DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US PGPub 2010/0225221, hereinafter Suzuki) in view of Davidson et al. (US Pat. 7,089,956, hereinafter Davidson).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a cartridge assembly for a mass spectrometer (disk shaped micro channel plate (MCP) for mass spectroscopes, see paragraph [0032]), the cartridge assembly comprising:
two detector plates, each of the two detector plates comprising an active area defining a plurality of channel from a first side of each of the two detector plates to a second side of each of the two detector plates, and a plurality of clamping areas (MCP 2 is constructed by forming a disk shaped glass substrate and a large number of channels 21, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]; two MCP 2,3 depicted in Fig. 3, clamping areas designated as the marginal portion 23 surrounding the outer periphery, see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]);
a spacer disposed between the two detector plates, the spacer comprising a plurality of clamping tabs, wherein each of the plurality of clamping tabs are aligned with each of the plurality of clamping areas (adhesion piece 62 is provided on the marginal portions 23, 33 at contact points around the central axis of the MCP 2, 3 (e.g. tabs aligned with clamping areas), see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]);
a washer disposed proximate a second detector plate of the two detector plates, (metallic ring-shaped spacer member 61 comprising a plurality of contact points with the adhesion piece 62 between MCPs 2 and 3, see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]; aligned with the marginal portions 23 and 33, see Fig. 12);
a cartridge housing comprising: a first housing portion disposed adjacent a first detector plate of the two detector plates (housing 105 is on one side of the MCP 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]); and
a second housing portion disposed adjacent the second detector plate (IN electrode 101 is on one side of the MCP 2, opposite the housing 105, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]);
a plurality of fasteners spanning the first housing portion and the second housing portion (housing screw 111 and electron multiplier fixing screw 112, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]); and
a biasing element disposed between the washer and the first housing portion (housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112 provide a clamping force through the housing 105 and the elements of the MCP 2, 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]).
Suzuki fails to teach the washer comprises a plurality of clamping blocks, wherein each of the plurality of clamping blocks are aligned with each of the clamping tabs.
Davidson teaches a flange washer 16 includes two protrusions 44 having external threads (e.g. clamping blocks) to align the assembly features (see Figs. 6-8 and col. 6, lines 11-28).
Davidson modifies Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads).
Since both inventions are drawn to clamping assemblies, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads) for the purpose of ensuring correct orientation of the respective assembly features as taught by Davidson.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses a plurality of clamping areas are disposed proximate a perimeter of the each of the two detector plates (adhesion piece 62 is provided on the marginal portions 23, 33 at contact points around the central axis of the MCP 2, 3 (e.g. tabs aligned with clamping areas), see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses the plurality of clamping areas comprise channelless portions of each of the two detector plates (adhesion piece 62 is provided on the marginal portions 23, 33 at contact points around the central axis of the MCP 2, 3 where there is a lack of channels 21, see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses each of the plurality of clamping tabs extend outward from a perimeter of the spacer (spacer member 61 comprising a plurality of contact points with the adhesion piece 62, see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]; aligned with the marginal portions 23 and 33, see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki fails to disclose the washer comprises an inner ring and an outer ring, and wherein the clamping blocks extend from the inner ring.
Davidson teaches a flange washer 16 includes two protrusions 44 having external threads (e.g. clamping blocks) to align the assembly features (see Figs. 6-8 and col. 6, lines 11-28). The flange washer 16 comprises an inner ring (portion of flange washer 16 facing the raised protrusions) and an outer ring (portion of flanger washer 16 facing the aperture 116, see Fig. 7 and col. 6, lines 11-32).
Davidson modifies Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads).
Since both inventions are drawn to clamping assemblies, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads) for the purpose of ensuring correct orientation of the respective assembly features as taught by Davidson.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki fails to disclose the inner ring is raised relative to the second detector plate.
Davidson teaches a flange washer 16 includes two protrusions 44 having external threads (e.g. clamping blocks) to align the assembly features (see Figs. 6-8 and col. 6, lines 11-28). The flange washer 16 comprises an inner ring (portion of flange washer 16 facing the raised protrusions) and an outer ring (portion of flanger washer 16 facing the aperture 116, see Fig. 7 and col. 6, lines 11-32). Davidson teaches the inner ring (portion of flange washer 16 facing the raise protrusions) is raised relative to the outer ring (see Fig. 7).
Davidson modifies Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads).
Since both inventions are drawn to clamping assemblies, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads) for the purpose of ensuring correct orientation of the respective assembly features as taught by Davidson. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to orient the washer (e.g. have the raised portion of the flange washer 16 face a certain direction, such as the second detector plate) to ensure correct alignment and clamping force in a desired direction.
