DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they have poor line quality and thus fail to meet the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84(L). Note that the drawings must be viewed in the USPTO Patent Center in order to see this problem. See example below, as well. The drawings likely contain grayscale elements, which cause image degradation in the USPTO electronic filing system. Drawings must be entirely bi-tonal, containing only black or white color values.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not in narrative form. Instead, it is constructed as a run-on sentence, like a claim. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0003, line 6, an article is missing before “backup structure.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 7, an article is missing before “backup structure.” It is likely that the word “a” should be inserted before “backup structure.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 7, the limitation “the first stamped panel has a flange abutting the backup structure” is confusing, because the backup structure is not positively recited in claim 1. Instead, claim 1 recites “the energy absorption structure is configured for attachment to [a] backup structure of the vehicle. Therefore, it is unclear whether claim 7 actually requires the backup structure or not. Claim 7 will be examined as if it states “a flange configured to abut the backup structure.”
With regard to claim 8, the phrase “the second backup structure has a flange abutting the backup structure” does not make sense, given that the second backup structure is already part of the backup structure. Thus, it is unclear how the backup structure can connect to itself. Furthermore, the term “the second backup structure” lacks antecedent basis. Also, the term “abutting” is confusing for the same reason discussed above with regard to claim 7. Thus, claim 8 will be treated as if it states “the second stamped panel has a flange configured to abut the backup structure.”
With regard to claim 18, the phrase “each of the series of second ridges has a different shape than the series of first ridges” is confusing, because it is unclear whether the claim is referring to each ridge, or each series of ridges. In other words, the claim would be more clear if it stated that “each ridge of the series of second ridges has a different shape than each ridge of the series of first ridges.”
With regard to claim 19, the phrase “a flange that is substantially parallel with the backup structure” is confusing, because claim 1 does not positively recite the backup structure. Thus, it is unclear if claim 19 actually requires the backup structure or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-19, 24, 25, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Aluminum Hotforming Part 1” YouTube video, by Fischer Group (hereinafter Fischer).
With regard to claim 1, Fischer discloses an energy absorption side structure for a vehicle, the energy absorption side structure comprising:
a first stamped panel (see annotated Fig. 1 provided below) having a series of first ridges each extending substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the first stamped panel (see Fig. below); and
a second stamped panel (see Fig. below) assembled to the first stamped panel to form an enclosed space extending substantially an entire length of the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 2 provided below showing the assembled product);
wherein the energy absorption side structure is configured for attachment to backup structure of the vehicle (see Fig. 2 below).
Figure 1 - Illustration of the first and second panels before assembly – 0:33 timestamp
Figure 2 - Illustration of panels after assembly to each other and attachment to the backup structure – 0:37 timestamp
With regard to claim 2, Fischer teaches that each of the first and second stamped panels includes a hot-stamped aluminum alloy (note that this claim is being treated as a product-by-process limitation—since Fischer discloses the final product, i.e. two panels connected together with an enclosed space between, then Fischer meets the claim. See MPEP 2113. It does not appear that the process of hot-stamping necessarily implies any structural feature in the final product that would differentiate it from another part produced in a different way).
With regard to claim 4, Fischer discloses that each of the series of first ridges is configured for axial crushing along a longitudinal axis of the respective first ridge (as Fischer discloses the claimed structure, then Fischer is capable of operating in the claimed manner).
With regard to claim 5, Fischer teaches that the backup structure comprises a first backup structure for the first stamped panel (see Fig. 3 below, which shows the first stamped panel directly attached to the backup structure), and a second backup structure for the second stamped panel (though the “second backup structure” is not illustrated, the second backup structure is considered to be the rest of the side sill of the vehicle, which “backs up” the second stamped panel—note that the claim does not even require any particular attachment of the second stamped panel to the second backup structure), and wherein the first backup structure is different from the second backup structure (the rest of the side sill, not shown, is different from the “backup structure” identified in Fig. 2 above).
Figure 3 - Detail of connection between first stamped plate and backup structure - timestamp 0:35
With regard to claim 7, Fischer teaches that the first stamped panel has a flange abutting the backup structure (see Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 8, as best understood, Fischer teaches that the second [stamped panel] has a flange [capable of abutting] a backup structure (flange of second stamped panel is identified above in annotated Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 9, Fischer teaches that the energy absorption side structure has a front end and a rear end with regard to the vehicle (front end to the left in Fig. 2 above, and rear end to the right), and wherein the enclosed space has a greater height at the rear end than at the front end (see Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 10, Fischer teaches at least a first group of the series of first ridges (note that the “first group” is considered to be the ridges that are aligned with the front door opening in Fig. 2 above) have heights different from each other (see Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 11, Fischer teaches that the first group of the series of first ridges is positioned ahead of a center of gravity of the vehicle, and wherein the heights of the first group of the series of first ridges increase toward the center of gravity (note that Fischer teaches essentially the same illustration as in applicant’s own drawings, therefore this claim limitation is deemed to be met).
