DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 21 and 36; and dependent claims 22-35 and 38-40.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 23 should have an “and” before the last recited element.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 27-32, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beer et al. (US 2019/0308823).
Regarding independent claim 21, Beer discloses a device for the processing of piece goods, comprising: at least one handling table (6) extending along a main axis, said at least one handling table having a manipulation zone (first portion of 6) and a collection zone (middle portion of 6); said manipulation zone and said collection zone being disposed one behind another along the main axis, and said collection zone being disposed downstream of said manipulation zone in a transport direction of the piece goods running in a direction of the main axis (see Fig. 1); at least one first manipulator (5) or piece goods manipulation, said first manipulator being configured to be movable and change location at least in sections in the direction of the main axis and move between at least one normal position and at least one required position which differs from said normal position (see Fig 10); said first manipulator having a base working region (20) for piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone, allocated to the normal position of said first manipulator, and said first manipulator having, outside a base working region, a required working region for piece goods manipulation allocated to the required position of said first manipulator (see Fig. 11); and at least one optical detection device (40, 41, 42) configured for monitoring the piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone and/or said collection zone.
Regarding independent claim 36, Beer discloses a method for processing piece goods, the method comprising: transporting the piece goods in a transport direction running in a direction of a main axis, over a handling table (6) extending along the main axis, and assembling an ordered group and/or layer of piece goods (see at least para. 0019) by positioning the piece goods, via at least one manipulator (5), by piece goods manipulation in a manipulation zone (first portion of 6) of the handling table; and assembling for grouping and/or layer forming (see at least para. 0019) in a collection zone (middle portion of 6) in the transport direction downstream of the manipulation zone, monitoring the piece goods manipulation in the manipulation zone and/or collection zone by at least one optical detection device (40, 41, 42); detecting an actual data relating to a positioning of the piece goods by the optical detection device (see at least para. 0027-0028 and 0113) and assessing by data comparison of the actual data with reference data (see at least paras. 0029 and 0113); and detecting an erroneous positioning of piece goods based on the data comparison of actual data with the reference data, and correcting the erroneous positioning by moving the first manipulator out of a normal position, to which a base working region for piece goods manipulation in the manipulation zone is assigned, by a movement in the direction of the main axis and into a required position, and correcting the erroneous positioning of the piece goods in an assigned required working region by means of piece goods manipulation (see at least para 0113).
Regarding dependent claims 27-32 and 37, Beer discloses that said optical detection device has at least one camera (40, 41, 42) configured for monitoring the piece goods manipulation, and an optical detection range of said camera has at least one part region of said manipulation zone and/or of said collection zone. Said at least one camera is disposed at a height level above a transport plane of said handling table, and said at least one camera is directed onto said manipulation zone and/or said collection zone from above (see at least para. 0087). Said at least one camera is disposed in a transition section between said manipulation zone and said collection zone (see at least Fig. 1). Said at least one camera is a plurality cameras (40, 41, 42), and at least one of said plurality cameras is disposed at least in a region of said manipulation zone and at least one of said plurality cameras is disposed at least in a region of said collection zone (see at least Figs. 1-9). Beer further discloses an instrumentation and control unit (12), wherein said instrumentation and control unit is communicatively connected to said optical detection device and with said first manipulator, and said instrumentation and control unit is configured for controlling and/or regulating said first manipulator (see at least para. 0040). Said instrumentation and control unit is configured to receive and assess detected image data from said optical detection device, and to control and/or regulate said first manipulator based on assessed image data (see at least para. 0040). The detecting and correcting of the erroneous positioning takes place in an automated manner, as well as being controlled and/or regulated by an instrumentation and control unit (12).
Claim(s) 21-25 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schaefer (WO 2016062390 A1). (Paragraph citations directed to provided translation.)
Regarding independent claim 21, Schaefer discloses a device for the processing of piece goods, comprising: at least one handling table (14) extending along a main axis, said at least one handling table having a manipulation zone (see Fig. 11) and a collection zone (see Fig. 11); said manipulation zone and said collection zone being disposed one behind another along the main axis, and said collection zone being disposed downstream of said manipulation zone in a transport direction of the piece goods running in a direction of the main axis (see Fig. 11); at least one first manipulator (4a) or piece goods manipulation, said first manipulator being configured to be movable and change location at least in sections in the direction of the main axis and move between at least one normal position and at least one required position which differs from said normal position (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); said first manipulator having a base working region for piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone, allocated to the normal position of said first manipulator, and said first manipulator having, outside a base working region, a required working region for piece goods manipulation allocated to the required position of said first manipulator (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); and at least one optical detection device (see para. 080) configured for monitoring the piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone and/or said collection zone.
