1. This office action, in response to the request for continued examination and the amendment filed 9/25/2025, is a non-final office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
3. Independent clam 1 is amended to include the limitations of the adjustment circuit including a baseband signal processor configured to perform the magnitude and phase adjustments at baseband based at least in part on the isolation signal, the baseband signal processor determining if a previous magnitude and phase adjustment resulted in a decrease or increase in the isolation signal from the isolation port of the Wilkinson combiner, and based on the determination, determining the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal predicted to drive the isolation signal toward zero. Independent claim 11 is amended to include the limitations of the received signal a baseband signal and the first and second adjustments performed at baseband based at least in part on the isolation signal; and determining if a previous magnitude and phase adjustment resulted in a decrease or increase in the isolation signal from the isolation port of the Wilkinson combiner, and based on the determination, determining the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal predicted to drive the isolation signal toward zero. These features are taught in the combination of Kinget et al (WO 2017/062386) in view of Wyville (US 2017/0222687).
As stated in the previous rejection of claims 1 and 11, Kinget discloses the circuit shown in figure 12. The circuit includes an adjustment circuit configured to make first adjustments to a magnitude and phase of a received signal to produce a first amplifier input signal and to make second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal to produce a second amplifier input signal. This adjustment circuit includes the gain and phase circuits as well as the calibration circuit 1206 since the gain and phase circuits will produce the first amplifier input signal and the second amplifier input signal. The adjustment circuit includes a baseband processor that include the gain and phase circuits as well as the calibration circuit 1206. These circuits receive the baseband I and Q signals and therefore, operate at baseband. These circuits will receive a feedback signal from the isolation port as shown in figure 12. These circuits determine if the previous magnitude and phase adjustment resulted in a decrease or increase in the isolation signal since the baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and the transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized as stated in paragraph 0076. By minimizing the leakage power from the adjustments to the gain and the complex phase shift, the first and second adjustments are predicted to minimize the leakage. When the leakage is minimized the feedback signal from the isolation signal is minimized (driven toward zero). Paragraph 0077 discloses the calibration circuit can be implemented in any suitable manner.
Applicant states the combination of Kinget and Wyville does not disclose all of the features of the claimed invention. Applicant states Kinget does not disclose the combiner is a Wilkinson combiner and therefore, does not disclose the baseband signal processor determining if a previous magnitude and phase adjustment resulted in a decrease or increase in the isolation signal from the isolation port of the Wilkinson combiner, and based on the determination, determining the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal predicted to drive the isolation signal toward zero in page 11 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees that the claimed features are not taught in the combination.
Kinget discloses the baseband signal processor determining if a previous magnitude and phase adjustment resulted in a decrease or increase in the isolation signal (Paragraph 0076: the baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized. These adjustments will result in a change in the iso signal or will result in leakage being eliminated in which there would be no change in the iso signal.) from the isolation port of the hybrid combiner (Figure 12: 90 degree hybrid combiner provides iso signal to calibration circuit 1206 and the gain and complex phase shift components.), and based on the determination, determining the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal predicted to drive the isolation signal toward zero (Paragraph 0076: the baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized. Once this optimization is achieved and the leakage power is minimized, no further leakage would be present in the iso port and no additional adjustments to the gain or phase circuits will be necessary.).
Kinget discloses the combiner is a hybrid combiner as shown in figure 12. Kinget does not disclose the combiner is a Wilkinson combiner.
Wyville discloses the transmitter circuitry shown in figures 5-7. The transmitters comprise hybrid couplers 156 and 158. Paragraph 0055 discloses while the embodiments illustrated herein utilize hybrid couplers such as hybrid couplers 156 and 158, other types of components capable of combining signals as described herein may be used (e.g., a Wilkinson combiner with phase shifters or a hybrid transformer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a simple substitution of the teaching of replacing hybrid couplers with a Wilkinson combiner in a transmitter as shown in Wyville for the hybrid coupler of Kinget since they operate in a substantially the same manner and would yield similar results. In addition, using well known components can reduce the complexity and cost of the transmitter. The transmitter of the combination of Kinget and Wyville will provide the feedback signal to the calibration circuit and the gain and complex phase shift circuits to allow the gain adjustments and the phase adjustments. This feedback signal is labelled an isolation signal and the port providing the feedback signal is labelled the isolation port.
