DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the dimension of the main defining portion in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate" and “the dimension of the first defining portion in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate” in page 4, lines 12-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, 11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 20070200488 A1; hereinafter Ito) in view of Hsu (US 20190051710 A1; hereinafter Hsu).
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 2 of Ito teaches a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2), comprising a pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY comprising multiple TER ¶ [0034],[0042]), wherein the pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY) comprises a pixel defining structure (BNK) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY ¶ [0042]), the plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY) are arranged along a first direction (x direction), the groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) extends along a second direction (y direction), and the second direction (y direction) intersects with the first direction (x direction); the pixel defining structure (BNK) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (BNKX ¶ [0042]) in the groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) and arranged along the second direction (y direction), and the first defining portion (BNKX) extends along the first direction (x direction); and a plurality of sub-pixels (e.g. OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) in a same groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) comprise a sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)), and the sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) in the same groove) comprises the plurality of sub-pixels (e.g. OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) ¶ [0034]) arranged along the second direction (y direction, see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 below).
Ito does not teach the plurality of first defining portions comprise at least three plurality of first defining portions, every two adjacent first defining portions of the at least three plurality of first defining portions in the same groove are configured to define the sub-pixel group, and the sub-pixel group comprises the plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the second direction.
FIGS. 3-4 and 7 of Hsu teach a display substrate (1000 ¶ [0060]), comprising a pixel defining layer (11, 15), wherein the pixel defining layer (11, 15) comprises a pixel defining structure (11, 15 ¶ [0034]) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between instances of 15), the plurality of grooves (grooves between 15) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to length of 15), the groove (groove between 15) extends along a second direction (second direction intersecting multiple instances of 15), and the second direction (second direction) intersects with the first direction (first direction); the pixel defining structure (11, 15) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (15) in the groove (groove between 15) and arranged along the second direction (second direction), and the first defining portion (15) extends along the first direction (first direction); and the plurality of first defining portions (15) comprise at least three plurality of first defining portions (15, see FIG. 4), every two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent 15) of the at least three plurality of first defining portions (15) of a same groove (groove between 15) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (group consisting of plurality of PU between 15), and the sub-pixel group (group of PU between 15) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (PU) arranged along the second direction (second direction ¶ [0041], see Examiner annotated FIG. 4 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the first defining portions taught by Hsu for the purpose of reducing the voltage drop caused by the second electrode during current transfer (¶ [0035]).
Thus, Ito in view of Hsu teaches sub-pixel groups (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) taught by Ito) in grooves (grooves between BNKY taught by Ito) defined by first defining portions (15 taught by Hsu) such that each series of three sub-pixels OLE(R), OLE(G), and OLE(B) between first defining portions 15 and BNKY constitute a sub-pixel group.
Regarding claim 2, FIGS. 2 of Ito teaches a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2), comprising a pixel defining layer (BNK, openings between BNKY comprising multiple TER ¶ [0034],[0042]), wherein: the pixel defining layer (BNK, openings between BNKY) comprises a pixel defining structure (BNK) and a plurality of openings (openings between BNKY ¶ [0042]) penetrating through the pixel defining structure (BNK); the pixel defining structure (BNK) comprises a plurality of main defining portions (BNKY ¶ [0042]), the plurality of main defining portions (BNKY) are arranged along a first direction (x direction), the main defining portion (BNKY) extends along a second direction (y direction), and the second direction (y direction) intersects with the first direction (x direction); the pixel defining structure (BNK) further comprises a second defining portion (BNKX ¶ [0042]), the second defining portion (BNKX) extends along the first direction (x direction); and two adjacent main defining portions (BNKY) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (sub-pixel group comprising OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) ¶ [0034], see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 below), and the sub-pixel group (sub-pixel group comprising OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (e.g. OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)).
Ito does not teach the pixel defining structure further comprises a plurality of first defining portions between two adjacent main defining portions and arranged along the second direction, and the first defining portion extends along the first direction; the second defining portion positioned between two adjacent first defining portions; and the plurality of first defining portions comprise at least three plurality of firs defining portions, every two adjacent first defining portions of the at least three plurality of first defining portions in a same groove are configured to define a sub-pixel group, and the sub-pixel group comprises a plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the second direction.
