DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the election received August 10, 2026.
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-15, 19, 23, 24, and 28-42 in the reply filed on August 10, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination would not impose a serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the claimed random copolymer can be used in many applications and to consider each of the various applications such as injection molding, paints, interlayer, etc. would be a serious burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 43-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 10, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-15, 19, 23, 24, and 28-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,559,644 (BASKARAN et al). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are generic to the claimed random copolymer in U.S. Patent 12,559,644, The same three repeating units of formula (I), (II) and (III) are recited wherein the current application recites “comprising” language which would include additional repeating units, thus the if later filed application were to become a patent, the statutory period for the grant of the random copolymer would be extended beyond the statutory 20 years from filing, see the claims below:
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12,559,644:
Claim 1 of the current application 18/554,651:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-15, 19, 23, 24, and 28-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The definition for R4 has a range of C-2 to C-10, however further in the claim R4 is defined as comprising an arene such as a biphenyl which contains 12 carbon atoms (C-12). The inconsistency of the carbon number range needs to be corrected with support from the specification.
Claims 34-36 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 34-36 and 41 depend from claim 1 where the recited groups for R4 are C-2 to C-10 and the dependent claims recite a biphenyl which is a C-12 aromatic group.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-15, 19, 23, 24, 28-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al (8,691,925) in view of KOMATSU et al (2019/0233561 A1) and PARK et al (2015/0210793 A1).
The claimed invention recites the following:
WU et al report a random copolymer having the same three repeat units, see Example 1 in column 17 below:
The working example lacks the recited repeat unit (III) being an ethyl methacrylate or greater (discloses methyl methacrylate) and the recited 2-18 mole%, however column 6, lines 40-48 disclose the range of unit (I) in a range from 5 mole% to 90 mole% teaching the claimed range of 2-18 mole%, see below:
WU et al further disclose that R1 can be any of the alkyl group listed in col. 6, lines 49-64, see below:
KOMATSU et al disclose composition for random copolymer for DSA, wherein the methacrylate unit includes aromatic methacrylate, see para. [0063] below:
PARK et al further disclose random copolymer for underlayers in DSA techniques (wherein the (meth)acrylate unit in the copolymer can be aromatic with 1,2 or 3 rings, see page 4, para. [0020] below:
Claim 2 and 3 for “consisting essentially of” and “consisting of “is met by Example 2.
Claim 4 for the unit (III) being 2.5 mole% to 16 mole % is met by the disclose above in column 6, lines 40-48.
Claim 6 for the range of unit (II) from 6 mole% to 23 mole % is met by the disclosure above in column 6, lines 40-48.
Claim 8 for the range of unit (I) from 62 mole% to 93 mole % is met by the disclosure above in column 6, lines 40-48.
Claim 10 for the range is also met by column 6, lines 40-48.
Claim 11- 15 are met by Example 2 wherein the repeat units do not have substituted groups (m and n =0 of structure (II) and (III).
Claim 19 for the defined group for R4 is met by in col. 6, lines 49-64.
Claims 23 and 24 for the defined group for R4 being n-butyl is met in col. 6, lines 49-64.
Claims 28-42 for the defined group for R4 being n-propyl and ethyl and ring structures are met in col. 6, lines 49-64 and in KOMATSU et al para. [0063].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of random copolymers for DSA to use any listed alkyl methacrylate taught above in a content of 5 mole% in place of the methyl methacrylate of Example 2 as well as select aromatic methacrylates such as phenyl methacrylate and/or 2-ring methacrylate units such as naphthyl or biphenylyl containing methacrylates with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for having an excellent neutral layer which remain neutral and are not damaged by processing steps of the DSA techniques.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM et al (9,574,104) disclose a random copolymer with the same three repeating units with the additional aromatic hydroxyalkyl end group bonded to the polymer.
WU et al (9,052,598) is a divisional application to the WU et al ‘925 reference above.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
September 30, 2026