s “Tee Fittings” as taught by Chan is for eliminating reducer fittings and for varied piping diameters as taught by Chan ([0004]-[0005], [0020]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirochi; Yukitomo (US 20170062254 A1) and Chan; Yu-Peng (US 20160076688 A1) in view of Yahata; Takashi et al. (US 20220090263 A1). Hirochi and Chan are discussed above. Hirochi further teaches the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the switching pipeline group (125a,b, 170a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 4; Figure 3) includes: a first switching branch (piping between 170a and 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41a; Figure 3), two ends of the first switching branch (piping between 170a and 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41a; Figure 3) communicating with the precursor source (123+143; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30; Figure 3,4) and the gas inlet pipeline group (all piping upstream of 235a,b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 5; Figure 2,4), respectively; and a second switching branch (171a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41b; Figure 3), two ends of the second switching branch (171a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41b; Figure 3) communicating with the first switching branch (piping between 170a and 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41a; Figure 3) and the gas pump device (“exhaust”; [0075]-Applicant’s 10a-not shown), wherein: a third on-off valve (170a; Figure 4) arranged at Hirochi’s first switching branch (piping between 170a and 121a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41a; Figure 3) – claim 20
Hirochi and Chan do not teach a fourth on-off valve (Applicant’s 42b; Figure 3) arranged at Hirochi’s second switching branch (171a; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41b; Figure 3) - claim 20.
Yahata also teaches plural reactor gas delivery and exhaust as shown Figure 4. Yahata further teaches a fourth on-off valve (313a,c; Figure 4-Applicant’s 42b; Figure 3) arranged at Yahata’s second switching branch (301a/112 interface, 301b/121b interface; Figure 4-Applicant’s 41b; Figure 3) - claim 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Hirochi to add Yahata’s fourth on-off valve.
Motivation for Hirochi to add Yahata’s fourth on-off valve is for exhaust gas control as taught by Yahata ([0095]).
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirochi; Yukitomo (US 20170062254 A1) and Chan; Yu-Peng (US 20160076688 A1) in view of Ashihara; Hiroshi et al. (US 20160090651 A1). Hirochi and Chan are discussed above. Hirochi and Chan do not teach Hirochi’s apparatus according to claim 13, wherein Hirochi’s precursor source (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) includes a source bottle configured to store the precursor, and Hirochi’s precursor source (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) is configured to selectively output, in a first configuration, the precursor carried by a carrier gas by directing the carrier gas through the source bottle, and output, in a second configuration, the purge gas comprising the carrier gas by directing the carrier gas to bypass the source bottle.
Ashihara teaches a standard bubbler/carrier gas source (all upstream of 115,135; Figure 2) including Ashihara’s precursor source (all upstream of 115,135; Figure 2-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) includes a source bottle (180) configured to store the precursor, and Ashihara’s precursor source (all upstream of 115,135; Figure 2-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) is configured to selectively output, in a first configuration, the precursor (“gas precursor”; [0038]) carried by a carrier gas (“carrier gas”; [0038]) by directing the carrier gas through the source bottle (180), and output, in a second configuration, the purge gas comprising the carrier gas by directing the carrier gas to bypass (131) the source bottle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Hirochi to replace Hirochi’s precursor source (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) with Ashihara’s standard bubbler/carrier gas source (all upstream of 115,135; Figure 2) is for using Ashihara’s precursor.