With regard to claim 12, Fischer teaches that the first group of the series of first ridges is aligned with a front door opening of the vehicle (Fischer teaches a series of ridges aligned with the front door opening in Fig. 2 above, and these ridges are considered to be the “first group”).
With regard to claim 13, Fischer teaches that a second group of the series of first ridges is aligned with a rear door opening of the vehicle (see Fig. 4 below, which shows the second group of ridges behind the B-pillar and aligned with a rear door opening).
Figure 4 - Rear door opening illustrated – 0:49 Timestamp
With regard to claim 14, Fischer teaches that each of the series of first ridges is wedge shaped, and wherein the second group of the series of first ridges has steeper inclines than the first group of the series of first ridges (see Figs. 1 and 2 above).
With regard to claim 15, the first group of the series of first ridges are separated from each other by intermediate-height areas, each of the intermediate-height areas having a greater height than a lowest-height section of the first stamped panel (see Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 16, Fischer teaches that the lowest-height section is aligned with a B-pillar of the vehicle (see Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 17, the second stamped panel has a series of second ridges each extending substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the second stamped panel (see Fig. 1 above).
With regard to claim 18, as best understood, Fischer teaches that each of the series of second ridges has a different shape than the series of first ridges (see Fig. 1 above, which shows that the second ridges are narrower than the first ridges).
With regard to claim 19, as best understood, Fischer teaches that the first stamped panel includes a flange (see Fig. 5 below) that is substantially parallel with the backup structure and extends on an outboard side substantially along an entire length of the first stamped panel (see Fig. 5), and wherein each of the first ridges terminates before the flange (see Fig. 5).
Figure 5 – Illustration of outboard flange of first stamped panel
With regard to claim 24, Fischer teaches that the first stamped panel further comprises a wedge-shaped ridge at a front end of the first stamped panel with regard to the vehicle (see Fig. 5 below), the wedge-shaped ridge extending substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the first stamped panel, and wherein the wedge-shaped ridge has a narrower end proximate the front end and a wider end distal to the front end (see Fig. 5).
Figure 6 - Illustration of the front end of the first stamped panel
With regard to claim 25, Fischer discloses a vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body providing a backup structure (see Fig. 2 above); and
an energy absorption side structure comprising:
a first stamped panel having a series of first ridges each extending substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the first stamped panel (see Fig. 1 above); and
a second stamped panel assembled to the first stamped panel to form an enclosed space extending substantially an entire length of the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 2 above);
wherein the backup structure supports the energy absorption side structure (see Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 27, Fischer teaches that the backup structure comprises a first backup structure for the first stamped panel (see Fig. 3 above, which shows the first stamped panel directly attached to the backup structure), and a second backup structure for the second stamped panel (though the “second backup structure” is not illustrated, the second backup structure is considered to be the rest of the side sill of the vehicle, which “backs up” the second stamped panel—note that the claim does not even require any particular attachment of the second stamped panel to the second backup structure), and wherein the first backup structure is different from the second backup structure (the rest of the side sill, not shown, is different from the “backup structure” identified in Fig. 2 above).
With regard to claim 28, the first backup structure comprises a floor structure of the vehicle (see Fig. 4 above, which shows the floor of the vehicle being positioned in a location for backing up the first stamped panel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Luckey, Jr. et al. (US 2016/0168676, hereinafter Luckey).
With regard to claim 3, Fischer fails to teach the specifically-claimed properties fo the aluminum alloy.
Luckey discloses manufacturing aluminum automotive panels from materials having the claimed properties (see paragraph 0026).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Fischer to use the specific aluminum alloy taught by Luckey, with a reasonable expectation of success, given that Luckey teaches that such materials are known to be used in automotive applications and that they achieve the desired strength and energy absorption properties.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter AAPA).
With regard to claim 29, Fischer fails to teach that the second backup structure comprises a battery pack of the vehicle. However, it is at least clear from Fig. 4 above that the second backup structure (i.e. whatever vehicle structures are positioned inboard of the second stamped plate) would be positioned under the vehicle floor.
AAPA teaches that battery packs are “positioned underneath the vehicle body” (see paragraph 0002 of the instant specification).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Fischer such that the battery pack was part of the second backup structure, since AAPA teaches that battery packs are typically located underneath the vehicle body, which is the same position where Fischer’s second backup structure is located.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 20-23, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references relate to further examples of side sill impact protection systems having ridge-like structures.
/ROBERT E FULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676