DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1-17 have an effective filing date of 22APR2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claims 18-37 are canceled.
Objections Withdrawn
The objection to claims 13 and 17 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claim.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection filed under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to claims.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kannarkat et al (The Role of Innate and Adaptive Immunity in Parkinson's Disease, J Parkinsons Dis. 2013 ; 3(4): 493–514) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morano et al (Structural and Functional Investigations Into B7-1:NGFR, The Journal of Immunology, Vol 202, Iss. 1_Supplemental, May 2019, IDS 10/20/2023).
In regard to claims 1 and 6-7, Morano et al teaches a method of using CTLA4 to compete with Nerve Growth Factor Receptor (NGFR, TNFSFR16) for binding to B7-1 [Abstract]. Morano et al teaches B7-1 binding CD28 induces T-cell activation [Abstract]. Morano et al further teaches that B7-1 binding CTLA4 reduces naïve T-cell activation [Abstract]. Morano et al further teaches p75 neurotrophin receptor competing with CTLA4 for B7-1 binding [Abstract].
Applicant states in the specifications, “p75 neurotrophin receptor (p75NTR, NGFR, TNFRSF16, CD271)” [Pg. 17, Specifications].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to use Morano’s method of using CTLA4 to compete with p75 neurotrophin receptor for binding to B7-1. It would have been prima facie obvious to use Morano’s method for a method comprising incubating CTLA4 with B7-1 and p75 neurotrophin receptor and measuring CTLA4 reducing B7-1 binding to p75 neurotrophin receptor, because Morano teaches B7-1 binding CTLA4 reduces naïve T-cell activation, motivated because Morano teaches this is a way to reduce T-cell activation after B7-1 binds p75 neurotrophin receptor.
In regard to claim 2, Morano teaches CTLA4 that is on naïve T-cell cell surface [Abstract].
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morano et al (Structural and Functional Investigations Into B7-1:NGFR, The Journal of Immunology, Vol 202, Iss. 1_Supplemental, May 2019, IDS 10/20/2023) as applied to claims 1-2, and 6-7 above, and further in view of Brennan et al (US 20190202889 A1, IDS 10/20/2023).
The teachings of Morano et al are discusses above.
Morano et al does not specifically teach soluble forms of B7-1. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Brennan et al.
Applicant states in the specification, “B7-1 (CD80)” [Pg. 4, Specification].
In regard to claim 3, Brennan et al teaches soluble forms of CD80 [0006].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would be motivate to combine Morano’s method of using CTLA4 to compete with p75 neurotrophin receptor for binding to B7-1, with Brennan’s method of use soluble B7-1 (CD80), fused to a Fc fragment, and bound to beads. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine Morano and Brennan’s methods for a method comprising incubating CTLA4 with B7-1 and p75 neurotrophin receptor and measuring CTLA4 reducing B7-1 binding to p75 neurotrophin receptor. Furthermore, for the B7-1 to be in a soluble form, fused to a Fc fragment and bound to beads, because Morano teaches this is a way to reduce T-cell activation after B7-1 binds p75 neurotrophin receptor and Brennan teaches this is used in treatments of diseases.
In regard to claim 4, Brennan et al teaches CD80 fused to IgG1 Fc [0184].
In regard to claim 5, Brennan et al teaches the CD80-Fc bound to magnetic protein-A beads [0184].
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morano et al (Structural and Functional Investigations Into B7-1:NGFR, The Journal of Immunology, Vol 202, Iss. 1_Supplemental, May 2019, IDS 10/20/2023) as applied to claims 1-2, and 6-7 above, and further in view of Huxley et al (High-Affinity Small Molecule Inhibitors of T Cell Costimulation: Compounds for Immunotherpy, Chem. & Bio, Vol. 11, pgs. 1651-1658, Dec. 2004, IDS 10/20/2023).
The teachings of Morano et al are discussed above.
Morano et al does not specifically teach agents that reduce binding of B7-1 and CD28 or CTLA-4. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Huxley et al.
In regard to claim 8, Huxley et al teaches using CTLA-4Ig to block CD28 engagement of CD80 [Right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 1651]. Huxley further teaches measuring the interactions by substituting a mouse immunoglobulin Fab fragment for the sCD80-Fab fusion protein [Right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 1656].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would be motivate to combine Morano’s method of using CTLA4 to compete with p75 neurotrophin receptor for binding to B7-1, with Huxley’s method of using CTLA-4Ig to block CD28 engagement of CD80 and measuring the blocking agents reduction in binding of B7-1 to CD28. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine Morano and Huxley’s methods for a method measuring CTLA4 reducing B7-1 binding to CD28, because Morano teaches this is a way to reduce T-cell activation and Huxley teaches reducing inflammatory disease.
In regard to claim 9, Huxley et al teaches compound 1 that does not significantly reduce B7-1 binding to CD28 [Figure 2].
