DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 recites “a dimension of the main defining portion in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is greater than a dimension of the first defining portion in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate”. This limitation is identical in scope to claim 11 which depends on claim 9. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claims to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 20070200488 A1; hereinafter Ito).
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 2 of Ito teaches a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2), comprising a pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY comprising multiple TER ¶ [0034],[0042]), wherein the pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY) comprises a pixel defining structure (BNK) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY ¶ [0042]), the plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY) are arranged along a first direction (x direction), the groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) extends along a second direction (y direction), and the second direction (y direction) intersects with the first direction (x direction); the pixel defining structure (BNK) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (BNKX ¶ [0042]) in the groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) and arranged along the second direction (y direction), and the first defining portion (BNKX) extends along the first direction (x direction); and two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent BNKX) in a same groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)), and the sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (e.g. OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) ¶ [0034], see Examiner annotated FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIG. 2 of Ito teaches wherein a short edge of the sub-pixel (short edge of one of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) corresponds to a long edge of the sub-pixel group (long edge of group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B), see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 below).
Regarding claim 4, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIG. 2 of Ito further teaches wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) are arranged sequentially along an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel group (long edge of group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B), see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel (long edge of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel group (short edge of group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)), and an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel (short edge of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) is identical to an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel group (long edge of group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B), see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 above).
Regarding claim 9, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIG. 2 of Ito further teaches further comprising a base substrate (SUB ¶ [0034]), wherein the pixel defining layer (BNK) is on the base substrate (SUB ¶ [0034]), the pixel defining structure (BNK) further comprises a plurality of main defining portions (BNKY ¶ [0042]), the groove (groove between BNKY) is between two adjacent main defining portions of the plurality of main defining portions (adjacent portions of BNKY ¶ [0042]), and a dimension of the main defining portion (e.g. thickness of BNKY) in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (z direction) is greater than a dimension of the first defining portion (e.g. thickness of BNKX) in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (z direction).
Regarding claim 11, Ito teaches the display substrate according to claim 9, wherein the dimension of the main defining portion (e.g. thickness of BNKY) in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (z direction) is greater than the dimension of the first defining portion (e.g. thickness of BNKX) in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (z direction).
Regarding claim 20, the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIGS. 1 and 9 of Ito further teach wherein each of the sub-pixels (OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) comprised in the sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B), see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 above) is driven by an independent pixel circuit (TFT1, TFT2, Cs ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 21, FIGS. 1-2 and 9 of Ito teach a display device (e.g. FIG. 9), comprising the display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Cui (US 20200091254 A1; hereinafter Cui).
Regarding claim 1, another embodiment of FIG. 2 of Ito teaches a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2), comprising a pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY), wherein the pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY) comprises a pixel defining structure (BNK) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY), the plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY) are arranged along a first direction (x direction), the groove (groove between BNKY) extends along a second direction (y direction), and the second direction (y direction) intersects with the first direction (x direction).
FIG. 2 of Ito according to another embodiment does not teach the pixel defining structure comprises a plurality of first defining portions in the groove and arranged along the second direction, and the first defining portion extends along the first direction; and two adjacent first defining portions in a same groove are configured to define a sub-pixel group, and the sub-pixel group comprises a plurality of sub-pixels.
FIGS. 1-3 of Cui teach a display substrate (e.g. FIGS. 2-3), comprising a pixel defining layer (1, 2, 2’, grooves between 1 ¶ [0054]-[0055]), wherein the pixel defining layer (1, 2, 2’, grooves between 1) comprises a pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between 1), the plurality of grooves (grooves between 1) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to upper surface of substrate), the groove (groove between 1) extends along a second direction (second direction parallel to upper surface of substrate), and the second direction intersects with the first direction; the pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (2’ ¶ [0055]) in the groove (groove between 1) and arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to upper surface of substrate), and the first defining portion (2’) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to upper surface of substrate); and two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent instances of 2’) in a same groove (grooves between 1) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (series of pixels 3 in the same column ¶ [0056], see FIG. 3), and the sub-pixel group (series of 3) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (3 ¶ [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the pixel defining structure taught by Cui for the purpose of avoiding interference between different columns of sub-pixels (¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, FIG. 2 of Ito teaches a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2), comprising a pixel defining layer (BNK, TER ¶ [0034],[0042]), wherein: the pixel defining layer (BNK, TER) comprises a pixel defining structure (BNK) and a plurality of openings (TER) penetrating through the pixel defining structure (BNK ¶ [0044]); the pixel defining structure (BNK) comprises a plurality of main defining portions (BNKY ¶ [0042]), the plurality of main defining portions (BNKY) are arranged along a first direction (x direction), the main defining portion (BNKY) extends along a second direction (y direction), and the second direction (y direction) intersects with the first direction (x direction); the pixel defining structure (BNK) further comprises a plurality of second defining portions (BNKX ¶ [0042]) between two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent BNKY) and arranged along the second direction (y direction), and the second defining portion (BNKX) extends along the first direction (x direction); two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent BNKY) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) between adjacent BNKY ¶ [0034]), and the sub-pixel group comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (individual OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) ¶ [0034]).