For these reasons and the reasons stated in the rejections of the claims stated below, the combination of Kinget et al (WO 2017/062386) in view of Wyville (US 2017/0222687) disclose the features of amended claims 1 and 11.
The features of each of the dependent claims are not discussed in the remarks. The features of the dependent claims are disclosed by the cited prior art as stated in the rejections stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-11, 13, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinget et al (WO 2017/062386) in view of Wyville (US 2017/0222687).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kinget discloses a transmitter, configured to transmit radio frequency, RF, signals (Figure 12: signals are transmitted via the antenna.) and method in a transmitter, the transmitter and method in a transmitter comprising:
an adjustment circuit configured to make first adjustments to a magnitude and phase of a received signal to produce a first amplifier input signal and to make second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal to produce a second amplifier input signal (Figure 12: gain and complex phase shift circuits and calibration circuit 1206. Paragraph 0075; the calibration circuit takes in the I and Q signals in analog or digital form and then outputs control signals for adjusting gain and complex phase shift. Paragraph 0076: in some embodiments, a transmitter can be calibrated to improve its performance. As shown in figure 12, baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized.);
first and second power amplifiers in communication with the adjustment circuit, the first and second power amplifiers configured to amplify a respective one of the first and second amplifier input signals (Figure 12: The output of the gain and phase shift circuits are provided to the power amplifiers in each branch.); and
a combiner in communication with the first and second power amplifiers (Figure 12: 90 degree hybrid coupler receives the two power amplifier outputs.), the combiner configured to combine outputs from each of the first and second power amplifiers to produce a first transmit signal (Figure 12: The hybrid coupler provides an output signal to the antenna.), the combiner further configured to produce an isolation signal (Figure 12: the hybrid coupler provides an isolation signal on the iso port.), the isolation signal being based at least in part on an amount by which the outputs from the first and second power amplifiers differ in magnitude and phase (If the two signals received on the hybrid ports are equal in magnitude and phase, the signal power on the isolation port will be near zero and the signal power at the output port will be near the sum on the input signals of the coupler. If these input signals are not equal, power at the iso port increases.), the isolation signal being used to determine the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal to drive the isolation signal toward zero (Paragraph 0076: in some embodiments, a transmitter can be calibrated to improve its performance. As shown in figure 12, baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized.), and
the adjustment circuit including a baseband processor configured to perform the magnitude and phase adjustments as base band based at least in part on the isolation signal (Figure 12: gain and complex phase shift circuits. Calibration circuit 1206. The adjustment circuit includes a baseband signal processor that include the gain and phase circuits as well as the calibration circuit 1206. These circuits receive the baseband I and Q signals and therefore, operate at baseband. These circuits will receive a feedback signal from the isolation port as shown in figure 12.), the baseband signal processor determining if a previous magnitude and phase adjustment resulted in a decrease or increase in the isolation signal (Paragraph 0076: the baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized. These adjustments will result in a change in the iso signal or will result in leakage being eliminated in which there would be no change in the iso signal.) from the isolation port of the hybrid combiner (Figure 12: 90 degree hybrid combiner provides iso signal to calibration circuit 1206 and the gain and complex phase shift circuits.), and based on the determination, determining the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal predicted to drive the isolation signal toward zero (Paragraph 0076: the baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized. Once this optimization is achieved and the leakage power is minimized, no further leakage would be present in the iso port and no additional adjustments to the gain or phase circuits will be necessary.).
Kinget discloses the combiner is a hybrid combiner as shown in figure 12. Kinget does not disclose the combiner is a Wilkinson combiner.
