DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “connecting element” (claim 9-10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "such that axial positioning is provided" in lines 9 and 18-19. This limitation is unclear since it does not specify which elements positioning is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Frey (DE 102013020470 A1, machine translation relied on, from IDS).
Re Claim 1, Frey discloses a thread clamping device 1 for a spindle of a spinning or twisting machine for releasably fixing a thread in a clamping gap, comprising: a first clamping unit 3, having an inner sleeve 17, which can be arranged coaxial with the spindle, and having a thread cutter 9, which can be fixed on the inner sleeve in an axial direction, the first clamping unit can be fixed on an upper part of the spindle such that axial positioning is provided; and a second clamping unit 5, having a clamping element 20, which can be moved axially, relative to the first clamping unit, between a clamping position (Fig. 1A), in which the clamping gap between the thread cutter and the clamping element is closed, and an open position (Fig. 1B), in which the clamping gap is open; wherein the thread cutter is designed to be fixed on the spindle upper part such that axial positioning is provided and is designed to be connected to the spindle upper part for conjoint rotation; and wherein the thread cutter and the inner sleeve can be connected to each other for conjoint rotation (Fig. 1A-1F; para. 55-63).
Re Claim 2, Frey discloses the thread cutter can be pressed onto the spindle upper part (Fig. 1A-1F; para. 56, 62).
Re Claim 3, Frey discloses the thread cutter can be frictionally, integrally and/or positively connected to the inner sleeve for conjoint rotation (Fig. 1A-1F; para. 55-63).
Re Claim 5, Frey discloses the thread cutter has engagement elements, which can be brought into engagement with a contact portion on the inner sleeve (Fig. 1A-1F; para. 55-63).
Re Claim 6, Frey discloses the engagement elements can be pressed into the contact portion in order to clamp the inner sleeve on the spindle upper part, the contact portion being made of a deformable material (Fig. 1A-1F; para. 55-63; any material is deformable if enough force is used).
Re Claim 7, Frey discloses the contact portion has coupling elements, which can be brought into operative connection with the engagement elements (Fig. 1A-1F; para. 55-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frey.
Re Claim 4, Frey does not explicitly disclose the thread cutter is formed from a metal-containing material by a sintering process. Frey discloses that the thread cutter 9 is a knife (para. 56) which implies that it is made of metal. However, to be explicitly clear it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a metal-containing material for the thread cutter in order to ensure it is strong and able to cut as desired and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Furthermore, the claimed phase " formed by a sintering process " is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited.
Re Claim 9-10, Frey does not disclose further including a connecting element which is arranged in a region between the contact portion and the thread cutter and is frictionally and/or positively connected to the contact portion and to the thread cutter for conjoint rotation, the connecting element comprises an adhesion ring or toothed ring. However, Examiner takes official notice that adhesive in a ring shape could be applied between the thread cutter and contact portion in order to ensure that they are fixed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799