DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “with a primary terminal provided a surface of said substrate”. It should be recited as --with a primary terminal provided on a surface of said substrate--.
Claims 2-12 and 20 are objected to based on the dependency from claim 1.
Similarly, claims 13,14 and 17 recite “with a primary terminal provided a surface of said substrate”. It should be recited as --with a primary terminal provided on a surface of said substrate--.
Claims 15-16 are objected to based on the dependency from claim 14.
Claims 18-19 are objected to based on the dependency from claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru et al. (US 2020/0211762) in view of Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4).
Regarding claim 1, Jitaru discloses a switched mode power supply [e.g. fig. 6/8 (or the corresponding circuit in fig. 9/5/4] comprising an electrical circuit having a galvanic isolation [e.g. transformer] between a High Voltage (HV) circuit part [e.g. +HV circuit part connected to Vin] and a Low Voltage (LV) circuit part [e.g. the low circuit part connected to Vo], wherein said electrical circuit comprises: a substrate [e.g. PCB, see at least paras. 0013, 0015, 0035, 0083, 0110, 0112, 0123] providing said HV and said LV circuit part; an electrical component [e.g. transformer] for providing said galvanic isolation, said electrical component provided on said substrate and having a primary side connected, with a first primary terminal [e.g. the primary winding terminal] provided a surface of said substrate, to said HV circuit part and a secondary side connected, with a first secondary terminal [e.g. the secondary winding terminal], to said LV circuit part such that a creepage distance is provided over said substrate between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal; and a conductive trace [e.g. the trace connected to a coil e.g. 800/896/804 fig. 8] provided on the surface of said substrate, connected with a first end to a Low Frequency (LC) voltage node [e.g. grou9nd/the node near +HV/ M fig. 5A] in said HV circuit part, wherein a frequency of a voltage potential at said LF voltage node is lower than a frequency of a voltage potential at said first primary terminal [because the flyback switch/having the similar structure], and said conductive trace provided in between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal thereby increasing said creepage distance between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal [fig. 6B/8 show the conductive trace allow to increase the creepage distance between the primary winding and the secondary winding/having the similar structure].
Jitaru does not disclose a secondary terminal provided on the surface of said substrate. However, it’s well known to provide a first coil terminal provided on a surface of said substrate, a second coil terminal provided on the surface of said substrate and a conductive trace provided on the surface said substrate. For example, Brauchler/ Fouquet/Harvey discloses a first coil terminal [see a terminal of 322/312, 422/412 Brauchler; a terminal of 28/34 fig. 5 Fouquet/ 120a/120b Harvey] provided on a surface of a substrate [e.g. 350 fig. 3/450 fig. 4 Brauchler/the substrate that 110a, 110b is on, Harvey], a second coil terminal [see a terminal of 312/322, 412/422 Brauchler] provided on the surface of said substrate and a conductive trace [see para. 0066, ends of coil may be located on a same conductive layer Brauchler; 30/43/45/38 fig. 5 Fouquet/e.g. 104 Harvey] provided on the surface said substrate
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Brauchler/ Fouquet/Harvey regarding a coil in order to have end of coils located on a conductive layer.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said Low Frequency (LF) voltage node is ground [see the fig. Jitaru].
Regarding claim 3, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said electrical component is a transformer [see the fig. Jitaru].
Regarding claim 4, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said electrical component is a transformer comprising a primary winding having said first primary terminal [e.g. the top/bottom terminal Jitaru] and having a second primary terminal [e.g. the bottom/top terminal], wherein said conductive trace is connected with said first end to said second primary terminal.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said conductive trace is connected with a second end to the LF voltage node [see the fig. Jitaru].
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said substrate is a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) [Jitaru].
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said conductive trace extends, in between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal, perpendicular to an imaginary direct line between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal [see at least fig. 6B/8 Jitaru].
Regarding claim 10, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, wherein said electrical circuit comprises a Switched Mode Power Supply (SMPS) [abstract Jitaru].