Regarding dependent claims 22-25 and 33-34, Schaefer discloses at least one second manipulator (4b) for piece goods manipulation; said second manipulator being configured to be movable and change location at least in sections in the direction of the main axis and move between at least one normal position of said second manipulator and at least one required position of said second manipulator which differs from said normal position of said second manipulator (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); and said second manipulator having a base working region for piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone, allocated to the normal position of said second manipulator, and a required working region for piece goods manipulation allocated to a required position of said second manipulator, outside a base working region (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”) . Said required working region of said first manipulator and/or of said second manipulator extends at least partially into said collection zone (see at least Fig. 6). At least one rail system (7) configured for a movable carrying of said first manipulator and/or second manipulator, and said first manipulator and/or second manipulator being configured to move on rails of said rail system. Said first manipulator and/or second manipulator are disposed opposite one another in relation to the main axis and can be moved along longitudinal sides of said handling table, extending opposite one another in the direction of the main axis, between respective normal and required positions (see Fig. 11). Said handling table is configured as multi-part handling table having at least one manipulation or grouping table defining said manipulation zone and at least one collection or layer forming table defining said collection zone (see Fig. 11). Said handling table has at least one displacement zone, and said displacement zone is disposed downstream of said collection zone in the transport direction (see Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer (WO 2016062390 A1) in view of Ferreira et al. (US 2024/0092587). Schaefer discloses a device for the processing of piece goods, comprising: at least one handling table (14) extending along a main axis, said at least one handling table having a manipulation zone (see Fig. 11) and a collection zone (see Fig. 11); said manipulation zone and said collection zone being disposed one behind another along the main axis, and said collection zone being disposed downstream of said manipulation zone in a transport direction of the piece goods running in a direction of the main axis (see Fig. 11); at least one first manipulator (4a) or piece goods manipulation, said first manipulator being configured to be movable and change location at least in sections in the direction of the main axis and move between at least one normal position and at least one required position which differs from said normal position (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); said first manipulator having a base working region for piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone, allocated to the normal position of said first manipulator, and said first manipulator having, outside a base working region, a required working region for piece goods manipulation allocated to the required position of said first manipulator (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); and at least one optical detection device (see para. 080) configured for monitoring the piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone and/or said collection zone. Schaefer discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose at least one stationary manipulator for piece goods manipulation having an assigned working region in said manipulation zone. However, Ferreira discloses a similar device which includes at least one stationary manipulator (1) for piece goods manipulation having an assigned working region in a manipulation zone (5) for the purpose of transferring piece goods from a set of conveyors to the manipulation zone. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to include at least one stationary manipulator for piece goods manipulation having an assigned working region in said manipulation zone, as disclosed by Ferreira, for the purpose of transferring piece goods to the manipulation zone.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer (WO 2016062390 A1) in view of Kanehara et al. (US 2018/0162656). Schaefer discloses a device for the processing of piece goods, comprising: at least one handling table (14) extending along a main axis, said at least one handling table having a manipulation zone (see Fig. 11) and a collection zone (see Fig. 11); said manipulation zone and said collection zone being disposed one behind another along the main axis, and said collection zone being disposed downstream of said manipulation zone in a transport direction of the piece goods running in a direction of the main axis (see Fig. 11); at least one first manipulator (4a) or piece goods manipulation, said first manipulator being configured to be movable and change location at least in sections in the direction of the main axis and move between at least one normal position and at least one required position which differs from said normal position (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); said first manipulator having a base working region for piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone, allocated to the normal position of said first manipulator, and said first manipulator having, outside a base working region, a required working region for piece goods manipulation allocated to the required position of said first manipulator (see at least para. 063 “return stroke”; “working stroke”); and at least one optical detection device (see para. 080) configured for monitoring the piece goods manipulation in said manipulation zone and/or said collection zone. Schaefer discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose a stop element configured for stopping the piece goods, wherein said stop element is disposed at a rear end of said collection zone relative to the transport direction of the piece goods. However, Kanehara discloses a similar device which includes a stop element (22) configured for stopping piece goods, wherein said stop element is disposed at a rear end of a (7) collection zone relative to the transport direction of the piece goods for the purpose of collecting and transporting the piece goods as a group. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to include a stop element configured for stopping the piece goods, wherein said stop element is disposed at a rear end of said collection zone relative to the transport direction of the piece goods, as disclosed by Kanehara, for the purpose of collecting and transporting the piece goods as a group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagler (US 6,779,647) and Huber (US 8,147,177) disclose systems for grouping piece goods utilizing manipulators.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653