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses a cartridge assembly for a mass spectrometer (disk shaped micro channel plate (MCP) for mass spectroscopes, see paragraph [0032]), the cartridge assembly comprising:
an input detector plate, wherein the input detector plate defines a plurality of input plate channels extending from an input side of the input detector plate to an output side of the input detector plate (MCP 2 is constructed by forming a disk shaped glass substrate and a large number of channels 21, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]; channels extending from an input side to an output side, depicted by input electrode 101 to output electrode 102, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]);
an output detector plate, wherein the output detector plate defines a plurality of output plate channels extending from an input side of the input detector plate to an output side of the output detector plate, and wherein the input detector plate and the output detector plate are aligned along a common axis (MCP 3 is constructed by forming a disk shaped glass substrate and a large number of channels 21, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]; channels extending from an input side to an output side, depicted by input electrode 101 to output electrode 102, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]; MCP 2 and 3 are aligned, see Fig. 3);
a spacer in contact with the output side of the input detector plate and the input side of the output detector plate (adhesion piece 62 is provided on the marginal portions 23, 33 at contact points around the central axis of the MCP 2, 3 (MCP 2 being the input detector plate), see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]);
a washer disposed in contact with the output side of the output detector plate (conductive adhesive 9 comprising a plurality of contact points with the marginal portions 23, 33 of MCP 2, 3 (MCP 3 being the output detector plate), see Fig. 12 and paragraphs [0036] and [0062]);
an input housing portion disposed in contact with the input side of the input detector plate (IN electrode 101 is on one side of the MCP 2, opposite the housing 105, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]); and
a biasing element in contact with the washer for biasing each of the washer, the output detector plate, the spacer, and the input detector plate towards the input housing portion (housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112 provide a clamping force through the housing 105 and the elements of the MCP 2, 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses a channel axis disposed at an angle to the common axis (channel 21 are angled with respect to the common axis, depicted by angled channels of MCP 2, see Fig. 4);
an input channel mount defined by the input side of each of the input plate and the output plate, respectively (channel 21 of input side MCP 2 (MCP 2 being the input plate), see Fig. 4); and
an output channel mouth defined by the output side of each of the input plate and the output plate, respectively (channel 21 of output side MCP 2 (MCP 2 being the input plate), see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses the plurality of input plate channels comprise a housing subset of input plate channels, wherein the input channel mouth of the housing subset of input plate channels is obstructed by the input housing portion, and wherein the output channel mouth of the housing subset of input plate channels is unobstructed (input channels 21 on the outer ring by the housing are blocked, see Fig. 2, further depicted in annotated figure 4 reproduced below; output channels of the input plate channels 21 are unobstructed, see annotated figure 4 below).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses wherein the output detector plate comprises a clamping area characterized by an absence of the plurality of output plate channels (MCP 3 (e.g. output plate) has clamping areas (where conductive adhesives 9 is attached) designated as the marginal portion 23 surrounding the outer periphery with an absence of channels 21, see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki discloses the washer contacts the clamping area on an output side of the output detector plate and the spacer contacts the clamping area on an input side of the output detector plate (conductive adhesive 9 contacts the marginal portions 23, 33 of the MCP 3, see paragraph [0036]; on the output side of the output plate MCP 3, see Fig. 12; adhesion piece 63 contacts the marginal portions 23, 33 of the MCP 3, see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062])
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki discloses a method of assembling a cartridge (disk shaped micro channel plate (MCP) for mass spectroscopes, see paragraph [0032]), the method comprising:
positioning an input detector plate against an input housing portion, wherein the input detector plate comprises a plurality of input plate clamping areas, and wherein the input housing portion comprises a plurality of plate support features (IN electrode 101 is on one side of the MCP 2, see Fig. 14and paragraph [0064]; clamping areas designated as the marginal portion 23 surrounding the outer periphery, see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]; the IN electrode 101 comprises plate support features (e.g. screw holes for housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0065]);
positioning a spacer against the input detector plate, wherein the spacer comprises a plurality of clamping tabs (adhesion piece 62 is provided on the marginal portions 23, 33 at contact points around the central axis of the MCP 2, 3 (e.g. tabs aligned with clamping areas), see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]);
positioning an output detector plate against the spacer, wherein the output detector plate comprises a plurality of output plate clamping areas (MCP 3 as the output plate is against the adhesion piece 63 (similar to adhesion piece 62), at contact points around the central axis of the MCP 2, 3 (e.g. tabs aligned with clamping areas), see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]);
positioning a washer against the output detector plate (metallic ring-shaped spacer member 61 comprising a plurality of contact points with the adhesion piece 62 between MCPs 2 and 3, see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0062]; aligned with the marginal portions 23 and 33, see Fig. 12);
positioning a biasing element against the washer (housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112 provide a clamping force through the housing 105 and the elements of the MCP 2, 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]), and
positioning an output housing portion against the biasing element, wherein the plurality of plate support features, the plurality of input plate clamping areas, the plurality of clamping tabs, the plurality of output plate clamping areas, and the plurality of clamping blocks are aligned (housing 105 is on one side of the MCP 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]; all the clamping areas along the marginal portions 23 and 33 are aligned, see Fig. 12; housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112 provide a clamping force through the housing 105 and the elements of the MCP 2, 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]).
Suzuki fails to teach the washer comprises a plurality of clamping blocks, wherein each of the plurality of clamping blocks are aligned with each of the clamping tabs.
Davidson teaches a flange washer 16 includes two protrusions 44 having external threads (e.g. clamping blocks) to align the assembly features (see Figs. 6-8 and col. 6, lines 11-28).
