DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9, 11-13, 16-20 and 23-25 are pending.
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 23-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/5/2026. The applicant elected claims 13 and 16-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cody et al. (US PGPub 2005/0056775, hereinafter Cody) and in view of Golubovic et al. (EP 1911047, provided in IDS filed 3/7/2024, translation and citations made to WO 2007/014302 provided in IDS filed 3/7/2024, hereinafter Golubovic).
Regarding claim 13, Cody discloses a device for a mass spectrometer (device of the atmospheric pressure interface of the TOF mass spectrometer, see paragraph [0056]), the device comprising:
a plurality of electrodes (electrodes E0, E1, and E2, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0056]), each of which is configured to, when energized, influence flight of charged particles (electrodes establish either a negative or positive potential to influence charged particles in each chamber C1, C2, and C3, see paragraph [0049]); and
a power source configured to energize the plurality of electrodes (power supply permits the lens electrode and the electrode at the outlet port to switch polarity without switching the polarity of the first electrode and the counter electrode, see paragraph [0016]).
Cody fails to disclose the specifics of the power source used in a device for a mass spectrometer.
Golubovic discloses a power supply having two terminals and configured to provide a voltage of a first value between the two terminals (power supply such as a battery voltage supply 13 including a supply input lead 16 and a supply outlet lead 17, see paragraph [0031]);
a voltage regulator connected between the two terminals of the power supply (composite device 10 includes a planar PPTC resistor element 12 and a planar MOV element 14, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0030]; having connector leads 16 and 18, see Fig. 1) and comprising:
a first varistor having a first and second terminals (MOV (metal oxide varistor) element 14 presenting a very high parallel resistance between leads 17 and 18, see paragraph [0031]);
a current limiting circuit connected in series with the varistor (PPTC element 12 presenting a low series resistance between leads 16 and 17, see paragraph [0031]); and
the current limiting circuit being configured to bias the varistor to operate continuously in a breakdown mode (when an overvoltage condition appears across the terminals 16 and 18, the MOV 14 conducts at its knee voltage characteristic and begins to absorb considerable electrical energy, see paragraph [0032]);
the first terminal of the first MOV device, and another one of the plurality of electrodes being connected to the second terminal of the first MOV device (two-terminal device 10 is used as surge protection of electrical outlets or control systems, see paragraph [0030]).
Golubovic modifies Cody by suggesting using the two-terminal electrical circuit protection device from the power supply to the electrodes as the generic power supply for a mass spectrometer.
In light of this teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Cody by using the circuit protection device of the power supply in a mass spectrometer for the purpose of providing a surge protection of electrical output for the control system as taught by Golubovic.
Regarding claim 18, Cody fails to disclose the specifics of the MOV device.
Golubovic discloses the first MOV device comprises one or more MOVs (MOV element 14, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0030]), each of which having a nominal varistor volage and is configured to operate at a specified DC test current level when the MOV is biased at the nominal varistor voltage (MOV element 14 is nominally rated at 270 volts, see paragraph [0040]), and the current limiting circuit is configured to bias the one or more MOVs to operate at a current level no higher than the specified DC test current level for each of the one or more MOVs (MOV element 14 has a maximum clamping voltages of 455 VDC, see paragraph [0040]; devices were subjected to testing including a 500 volt/5 ampere/5 second test that is within a range of test currents, see paragraph [0040]).
Golubovic modifies Cody by suggesting using the two-terminal electrical circuit protection device from the power supply to the electrodes as the generic power supply for a mass spectrometer.
In light of this teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Cody by using the circuit protection device of the power supply in a mass spectrometer for the purpose of providing a surge protection of electrical output for the control system as taught by Golubovic.
Regarding claim 20, Cody discloses at least a subset of the plurality of electrodes are configured to operate in an environment of a pressure of about 1 Pa or lower (the analyzer (of the mass spectrometer) may require vacuum pumps, see paragraph [0075]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cody and Golubovic teaches the current limiting circuit comprises one or more resistance devices (MOV 14 (metal oxide varistor) of Golubovic is a type of varistor, that is a voltage dependent resistor, is a resistive device). The prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the current limiting circuit comprises one or more microchannel plates, where each resistive device is connected to a respective one of the one or more microchannel plates in parallel.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the current limiting circuit comprises one or more microchannel plates and one or more capacitors, each of which connected to a respective one of the one or more microchannel plates in parallel.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, the first MOV device comprises two or more MOVs connected in a serial combination connected between the first and second terminals.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878