DETAILED ACTION
Claims in Consideration
Claims 1-26 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/10/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under 35 USC 102, to Ko, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC 103, to the combination of Ko and Lee, wherein Lee has been added to cure the deficiencies of the previous rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 and 17-21, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-13, 15, 16, and 22-26, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20140295382 A1, published: 10/20/2014), in view of Lee (US 8145854 B1, published: 3/27/2012).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Ko teaches a cooking recipe display system including an information processing terminal (four user terminals 13A, 13B, 13C, 13D [Ko, 0073, FIG. 1]), the information processing terminal including a display screen and a controller (implemented by the processor of the server 16 [Ko, 0096]), the cooking recipe display system being configured to display a cooking recipe on the display screen (the instructions for preparing a recipe 93 and the ingredients required for the recipe 96 (that is, the ingredients themselves and the quantity required for each ingredient) are displayed for a respective entry of the meal plan [Ko, 0139]), the cooking recipe display system comprising:
a recipe data manager that is configured to manage recipe database retaining a plurality of cooking recipes (locating a plurality of sets of ingredients stored in an ingredient database based on the plurality of recipe identifiers [Ko, 0040]), the plurality of cooking recipes each including one or more procedures and a plurality of ingredients (in the ingredient database 19, separate files are used to store the ingredients of the recipes stored in the recipe database 18, and the name of each file storing the ingredients of a recipe is the recipe identifier corresponding to the recipe [Ko, 0102]), the one or more procedures indicating how to cook a dish, the plurality of ingredients being prepared for the dish (the term "recipe" refers to the instructions for preparing, cooking, or preparing and cooking one or more of the dishes of a meal [Ko, 0012]. Cooking time--To indicate the length of time to cook a meal. [0089] Complexity--To indicate the difficulty involved in preparing and cooking a meal. [0090] Preparation duration--To indicate the length of time for preparing the ingredients for cooking a meal. [0091] Skill level--To indicate the level of skill required to prepare a meal [Ko, 0088-0091]); and
an ingredient profile manager that is configured to manage an ingredient profile indicating a necessity of each of the plurality of ingredients for each of the plurality of cooking recipes (each file comprises not only the ingredients for a recipe but also an ingredient quantity parameter indicating the numerical quantity of each of the ingredients required for the recipe and an ingredient unit parameter indicating the unit of measure corresponding to the ingredient quantity parameter [K0, 0102]. Ingredient database 19 may additionally include one or more substitute ingredients for each of the ingredients stored in the ingredient database 19, and that the server 16 may be additionally be configured to substitute an ingredient of a recipe with another ingredient to satisfy a user's preferences [Ko, 0112]), wherein the controller is configured to display auxiliary information on the display screen based on the ingredient profile, the auxiliary information corresponding to the necessity of each of the plurality of ingredients that are included in a target recipe serving as one of the plurality of cooking recipes (the instructions for preparing a recipe 93 and the ingredients required for the recipe 96 (that is, the ingredients themselves and the quantity required for each ingredient) are displayed for a respective entry of the meal plan [Ko, 0139]).
Ko does not teach display information based on the ingredient profile, corresponding to the necessity of each of the plurality of ingredients of the cooking recipes, and the necessity indicating how important each of the plurality of ingredients is to make the dish.
However, Lee teaches display information based on the ingredient profile, corresponding to the necessity of each of the plurality of ingredients of the cooking recipes, and the necessity indicating how important each of the plurality of ingredients is to make the dish (once the user has executed or scheduled a recipe for preparation, the preferred embodiment of the present invention will display the necessary ingredients required for that recipe, as well as the current stores of ingredients contained in any connected food preparation systems [Lee, 3:33-36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cooking recipe display invention of Ko to include the necessary ingredient feature of Lee.
One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve recipes for tastier dishes and to improve one's cooking skills. Anyone who has ever eaten (every human) knows the importance of seasoning dishes to taste. Further that some ingredients mix well and other mix poorly.
Claims 24, 25, and 26, sharing similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2: The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 1. Ko further teaches wherein the ingredient profile manager is further configured to manage a substitute ingredient profile that indicates an ingredient substitutable for each of the plurality of ingredients (ingredient database 19 may additionally include one or more substitute ingredients for each of the ingredients stored in the ingredient database 19, and that the server 16 may be additionally be configured to substitute an ingredient of a recipe with another ingredient to satisfy a user's preferences [Ko, 0112]).
Claim 3: The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 2. Ko further teaches wherein the substitute ingredient profile includes a first substitute ingredient table in which the ingredient substitutable for each of the plurality of ingredients is associated with each of the plurality of ingredients (the ingredient database 19 may list the ingredient "white sugar" and the ingredient "artificial sweetener" as alternatives for the ingredient "brown sugar". In such an embodiment, the server 16 may be configured to substitute an ingredient for another ingredient for a located recipe in certain cases (for example, in the case when the server 16 is not able to locate a recipe that satisfies the input parameters). An example of such an implementation in provided below in the section entitled "Table 2: Form in which the ingredients are stored in the ingredient database 19" [Ko, 0112]).