Motivation for Hirochi to replace Hirochi’s precursor source (123; Figure 4-Applicant’s 30, Figure 3) with Ashihara’s standard bubbler/carrier gas source (all upstream of 115,135; Figure 2) is for using Ashihara’s precursor is for desirable films ([0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants states:
“
Hirochi is directed to an improved processing apparatus including a plurality of process chambers. Hirochi, Abstract. Without acquiescing to the Office's assertions, Applicant notes that it is clear from FIG. 4 of Hirochi that process gas source 113 does not communicate with chambers 100a/100b via either of gas supply pipe 121a or 121b. Rather, in Hirochi, it is reactive gas supply source 123 that communicates with chambers 100a/100b via gas supply pipes 121a/121b. However, in the rejection of claim 1, the Office alleges that reactive gas supply source 123 of Hirochi is analogous to Applicant's precursor source/supply device (i.e., not reaction gas supply device). Office Action at 3. Accordingly, contrary to the Office's assertions, Hirochi fails to disclose or suggest "a reaction gas supply device, communicating with the same gas inlet structures of the two process chambers via the first gas mixing structure and the second gas mixing structure," as recited in claim 13. Chan and Yahata do not cure the deficiencies of Hirochi because Chan and Yahata also fail to disclose or suggest the above-quoted claim elements recited in claim 13. Without acquiescing to the Office's characterizations, Applicant respectfully submits that Hirochi, Chan, and Yahata, whether taken alone or in any combination, fail to disclose or suggest the above- quoted claim elements recited in claim 13.
“
In response, the Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation for “communicate”, in the context of the claimed invention, is fluid/gas exchange across plumbing components as claimed. In this context, the Examiner again affirms that Hirochi teaches Hirochi’s process gas source 113 does communicate with chamber 100a via gas supply pipe 121a as noted by valves 176a and 186a and chamber 100b via gas supply pipe 121b as noted by valves 176b and 186b.
Applicant states:
“
Claim 15, as amended, which indirectly depends from claim 13, recites the plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition apparatus where, for example, "the gas inlet pipeline group includes a first gas inlet branch and a second gas inlet branch..., a gas outlet end of the first gas inlet branch and a gas outlet end of the second gas inlet branch each communicate with the corresponding gas inlet structure of a respective one of the two process chambers; a gas inlet end of the first gas inlet branch and a gas inlet end of the second gas inlet branch communicate with the switching pipeline group..." (Emphasis added.) The cited references, whether taken alone or in any combination, fail to disclose or suggest these elements.
In the rejection of claim 15, the Office refers to intersection of process gas common pipe 112-process gas supply pipe lila-process gas supply pipe 11 lb, intersection of purge gas common pipe 132-purge gas supply pipe 131b, process gas common pipe 112, and mass flow controller 125a/b/vent valve 170a/b, as shown in FIG. 4 of Hirochi, as allegedly being analogous to Applicant's first gas inlet branch, second gas inlet branch, gas inlet end of the first gas inlet branch, and switching pipeline group, respectively. Office Action at 6. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
“
Further…
“
Without acquiescing to the Office's assertions, Applicant notes that it is clear from FIG. 4 of Hirochi that process gas common pipe 112 is not connected to reactive gas supply source 123-14- (rather, process gas common pipe 112 is connected to process gas source 113); in contrast, claims 14 and 15 recite that the gas inlet pipeline group (which includes the first gas inlet branch) is part of the precursor supply device and communicates with the precursor source (The Office alleges that reactive gas supply source 123 of Hirochi is analogous to Applicant's precursor source/supply device; see e.g., Office Action, at 4 and 5.). Further, it is clear from FIG. 4 of Hirochi that process gas common pipe 112 is not connected to mass flow controller 125a/b/vent valve 170a/b, either; in contrast, claim 15 recites that a gas inlet end of the first gas inlet branch and... communicate with the switching pipeline group.
“
In response, the Examiner disagrees and again notes that Hirochi’s process gas common pipe 112 is connected to reactive gas supply source 123 via 111b-176b-131b-186b-121b.In the same manner the Examiner provided the above BRI for “communicating”, the Examiner notes that “connected” does not exclude Hirochi’s Figure 4 structure for fluid communication between piping 112 and source 123.
In response, applying the Examiner’s “connected” BRI as fluid/gas exchange across plumbing components as claimed, gas common pipe 112 is connected to mass flow controller 125a/b/vent via 176a/b,186a/b, valves and gas common pipe 112 is connected to valve 170a/b via 176a/b,186a/b valves.