Wyville discloses the transmitter circuitry shown in figures 5-7. The transmitters comprise hybrid couplers 156 and 158. Paragraph 0055 discloses while the embodiments illustrated herein utilize hybrid couplers such as hybrid couplers 156 and 158, other types of components capable of combining signals as described herein may be used (e.g., a Wilkinson combiner with phase shifters or a hybrid transformer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a simple substitution of the teaching of replacing hybrid couplers with a Wilkinson combiner in a transmitter as shown in Wyville for the hybrid coupler of Kinget since they operate in a substantially the same manner and would yield similar results. In addition, using well known components can reduce the complexity and cost of the transmitter. The transmitter of the combination of Kinget and Wyville will provide the feedback signal to the calibration circuit and the gain and complex phase shift circuits to allow the gain adjustments and the phase adjustments. This feedback signal is labelled an isolation signal and the port providing the feedback signal is labelled the isolation port.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination discloses wherein the adjustment circuit is a digital circuit and the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal are performed in a digital domain (Kinget: Paragraph 0077: the calibration circuit can be implemented in any suitable manner. For example, the calibration circuit can be implemented using analog and/or digital circuits in some embodiments.).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combination discloses wherein the adjustment circuit is an analog circuity and the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal are performed in an analog domain (Kinget: Paragraph 0077: the calibration circuit can be implemented in any suitable manner. For example, the calibration circuit can be implemented using analog and/or digital circuits in some embodiments.).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination discloses wherein the adjustment circuit includes a first phase shifter and a first variable gain amplifier, VGA, in a first path to implement first magnitude and phase adjustments, and a second phase shifter and a second VGA in a second path to implement second magnitude and phase adjustments (Kinget: Figure 12: The variable gain amplifier and phase shifters are shown in each of the two branches of the transmitter.).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the combination discloses further comprising a baseband signal processor configured to control each phase shifter and each VGA based at least in part on the isolation signal (Kinget: Figure 12: the signal on the iso port is fed to the matching pad 1202, detector 1204 and calibration circuit 1206 to provide control to adjust the gain and shift the phase of the input signals. Paragraph 0076: in some embodiments, a transmitter can be calibrated to improve its performance. As shown in figure 12, baseband I and Q signals can be provided to the transmitter and then transmitted power leakage at the iso port can be measured using matching pad 1202 and detector 1204. The detected leakage power level can then be used by a calibration circuit 1206 to optimize coefficients in the complex combiner so that the leakage power at the iso port is minimized.).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the combination discloses comprising a power splitter configured to receive an output signal from the baseband signal processor and split the received output signal into a first input signal and a second input signal upon which the first and second adjustments are made, respectively (Kinget: Figure 12: The transmitter shows the baseband I and Q signals being split and provided to each of the two branches. These input signals have their gain adjusted and phase shifted according to the calibration signals from calibration circuit 1206.).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the combination discloses wherein the power splitter further comprises digital circuitry configured to split the received output signal in a digital domain (Kinget: Figure 12. Paragraph 0075: the calibration circuit takes in the I and Q signals in analog or digital form. Since the I and Q signals are in digital form, the splitting of the I and Q signals will be in the digital domain.).
5. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinget et al (WO 2017/062386) in view of Wyville (US 2017/0222687) further in view of Burke et al (WO 01/06643 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the combination of Kinget and Wyville discloses the transmitter and method stated above. The combination does not disclose the transmitter further comprising a memory in communication with the adjustment circuit to store the first and second adjustments to the magnitude and phase of the received signal.
Burke discloses the transmitter shown in figures 1A and 1B comprising the plurality of branches combined in the power combiner 120. Page 7, line 32 to page 8, line 4 discloses control module 116 has access to a memory device. Initial phase and gain values stored in the memory device at the factory may be updated during operation in the field. Upon subsequent stabilization of these parameters, the new values for the parameters may be updated in memory. By storing adjustments to initial values stored in a memory, the transmitter can build on previous stabilization values and reduce the time it takes to stabilize the gain and phase values in the transmitter during operation, improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the transmitter. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Burke into the transmitter and method of the combination of Kinget and Wyville.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 10/5/2025