DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites, “a surface area of liquid provided to the nebulizer outlet is greater when the liquid is in the multiple channels, annular, channel, or segmented channel than when the liquid is in the tubular channel.” This new functional limitation does not clearly describe what function or structure is to be achieved. It is unclear whether “a surface area of liquid provided to the nebulizer outlet” describes the flow of liquid into the nebulizer outlet, or the surface area of contact between the nebulizer outlet and the liquid, or a surface area of the nebulized liquid as it leaves the nebulizer outlet. The specification does little to clarify this issue. As such, the claims are rejected as indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claims will be treated as best understood in light of the specification, which states, “An increased surface area could also be achieved e.g. by the second portion 24 b comprising more channels than the first portion 24 a, e.g. by the second portion 24 b comprising multiple channels, and the first portion 24 a comprising a single channel (where a convergence/nebulisation region is provided within each of the multiple channels).” PgPub para 197.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0255544 A1 [Ueda].
Regarding Claim 1:
Ueda discloses a nebuliser outlet (para 29, the device of Ueda atomizes a liquid, which is equivalent to nebulizing) comprising:
one or more first channels, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that liquid received by the nebuliser outlet can pass to one or more nebulisation regions via the one or more first channels (see annotated Fig. 2 (21, 32)) below, paras 34-36); and
one or more second channels, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that gas received by the nebuliser outlet can pass to the one or more nebulisation regions via the one or more second channels (see annotated Fig. 2 (22, 41, 42), para 41);
wherein the one or more first channels comprise a first portion and a second portion (see annotated Fig. 2, wherein the first and second portions are separated by the dotted line),
wherein the first portion comprises a tubular channel (Fig. 2 (21)), and wherein the second portion comprises multiple channels, an annular channel, or a segmented annular channel (see annotated Fig. 2 (32) shows the multiple channels of the second portion), and wherein the tubular channel is in fluid communication with and diverges into the multiple channels, the annular channel, or the segmented annular channel (see annotated Fig. 2 wherein (21) is in fluid communication with and diverges into (32)); and
wherein the one or more second channels converge with the second portion at the one or more nebulisation regions (as shown in Fig. 2 (60)).
Regarding Claim 4:
Ueda discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the tubular channel diverges into the multiple channels, the annular channel, or the segmented annular channel such that a surface area of liquid provided to the nebuliser outlet is greater when the liquid passes from the tubular channel into the multiple channels, annular channel, or segmented annular channel than when the liquid is in the tubular channel. Ueda has the same structure as is described in the specification at PgPub para 197 for achieving the claimed function. As such, it inherently achieves the claimed function.
Regarding Claim 7:
Ueda discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that gas provided to the nebuliser outlet can pass via the one or more second channels to the one or more nebulisation regions, and can nebulise liquid in the one or more nebulisation regions. Fig. 2 (60), para 55.
Regarding Claim 8:
Ueda discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the one or more nebulisation regions are downstream of the nebuliser outlet. Para 55, spout (52) and the region adjacent thereto.
Regarding Claim 9:
Ueda discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the one or more nebulisation regions are within the nebuliser outlet (Fig. 2 (60) closest to the passages), and the one or more first channels and the one or more second channels converge at the one or more nebulisation regions. As can be seen in Fig. 2, all of the outlets converge to the nebulization region.
Regarding Claim 10:
Ueda discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein one or more of the second channels surrounds one or more of the first channels. See Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claim 18:
Ueda discloses a method of nebulising a liquid, the method comprising using the nebuliser outlet and/or the nebuliser of claim 1 to nebulise a liquid. Para 55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of WO 2019/193191 A1 [Schlichting].
Regarding Claims 5-6:
Ueda teaches the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, but fails to teach that the nebuliser outlet is formed using Selective Laser Melting (SLM).
Schlichting teaches making analytical components, such as the inlet, outlets, and electrodes described from 29:24-34:15, using the additive manufacturing process of Selective Laser Melting. 34:20-21. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the SLM manufacturing of Schlichting to make the outlet of Ueda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to since such a technique is taught to yield suitable precision in a cost-efficient manner. Schlichting 27:31-33.
Regarding Claims 19-20:
Ueda teaches the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, but fails to teach that the nebuliser outlet is formed using the additive manufacturing process of Selective Laser Melting (SLM).
Schlichting teaches making analytical components, such as the inlet, outlets, and electrodes described from 29:24-34:15, using the additive manufacturing process of Selective Laser Melting. 34:20-21. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the SLM manufacturing of Schlichting to make the outlet of Ueda. One would have been motivated to do so in order to since such a technique is taught to yield suitable precision in a cost-efficient manner. Schlichting 27:31-33.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the anticipation and obviousness rejections of record have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the present amendments overcome the indefiniteness rejections of record. The rejections of claims 18-20 are withdrawn. Amended claim 4 is rejected as indefinite again, but concerning the amended language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881