DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein each of the first capacitor and the second capacitor includes a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor, a metal-oxide-metal (MOM) capacitor, or a metal-oxide- semiconductor (MOS) capacitor” in lines 1-5.
However, claim 13 contains improper form of Markush groping of claims.
“A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than “comprising” or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group “comprising” or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives. If a claim is intended to encompass combinations or mixtures of the alternatives set forth in the Markush grouping, the claim may include qualifying language preceding the recited alternatives (such as "at least one member" selected from the group), or within the list of alternatives (such as "or mixtures thereof"). Id. at 1281.” See also MPEP § 2111.03. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (US 2019/0156762).
Re Claims 1, Kimura et al. disclose a display device comprising: a light emitting element (21, Paragraph [0084]); a first capacitor (Cs, Paragraph [0085]) including a first electrode (not labeled, see annotated Fig. 3 above) and a second electrode (not labeled, Fig.3); a second capacitor (Csub, Paragraph [0085]) including a third electrode (not labeled, Fig. 3) and a fourth electrode (not labeled, Fig. 3); and a drive transistor (Tr2, Paragraph [0085]) that supplies, to the light emitting element (21), a current corresponding to a voltage accumulated in the first capacitor (Cs) and a voltage accumulated in the second capacitor (CSub, see Fig. 3), wherein the second electrode (see Fig. 3) is electrically connected to the third electrode ( i.e., the bottom electrode of Csub electrically connected the top electrode of Cs ) , and the second electrode and the third electrode are disposed in different layers (i.e., the first electrode Cs and second electrode formed in different location of the substrate). See Fig. 3 and related text in Paragraphs [0084] – [0091].
Re Claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, as applied to claim 1 above, Kimura et al. disclose all the claimed limitation including wherein the first capacitor (Cs) accumulates a first voltage (Vgs, Paragraph [0091]) related to an operation of the drive transistor (Tr2), and the second capacitor (Scub) accumulates a second voltage (Vcc, Paragraph [0091]) different from the first voltage (see Fig. 3).
Re Claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, as applied to claim 1 above, Kimura et al. disclose all the claimed limitation including wherein each of the first capacitor and the second capacitor includes a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor, (Paragraph [0131]) a metal-oxide-metal (MOM) capacitor, or a metal-oxide- semiconductor (MOS) capacitor (see Fig. 3).
Re Claim 14, Kimura et al. disclose an electronic device comprising: a light emitting element (21); a first capacitor (Cs) including a first electrode and a second electrode (see Fig. 3); a second capacitor (Csub) including a third electrode and a fourth electrode (see Fig. 3); and a drive transistor (Tr2) that supplies, to the light emitting element (21), a current corresponding to a voltage accumulated in the first capacitor (Cs) and a voltage accumulated in the second capacitor (Csub), wherein the second electrode is electrically connected to the third electrode, and the second electrode and the third electrode are disposed in different layers (see Fig. 3 and related text in Paragraphs [0084] – [0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure HWANG et al. (US 2020/0006401), Kim et al. (US 2014/0291636) also disclose similar inventive subject matter.
Correspondence
/BROOK KEBEDE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2894
/BK/
February 6, 2026