DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-54 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of invention I, claims 1-16 and 47-54 in the reply filed on February 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-46 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaltenberg et al. (WO 2020/163877 A1, hereinafter “Kaltenberg”).
In regard to claim 1, Kaltenberg discloses a per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) sorbent system (Abstract) comprising (page 24, Sorbet preparation section):
(i) a polyurethane foam (PUF) porous polymer material; and
(ii) the porous polymer material was soaked by ester and ether active chemical groups.
Regarding the molecular structure of the sorbent system, Kaltenberg discloses: the preferred sorbent material is polyurethane, especially an open-celled polyurethane foam in which the an organic carbamate moiety [-NH-(C=O)-O- ] linked through an ether or ester linkage (page 16, 1st paragraph); and carbamate moieties in the polyurethane are connected through polyester linkages (page 17, 2nd paragraph from the bottom). Since the active chemical groups and the carbamate moieties in the polyurethane are linked in molecular lever, the recitation “at least one active chemical group bound to an outer surface of the porous polymer material and within the porous polymer material” is anticipated.
In regard to claims 2 and 3, Kaltenberg discloses polyurethane foam (PUF) porous polymer material (page 24, Sorbet preparation section).
In regard to claim 7, Kaltenberg discloses the per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) sorbent system has hydrophobic regions (page 4, Section “Summary of the invention”).
Kaltenberg discloses every limitation recited in claims 1-3 and 7.
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (Highly selective removal of Hg(II) ions from aqueous solution using thiol modified porous polyaminal-networked polymer, Separation and Purification Technology, 250 (2020) 117120, hereinafter “Ryu”).
In regard to claims 1 and 6, Ryu discloses a sorbent system (porous organic polymer (POP)-based adsorbent (4AS-MBP)) (Abstract) comprising (page 2, Section “2. Methods”):
(i) a porous polymer material (a polyaminal-networked polymer); and
(ii) the polymer was modified with thiol (at least one active chemical group).
Regarding the molecular structure of the sorbent system, since Ryu discloses a linkage of the thiol functional group and polyaminal-networked polymer in a molecular level (page 3, Scheme 1; Section 3.1 General characterization of prepared polymers), the recitation “at least one active chemical group bound to an outer surface of the porous polymer material and within the porous polymer material” is anticipated.
In regard to claims 4 and 5, Ryu discloses a porous polymer material that is a polyaminal-networked polymer (a fibrous polyamide containing material).
Ryu discloses every limitation recited in claims 1 and 4-6.
Claims 8-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ambrosio et al. (Preparation, Characterization, and Mechanical/Tribological Properties of Polyamide11/Titanium Dioxide Nanocomposites, POLYMER COMPOSITES-2016, https://doi.org/10.1002/pc.23310Digital Object Identifier (DOI), hereinafter “Ambrosio”).
In regard to claim 8, Ambrosio discloses a sorbent system (polyamide11/titanium dioxide nanocomposites) comprising (pages 2-3, Section: EXPERIMENTAL):
(i) a porous polymer material of polyamide 11;
(ii) nanoparticles of titanium dioxide (TiO2) with a particle diameter 21 nm bound to the polymer material of polyamide 11 (pages 2-3, Section: Material; Preparation of PA11/TiO2 Nanocomposites). The sorbent system (polyamide11/titanium dioxide nanocomposites) is prepared by: using a Haake internal mixer (Polylab QC model) at 230°C and 50 rpm for 7 min. After the mixing process, the nanocomposites were submitted to compression molding at a temperature of 230°C under a pressure of 10 tons to obtain the specimens used in the dynamic-mechanical, mechanical, and abrasion resistance tests (page 3, section Preparation of PA11/TiO2 Nanocomposites). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ambrosio regarding the preparation of the sorbent system, the recitation “nanoparticles bound to an outer surface of the porous polymer material and within the porous polymer material” is being anticipated; and
at least one active chemical group (aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (APTMS)) bound to the nanoparticles (titanium dioxide) (pages 3-4, Section: Surface Modification of Titanium Dioxide).
In regard to claims 9, 10 and 11, Ambrosio discloses a nanoparticles of titanium dioxide (TiO2) with a particle diameter 21 nm (page 2, Section: Materials).
In regard to claim 12, Ambrosio discloses aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (APTMS) bound to the nanoparticles (titanium dioxide) (pages 3-4, Section: Surface Modification of Titanium Dioxide), wherein the APTMS comprises an amine functional group.
In regard to claim 16, Ambrosio discloses a porous polymer material of polyamide 11; (page 2, Section: Materials).
Ambrosio discloses every limitation recited in claims 8-12 and 16.
Claims 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. The effect of silica thickness on nano TiO2 particles for functional polyurethane nanocomposites, Nanotechnology 28 (2017) 115709 (14pp), hereinafter “Chen”).
In regard to claim 8, Chen discloses a sorbent system (polyurethane/titanium dioxide nanocomposites) comprising (pages 2-5, Section: 2.1. Materials; 2.2. Synthesis procedure)
(i) a porous polymer material of polyurethane;
(ii) nanoparticles of titanium dioxide bound to the polymer material of polyurethane (page 2, Scheme 1); and
(iii) at least one active chemical group bound (SiO2) to the nanoparticles (TiO2) (page 2, Scheme 1).