Regarding claim 13, the combination discussed above discloses a method of providing a switched mode power supply comprising an electrical circuit having a galvanic isolation between a High Voltage (HV) circuit part and a Low Voltage (LV) circuit part, wherein said method comprises: providing a substrate having said HV and said LV circuit part; assembling an electrical component for providing said galvanic isolation, on said substrate, said electrical component having a primary side connected, with a first primary terminal provided a surface of said substrate, to said HV circuit part and a secondary side connected, with a first secondary terminal provided on the surface of said substrate, to said LV circuit part such that a creepage distance is provided over said substrate between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal; and providing a conductive trace on the surface of said substrate, connected with a first end to a Low Frequency, LF, voltage node in said HV circuit part, wherein a frequency of a voltage potential at said LF voltage node is lower than a frequency of a voltage potential at said first primary terminal, and said conductive trace provided in between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal thereby increasing said creepage distance between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal. Please see rejection of claim 1.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru et al. (US 2020/0211762) in view of Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4) and Udrea et al. (US 2020/0357909).
Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 10, except wherein said SMPS uses Gallium Nitride (GaN) technology. However, it’s well known that Gallium Nitride (GaN) technology provide advantages of increased power density, reduced on-resistance, and/or high frequency response. For example, Udrea discloses Gallium Nitride (GaN) technology provide advantages of increased power density, reduced on-resistance, and/or high frequency response [para. 0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Udrea regarding Gallium Nitride (GaN) in order to provide advantages of increased power density, reduced on-resistance, and/or high frequency response [para. 0012]
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru et al. (US 2020/0211762) in view of Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4) and Kober et al. (US 2018/0249543).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1. Jitaru does not disclose a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting based on the switched mode power supply (e.g. a flyback converter Jitaru). However, it’s well known a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting comprising a flyback converter. For example, Kober discloses a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting comprising a flyback converter [paras. 039, 0047]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Kober regarding a LED light source in order to provide a power supply to a LED light source.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru et al. (US 2020/0211762) in view of Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4) and Schimed (US 2004/0113736).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 1, except wherein said electrical component is any of a Surface-Mount Device (SMD) or a through-hole mounted device. However, it’s well-known to select Surface-Mount Device (SMD) or a through-hole mounted device mounting for an apparatus. For example, Schimed discloses to utilize Surface-Mount Device (SMD) or a through-hole mounted device mounting for a transformer apparatus [paras. 0002, 0017]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Schimed regarding an apparatus in order to utilize a well-known Surface-Mount Device (SMD) or a through-hole mounted device mounting.
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru et al. (US 2020/0211762) in view of Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4).
Regarding claim 14, Jitaru discloses a switched mode power supply comprising an electrical circuit having a galvanic isolation between a High Voltage (HV) circuit part and a Low Voltage (LV) circuit part, wherein said electrical circuit comprises: a substrate providing said HV and said LV circuit part; a transformer for providing said galvanic isolation, said optocoupler provided on said substrate and having a primary side connected, with a first primary terminal provided a surface of said substrate, to said HV circuit part and a secondary side connected, with a first secondary terminal, to said LV circuit part such that a creepage distance is provided over said substrate between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal; and a conductive trace provided on the surface of said substrate, connected with a first end to a Low Frequency (LF) voltage node in said HV circuit part, wherein a frequency of a voltage potential at said LF voltage node is lower than a frequency of a voltage potential at said first primary terminal, and said conductive trace provided in between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal thereby increasing said creepage distance between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal. Please see rejection of claim 1.
Jitaru does not explicitly disclose an optocoupler for providing said galvanic isolation. However, it’s notoriously well-known to utilize an optocoupler for providing galvanic isolation; official notice of the foregoing fact is taken. For example, Us20140269953 by Borisov et al. discloses utilize an optocoupler for providing galvanic isolation [para. 0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize an optocoupler for providing galvanic isolation, because the circuit needs a specific implementation and the notoriously well-known use of an optocoupler provides such an implementation.