Claims 10-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morano et al (Structural and Functional Investigations Into B7-1:NGFR, The Journal of Immunology, Vol 202, Iss. 1_Supplemental, May 2019, IDS 10/20/2023) and Huxley et al (High-Affinity Small Molecule Inhibitors of T Cell Costimulation: Compounds for Immunotherpy, Chem. & Bio, Vol. 11, pgs. 1651-1658, Dec. 2004, IDS 10/20/2023) as applied to claims 1-2, and 6-9 above, and further in view of Patnaik et al (Signaling via the p75 neurotrophin receptor facilitates amyloid-B-induced dendritic spine pathology, Scientific Reports, 10:13322, pgs. 1-14, 2020, IDS 10/20/2023).
The teachings of Morano et al and Huxley et al are discussed above.
Morano et al does not specifically teach measuring synaptic puncta density. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Patnaik et al.
In regard to claims 10 and 12, Patnaik et al teaches measuring synaptic puncta density of neurons that express p75 neurotrophin receptor [1st paragraph, pg. 4].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would be motivate to combine Morano’s method of using CTLA4 to compete with p75 neurotrophin receptor for binding to B7-1, with Huxley’s method of using CTLA-4Ig to block CD28 engagement of CD80 and measuring the blocking agents reduction in binding of B7-1 to CD28, with Patnaik’s method of measuring synaptic puncta density of neurons that express p75 neurotrophin receptor. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine Morano, Huxley, and Patnaik’s methods for a method measuring CTLA4 reducing B7-1 binding to CD28. Furthermore, to measure measuring synaptic puncta density of neurons that express p75 neurotrophin receptor, because levels can increase in the presence of disease.
In regard to claim 11, Patnaik et al teaches detecting p75 neurotrophin receptor on dendritic spine on hippocampal neurons [Abstract].
In regard to claim 13, Huxley et al teaches using blocking agents to treat inflammatory disease [Summary].
In regard to claims 14 and 17, Huxley et al teaches using CTLA-4Ig for multiple sclerosis [Right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 1651].
Applicant’s Arguments:
Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection.
Morano is a brief abstract reporting only a qualitative observation of competition between native ligands (CTLA- 4 and NGFR) for B7-1, and it expressly states that the "structure and function of the B7-1-NGFR interaction is currently unknown." A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to establish a quantitative screening and selection method for exogenous test agents, because the functional significance of the B7-1:p75NTR interaction in the nervous system was completely unresolved. Moreover, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no reasonable expectation of success in identifying or selecting functional B7-1 blocking agents using a quantitative threshold, for the same reason
Brennan does not disclose p75NTR or its interaction with B7-1. Morano lacks any quantitative selection, and Brennan fails to address p75NTR;
Morano reports only a qualitative observation that native CTLA-4 and NGFR (p75NTR) compete for B7-1 binding.
As to claim 9, the Examiner's assertion that Huxley's Compound 1 "does not significantly reduce B7-1 binding to CD28" is factually incorrect.
The Examiner has not articulated any reason why a person of ordinary skill would substitute B7-1 for A31-42 in Patnaik's assay system, nor why a "B7-1-specific blocking agent," as identified through the CD28/CTLA-4 selectivity screen of claims 8-9, would be expected to have any effect on an A3-driven p75NTR pathology model. Amyloid-3 and B7-1 are structurally and functionally unrelated proteins that Patnaik does not suggest engage p75NTR through a common or interchangeable mechanism.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant states, “A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to establish a quantitative screening and selection method for exogenous test agents, because the functional significance of the B7-1:p75NTR interaction in the nervous system was completely unresolved”.
Claim 1 is directed to a method comprising incubating one or more test agents with B7-1 and p75 neurotrophin receptor, measuring any reduction in B7-1:p75 neurotrophin receptor binding when compared to a control assay.
Morano teaches CTLA “a test agent” decreased p75 neurotrophin receptor binding with B7-1, because Morano teaches p75 neurotrophin and CTLA compete for binding to B7-1.
The functional significance of the B7-1:p75NTR interaction in the nervous system is not a claim limitation.
Applicant states, “Brennan does not disclose p75NTR or its interaction with B7-1”.
Morano et al teaches CTLA “a test agent” decreased p75 neurotrophin receptor binding with B7-1, because Morano teaches p75 neurotrophin and CTLA compete for binding to B7-1.
One of ordinary skill would recognize Morano’s method of reducing B7-1:p75NTR binding comprising CTLA4 addresses p75NTR interaction with B7-1.
Applicant states, “the Examiner's assertion that Huxley's Compound 1 "does not significantly reduce B7-1 binding to CD28" is factually incorrect.”.
Examiner agrees, Figure 2 shows reductions in CTLA-4 to B7-1.
Applicant states, “why a person of ordinary skill would substitute B7-1 for A31-42 in Patnaik's assay system, nor why a "B7-1-specific blocking agent," as identified through the CD28/CTLA-4 selectivity screen of claims 8-9, would be expected to have any effect on an A3-driven p75NTR pathology model. Amyloid-3 and B7-1 are structurally and functionally unrelated proteins that Patnaik does not suggest engage p75NTR”.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute B7-1 for A31-42, because Patnaik teaches a method of incubating oligomers that bind p75NTR and block the binding of B7-1 to p75NTR.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642