DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment of 10/23/2023 is entered.
Claims 16-35 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 25, and 27-28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in the preamble of claim 1, it is suggested that the comma after "molecule" and before "comprising" be deleted for ease of reading; and
in the preamble of claim 25, it is suggested that the comma after "device" and before "comprising" be deleted for ease of reading;
in the preamble of claim 27, it is suggested that the comma after "composition" and before "comprising" be deleted for ease of reading; and
in the preamble of claim 28, it is suggested that the comma after "device" and before "comprising" be deleted for ease of reading.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zink et al. US-20230174558-A1 102(a)(2) (hereinafter "Zink").
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 16-35, Zink discloses an optoelectronic device comprising an organic molecule of Formula I as a luminescent emitter (¶ [1364] and ¶ [0007]) in the light emitting layer (¶ [1409]-[1410]). Zink teaches where the optoelectronic device is selected from the group consisting of organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs), light-emitting electrochemical cells, OLED sensors, organic diodes, organic solar cells, organic transistors, organic field-effect transistors, organic lasers, and down-conversion elements (¶ [1387]-[1377]). Zink discloses wherein the optoelectronic device comprises the layers: substrate; anode layer; emitting layer; cathode layer (¶ [1411]-[1421]). Zink discloses wherein the optoelectronic device includes a composition comprising (a) at least one of the organic molecule as an emitter and/or a host, (b) one or more emitter and/or host materials, which differ from the organic molecule, and (c) optionally one or more dyes and/or one or more solvents (¶ [1381]-[1384], ¶ [1407]). Zink discloses wherein the devices including the organic molecule are fabricated by any means of vapor deposition and/or liquid processing (¶ [1470]) including via vacuum-deposition methods (¶ [1591]). Zink discloses examples of the organic molecule including Example 15
(¶ [1699]) and Example 16
(¶ [1705]), which meet the claimed Formulae IVf, IVf-2, and IVf-3.
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dück et al. US-20230189647-A1 102(a)(2) (hereinafter "Dück").
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 16-35, Dück discloses an optoelectronic device comprising an organic molecule of Formula I as a luminescent emitter (¶ [1377] and ¶ [0007]) in the light emitting layer (¶ [1420]-[1421]). Dück teaches where the optoelectronic device is selected from the group consisting of organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs), light-emitting electrochemical cells, OLED sensors, organic diodes, organic solar cells, organic transistors, organic field-effect transistors, organic lasers, and down-conversion elements (¶ [1380]-[1389]). Dück discloses wherein the optoelectronic device comprises the layers: substrate; anode layer; emitting layer; cathode layer (¶ [1422]-[1432). Dück discloses wherein the optoelectronic device includes a composition comprising (a) at least one of the organic molecule as an emitter and/or a host, (b) one or more emitter and/or host materials, which differ from the organic molecule, and (c) optionally one or more dyes and/or one or more solvents (¶ [1393]-[1396], ¶ [1418]). Dück discloses wherein the devices including the organic molecule are fabricated by any means of vapor deposition and/or liquid processing (¶ [1473]) including via vacuum-deposition methods (¶ [1562]). Dück discloses examples of the organic molecule including Example 15
(¶ [1652]) and Example 16
(¶ [1659]), which meet the claimed Formulae IVf, IVf-2, and IVf-3.
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seifermann et al. US-20240002410-A1 102(a)(2) (hereinafter "Seifermann").
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 16-35, Seifermann discloses an optoelectronic device comprising an organic molecule of Formula I as a luminescent emitter (¶ [1442] and ¶ [0008]) in the light emitting layer (¶ [1486]-[1487]). Seifermann teaches where the optoelectronic device is selected from the group consisting of organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs), light-emitting electrochemical cells, OLED sensors, organic diodes, organic solar cells, organic transistors, organic field-effect transistors, organic lasers, and down-conversion elements (¶ [1380]-[1389]). Seifermann discloses wherein the optoelectronic device comprises the layers: substrate; anode layer; emitting layer; cathode layer (¶ [1445]-[1454]). Seifermann discloses wherein the optoelectronic device includes a composition comprising (a) at least one of the organic molecule as an emitter and/or a host, (b) one or more emitter and/or host materials, which differ from the organic molecule, and (c) optionally one or more dyes and/or one or more solvents (¶ [1458]-[1461], ¶ [1484]). Seifermann discloses wherein the devices including the organic molecule are fabricated by any means of vapor deposition and/or liquid processing (¶ [1548]) including via vacuum-deposition methods (¶ [1662]). Seifermann discloses examples of the organic molecule including Example 15
(¶ [1769]) and Example 16
(¶ [1775]), which meet the claimed Formulae IVf, IVf-2, and IVf-3.
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786