Davidson modifies Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads).
Since both inventions are drawn to clamping assemblies, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing the washer with a clamping block (e.g. protrusions 44 having external threads) for the purpose of ensuring correct orientation of the respective assembly features as taught by Davidson.
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses fastening the output housing portion to the input housing portion, wherein fastening the output housing portion to the input housing portion applies a biasing force from the biasing element to each of the washer, the output detector plate, the spacer, the input detector plate, and the input housing portion (housing 105 is fastened to the IN electrode 101 by housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0065]; housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112 provide a clamping force through the housing 105 and the elements of the MCP 2, 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki discloses applying a biasing force with the biasing element proximate a perimeter of each of the input housing portion, the input detector plate, the spacer, the output detector plate, and the washer (housing screw 111 and fixing screw 112 provide a clamping force through the housing 105 and the elements of the MCP 2, 3, see Fig. 14 and paragraph [0064]).
Claims 7 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Davidson and in further view of Du et al. (CN 109346446, hereinafter Du).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki fails to disclose the biasing element comprises an axial canted coil spring disposed proximate an outer portion of the washer.
Du teaches a clamping force and bonding pressure of the body of a micro-channel plate after positioning and alignment are provided by the elastic preload force of the spring washer 7 (see paragraph [0020]). The instant application discloses the canted coil spring is in contact with the washer 234 to distribute force evenly across the washer 234 (see paragraph [0027] of the instant application. Du discloses the washer 6 is located between the nut 5 and spring washer 7; and when tightened, a consistent elastic force is applied to the elastic bolt assembly (see paragraph [0020]).
Du modifies Suzuki by suggesting the washer is a spring washer 7 with a washer 6.
Since both inventions are drawn to MCP devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing a washer disposed proximate an outer portion of the spring washer for the purpose of clamping with a pre-tightened force to avoid bonding pressure loading process as taught by Du.
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki fails to disclose the biasing element comprises an axial canted coil spring having an inner diameter greater than an inner diameter of the washer.
Du teaches a clamping force and bonding pressure of the body of a micro-channel plate after positioning and alignment are provided by the elastic preload force of the spring washer 7 (see paragraph [0020]). The instant application discloses the canted coil spring is in contact with the washer 234 to distribute force evenly across the washer 234 (see paragraph [0027] of the instant application. Du discloses the washer 6 is located between the nut 5 and spring washer 7 on the side of the larger outer diameter of the washer; and when tightened, a consistent elastic force is applied to the elastic bolt assembly (see paragraph [0020]).
Du modifies Suzuki by suggesting the washer is a spring washer 7 with a washer 6.
Since both inventions are drawn to MCP devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing a washer disposed proximate an outer portion of the spring washer for the purpose of clamping with a pre-tightened force to avoid bonding pressure loading process as taught by Du.
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki fails to disclose the biasing element comprises an axial canted coil spring having an inner diameter greater than an inner diameter of the washer.
Du teaches a clamping force and bonding pressure of the body of a micro-channel plate after positioning and alignment are provided by the elastic preload force of the spring washer 7 (see paragraph [0020]). The instant application discloses the canted coil spring is in contact with the washer 234 to distribute force evenly across the washer 234 (see paragraph [0027] of the instant application. Du discloses the washer 6 is located between the nut 5 and spring washer 7 on the side of the larger outer diameter of the washer; and when tightened, a consistent elastic force is applied to the elastic bolt assembly (see paragraph [0020]).
Du modifies Suzuki by suggesting the washer is a spring washer.
Since both inventions are drawn to MCP devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki by providing a washer disposed proximate an outer portion of the spring washer for the purpose of clamping with a pre-tightened force to avoid bonding pressure loading process as taught by Du.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 4 of Suzuki discloses the plurality of input plate channels comprises a spacer subset of input plate channels, wherein the input channel mouth of the spacer subset of the input plate channels is unobstructed (channels 21 of input plate MCP 2 are not blocked, more clearly depicted in Fig. 4; Fig. 12 depicts the spacer adhesion piece 62 on the marginal space 23 of MCP 2).
The prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the output channel mouth of the spacer subset of the input plate channels is obstructed by the spacer.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 4 of Suzuki discloses the plurality of output plate channels comprises a spacer subset of output plate channels (output plate MCP 3 comprises channels 21, more clearly depicted in Fig. 4; Fig. 12 depicts the spacer adhesion piece 63 on the marginal space 33 of MCP 3), and wherein the output channel mouth of the spacer subset of output plate channels is unobstructed (output place MCP 3 comprises output channels 21, see Fig. 4).
The prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the input channel mouth of the spacer subset of the output plate channels is obstructed by the spacer.
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 4 of Suzuki discloses the plurality of output plate channels comprises a washer subset of output plate channels, wherein the input channel mouth of the washer subset of the output plate channels is unobstructed (output plate MCP 3 comprises channels 21, more clearly depicted in Fig. 4; the input channels 21 of the output plate MCP 3 are not blocked, see Fig. 4).
The prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the output channel out of the washer subset of the output plate channels is obstructed by the washer.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881