FIGS. 3-4 and 7 of Hsu teach a display substrate (1000 ¶ [0060]), comprising a pixel defining layer (11, 15), wherein the pixel defining layer (11, 15) comprises a pixel defining structure (11, 15 ¶ [0034]) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between instances of 15), the plurality of grooves (grooves between 15) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to length of 15), the groove (groove between 15) extends along a second direction (second direction intersecting multiple instances of 15), and the second direction (second direction) intersects with the first direction (first direction); the pixel defining structure (11, 15) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (15) in the groove (groove between 15) and arranged along the second direction (second direction), and the first defining portion (15) extends along the first direction (first direction); and the plurality of first defining portions (15) comprise at least three plurality of first defining portions (15, see FIG. 4), every two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent 15) of the at least three plurality of first defining portions (15) of a same groove (groove between 15) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (group consisting of plurality of PU between 15), and the sub-pixel group (group of PU between 15) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (PU) arranged along the second direction (second direction ¶ [0041], see Examiner annotated FIG. 4 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the first defining portions taught by Hsu for the purpose of reducing the voltage drop caused by the second electrode during current transfer (¶ [0035]).
Thus, Ito in view of Hsu teaches sub-pixel groups (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) taught by Ito) in grooves (grooves between BNKY taught by Ito) defined by first defining portions (15 taught by Hsu) such that each series of three sub-pixels OLE(R), OLE(G), and OLE(B) between first defining portions 15 and BNKY constitute a sub-pixel group.
Regarding claim 6, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIGS. 3-4 of Hsu further teaches wherein the pixel defining structure (11, 15) further comprises a second defining portion (11 ¶ [0034]) between two adjacent first defining portions (15), the second defining portion (15) extends along the first direction (first direction parallel to length of 15), and the second defining portion (11) is configured to separate two adjacent sub-pixels (PU) in a same sub-pixel group (see Examiner annotated FIG. 4 above).
Regarding claim 7, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIGS. 3-4 of Hsu further teaches wherein a plurality of second defining portions (11) are provided, and the plurality of second defining portions (11) are arranged along the second direction (second direction perpendicular to a length of 15).
Regarding claim 9, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIG. 2 of Ito further teaches further comprising a base substrate (SUB ¶ [0034]), wherein the pixel defining layer (BNK) is on the base substrate (SUB), the pixel defining structure (BNK) further comprises a plurality of main defining portions (BNKY ¶ [0042]), the groove (groove between adjacent BNKY) is between two adjacent main defining portions of the plurality of main defining portions (two adjacent instances of BNKY).
Regarding claim 11, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 9, and FIG. 2 of Ito further teaches a dimension of the main defining portion (dimension of BNKY) in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (SUB, z direction) is greater than a dimension of the first defining portion (BNKX) in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (SUB, z direction ¶ [0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2, and FIG. 5 of Ito further teaches further comprising a light-emitting element (AD, OLE, CD ¶ [0038],[0040]), wherein the light-emitting element (AD, OLE, CD) comprises a first electrode (AD), a second electrode (CD), and a light-emitting functional layer (OLE) between the first electrode (AD) and the second electrode (CD ¶ [0038],[0040]), and the opening (TER) is configured to expose a portion of the first electrode (AD).
Regarding claim 20, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIGS. 1 and 9 of Ito further teach wherein each of the sub-pixels (OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) comprised in the sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of (OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B), see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 above) is driven by an independent pixel circuit (TFT1, TFT2, Cs ¶ [0060]).
Regarding claim 21, FIGS. 1-2 and 9 of Ito teach a display device (e.g. FIG. 9), comprising a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 2), wherein the display substrate comprises a pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY comprising multiple TER ¶ [0034],[0042]), wherein the pixel defining layer (BNK, grooves between BNKY) comprises a pixel defining structure (BNK) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY ¶ [0042]), the plurality of grooves (grooves between BNKY) are arranged along a first direction (x direction), the groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) extends along a second direction (y direction), and the second direction (y direction) intersects with the first direction (x direction); the pixel defining structure (BNK) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (BNKX ¶ [0042]) in the groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) and arranged along the second direction (y direction), and the first defining portion (BNKX) extends along the first direction (x direction); and a plurality of sub-pixels (e.g. OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)) in a same groove (one of the grooves between BNKY) comprise a sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B)), and the sub-pixel group (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) in the same groove) comprises the plurality of sub-pixels (e.g. OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) ¶ [0034]) arranged along the second direction (y direction, see Examiner annotated FIG. 2 below).
Ito does not teach the plurality of first defining portions comprise at least three plurality of first defining portions, every two adjacent first defining portions of the at least three plurality of first defining portions in the same groove are configured to define the sub-pixel group, and the sub-pixel group comprises the plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the second direction.
FIGS. 3-4 and 7 of Hsu teach a display substrate (1000 ¶ [0060]), comprising a pixel defining layer (11, 15), wherein the pixel defining layer (11, 15) comprises a pixel defining structure (11, 15 ¶ [0034]) and a plurality of grooves (grooves between instances of 15), the plurality of grooves (grooves between 15) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to length of 15), the groove (groove between 15) extends along a second direction (second direction intersecting multiple instances of 15), and the second direction (second direction) intersects with the first direction (first direction); the pixel defining structure (11, 15) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (15) in the groove (groove between 15) and arranged along the second direction (second direction), and the first defining portion (15) extends along the first direction (first direction); and the plurality of first defining portions (15) comprise at least three plurality of first defining portions (15, see FIG. 4), every two adjacent first defining portions (adjacent 15) of the at least three plurality of first defining portions (15) of a same groove (groove between 15) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (group consisting of plurality of PU between 15), and the sub-pixel group (group of PU between 15) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (PU) arranged along the second direction (second direction ¶ [0041], see Examiner annotated FIG. 4 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the first defining portions taught by Hsu for the purpose of reducing the voltage drop caused by the second electrode during current transfer (¶ [0035]).
Thus, Ito in view of Hsu teaches sub-pixel groups (group comprising instances of OLE(R), OLE(G), OLE(B) taught by Ito) in grooves (grooves between BNKY taught by Ito) defined by first defining portions (15 taught by Hsu) such that each series of three sub-pixels OLE(R), OLE(G), and OLE(B) between first defining portions 15 and BNKY constitute a sub-pixel group.
Claims 3-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Hsu, and further in view of Fan et al. (US 20200266257 A1; hereinafter Fan).
Regarding claim 3, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1.
Ito as modified does not teach wherein a short edge of the sub-pixel corresponds to a long edge of the sub-pixel group.
FIGS. 4 and 8 of Fan teach a display substrate, comprising a pixel defining layer (21-23, openings of 23 ¶ [0048],[0055],[0077]), wherein: the pixel defining layer (21-23, openings of 23) comprises a pixel defining structure (21-23) and a plurality of grooves (openings between 21 ¶ [0055]), the plurality of grooves (openings of 21) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to length of 22), the groove (opening between 21) extends along a second direction (second direction parallel to length of 21), and the second direction (second direction) intersects with the first direction (first direction); the pixel defining structure (21-23) comprises a plurality of second defining portions (22 ¶ [0048]) in the groove (opening between 21) and arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to length of 21); a plurality of sub-pixels (11a-11c ¶ [0055]) in the groove (opening between 21) configured to define a sub-pixel group (sub-pixel group, see Examiner annotated FIG. 8 below), the plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to length of 21); wherein a short edge of the sub-pixel (short edge of 11a, 11b, 11c) corresponds to a long edge of the sub-pixel group (long edge of sub-pixel group, see Examiner annotated FIG. 8 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the pixel defining portions taught by Fan for the purpose of providing peep prevention without reducing the brightness of the display device during normal operation (¶ [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIG. 8 of Fan further teaches wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (11a-11c) are arranged sequentially along an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel group (long edge of sub-pixel group, see Examiner annotated FIG. 8 above).
Regarding claim 5, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and FIG. 8 of Fan further teaches wherein an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel (first direction parallel to length of 22) is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel group (first direction parallel to length of 22), and an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel (second direction parallel to length of 21) is identical to an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel group (second direction parallel to length of 21, see Examiner annotated FIG. 8 above).
Regarding claim 14, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2.
Ito as modified does not teach wherein an extension direction of the main defining portion is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel.
