DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 25, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 18, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 23, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Takeshi et al (JP 2015-213140) view of Tatsuya et al (JP 2017-183400).
In re claim 1, Takeshi et al discloses a semiconductor circuit (i.e. see at least Figures 1 and 4) comprised in a semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor element (i.e. D1) is in forward connection between a signal line of the semiconductor device and a ground (i.e. see at least Figures 1 and 4).
Takeshi et al does not explicitly disclose a semiconductor element including: a first n-type semiconductor layer; a metal layer; and a Schottky barrier between the first n-type semiconductor layer and the metal layer.
However, Tatsuya et al discloses a Schottky barrier diode that forms a Schottky contact between an n-type semiconductor layer 120 and a barrier metal layer 130 (i.e. see at least Figures 1-3; paragraphs 0023-0037).
The advantage is to obtain a Schottky barrier diode that is capable of increasing reverse surge resistance without increasing forward voltage (i.e. see at least paragraph 0008).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the semiconductor circuit as taught by Takeshi et al with a Schottky barrier diode that forms a Schottky contact between an n-type semiconductor layer and a barrier metal layer as taught by Tatsuya et al in order to obtain a Schottky barrier diode that is capable of increasing reverse surge resistance without increasing forward voltage.
In re claim 3, Takeshi et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal layer is formed of one or more elements selected from a group consisting of Ti, Ni, Pt, W, Mo, Au, Ta, Cu, Fe, Ag, and Cr, or an alloy thereof.
However, Tatsuya et al discloses the metal layer 130 is formed of Ti (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0023-0037).
The advantage is to obtain a Schottky barrier diode that is capable of increasing reverse surge resistance without increasing forward voltage (i.e. see at least paragraph 0008).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the semiconductor circuit as taught by Takeshi et al with the metal layer is formed of Ti as taught by Tatsuya et al in order to obtain a Schottky barrier diode that is capable of increasing reverse surge resistance without increasing forward voltage.
In re claim 6, it is inherent from Takeshi et al that a forward rising voltage of the semiconductor element is a voltage higher than an operating voltage of the semiconductor device as the disclosed circuit of Takeshi et al is the same as the circuit in the present application (i.e. see at least Figures 1 and 4).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshi et al (JP 2015-213140) view of Tatsuya et al (JP 2017-183400) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toru et al (JP 2016-009774).
Takeshi et al, as modified by Tatsuya et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose the n-type semiconductor layer is formed of an oxide or a nitride containing at least one selected from a group consisting of Ga, In, Sn, Mg, Zn, Al, and B, or a compound thereof.
However, Toru et al discloses an n-type semiconductor layer (i.e. NSL2) that is formed of a nitride containing at least Ga and Al (i.e. in this case, AlGaN) (i.e. see at least paragraph 0016).
The advantage is to obtain a semiconductor device in which charges held in the device are prevented from escaping (i.e. see at least paragraph 0008).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the semiconductor circuit as taught by Takeshi et al as modified by Tatsuya et al with an n-type semiconductor layer that is formed of a nitride containing at least Ga and Al as taught by Toru et al in order to obtain a semiconductor device in which charges held in the device are prevented from escaping.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817