Ito does not teach the pixel defining structure further comprises a plurality of first defining portions between two adjacent main defining portions and arranged along the second direction, and the first defining portion extends along the first direction; wherein the second defining portion is between two adjacent first defining portions, the second defining portion extends along the first direction; and two adjacent main defining portions and two adjacent first defining portions between the two adjacent main defining portions are configured to define a sub-pixel group, and the sub-pixel group comprises a plurality of sub-pixels.
FIGS. 1-3 of Cui teach a display substrate (e.g. FIGS. 2-3), comprising a pixel defining layer (1, 2, 2’, openings between 1-2 ¶ [0054]-[0055]), wherein: the pixel defining layer (1, 2, 2’, openings between 1-2) comprises a pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) and a plurality of openings (openings between 1-2); the pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) comprises a plurality of main defining portions (1 ¶ [0054]), the plurality of main defining portions (1) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to upper surface of substrate), the main defining portion (1) extends along a second direction (second direction parallel to upper surface of the substrate), and the second direction intersects with the first direction; the pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) further comprises a plurality of first defining portions (2’ ¶ [0055]) between two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent instances of 1) and arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to upper surface of substrate), and the first defining portion (2’) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to upper surface of substrate); the pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) further comprises a second defining portion (2 ¶ [0054]) between two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent instance of 2’, see FIG. 3), the second defining portion (2) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to upper surface of substrate); and two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent instances of 1) and two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent instances of 2’) between the two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent instances of 1) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (series of pixels 3 in the same column ¶ [0056]), and the sub-pixel group (series of pixels 3) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (3 ¶ [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the pixel defining structure taught by Cui for the purpose of avoiding interference between different columns of sub-pixels (¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIGS. 1-3 of Cui further teach wherein the pixel defining structure (1, 2, 2’) further comprises a second defining portion (2 ¶ [0054]) between two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent instance of 2’, see FIG. 3), the second defining portion (2) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to upper surface of substrate), and the second defining portion (2) is configured to separate two adjacent sub-pixels (3) in a same sub-pixel group (series of pixels 3 ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIGS. 2-3 of Cui further teach wherein a plurality of second defining portions (2) are provided, and the plurality of second defining portions (2) are arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate).
Regarding claim 8, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIG. 3 of Cui further teaches further comprising a base substrate (10 ¶ [0054]), wherein the pixel defining layer (1, 2, 2’) is on the base substrate (10 ¶ [0054]), and a dimension of the first defining portion in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (e.g. a thickness of 2’ in a direction perpendicular to 10) is greater than or equal to a dimension of the second defining portion in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (e.g. a thickness of 2 in a direction perpendicular to 10, see FIG. 3 ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIG. 3 of Cui further teaches wherein a dimension of the first defining portion along the second direction (e.g. a width of 2’ along the second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10) is greater than a dimension of the second defining portion along the second direction (e.g. a width of 2 along the second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10).
Regarding claim 12, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIG. 3 of Cui further teaches wherein the dimension of the first defining portion along the second direction (e.g. a width of 2’ along the second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10) is greater than the dimension of the second defining portion along the second direction (e.g. a width of 2 along the second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10).
Regarding claim 13, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIG. 5 of Ito further teaches further comprising a light-emitting element (AD, OLE, CD ¶ [0038],[0040]), wherein the light-emitting element (AD, OLE, CD) comprises a first electrode (AD), a second electrode (CD), and a light-emitting functional layer (OLE) between the first electrode (AD) and the second electrode (CD ¶ [0038],[0040]), and the opening (TER) is configured to expose a portion of the first electrode (AD).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Cui, and further in view of Fan et al. (US 20200266257 A1; hereinafter Fan).
