DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This is a first action on the merits following applicant’s response to a restriction/election requirement mailed on 30 December 2025. A preliminary amendment was filed on 23 October 2023 amending the specification, abstract and claims 1-10 and 12-16. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 December 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that (1) there is a technical relationship that involves the same special technical feature, and (2) the previous Office Action did not establish an undue search burden of the claims as specified by MPEP 803.
This is not found persuasive because, (1) it is noted that inventions listed as Groups I-V do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because under PCT Rule 13.2, the groups lack the same or corresponding special technical features as set forth on pages 4-5 of the previous Office Action. Furthermore, (2) because the instant application is a national stage entry filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 and is therefore not subject to US restriction practice but rather subject to lack of unity practice, see MPEP 1893.03(d). It is noted that undue search burden is not a criterion in lack of unity analysis. The test is whether or not special technical features can be established.
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 12 February 2026.
Drawings
The drawings received on 23 October 2023 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 refers to a homopolymer which necessarily uses only a single monomer. Thus the claim should recite “…is a homopolymer of a styrene-based monomer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palasz (U.S. Pub. 2006/0110596) as evidenced by Lu (U.S. Pub. 2009/0272950).
Regarding claim 1, Palasz describes pressure-sensitive UV hot melt acrylic polymers, see abstract. The adhesive includes a UV curable acrylic resin which reads on being energy-beam crosslinkable, see p. 2, [0020-0021]. The Examples use a combination of a UV-curable adhesive resin and KRISTALEX F85 tackifier resin, see p. 4, [0052-0053].
Lu is relied upon here for the limited evidentiary purpose of teaching that KRISTALEX F85 is an alpha-methyl styrene tackifier resin, see p. 2, [0027]. Thus the use of KRISTALEX F85 in Palasz reads on the claimed styrene-based resin (B1) in the tackifier component (B).
Thus Palasz anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Example 1 of Palasz uses 20 wt. % of KRISTALEX F85 tackifier resin and 80 wt. % of acrylic resin, which is 25 parts by weight of the tackifier component based on 100 parts by weight of the acrylic resin component. See p. 4, [0052].
Example 2 of Palasz uses 10 wt. % of KRISTALEX F85 tackifier resin and 90 wt. % of acrylic resin, which is about 11 parts by weight of the tackifier component based on 100 parts by weight of the acrylic resin component. See p. 4, [0052].
Each of these examples thus anticipates the claims.
Regarding claim 6, Palasz teaches that a particularly preferred acrylic polymer includes 2-ethylhexyl acrylate bonded to a pendant benzophenone group, such as that from BASF under the trade name acResin™ A 204 UV. See p. 2, [0020]. This is the same material used in the examples at p. 4, [0051-0052].
Regarding claim 7, Palasz uses KRISTALEX F85 tackifier resin, see p. 4, [0052-0053].
Lu is relied upon here for the limited evidentiary purpose of teaching that KRISTALEX F85 is an alpha-methyl styrene tackifier resin, see p. 2, [0027]. Thus the use of KRISTALEX F85 in Palasz reads on a homopolymer of a styrene-based monomer as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Palasz teaches that a release liner and a backing film (reading on the substrate) are used along with the adhesive film, see p. 3-4, [0047-0048].
Claims 1-2 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (U.S. Pub. 2009/0272950).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a radiation curable pressure-sensitive acrylic adhesive layer, see title and abstract. The preferred acrylic polymer is a UV curable acrylic polymer modified with a benzophenone group, see p. 2, [0021] and [0023].
The adhesive also includes a tackifier such as KRISTALEX 3085 / KRISTALEX F85, an alpha-methyl styrene resin which reads on component (B) and (B1) as claimed. See p. 2, [0027]. This material is used in Examples 1, 3, 5, and 6, see Table 1 on p. 4. These examples thus anticipate the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2 and 5, the amount of tackifier resin used in the examples is 10 parts, 12 parts, or 15 parts by weight along with 75 parts by weight of UV-curable acrylic resin A204, see Table 1 on p. 4. These are about 14, 16, and 21 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the UV-curable resin, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Lu teaches that the preferred acrylic polymer is a UV curable acrylic polymer modified with a benzophenone group, see p. 2, [0021] and [0023].
Regarding claim 7, Lu teaches that KRISTALEX F85 is an alpha-methyl styrene tackifier resin, see p. 2, [0027], reading on a homopolymer of styrene-based monomers as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Lu teaches forming the adhesive composition onto a carrier or release liner, see p. 3, [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (U.S. Pub. 2009/0272950).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Lu discloses a radiation curable pressure-sensitive acrylic adhesive layer, see title and abstract. The preferred acrylic polymer is a UV curable acrylic polymer modified with a benzophenone group, see p. 2, [0021] and [0023].
The adhesive also includes a tackifier such as KRISTALEX 3085 / KRISTALEX F85, an alpha-methyl styrene resin which reads on component (B) and (B1) as claimed. See p. 2, [0027]. This material is used in Examples 1, 3, 5, and 6, see Table 1 on p. 4.
Other suitable tackifiers include a hydrogenated rosin ester tackifier resin, see p. 2, [0027] and claim 16. The total amount of tackifiers is typically up to 40 wt. % or up to 30 wt. % of the adhesive composition, which encompasses the range specified in claim 4. Although there are no examples using such a combination of tackifiers, it would have been obvious to have included both the styrene-based tackifier resin and the hydrogenated rosin ester tackifier resin in the adhesive composition as each are disclosed as suitable tackifier resin components.
Prior Art of Record
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Traser (U.S. Pub. 2013/0273362) describes a UV-radiation curable pressure-sensitive adhesive which may include an acryloyl benzophenone monomer and a hydrogenated rosin tackifier. A styrene-based tackifier is not disclosed.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/Scott R. Walshon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759