The combination does not disclose a secondary terminal provided on the surface of said substrate. However, it’s well known to provide a first coil terminal provided on a surface of said substrate, a second coil terminal provided on the surface of said substrate and a conductive trace provided on the surface said substrate. For example, Brauchler/ Fouquet discloses a first coil terminal [see a terminal of 322/312, 422/412 Brauchler; fa terminal of 28/34 fig. 5 Fouquet] provided on a surface of a substrate [e.g. 350 fig. 3/450 fig. 4 Brauchler], a second coil terminal [see a terminal of 312/322, 412/422 Brauchler] provided on the surface of said substrate and a conductive trace [see para. 0066, ends of coil may be located on a same conductive layer Brauchler; 30/43/45/38 fig. 5 Fouquet] provided on the surface said substrate
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Brauchler/ Fouquet regarding a coil in order to have end of coils located on a conductive layer.
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 14, wherein said Low Frequency (LF) voltage node is ground. Please see rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Jitaru discloses a switched mode power supply comprising an electrical circuit having a galvanic isolation between a High Voltage (HV) circuit part and a Low Voltage (LV) circuit part, wherein said electrical circuit comprises: a substrate providing said HV and said LV circuit part; a transformer for providing said galvanic isolation, said capacitor provided on said substrate and having a primary side connected, with a first primary terminal provided a surface of said substrate, to said HV circuit part and a secondary side connected, with a first secondary terminal, to said LV circuit part such that a creepage distance is provided over said substrate between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal; and a conductive trace provided on the surface of said substrate, connected with a first end to a Low Frequency (LF) voltage node in said HV circuit part, wherein a frequency of a voltage potential at said LF voltage node is lower than a frequency of a voltage potential at said first primary terminal, and said conductive trace provided in between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal thereby increasing said creepage distance between said first primary terminal and said first secondary terminal. Please see rejection of claim 1.
Jitaru does not explicitly disclose a capacitor for providing said galvanic isolation. However, it’s notoriously well-known to utilize a capacitor for providing galvanic isolation; official notice of the foregoing fact is taken. For example, US 20140269953 by Borisov et al. discloses utilize a capacitor for providing galvanic isolation [para. 0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention utilize a capacitor for providing galvanic isolation, because the circuit needs a specific implementation and the notoriously well-known use of a capacitor provides such an implementation.
The combination does not disclose a secondary terminal provided on the surface of said substrate. However, it’s well known to provide a first coil terminal provided on a surface of said substrate, a second coil terminal provided on the surface of said substrate and a conductive trace provided on the surface said substrate. For example, Brauchler/ Fouquet discloses a first coil terminal [see a terminal of 322/312, 422/412 Brauchler; fa terminal of 28/34 fig. 5 Fouquet] provided on a surface of a substrate [e.g. 350 fig. 3/450 fig. 4 Brauchler], a second coil terminal [see a terminal of 312/322, 412/422 Brauchler] provided on the surface of said substrate and a conductive trace [see para. 0066, ends of coil may be located on a same conductive layer Brauchler; 30/43/45/38 fig. 5 Fouquet] provided on the surface said substrate
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Brauchler/ Fouquet regarding a coil in order to have end of coils located on a conductive layer.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 17, wherein said Low Frequency (LF) voltage node is ground. Please see rejection of claim 2.
Claims 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jitaru et al. (US 2020/0211762) in view of Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4) and Kober et al. (US 2018/0249543).
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 14. the combination does not disclose a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting based on the switched mode power supply (e.g. a flyback converter Jitaru). However, it’s well known a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting comprising a flyback converter. For example, Kober discloses a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting comprising a flyback converter [paras. 039, 0047]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Kober regarding a LED light source in order to provide a power supply to a LED light source. Please see also rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed above discloses the switched mode power supply in accordance with claim 17. the combination does not disclose a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting based on the switched mode power supply (e.g. a flyback converter Jitaru). However, it’s well known a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting comprising a flyback converter. For example, Kober discloses a Light Emitting Diode (LED) based lighting comprising a flyback converter [paras. 039, 0047]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jitaru in accordance with the teaching of Kober regarding a LED light source in order to provide a power supply to a LED light source. Please see also rejection of claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on a new reference, Brauchler et al. (US 2015/0171934) (or Fouquet et al. US 8,093,983; or Harvey US 7,468,547 figs, 1, 4), which was not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842