DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (CN 113463113), in view of Lacroix et al. (US 2019/0245224), in view of Zhang et al. (US 2015/0045458) and in view of Chung (KR 20200126490).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses heating for water electrolysis hydrogen production with a solid oxide electrolyzer and cell (10) [n0003], [n0005], [n0023] (= a heat recovery system for hydrogen production with a solid oxide electrolysis cell), comprising a water tank (14) [n0023] (= comprising a water storage tank), a photovoltaic panel array (16) [n0014] (= a solar cell panel), a heat exchanger (3, 7, 9, 11), a solid oxide electrolysis cell (10), a separator (12, 13) and a reactor (2, 8) [n0021],
Super heated high temperature water vapor is sent to the high temperature oxide electrolysis cell for electrolysis [n0019] (= water vapor reaching a working temperature enters the solid oxide electrolysis cell),
Hydrogen and water vapor produced at the negative electrode enters the fourth heat exchanger for heat exchange and cooling (= hydrogen generated after an electrochemical reaction and the unused water vapor flow out of the solid oxide electrolysis cell).
Xia discloses that a lower outlet of the second separator (13) is connected to the water tank (14) by means of a first pipeline (21) thereby realizing circulation loop connection. Xia further discloses a lower outlet pipeline of the first separator (12) is converged and connected to the first pipeline (21) and a third heat exchanger (9) is coupled to an amino chemical heat pump system. Additionally, Xia discloses the amino chemical heat pump system comprises a heliostat field (1), an endothermic reactor (3), a first heat exchanger (3), a first delivery pump (4), a storage tank (5), a second delivery pump (6), a second heat exchanger (7) and an exothermic reactor (8). The endothermic reactor, the first heat exchanger and the storage tank are sequentially connected to form a circulation loop (Figure 1).
Xia differs from the instant claim in that Xia fails to disclose low and high temperature metal hydrogen storage tanks, an evaporator, a methane production and water capable of passing through the solar cell.
Lacroix discloses a system for high-temperature reversible electrolysis of water comprising a hydride tank coupled with the electrolyzer (title). Lacroix discloses separation of the total water by a separator (15) into two streams (f1, f2), each stream being preheated to saturation by heat exchangers (16, 17) through which cooler oxygen and hydrogen streams are passed [0088], [0175]. Lacroix discloses that the water preheated by the two heat exchangers is then remixed in M2 and then boiled in the steam generator (18) by heat recovered in the hydride tank (12) during the absorption of hydrogen by the heat transfer fluid FC [0176]. Lacroix discloses the device for improving thermal management to overcome the exothermicity of the reactions [0036]-[0037]. Lacroix discloses recovering heat in a hydrogen storage tank and providing an evaporator.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising low and high temperature metal hydrogen storage tanks and an evaporator because Lacroix discloses a high-temperature reversible electrolysis of water comprising a hydride tank coupled with the electrolyzer that thermally manages the device to overcome the exothermicity of the reactions [0036]-[0037]. Lacroix discloses remixing the water that is preheated and the use of a total water separated as described above.
Xia in view of Lacroix fail to disclose the production of methane.
Zhang discloses a device for converting carbon dioxide in flue gas into natural gas (title), the device comprising a heat exchanger that processes water by using a high-temperature mixed gas generated by a strong exothermic reaction of methanation which converts the process water into superheated steam and then continues to electrolyte water [0009]-[0015]. Zhang discloses the device comprising a reaction of hydrogen produced by electrolysis of water with carbon dioxide to produce a high temperature mixed gas of methane and water vapor. The generated high-temperature mixed gas undergoes indirect heat exchange treatment to the process water and the conversion of process water into superheated water stream. Zhang discloses the device for improving the utilization and conversion efficiency of hydrogen [0016], [0018]-[0020].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising hydrogen and carbon dioxide reacted in a reactor to generate methane because Zhang discloses a device that improves the utilization and conversion efficiency of hydrogen by including carbon dioxide trapped from industrial flue gas which is converted to yield methane field convenient for storage and transport through methanation reaction with hydrogen generated from water electrolysis by dump energy arising from renewable energy generation [0028]. Zhang further states that in the process of synthesizing methane using hydrogen and carbon dioxide, huge amounts of carbon dioxide in flue gas is utilized thereby achieving the goal of reducing carbon dioxide [0029].
Xia in view of Lacroix and Zhang fail to disclose the concept of water passing through the solar cell panel.
Chung discloses a hydrogen production system comprising a photovoltaic module and a cooling module (920) installed on the photovoltaic module (900, 910) having a channel through which water flows. Chung discloses the cooling water from the photovoltaic module is discharged after passing through the cooling module and is supplied to a water electrolysis device [0011], [0030]. Chung discloses that the cooling water used to cool the solar module (910) is raised to a temperature favorable for water electrolysis and supplied to the water electrolysis device (100), thereby increasing the efficiency of the solar power generation device (900) and the water electrolysis device (100) (Figure 2). Chung discloses the apparatus for providing a hydrogen production system capable of establishing an infrastructure for the effective production, storage and transportation of hydrogen and further contributing to the expansion of hydrogen refueling facilities [0007].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising water passing through a solar cell panel because Chung discloses that water passed through a photovoltaic module which cools the photovoltaic module, is sent to a water electrolysis device at an elevated temperature. This concept provides an efficient use of heat transfer by both cooling the photovoltaic module and subsequently heating the various aspects of the hydrogen production system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination does not disclose or render obvious the combination of claims 1-2, claims 1 and 4, claims 1 and 6 and claims 1 and 7.
Regarding the combination of claims 1 and 2, the prior art does not disclose wherein the heat exchange cavity is provided with a plurality of partition plates arranged in parallel…form a baffle flow channel…a plurality of metal hydrogen storage microtubes in combination with the claim limitations of claim 1.
Regarding the combination of claims 1 and 4, the prior art does not disclose wherein the heat exchange cavity is provided with a plurality of partition plates arranged in parallel…a plurality of metal hydrogen storage tubes…each metal hydrogen storage tube is provided with a plurality of cylindrical ribs…the plurality of metal hydrogen storage tubes penetrate the entire heat exchange cavity in combination with claim 1.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, the prior art does not disclose a plurality of porous water absorption layers are arranged…the evaporator further comprises a confluence area and a collector area located in the heat exchange cavity wherein an inlet of the confluence area is connected with an external reactor…a plurality of heat flow pipes…the heat flow pipes are arranged in the heat exchange cavity along a lateral direction in combination with the claim limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the prior art does not disclose the reaction zone is a porous catalyst layer…concentric annular flow channels…and a hydrogen inlet and a carbon dioxide inlet are communicated with a central chamber of the annular flow channel in combination with the limitations of claim 1.
The closest prior art includes the disclosure of Xia which is described above. Xia discloses heating for water electrolysis hydrogen production with a solid oxide electrolyzer and cell (10) [n0003], [n0005], [n0023]. Xia discloses a water tank (14) [n0023] (= comprising a water storage tank), a photovoltaic panel array (16) [n0014] (= a solar cell panel), a heat exchanger (3, 7, 9, 11), a solid oxide electrolysis cell (10), a separator (12, 13) and a reactor (2, 8) [n0021]. Xia does not disclose the combination of claim limitations as described above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shafiee et al., “Different reactor and heat exchanger configurations for metal hydride hydrogen storage systems – a review”, International Journal of Hydrogen Energy, 41, 22, 2016, 9462-9470.
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795