DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Aug. 10th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims and Specification (Title) have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on May 14th, 2026. Claims 1, 3-7 and 11-20 are examined in this office action. Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 20050112341 from IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches a display substrate (Abstract), comprising:
a base substrate (fig. 2, substrate 10; para. 0057);
a light emitting element (function element unit 40; para. 0057) disposed on the base substrate (10), the light emitting element (40) comprises a first electrode (pixel electrode 41; para. 0055), a light emitting functional layer (functional layer 45; para. 0055), and a second electrode (counter electrode 46; para. 0055) that are sequentially stacked along a direction (upward direction) away from the base substrate (10);
a pixel definition layer (partition 42; para. 0060) disposed on the base substrate (10), the pixel definition layer (42) is provided with a pixel opening (light emitting region Re; para. 0096), the pixel opening (Re) exposes at least a portion of a surface of the first electrode (a portion of top surface of 41), and at least a portion of the second electrode (46) covers the pixel opening (Re);
wherein the pixel definition layer (42) comprises a first side surface (inner side surface) on a side (inner side) close to the first electrode (41), the first side surface (inner side surface) comprises n stages (2 stage) of first steps (inner steps) that are sequentially arranged along a light emitting direction (vertical direction) of the light emitting functional layer (45), each first step (inner steps) comprises a first step side surface (inner steps side surface), a slope angle (angle α of first partition 43; para. 0064) of a first step side surface of a first step of an i-th stage (side surface of 43) is greater than a slope angle (angle β of second partition 44; para. 0064) of a first step side surface of a first step of a j-th stage (side surface of 44), and the first step of the i-th stage (43) is located on a side (bottom side) of the first step of the j-th stage (44) close to the base substrate (10);
where i, j and n are all natural numbers, n (2 stage) is greater than 1, and 0 < i < j≤n.
Ito fails to explicitly teach the first side surface comprises a 3 stages of first steps that are sequentially arranged along the light emitting direction of the light emitting functional layer, a slope angle of a first step side surface of a first step of a first stage is greater than a slope angle of a first step side surface of a first step of a second stage, and the slope angle of the first step side surface of the first step of the second stage is greater than a slope angle of a first step side surface of a first step of a third stage; and
wherein the first step of the first stage, the first step of the second stage and the first step of the third stage each are located on the top of the first electrode.
However, in an alternative consideration, Ito teaches the first side surface (fig. 9, in an alternative view, the inner side surface) comprises a 3 stages of first steps (3 stages from inner side steps of third partition 43aa, fourth partition 43ab and second partition 44a; para. 0080, similar to two layers 43 and 44 of fig. 4A) that are sequentially arranged along the light emitting direction (vertical direction) of the light emitting functional layer (45), a slope angle (angle of 43aa) of a first step side surface of a first step of a first stage (inner side surface of step of 43aa) is greater (same trace as fig. 4A instead of 4B) than a slope angle (angle of 43ab) of a first step side surface of a first step of a second stage (inner side surface of step of 43ab), and the slope angle (angle of 43ab) of the first step side surface of the first step of the second stage (inner side surface of 43ab) is greater than (same trace as fig. 4A instead of 4B) a slope angle (angle of 44a) of a first step side surface of a first step of a third stage (inner side surface of 44a); and
wherein the first step of the first stage (fig. 9, inner side step of 43aa), the first step of the second stage (inner side step of 43ab) and the first step of the third stage each (inner side step of 44a) are located on the top of the first electrode (top of 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a layer to change from 2 steps of first stage side to 3 steps of first stage side.
Doing so would realize a two-layered structure with a higher lyophilic property to improve the reliability of the OLED element (para. 0084).
Regarding claim 3, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 2 including the first step side surface (fig. 4A, inner side surface).
Ito fails to explicitly teach the slope angle of the first step side surface of the first step of the first stage is 65 degrees to 75 degrees; the slope angle of the first side surface of the first step of the second stage is 50 degrees to 60 degrees; and the slope angle of the first step side surface of the first step of the third stage is 40 degrees to 45 degrees.
However, Ito teaches the slope angle (fig. 9 and 4A, slope angle of 43aa) of the first step side surface of the first step of the first stage is 30° to 70° (inner side surface of step of 43aa as part of 43 and 43 is in the range of 30° and 70°; para. 0074), which overlaps the angle range 65 degrees to 75 degrees; the slope angle (slope angle of 43ab) of the first side surface of the first step of the second stage is 30° to 70° (inner side surface of step of 43ab as part of 43 and 43 is in the range of 30° and 70°; para. 0074), which overlaps the angle range 50 degrees to 60 degrees; and the slope angle (slope angle of 44) of the first step side surface of the first step of the third stage is larger than 30° to 70° (inner side surface of step of 44 larger than 43 and 43 in the range of 30° and 70°; para. 0074), which overlaps the angle range 40 degrees to 45 degrees.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the slope angle range of the first stage from 30° to 70° to 65 degrees to 75 degrees; the slope angle range of the second stage from 30° to 70° to 50 degrees to 60 degrees; the slope angle range of the third stage from larger than 30° to 70° to 40 degrees to 45 degrees.
Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Regarding claim 4, Ito further teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first step of the i-th stage (fig. 9 and 14, thickness of 43aa larger than thickness of auxiliary layer 45b, which is thicker than light emitting layer 45a; para. 0081) is greater than a thickness of the first step of the j-th stage (thickness of 43ab around/for thickness of light emitting layer 45a; para. 0081).
Regarding claim 5, Ito further teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a length of the first step of the i-th stage (fig. 4A and fig. 18, width of 43) is greater than a length of the first step of the j-th stage (width of 44).
Regarding claim 19, Ito further teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting functional layer (fig. 4A and 14, 45) comprises a first film layer portion (auxiliary layer 45b; para. 0081) located on a side (bottom side) close to the base substrate (10) and a second film layer portion (light emitting layer 45a; para. 0081) located on a side (top side) away from the base substrate (10), and the first film layer portion (45b) forms at least one protrusion part (protrusion part on the step 43) at the n stages of the first steps (inner side steps).
Regarding claim 20, Ito further teaches a display device (fig. 15, electro-optical device; Abstract), comprising the display substrate (substrate with 40) according to claim 1.
Claims 6-7 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Gu et al. (CN 112635537).
Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the pixel definition layer (fig. 2 and 18, 42) further comprises a second side surface (outside surface) on a side (outside) away from the first electrode (41),
Ito fails to explicitly teach the second side surface comprises one second step, the second step comprises a second step side surface, and a slope angle of the second step side surface of the second step is greater than the slope angle of the first step side surface of the first step of the i-th stage.
However, Gu teaches the second side surface (Gu: fig. 2 and 3, outside) comprises one second step (Gu: step of second inclined surface 33; para. 0033), the second step comprises a second step side surface (Gu: outside side stepped surface include the side wall 34 as part of the outside surface; para. 0033), and a slope angle (Gu: 90° of 34) of the second step side surface (outside side surface) of the second step (Gu: step of 33) is greater than the slope angle slope angle (Gu: slope of inner side) of the first step side surface of the first step of the i-th stage (Gu: inner side surface of top surface 31; para. 0033, similar to acute angle of 43/44 of Ito).
Gu and Ito are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light emitting devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a slope angle of the second step side surface of the second step is greater than the slope angle of the first step side surface as taught by Gu.
Doing so would realize a cut off kind disconnected structure to prevent display crosstalk of the pixel unit (Gu: para. 0054).
Regarding claim 7, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 6, wherein the slope angle (Gu: fig. 3, 90° of 34) of the second step side surface of the second step (Gu: outside side surface of step of 33 with 34) is 80 degrees to 90 degrees (90 within 80 degrees to 90 degrees). Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 11, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 6, wherein an orthographic projection (Gu: fig. 2 and 3, orthographic projection of 33) of at least a portion of the second step side surface of the second step (Gu: step of 33) on the base substrate (Gu: substrate 10; para. 0003, similar to 10 of Ito) is not overlapped with an orthographic projection (orthographic projection of anode 11; para. 0003) of the first electrode (Gu: 11, similar to 41 of Ito) on the base substrate (Gu: 10); and a distance (Gu: distance of right/out edge of 33) between an edge of the second step side surface (outside surface) away from the first side surface (inner side) and an edge (Gu: left edge of 11) of the first electrode away from the first side surface (inner side) is greater than 150 Å (Gu: distance is wider than 11, which is greater than 200nm; para. 0006). Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 6, wherein the second electrode (Gu: fig. 2, cathode layer 14; para. 0031, similar to 46 of Ito) comprises a first portion (Gu: inner portion 14) covering the first side surface (inner side surface) and a second portion (Gu: out portion 14) covering the second step (outside), the first portion (Gu: inner portion 14) is connected with the second portion (Gu: out portion 14), a surface of the first portion (Gu: surface of inner portion 14) comprises at least one first curved surface (Gu: curved surface around corner), a surface of the second portion (Gu: surface of out portion 14) comprises at least one second curved surface (Gu: curved surface around corner and near cut off), a curvature change (Gu: curvature change of curved surface around corner of inner portion 14) of the at least one first curved surface is less than a curvature change (Gu: curvature change of curved surface near cut off of out portion 14) of the at least one second curved surface.
