Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/18/28 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes on Claim Interpretation:
The preamble has been considered limiting to the structure of the claimed invention (MPEP 2111).
In the claims, “sharp” and “rounded” are used in relation to “corners” (ex. Claim 1). In applicant’s specification these are discussed at [43-44], where [43] states “As shown in the illustrated embodiment, one or more corners formed between the sides may be rounded corners (e.g., has one or more radii of curvature).” and [44] states “[44] In some embodiments, some or even none of the corners are rounded (i.e., some or all are sharp corners)”. That is, any “corner” which is not “rounded” is then assumed to be “sharp” as these appear to be the only two options for a corner description in applicant’s specification.
Claim 2 was considered for rejection under 112(d) but since the wording of claim 2 (“wherein the convex polygon has one or more rounded corners.”) is different than the wording of claim 1 (“each of the corners formed between two sides of the polygon other than the base are rounded” and MPEP 608.01 (n) III states “A dependent claim does not lack compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(d) simply because there is a question as to the significance of the further limitation added by the dependent claim.” ultimately no rejection was made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami (US 20180290265, on applicant’s IDS) in view of either JP 2006224201 (on applicant’s IDS, using applicant supplied translation), hereinafter JP201, or Mujumdar et al. (US 7044835).
Regarding Claim 1, Usami discloses
A method for double side grinding a semiconductor structure (ex. Fig. 5, ex. [0002]), the method comprising:
positioning the semiconductor structure (11) between first and second grinding wheels (1, ex. [0054-0056]), each grinding wheel comprising:
a support wheel (1, Figs. 1, 2, 5); and
a plurality of abrasive members (3) that extend axially outward from the support wheel, each abrasive member having a wafer-engaging surface, the wafer-engaging surface being shaped as a convex polygon with at least five sides (ex. Figs. 3, 4, 7), wherein one of the sides of the polygon comprise a base and a plurality of sides other than the base, where
each of the corners formed with the base are sharp corners (as shown in cited figures); and
grinding the semiconductor structure by contacting the first and second grinding wheels with the semiconductor structure and rotating the first and second grinding wheels relative to each other (ex. [0056]).
Usami does not disclose
each of the corners formed between two sides of the polygon other than the base are rounded.
JP201 teaches
For a grinding wheel,
corners formed between two sides of the polygon are rounded (“convex curved surfaces” - [0020, 0029]).
Mujumdar teaches
For a grinding wheel,
corners formed between two sides of the polygon are rounded (Col. 8, lines 17-41 including - “Also in FIG. 6A is shown radius r, which is the internal radius of the corner where side wall 66 meets top surface 62. It is generally preferred to have a slightly rounded or radiused corner because it is believed that a rounded corner is easier to thoroughly fill with material (that is, resin and abrasive particles) and remove from the tooling.”).
Since both Usami and JP201 references are directed to grinding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abrasive members of Usami to include rounded corners as taught by JP201 such that “cutting resistance is relaxed and chipping is less likely to occur” ([0029]).
Alternatively:
Since both Usami and Mujumdar references are directed to grinding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abrasive members of Usami to include rounded corners as taught by Mujumdar such that a rounded corner is easier to thoroughly fill with material and remove from the tooling.
Regarding Claim 2,
The method as set forth in claim 1 wherein the convex polygon has one or more rounded corners (Usami as modified).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami in view of JP201 or Mujumdar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP201.
Regarding Claim 5, Usami as modified discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for
The method as set forth in claim 1 wherein the abrasive members comprise diamond grit.
JP201 teaches
For a grinding wheel,
wherein the abrasive members comprise diamond grit ([0002, 0016, 0019]).
Since both references are directed to grinding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abrasive members of Usami to comprise diamond grit as taught by JP201 as an appropriate grinding material that would perform with predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami in view of JP201 or Mujumdar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of either Mujumdar or Umaji (JP 2017213664 A, machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 9, Usami as modified discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for
The method as set forth in claim 1 wherein the convex polygon is a convex pentagon.
Mujumdar teaches
For grinding,
wherein the convex polygon is a convex pentagon (“...or the like” Col. 15, lines 15-19 or Col. 8, lines 47-57 “any geometric shape”).
Umaji teaches
For grinding,
wherein the convex polygon is a convex pentagon (from translation - “In the grindstone 22f shown in FIG. 11, a grinding surface 224 for grinding a workpiece is formed in a pentagonal shape.”, Fig. 11).
Since both Usami and Mujumdar references are directed to grinding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the convex polygon of Usami to be a convex pentagon as taught by Mujumdar as an appropriate shape that would perform with predictable results.
Alternatively:
Since both Usami and Umaji references are directed to grinding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the convex polygon of Usami to be a convex pentagon as taught by Umaji as an appropriate shape that would perform with predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those items on the 892 each teach elements of the instant invention related to grinding.
MICHAEL QUANDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745