DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehlis et al (US 6,369,268).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Ehlis et al teach diester amine adducts, to a process for the preparation of these compounds and to their use. See column 1, lines 1-25. Suitable compounds include those having the formula
and
wherein these compounds clearly fall within the scope of instant claim 1. See column 3 and Example 1. Owing to their complex-forming properties, the novel diester amine adducts can also be used for removing undesirable calcium depositions, boiler scale and rust. They are usually used to this purpose in alkaline derusting and decalcification baths. The novel compounds are furthermore used as additives in liquids for cooling-water circuits for preventing and dissolving calcium depositions. The novel adducts are also used in personal-care products, for example in creams, lotions, body-care products, such as deodorants, soaps or shampoos and ointments, for preventing oxidation, rancidness, turbidity and the like. The novel adducts can also be used in cleaning agents and detergents for removing metal ions and as preservatives. In liquid cleaning formulations, the novel compounds may advantageously be used in a concentration of 0.05 to 15% by weight, based on the entire weight of the formulation. See column 6, lines 10-69. A shampoo has, for example, the following composition: 0.01 to 5% by weight of the compound, 12.0% by weight of sodium-laureth-2-sulfate, 4.0% by weight of cocamidopropylbetaine, 3.0% by weight of NaCl, and water ad 100%. Ehlis et al disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Ehlis anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 1, 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enselberg (US2011/0271458) or Hodge et al (US2016/0289601).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Enselberg teaches a composition for removing stains from fabrics comprising: Phosphoric Acid; Emulsifying Wax; Triethylene Glycol; a surfactant; Lauryl Alcohol; Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid; Sodium Hydrochloride; and Water. See Abstract and claim 1. Note that, ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid corresponds formula (Ia) as recited by instant claim 2. Enselberg discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Hodge et al teach a cleaning composition including a primarily C12 quaternary functionalized alkyl polyglucoside selected from the group consisting of stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl laurylglucosides chloride and lauryldimoniumhydroxypropyl cocoglucosides chloride, a water conditioning agent, an acid source, a solvent, and water. See Abstract. Hodge et al teach a composition containing 5-60% of water, 4-8% of EDTA, etc. See para. 67. Note that, ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid corresponds formula (Ia) as recited by instant claim 2. Hodge et al disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Enselberg or Hodge et al anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-9 of copending Application No. 18/556145 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3-9 of 18/556145 encompass the material limitations of the instant claims. Claims 1 and 3-9 of 18/556145 disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/
February 3, 2026