FIGS. 4 and 8 of Fan teach a display substrate, comprising a pixel defining layer (21-23, openings of 23 ¶ [0048],[0055],[0077]), wherein: the pixel defining layer (21-23, openings of 23) comprises a pixel defining structure (21-23) and a plurality of grooves (openings between 21 ¶ [0055]), the plurality of grooves (openings of 21) are arranged along a first direction (first direction parallel to length of 22), the groove (opening between 21) extends along a second direction (second direction parallel to length of 21), and the second direction (second direction) intersects with the first direction (first direction); the pixel defining structure (21-23) comprises a plurality of second defining portions (22 ¶ [0048]) in the groove (opening between 21) and arranged along the second direction (second direction); the pixel defining structure (21-23) further comprises a plurality of main defining portions (21 ¶ [0048]) arranged along the first direction (first direction) and extending along the second direction (second direction); a plurality of sub-pixels (11a-11c ¶ [0055]) in the groove (opening between 21) configured to define a sub-pixel group (sub-pixel group, see Examiner annotated FIG. 8 below), the plurality of sub-pixels arranged along the second direction (second direction parallel to length of 21); wherein an extension direction of the main defining portion (extension direction of 21, e.g. second direction) is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel (extension direction of short edge of 11a-11c, e.g. second direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the pixel defining portions taught by Fan for the purpose of providing peep prevention without reducing the brightness of the display device during normal operation (¶ [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, and Ito in view of Fan further teaches wherein an extension direction of the groove (groove between adjacent BNKY, y direction of FIG. 2 of Ito/groove between adjacent 21, direction parallel to length of 21 of FIG. 8 of Fan) is identical to an extension direction of a short edge of the sub-pixel (short-edge of 11a, 11b, 11c).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Hsu, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20160359112 A1; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 8, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 2.
Ito as modified does not teach further comprising a base substrate, wherein the pixel defining layer is on the base substrate, and a dimension of the first defining portion in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is greater than or equal to a dimension of the second defining portion in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate.
FIGS. 1-4 of Wang teach a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 1) comprising a base substrate (100 ¶ [0063]), a pixel defining layer (1011-1012) on the base substrate (100 ¶ [0052]); wherein the pixel defining layer (1011-1012) comprises a pixel defining structure (1011-1012); wherein the pixel defining structure comprises a first defining portion (1012) and a second defining portion (1011); and a dimension of the first defining portion in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (thickness of 1012 in a direction perpendicular to 100) is greater than or equal to a dimension of the second defining portion in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate (thickness of 1011 in a direction perpendicular to 100, see FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the thickness of the first defining portion and the thickness of the second defining portion for the purpose of avoiding interference between different columns of sub-pixels (¶ [0056]).
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Hsu, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 20210193763 A1; hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 16, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 1.
Ito as modified does not teach further comprising a lens layer, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lens units, an extension direction of the lens unit is identical to an extension direction of a long edge of the sub-pixel, and the lens unit covers at least one sub-pixel.
FIGS. 6 and 8B of Sun teach a display substrate (e.g. FIG. 6), comprising a pixel defining layer (116, grooves occupied by P ¶ [0056]), wherein the pixel defining layer (116, grooves occupied by P) comprises a pixel defining structure (116) and a plurality of grooves (grooves occupied by P ¶ [0056], see FIG. 6); the pixel defining structure (116) comprises a plurality of first defining portions (116) arranged along a second direction (y direction), and the first defining portion (116) extends along the first direction (x direction); two adjacent first defining portions (116) are configured to define a sub-pixel group (P ¶ [0057]), and the sub-pixel group (P) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels (S ¶ [0057], shown as S1-S2 in FIG. 6); and a lens layer (180/181 ¶ [0084]), wherein the lens layer (180) comprises a plurality of lens units (181 ¶ [0086]), an extension direction of the lens unit (y direction) is identical to an extension direction of a long edge of the sub- pixel (y direction, see FIG. 8B), and the lens unit (181) covers at least one sub-pixel (e.g. S1, see FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display substrate taught by Ito with the lens layer taught by Sun for the purpose of projecting light emitted by corresponding sub-pixel units (¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 18, Ito as modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 16, and FIG. 8B of Sun further teaches wherein different sub-pixel groups (P) correspond to different structures of lens units (181 ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 19, Ito modified teaches the display substrate according to claim 16, and FIG. 6 of Sun further teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the lens unit (181) on a base substrate (110 ¶ [0056]) overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first defining portion (116) on the base substrate (110 ¶ [0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 recites the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein a dimension of the first defining portion along the second direction is greater than or equal to a dimension of the second defining portion along the second direction.
Ito in view of Hsu teaches the display substrate according to claim 2.
However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest “wherein a dimension of the first defining portion along the second direction is greater than or equal to a dimension of the second defining portion along the second direction” together with all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nora T. Nix/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891