Claim 4. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 2. Ko further teaches wherein the substitute ingredient profile includes a second substitution ingredient table indicating one or more groups to which each of the plurality of ingredients belongs, the one or more groups being included in a plurality of groups that are classified based on ingredient groups substitutable for each other (the ingredient database 19 may list the ingredient "white sugar" and the ingredient "artificial sweetener" as alternatives for the ingredient "brown sugar". In such an embodiment, the server 16 may be configured to substitute an ingredient for another ingredient for a located recipe in certain cases (for example, in the case when the server 16 is not able to locate a recipe that satisfies the input parameters). An example of such an implementation in provided below in the section entitled "Table 2: Form in which the ingredients are stored in the ingredient database 19" [Ko, 0112]).
Claim 5. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 2, wherein for each of the plurality of ingredients, the substitute ingredient profile associates a difference in taste, notes, restrictions, or applications with each of the plurality of ingredients, the difference in taste being caused when each of the plurality of ingredients is used substitutionally (the ingredient database 19 may list the ingredient "white sugar" and the ingredient "artificial sweetener" as alternatives for the ingredient "brown sugar". In such an embodiment, the server 16 may be configured to substitute an ingredient for another ingredient for a located recipe in certain cases (for example, in the case when the server 16 is not able to locate a recipe that satisfies the input parameters). An example of such an implementation in provided below in the section entitled "Table 2: Form in which the ingredients are stored in the ingredient database 19" [Ko, 0112]).
Claim 6. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 1. Ko further teaches wherein the controller is configured to generate a first ingredient display image including all ingredients included in the target recipe and auxiliary information of each of all the ingredients, and display the first ingredient display image on the display screen (the system may additionally include an attribute database comprising one or more of the recipe identifiers, each recipe identifier of the attribute database associated with one or more attributes including "high in fibre", "quick to cook", "low skill level", "easy on wallet" etc. [Ko, 0110]. The instructions for preparing a recipe 93 and the ingredients required for the recipe 96 (that is, the ingredients themselves and the quantity required for each ingredient) are displayed for a respective entry of the meal plan [Ko, 0139]).
Claim 10. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 6. Ko further teaches wherein the auxiliary information includes substitutable information, the substitutable information indicates that an ingredient corresponding to the substitutable information is substitutable, and the controller is allowed to receive a selection of the substitutable information displayed on the display screen, wherein when the substitutable information is selected, the controller is configured to display a list of substitute ingredients on the display screen, the substitute ingredients being substitutable for the ingredient corresponding to the substitutable information (the ingredient database 19 may list the ingredient "white sugar" and the ingredient "artificial sweetener" as alternatives for the ingredient "brown sugar". In such an embodiment, the server 16 may be configured to substitute an ingredient for another ingredient for a located recipe in certain cases (for example, in the case when the server 16 is not able to locate a recipe that satisfies the input parameters). An example of such an implementation in provided below in the section entitled "Table 2: Form in which the ingredients are stored in the ingredient database 19" [Ko, 0112]. If the user selects "Beef", "Fish" and "Pork" for Food Group, the meal map generator 161 will randomly selects one of "Beef", "Fish" and "Pork" as one of the meal parameters for a meal. It is envisaged that, where possible, different meal parameters are generated for consecutive meals of the same type. For example, if the user selects "Beef", "Fish" and "Pork" for Food Group, the meal map generator 161 will not select "Beef" as a meal parameter for dinner on two consecutive days [Ko, 0133]).
Claim 11: The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 10. Ko further teaches wherein the controller is allowed to receive a selection of the substitute ingredients displayed on the display screen, wherein when any of the substitute ingredients is selected, the controller is configured such that the first ingredient display image including the any of the substitute ingredients instead of the ingredient corresponding to the substitutable information is displayed on the display screen (the ingredient database 19 may list the ingredient "white sugar" and the ingredient "artificial sweetener" as alternatives for the ingredient "brown sugar". In such an embodiment, the server 16 may be configured to substitute an ingredient for another ingredient for a located recipe in certain cases (for example, in the case when the server 16 is not able to locate a recipe that satisfies the input parameters). An example of such an implementation in provided below in the section entitled "Table 2: Form in which the ingredients are stored in the ingredient database 19" [Ko, 0112]. If the user selects "Beef", "Fish" and "Pork" for Food Group, the meal map generator 161 will randomly selects one of "Beef", "Fish" and "Pork" as one of the meal parameters for a meal. It is envisaged that, where possible, different meal parameters are generated for consecutive meals of the same type. For example, if the user selects "Beef", "Fish" and "Pork" for Food Group, the meal map generator 161 will not select "Beef" as a meal parameter for dinner on two consecutive days [Ko, 0133]).
Claim 12. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 10. Ko further teaches wherein the controller is configured to display the list of the substitute ingredients and information indicating characteristics of the substitute ingredients on the display screen ([Ko, 0016-0017]. The options may be displayed on a display in the form of a drop-down list [Ko, 0093]. The ingredient database 19 may list the ingredient "white sugar" and the ingredient "artificial sweetener" as alternatives for the ingredient "brown sugar". In such an embodiment, the server 16 may be configured to substitute an ingredient for another ingredient for a located recipe in certain cases (for example, in the case when the server 16 is not able to locate a recipe that satisfies the input parameters). An example of such an implementation in provided below in the section entitled "Table 2: Form in which the ingredients are stored in the ingredient database 19" [Ko, 0112]. Only a meal title (or meal name) may be displayed in each entry (that is, for each meal of the meal plan) and the meal title may be used as a web-link to a new page displaying the instructions for preparing the recipe and the list of ingredients required for the recipe [Ko, 0142]. The ingredient database 19 may comprise an ingredient characteristic database and an ingredient quantity database [Ko, 0149]).
Claim 13. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 10. Ko further teaches wherein the ingredient profile manager further manages stock information indicating a storage situation of each of the plurality of ingredients, and the controller is configured to generate the list of the substitute ingredients based on the stock information, and display the list of the substitute ingredients on the display screen (the system comprises a storage device comprising the recipe database and the ingredient database [Ko, 0024]).
Claim 15. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 6. Ko further teaches wherein the auxiliary information includes essential information, the essential information indicates that an ingredient corresponding to the essential information is essential, and the controller is allowed to receive a selection of the essential information displayed on the display screen, wherein when the essential information is selected, the controller is configured to display information on the display screen, the information indicating a reason why the ingredient corresponding to the essential information is essential (the field would be for specifying the base quantity of the ingredient needed for the recipe [Ko, 0149]).
Claim 16. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 1. Ko further teaches wherein: the ingredient profile further indicates an influence degree of each of the plurality of ingredients on a taste for each of the plurality of cooking recipes; and the controller is configured to display taste information on the display screen based on the ingredient profile, the taste information corresponding to the influence degree of each of the plurality of ingredients included in the target recipe on the taste (the input parameters indicate a user's preferences (such as the type of food or ingredient the user desires or would like to exclude) [Ko, 0074]. The system is adapted to receive not only input parameters indicating a user's food preferences but also food or ingredients that the user would like to exclude ("Food Exceptions"), and the system is adapted to locate only recipes which do not include the food or ingredients that the user would like to exclude [Ko, 0109]. The server 16 may be additionally be configured to substitute an ingredient of a recipe with another ingredient to satisfy a user's preferences [Ko, 0112]).
Claim 22. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 1. Ko further teaches wherein the ingredient profile manager further manages necessity count information in which a numerical quantity of ingredients for each necessity is associated with each of the plurality of cooking recipes, the ingredients being included in each of the plurality of cooking recipes (an ingredient quantity calculator adapted to receive the sets of ingredient quantities and at least one of the input parameters, and to calculate a plurality of sets of meal ingredient quantities based on the sets of ingredient quantities and the at least one of the input parameters [Ko, 0009]).
Claim 23: The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 22. Ko further teaches wherein the controller further generates a selected image for selecting the plurality of cooking recipes and displays the selected image on the display screen, wherein based on the necessity count information, a display order of cooking recipes is determined in the selected image ([Ko, FIGs. 4-8]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated meal plans are displayed).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20140295382 A1, published: 10/20/2014) and Lee (US 8145854 B1, published: 3/27/2012), and in further view of Luke (US 20190005555 A1, published: 1/3/2019).
Claim 14. (Previously Presented): The combination of Ko and Lee, teaches the cooking recipe display system according to claim 6. The combination of Ko and Lee, does not teach wherein: the auxiliary information includes omissible information, the omissible information indicates that an ingredient corresponding to the omissible information is omissible, and the controller is allowed to receive a selection of the omissible information displayed on the display screen, wherein when the omissible information is selected, the controller is configured to display information on the display screen, the information indicating an influence on the dish when the ingredient corresponding to the omissible information is omitted.
However, Luke teaches wherein: the auxiliary information includes omissible information, the omissible information indicates that an ingredient corresponding to the omissible information is omissible, and the controller is allowed to receive a selection of the omissible information displayed on the display screen, wherein when the omissible information is selected, the controller is configured to display information on the display screen, the information indicating an influence on the dish when the ingredient corresponding to the omissible information is omitted (if the consumer does not possess or have enough ground beef in his or her generic inventory, recipes that include ground beef as an ingredient may be omitted at this step [Luke, 0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cooking recipe display invention of the combination of Ko and Lee, to include the omissible ingredient feature of Luke.
One would have been motivated to make this modification in view of the fact that recipes can feature ingredients that the user does not have, and so must replace with an alternative ingredient to best capture the flavor of the original (un-omitted) recipe.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172