Regarding the molecular structure of the sorbent system, since Chen discloses a linkage of the titanium dioxide to the polyurethane molecule (page 2, Scheme 1), the recitation “nanoparticles bound to an outer surface of the porous polymer material and within the porous polymer material” is anticipated.
In regard to claims 13, 14 and 15, Chen discloses a porous polymer material of polyurethane (page 2, Section: Materials). Chen discloses the hydrophobicity of SiO2–TiO2 nanoparticles embedded into the polyurethane coatings was studied (page 12, Section: 3.4. Physical and mechanical properties of SiO2–TiO2 polyurethane coatings) which renders the recitation “the active chemical groups are hydrophobic” being anticipated.
Chen discloses every limitation recited in claims 8 and 13-15.
Claims 47-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ambrosio et al. (Preparation, Characterization, and Mechanical/Tribological Properties of Polyamide11/Titanium Dioxide Nanocomposites, POLYMER COMPOSITES-2016, https://doi.org/10.1002/pc.23310Digital Object Identifier (DOI), hereinafter “Ambrosio”).
In regard to claim 47, Ambrosio discloses a sorbent system (polyamide11/titanium dioxide nanocomposites) comprising (pages 2-3, Section: EXPERIMENTAL):
(i) a porous polymer material of polyamide 11;
(ii) a plurality of nanoparticles (titanium dioxide TiO2) with a particle diameter 21 nm bound to the polymer material of polyamide 11 (pages 2-3, Section: Material; Preparation of PA11/TiO2 Nanocomposites). The sorbent system (polyamide11/titanium dioxide nanocomposites) is prepared by: using a Haake internal mixer (Polylab QC model) at 230°C and 50 rpm for 7 min. After the mixing process, the nanocomposites were submitted to compression molding at a temperature of 230°C under a pressure of 10 tons to obtain the specimens used in the dynamic-mechanical, mechanical, and abrasion resistance tests (page 3, section Preparation of PA11/TiO2 Nanocomposites). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ambrosio regarding the preparation of the sorbent system, the recitation “plurality of nanoparticles bound to an outer surface of the porous polymer material and within the porous polymer material” is being anticipated.
In regard to claim 48, Ambrosio discloses the titanium dioxide TiO2 with a particle diameter 21 nm bound to the polymer material of polyamide 11 (page 2, Section: Materials).
In regard to claim 49, Ambrosio discloses a plurality of nanoparticles (titanium dioxide TiO2) with a particle diameter 21 nm bound to the polymer material of polyamide 11 (pages 2-3, Section: Material; Preparation of PA11/TiO2 Nanocomposites).
In regard to claim 50, Ambrosio discloses aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (APTMS) bound to the nanoparticles (titanium dioxide) (pages 3-4, Section: Surface Modification of Titanium Dioxide), wherein the APTMS comprises an amine functional group.
In regard to claim 51, Ambrosio discloses the titanium dioxide TiO2 with a particle diameter 21 nm bound to the polymer material of polyamide 11 (page 2, Section: Materials).
In regard to claim 52, Ambrosio discloses the titanium dioxide TiO2 with a particle diameter 21 nm bound to the polymer material of polyamide 11 (page 2, Section: Materials).
In regard to claim 53, Ambrosio discloses aminopropyltrimethoxysilane (APTMS) bound to the nanoparticles (titanium dioxide) (pages 3-4, Section: Surface Modification of Titanium Dioxide), wherein the APTMS comprises an amine functional group.
Ambrosio discloses every limitation recited in claims 47-53.
Claims 47 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. The effect of silica thickness on nano TiO2 particles for functional polyurethane nanocomposites, Nanotechnology 28 (2017) 115709 (14pp), hereinafter “Chen”).
In regard to claim 47, Chen discloses a sorbent system (polyurethane/titanium dioxide nanocomposites) comprising (pages 2-5, Sections: 2.1. Materials; 2.2. Synthesis procedure)
(i) a porous polymer material of polyurethane; and
(ii) a plurality of nanoparticles of titanium dioxide bound to the polymer material of polyurethane (page 2, Scheme 1).
Regarding the molecular structure of the sorbent system, since Chen discloses a linkage of the titanium dioxide to the polyurethane in a molecular level (page 2, Scheme 1), the recitation “nanoparticles bound to an outer surface of the porous polymer material and within the porous polymer material” is being anticipated.
In regard to claim 54, Chen discloses a porous polymer material of polyurethane (page 2, Section: Materials). Chen discloses the hydrophobicity of SiO2–TiO2 nanoparticles embedded into the polyurethane coatings was studied (page 12, Section: 3.4. Physical and mechanical properties of SiO2–TiO2 polyurethane coatings) which renders the recitation “the active chemical groups are hydrophobic” being anticipated.
Chen discloses every limitation recited in claims 47 and 54.
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772