Regarding claim 13, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 12, wherein a slope angle of the second portion (Gu: fig. 2, slope of out potion 14) is 35 degrees to 45 degrees (Gu: around 40 to 45° from fig.). Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 6, wherein the second side surface (Gu: fig. 2 and 3, outside surface) further comprises one third step (Gu: outside step of first inclined surface 23; para. 0033), the third step (Gu: step of 23) is located between the second step (Gu: step of 33) and the base substrate (Gu: 10), the third step (Gu: step of 23) comprises a third step side surface (Gu: side surface of 23), and a slope angle (Gu: slope of 23) of the third step side surface of the third step (Gu: side surface of step 23) is less than the slope angle (Gu: 90° of 34) of the second step side surface of the second step (Gu: side surface of step of 33).
Regarding claim 15, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 14, wherein a length (Gu: fig. 3, the total length of first top surface 21, 23 and first bottom surface 22; para. 0033) of the third step (Gu: step 23) is greater than a sum of a total length (Gu: sum of total length of inner side incline) of the n stages of the first steps (inner side) and a length (Gu: and length second bottom surface 32; para. 0033) of the second step (Gu: step 33).
Regarding claim 16, Ito in view of Gu further teaches the display substrate according to claim 6, wherein the second side surface (Gu: in an alternative consideration, annotated fig. 3, the second step side surface (dash lines) and third step side surface (solid lines) separate at middle of 34) comprises r stages (Gu: 2 stages from outside steps stages of step 21 and 22) of third steps that are sequentially arranged along the light emitting direction (vertical direction) of the light emitting functional layer (Gu: organic light-emitting layer 13 ; para. 0031, similar to 45 of Ito), the r stages of third steps (Gu: steps 21, 22) are located between the second step (Gu: step of 33) and the base substrate (Gu: 10), each third step (Gu: steps 21,22) comprises a third step side surface (outside surface), a slope angle (Gu: slope of 23) of a third step side surface of a third step of a o-th stage (Gu: outside surface of step 22) is less than a slope angle (Gu: 90° of 34) of a third step side surface of a third step of a p-th stage (Gu: outside surface of step of 21), and the third step of the o-th stage (Gu: step 22) is located on a side (bottom side) of the third step of the p-th stage (Gu: step 21) close to the base substrate (Gu: 10).
(Annotated fig. 3)
Regarding claim 17, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the second electrode (fig. 2, surface of 46) is uneven.
Ito fails to explicitly teach a distance between a highest point of the surface of the second electrode and a lowest point of the surface of the second electrode is less than 800 Å.
However, Gu a distance (Gu: fig. 2, height of cathode layer 14; para. 0031, similar to 46 of Ito) between a highest point of the surface of the second electrode and a lowest point of the surface of the second electrode is 70 to 130 nm (Gu: height of 14 is similar to height of sidewall h1~h3, which is total 70 to 130 nm; para. 0043-0044), which overlaps the distance range less than 800 Å.
Gu and Ito are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light emitting devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distance range from 70 to 130 nm to less than 800 Å.
Doing so would realize a structure with a cut off kind disconnected structure to prevent display crosstalk of the pixel unit (Gu: para. 0054). Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Regarding claim 18, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1 including a length (fig. 9, a length of incline of 51b) of the first step side surface (inner side surface).
Ito fails to explicitly teach the length of the first step side surface of the first step is 10% to 15% of a thickness of the first electrode.
However, Gu teaches the length (Gu: fig. 2, around 1/3 length of the incline inner surface) of the first step side surface of the first step is around 15% to 20% (Gu: By estimate from the fig. 2, it is 15% to 20% of thickness of anode 11; para. 0003, similar to 41 of Ito), which overlaps the range 10% to 15% of a thickness of the first electrode (Gu: 11).
Gu and Ito are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of light emitting devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length range from 15% to 20% to 10% to 15% of a thickness of the first electrode.
Doing so would realize a structure with a cut off kind disconnected structure to prevent display crosstalk of the pixel unit (Gu: para. 0054). Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Aug. 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to pages 8-11 of applicant’s response of claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103.
Applicant submits "Ito does not disclose "wherein the first step of the first stage, the first step of the second stage and the first step of the third stage each are located on the top of the first electrode" in amended claim 1".
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in fig. 9 of Ito, Ito teaches the first step (inner side step) of the first stage (43aa), the first step of the second stage (43ab) and the first step of the third stage (44a) each are located on (above) the top of the first electrode (41) as amended claim 1. As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Ito teaches all limitations of claims 1. Details of rejections are discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818