DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species II (claims 1, 5-7 and 11) in the reply filed on February 6th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4, 8-10, 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the non-conductive regions” in line 8 refers back to “a plurality of non-conductive regions” in line 5 and should be amended to “the plurality of non-conductive regions” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites “the non-conductive region” in line 2 refers back to one of “a plurality of non-conductive regions” in line 5 of claim 1 and should be amended to “one of the plurality of non-conductive regions” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “the non-conductive regions” in line 13 refers back to one of “a plurality of non-conductive regions” in line 10 of claim 11 and should be amended to “the plurality of non-conductive regions” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YOSHIOKA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0204380 A1), hereinafter as YOSHIOKA.
Regarding claim 1, YOSHIOKA discloses a semiconductor device in Figs. 1-4 comprising: a channel layer (layer 3) and a barrier layer (layer 4) provided in this order on a substrate (substrate 1) (see Fig. 2 and [0027]); and a gate electrode (gate electrode 33), a source electrode (source electrode 31), and a drain electrode (drain electrode 33) that are formed on the substrate via the channel layer and the barrier layer and extend in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 1), wherein the channel layer or the barrier layer has a plurality of non-conductive regions (plurality of trench portions 8 within layer 4 and portions of layer 3) formed at positions opposed to the gate electrode and arranged side by side, with a predetermined interval (interval equal to width W1) interposed therebetween, in an extending direction of the gate electrode (extending direction of gate electrode 33), the non-conductive regions inhibiting a current from flowing to the channel layer (no current flow within portions of layer 3 that having trench portion 8 thereof) (see Figs. 2-4 and [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 5, YOSHIOKA discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the barrier layer has the non-conductive region (layer 4 has trench portion 8 within), and the barrier layer has, as the non-conductive region, an opening (trench portion 8) that penetrates the barrier layer (see Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 6, YOSHIOKA discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein the gate electrode has a branch section (a portion of gate electrode 33 within recess regions 42) that penetrates the channel layer through the opening (penetrate into portions of layer 3) (see Figs. 1, 2, 4 and [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, YOSHIOKA discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein the branch section includes a material having a thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of metal Ni/Au of gate electrode 33) higher than a thermal conductivity of the channel layer (higher than thermal conductivity of GaN of layer 3) (see [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIURA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0221758 A1), hereinafter as MIURA and in view of YOSHIOKA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0204380 A1), hereinafter as YOSHIOKA
Regarding claim 11, MIURA discloses a semiconductor device in Figs. 5-6 comprising: a channel layer (layer CH) and a barrier layer (layer BA) provided in this order on a substrate (substrate S) (see Fig. 5 and [0084-0085]); and a plurality of gate electrodes (plurality of gate GE), a plurality of source electrodes (plurality of source electrodes SE), and a plurality of drain electrodes (plurality of drain electrodes DE) that are formed on the substrate via the channel layer and the barrier layer and extend in a first direction (Y direction), wherein the plurality of source electrodes and the plurality of drain electrodes are alternately arranged in a second direction (x-direction) intersecting the first direction, the plurality of gate electrodes is arranged one by one between the source electrode and the drain electrode, and the channel layer or the barrier layer (see Figs. 5-6 and [0086-0090]).
MIURA fails to disclose the channel layer or the barrier layer has a plurality of non-conductive regions formed at positions opposed to the respective gate electrodes and arranged side by side, with a predetermined interval interposed therebetween, in an extending direction of the gate electrodes, the non-conductive regions inhibiting a current from flowing to the channel layer.
YOSHIOKA discloses a semiconductor device in Figs. 1-4 comprising: a channel layer (layer 3) and a barrier layer (layer 4) provided in this order on a substrate (substrate 1) (see Fig. 2 and [0027]); and a gate electrode (gate electrode 33), a source electrode (source electrode 31), and a drain electrode (drain electrode 33) that are formed on the substrate via the channel layer and the barrier layer and extend in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 1), wherein the channel layer or the barrier layer has a plurality of non-conductive regions (plurality of trench portions 8 within layer 4 and portions of layer 3) formed at positions opposed to the gate electrode and arranged side by side, with a predetermined interval (interval equal to width W1) interposed therebetween, in an extending direction of the gate electrode (extending direction of gate electrode 33), the non-conductive regions inhibiting a current from flowing to the channel layer (no current flow within portions of layer 3 that having trench portion 8 thereof) (see Figs. 2-4 and [0028-0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the plurality of non-conductive regions (plurality of trench portion 8) of YOSHIOKA into the semiconductor device of MIURA for the channel layer and the barrier layer having the plurality of non-conductive regions forming at positions opposed to the plurality of gate electrodes and arranged side by side for inhibiting a current from flowing into the channel layer because the modified structure would increase mobility within the channel layer of the transistor and further reduce ON resistance of the transistor.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818