Regarding claim 14, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2.
Ito as modified does not teach wherein an extension direction of the main defining portion is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel.
FIGS. 4 and 8 of Fan teach a display substrate, comprising a pixel defining layer (21-23, openings of 23 ¶ [0048],[0055],[0077]), wherein: the pixel defining layer (21-23, openings of 23) comprises a pixel defining structure (21-23) and a plurality of openings (openings of 23 ¶ [0055]) penetrating through the pixel defining structure (21-23); the pixel defining structure (21-23) comprises a plurality of main defining portions (21 ¶ [0048]), the plurality of main defining portions (21) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to the top surface of 10), the main defining portion (21) extends along a second direction (second direction parallel to the top surface of 10); the pixel defining structure (21-23) further comprises a plurality of second defining portions (22 ¶ [0077]) between two adjacent main defining portions (21) and arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10), and the second defining portion (22) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to the upper surface of 10); and two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent instances of 21) define a sub-pixel group (11 ¶ [0048]); two adjacent second defining portions (adjacent instances of 22) between the two adjacent main defining portions (adjacent instances of 21) are configured to define a sub-pixel (e.g. 11a, 11b, or 11c ¶ [0055]); and wherein an extension direction of the main defining portion (second direction parallel to the top surface of 10) is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel (extension direction of short edge of 11a, 11c, 11b, see FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the display substrate taught by Fan for the purpose of realizing peep prevention (¶ [0046], [0080]).
Regarding claim 15, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1.
Ito as modified does not teach wherein an extension direction of the groove is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel.
FIGS. 4 and 7-8 of Fan teach a display substrate, comprising a pixel defining layer (21-23, grooves between 21 ¶ [0048],[0055],[0077]), wherein the pixel defining layer (21-23, grooves between 21) comprises a pixel defining structure (21-23) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between 21 ¶ [0055]), the plurality of grooves (grooves between 21) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to the upper surface of 10), the groove (groove between 21) extends along a second direction (second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10), and the second direction intersects with the first direction; the pixel defining structure (21-23) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (22 ¶ [0077]) in the groove (groove between 21) and arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10), and the first defining portion (22) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to the upper surface of 10); two adjacent first defining portions (e.g. adjacent portions 22 shown in FIG. 7) in a same groove (groove between 21) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (11 shown in FIG. 7 ¶ [0048]), and the sub-pixel group (11) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (11a-c separated by additional 22 shown in FIG. 8 ¶ [0055]); wherein an extension direction of the groove (second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10) is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel (second direction parallel to the upper surface of 10, see FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the display substrate taught by Fan for the purpose of realizing peep prevention (¶ [0046], [0080]).
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Cui, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 20210193763 A1; hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 16, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1.
Ito as modified does not teach further comprising a lens layer, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lens units, an extension direction of the lens unit is identical to an extension direction of a long edge of the sub- pixel, and the lens unit covers at least one sub-pixel.
FIGS. 6 and 8B of Sun teach a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 6), comprising a pixel defining layer (116, grooves occupied by P ¶ [0056]), wherein the pixel defining layer (116, grooves occupied by P) comprises a pixel defining structure (116) and a plurality of grooves (grooves occupied by P ¶ [0056], see FIG. 6); the pixel defining structure (116) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (116) arranged along a second direction (y direction), and the first defining portion (116) extends along the first direction (x direction); two adjacent first defining portions (116) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (P ¶ [0057]), and the sub-pixel group (P) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (S ¶ [0057], shown as S1-S2 in FIG. 6); and a lens layer (180/181 ¶ [0084]), wherein the lens layer (180) comprises a plurality of lens units (181 ¶ [0086]), an extension direction of the lens unit (y direction) is identical to an extension direction of a long edge of the sub- pixel (y direction, see FIG. 8B), and the lens unit (181) covers at least one sub-pixel (e.g. S1, see FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the lens layer taught by Sun for the purpose of projecting light emitted by corresponding sub-pixel units (¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 18, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 16, and FIG. 8B of Sun further teaches wherein different sub-pixel groups (P) correspond to different structures of lens units (181 ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 19, Ito modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 16, and FIG. 6 of Sun further teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the lens unit (181) on a base substrate (110 ¶ [0056]) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first defining portion (116) on the base substrate (110 ¶ [0086]).
Conclusion
/Nora T. Nix/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891