DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of inventive Group I and Species B in the reply filed on 1/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-3 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventive groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 11, 12, and 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 4-10, and 18-20 are pending and not withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites, “using the nebuliser outlet and/or the nebuliser of claim 1.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the nebuliser of claim 1” in the claim. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites, “the nebuliser outlet is configured such that a surface area of liquid provided to the nebuliser outlet is increased when the liquid passes from the tubular channel into the multiple channels, annular channel, or segmented annular channel.” It is unclear how one is to determine that the structure of an outlet is so configured that an arbitrary liquid would have its surface area increase. The word increase suggests a function of time, not a function of structure. Thus, it is unclear whether claim 4 is describing the use of the nebulizer outlet, or the structure of the nebulizer outlet. Accordingly, the claim is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by US 6,032,876 [Bertsch].
Regarding Claim 1:
Bertsch discloses a nebuliser outlet (abstract) comprising:
one or more first channels, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that liquid received by the nebuliser outlet can pass to one or more nebulisation regions via the one or more first channels (see annotated Fig. 3B below, 6:22-37); and
one or more second channels, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that gas received by the nebuliser outlet can pass to the one or more nebulisation regions via the one or more second channels (see annotated Fig. 3B below, 6:37-42);
wherein the one or more first channels comprise a first portion and a second portion (see annotated Fig. 3b, wherein the first and second portions are separated by the dotted line),
wherein the first portion comprises a tubular channel (Fig. 3B- interior channel defined by tube 30), and wherein the second portion comprises multiple channels, an annular channel, or a segmented annular channel (annotated Fig. 3B shows the multiple channels of the second portion as defined by microtubes (30 and 32)) ; and
wherein the one or more second channels converge with the second portion at the one or more nebulisation regions (as shown in Fig. 3B, the 2nd channel converges with the second portion and towards the nebulisation region at the leftmost extent of outlet).
Regarding Claim 4:
Bertsch discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that a surface area of liquid provided to the nebuliser outlet is increased when the liquid passes from the tubular channel into the multiple channels, annular channel, or segmented annular channel. 8:15-42- when the liquid is nebulized it has a significantly higher surface area, and said nebulization takes place in the second portion.
Regarding Claim 7:
Bertsch discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the nebuliser outlet is configured such that gas provided to the nebuliser outlet can pass via the one or more second channels to the one or more nebulisation regions (7:1-8), and can nebulise liquid in the one or more nebulisation regions (8:1-14).
Regarding Claim 8:
Bertsch discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the one or more nebulisation regions are downstream of the nebuliser outlet. 8:15-42.
Regarding Claim 9:
Bertsch discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein the one or more nebulisation regions are within the nebuliser outlet, and the one or more first channels and the one or more second channels converge at the one or more nebulisation regions. As can be seen in Fig. 3, all of the outlets converge to the nebulization region. See also, 8:15-42.
Regarding Claim 10:
Bertsch discloses the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, wherein one or more of the second channels surrounds one or more of the first channels. See Fig. 3B above.
Regarding Claim 18:
Bertsch discloses a method of nebulising a liquid, the method comprising using the nebuliser outlet and/or the nebuliser of claim 1 to nebulise a liquid. 8:15-42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertsch in view of WO 2019/193191 A1 [Schlichting].
Regarding Claims 5-6:
Bertsch teaches the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, but fails to teach that the nebuliser outlet is formed using Selective Laser Melting (SLM).
Schlichting teaches making mass spectrometer components, such as the inlet, outlets, and electrodes described from 29:24-34:15, using the additive manufacturing process of Selective Laser Melting. 34:20-21. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the SLM manufacturing of Schlichting to make the outlet of Bertsch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to since such a technique is taught to yield suitable precision in a cost-efficient manner. Schlichting 27:31-33.
Regarding Claims 19-20:
Bertsch teaches the nebuliser outlet of claim 1, but fails to teach that the nebuliser outlet is formed using the additive manufacturing process of Selective Laser Melting (SLM).
Schlichting teaches making mass spectrometer components, such as the inlet, outlets, and electrodes described from 29:24-34:15, using the additive manufacturing process of Selective Laser Melting. 34:20-21. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the SLM manufacturing of Schlichting to make the outlet of Bertsch. One would have been motivated to do so in order to since such a technique is taught to yield suitable precision in a cost-efficient manner. Schlichting 27:31-33.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881