2010DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Kaneko et al. (JP201919046).
The Kaneko et al reference teaches a method and apparatus for growing a crystal from a raw material by melting, float zone, note entire reference. The apparatus consists of a chamber and a means to move a rod of the raw material and final crystal through the chamber, note para 0089. There is a heat mechanism in the chamber. This mechanism heats the chamber and a melts a portion of the raw material rod. The melt zone or area is localized but goes across the rod and as the rod is moved stays in place, note fig 1a. The crystals formed on the opposite side of the melt and started by contact with a seed crystal, note, embodiment 1. The heat mechanism consists of lasers note, fig 1.
With regards to claim 14, the Kaneko et al reference teaches a plurality of lasers on the periphery note fig 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo (2010/0037817) in view of Kaneko et al (JP201919046).
The Shindo reference teaches a method and apparatus for growing a crystal from a raw material by melting, float zone, note entire reference. The apparatus consists of a chamber and a means to move a rod of the raw material and final crystal through the chamber, note para 003. There is a heat mechanism in the chamber. This mechanism heats the chamber and a melts a portion of the raw material rod. The melt zone or area is localized but goes across the rod and as the rod is moved stays in place, note fig 1a. The crystals formed on the opposite side of the melt and started by contact with a seed crystal, note, embodiment 1. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the addition of a laser mechanism. However, the Kaneko et al reference teaches a float zone growth apparatus with a laser mechanism note translation para 0089 and 0090. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Shindo reference by the teachings of the Kaneko et al reference to add a laser mechanism to the apparatus in order to increase control over the size and temperature of the molten zone, creating a better crystal.
With regards to claims 7 and 18, the Kaneko et al reference teaches a plurality of lasers surrounding the rod, note fig 2.
With regards to claims 10 and 22, the Shindo reference teaches the heating mechanism includes a spheroidal mirror and xenon lamp, note fig 1b.
With regards to claim 21, the Kaneko et al reference teaches a plurality of lasers surrounding the rod, to heat note fig 2.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 15, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo (2010/0037817) in view of Kaneko et al (JP201919046).
The Shindo and Kaneko references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the lasers arrangement including planes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have different lasers in different planes heating the rod in order to uniformly heat the rod and melt.
Claims 11,12, 23 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims are not taught nor render obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the art does not show the separation means for the different lasers.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714