Applicant states:
“
Similarly, it is clear from FIG. 4 of Hirochi that purge gas common pipe 132 is not connected to reactive gas supply source 123 (rather, purge gas common pipe 132 is connected to purge gas source 133); in contrast, claims 14 and 15 recite that the gas inlet pipeline group (which includes the second gas inlet branch) is part of the precursor supply device and communicates with the precursor source (The Office alleges that reactive gas supply source 123 of Hirochi is analogous to Applicant's precursor source/supply device; see e.g., Office Action, at 4 and 5.). Further, purge gas common pipe 132, too, is not connected to mass flow controller 125a/b/vent valve 170a/b; in contrast, claim 15 recites that a gas inlet end of the second gas inlet branch communicate with the switching pipeline group.
“
In response, applying the Examiner’s “connected” BRI as fluid/gas exchange across plumbing components as claimed, gas common pipe 132 is connected to reactive gas supply source 123 via 131b-186a-121b. In response, applying the Examiner’s “connected” BRI as fluid/gas exchange across plumbing components as claimed, purge gas common pipe 132 is connected to mass flow controller 125a/b/vent valve 170a/b via 131a/b-186a/b.
Applicant states:
“
Moreover, Applicant notes that each of process gas common pipe 112 and purge gas common pipe 132 of Hirochi is connected to both chambers 100a and 100b at the respective downstream; in contrast, amended claim 15 recites "a gas outlet end of the first gas inlet branch and a gas outlet end of the second gas inlet branch each communicate with the corresponding gas inlet structure of a respective one of the two process chambers."
“
The Examiner has again reconsidered Hirochi and again believes that Hirochi teaches a gas outlet end (111a,b; Figure 4) of the first gas inlet branch (intersection of 112-111a-111b; Figure 4-Applicant’s 51a; Figure 5) and a gas outlet end (131a,b) of the second gas inlet branch (intersection of 132-131b; Figure 4) each communicate with the corresponding gas inlet structure (235a,b; Figure 4,5) of a respective one of the two process chambers (100a,b; Figure 4; 202; Figure 5; [0081]-[0082]-Here, the chamber 100a will be described as an example).
Applicant states:
“
In the rejection of claim 16, the Office alleges that purge gas source 133 of Hirochi is analogous to Applicant's dilution gas source; then, in the rejection of claim 17, the Office alleges that purge gas source 133 of Hirochi is analogous to Applicant's balance gas source. Office Action at 7. Applicant respectfully submits that at least one of the rejections is improper because purge gas source 133 of Hirochi cannot be allegedly analogous to Applicant's dilution gas source and balance gas source simultaneously.
“
In response, the claim 16 dilution gas source is recited once in all the claims, likewise, the claim 17 balance gas source is recited once in all the claims. Further, because the Examiner does not apply structural weight to gas identities / functions in the pending apparatus claims, the implied purpose(s)/function(s) of the claimed gases are not weighed in the pending apparatus claims.
Applicant states:
“
Moreover, in the rejection of claim 17, the Office refers to T-branches along gas supply pipe 121a, T-branches along gas supply pipe 121b, reactive gas supply source 123, purge gas source 133, and process gas common pipe 112-process gas supply pipe 111a-process gas supply pipe 111b, as shown in FIG. 4 of Hirochi, as allegedly disclosing "each of the two mixing structures includes a first gas inlet end, a second gas inlet end, and a gas outlet end, wherein: first gas inlet ends communicate with the gas outlet ends of the first gas inlet branch and the second gas inlet branch," as recited in previous claim 17. Office Action at 7. Applicant respectfully disagrees. However, to advance prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 17 to recite "first gas inlet ends each communicate with a respective one of the gas outlet ends of the first gas inlet branch and the second gas inlet branch." Hirochi clearly fails to disclose or suggest these amended claim features at least because the combination of "process gas common pipe 112- process gas supply pipe 111a-process gas supply pipe 111b" of Hirochi is connected to both chambers 100a and 100b.
“
In response, the Examiner has addressed the above amendment in the new grounds of rejection and the Examiner has addressed the corresponding argument above as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Multi-chamber references with plural exhaust paths include:
US 20170062254 A1
US 20220090263 A1
US 20080069668 A1
US 20030213560 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716