DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “308” has been used to designate both joint and rotating dial (also 308 is used for both in Figure 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: advancement mechanism in at least independent claims 1 and 12 (corresponds to a rotating dial and gearing or a motor and gearing, see specification paragraph [0039]) and a gearing mechanism in at least dependent claim 4 and independent claims 12 and 18 and (corresponds to a gear 704, based on Figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 lines 1-2 recites that the system comprises “a front compartment”. Is this the same front compartment required in claim 1 or an additional front compartment?
Claim 3 lines 1-2 recites that the system comprises “a rear compartment”. Is this the same rear compartment required in claim 1 or an additional rear compartment?
Claim 3 recites the limitation "said rotational lock" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4, which depends from claim 3, recites “a rotational lock” in lines 1-2. Is this the same rotational lock? Was claim 3 meant to depend from claim 4 instead?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pierce, US 2018/0213997.
Regarding claim 1, Pierce discloses a mopping system comprising: a mop comprising a handle (11), a housing (14), and a removable cleaning cartridge (cartridge is the roll of material 22); said housing comprising a front compartment (front portion of 14 with lid 21, Figures 2 and 4), a rear compartment (rear portion of 14 with lid 29, Figures 2 and 4), a bottom surface (unlabeled, see Figure 4), and an advancement mechanism adapted to advance fabric of the cleaning cartridge (motor 42 and gear 44); said removable cleaning cartridge comprising the fabric (22), a first axle (unlabeled, shown center of roll of fabric 22 in Figure 2), and a second axle (at 31, Figure 3), wherein said fabric is attached at either end to said first and second axle and extends from said front compartment (Figures 2-4), along said bottom surface (Figure 4), and into said rear compartment (Figures 2-4); wherein said first axle is positioned within said front compartment and said second axle is positioned within said rear compartment (Figure 4); wherein said advancement mechanism is rotated to advance said first and second axles and said fabric such that said bottom surface is covered by a clean section of said fabric and a dirty section of said fabric advances into said front or rear compartment (paragraph 0034, Figure 4). Regarding claim 9, there are a pair of spray nozzles for dispensing a liquid (27, 28; Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce, US 2018/0213997 in view of Garcia, US 8,555,449.
Pierce discloses all elements previously mentioned above, however fails to disclose that the front compartment comprises a flexible protruding gear rod and a sidewall groove.
Garcia teaches a mopping system comprising a handle (12), a housing (24, 30), and a removable cleaning cartridge (20); the cartridge includes first and second axles (72, 74) having fabric attached at its ends (22, see Figures) and extends across a bottom surface of the mop (Figure 2), the first axle is positioned in the front of the mop housing and the second axle is positioned within the rear of the housing (see Figures 1-2), wherein there is an advancement mechanism (18, 40; rotating dial/drive 52 transmits motion to gears of drivetrain 60) that rotate to advance the fabric (see Figures). Regarding claim 2, Garcia teaches that the housing includes a front compartment area having a flexible protruding gear rod (64) and a sidewall groove (unlabeled groove opening within wall 30 where the protruding rod extends and is mounted to, see Figures 2-3). In Garcia the gears of the drivetrain serve to transmit rotation from the dial shaft (52) to the gears (including 64) to transfer torque from the rotary shaft to an input of the first axle (Figure 1, column 5 lines 51-57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front compartment of Pierce to include a flexible protruding gear rod and a sidewall groove, as taught by Garcia, so that there is a gear transmission to transfer motion or torque from the advancement mechanism to the axles of the cleaning cartridge housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-8 and 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the invention of claims 3-8 and 10-20, as best understood. Pierce, US 2018/0213997 and Garcia, US 8,555,449 fail to disclose a rear compartment that comprises a pair of sidewall grooves, a tension arm, and a rotational lock. Pierce and Garcia also fail to disclose that the cartridge includes a dome shaped cap on a first end of an axile and a disc shaped cap on a second end of the first axle, gearing mechanism on a first end of the second axle and a rotating end cap on a second end of the second axle.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg