DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duck (WO 2020/135953 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5, 7, Duck teaches a boron derivative Formula IIIa-1 (page 9):
Formula IIIa-1 reads on applicants’ Formula 1wherein p = 0; Z = direct bond; n =1; n =0; m=1; RXIV= alkyl (page 2) (methyl page 6; corresponding to applicants’ R1); the remaining R(s) = H.
Duck teaches a finite set of option for the R substituents which are independently viewed as functionally equivalent whereby upon selection gives rise to obvious variants of Formula IIIa-1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of generic Formula IIIa-1 by selecting various functional equivalent substituents which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 1-3, 5, 7).
Regarding Claims 8-9, 11-12, Duck teaches an OLED comprising an emission layer containing Formula IIIa-1 along with a host material (page 20) (per claims 8, 11-12). Formula IIIa-1 is present at 0.1 % to 99 % by weight, more particularly 1 % to 80 % by weight. In an alternative embodiment, the proportion of the organic molecule in the emission layer is 100 % by weight (page 20) (per claim 9).
Regarding Claim 14, Duck teaches the following OLED layering
(per claim 14).
Regarding Claim 15, Duck teaches the inventive compounds ( Formula IIIa-1) shows a emission wavelength range (page 18):
The office takes the position that a standard OLED essentially works by applying an electrical current to the device containing two electrodes with an emission layer there between which produces light by fluorescence or phosphorescence. The range taught by Duck completely encompasses applicants’ range (per claim 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 10, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
A comprehensive search did not show the limitations of the above claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786