DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 16-30 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-15 are cancelled.
Claims 16-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sievers et al. (Foreign Reference DE102011089556A1) in view of Schumacher et al. (US Publication 2008/0169629 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Sievers teaches a method for a self-diagnosis of a vehicle system (Sievers: Para. 6; self-diagnostic function) that is supplied with energy by an on-board vehicle electrical system (Sievers: Para. 24; a voltage supply for a vehicle system) and includes a control unit with at least one integrated system circuit (Sievers: Para. 5; ASIC), which includes at least one internal energy supply (Sievers: Para. 22; battery), a sequence and logic controller (Sievers: Para. 27; an associated first evaluation logic in order to check whether the first comparison signal V 1 of the first comparison device), and ………. , and with at least one microcontroller (Sievers: Para. 11; microcontroller), the method comprising the following steps: after applying an on-board electrical system voltage in an initialization phase independently of an activation state of the at least one microcontroller, within the at least one integrated system circuit (Sievers: Para. 6; self-diagnostic function makes it possible to initially test the voltage comparators used for the voltage monitoring and thus to ensure the correct output of the status information), generating at least one internal reference voltage and at least one internal system voltage for supplying the vehicle system from the applied on-board electrical system voltage (Sievers: Para. 24; a predefined threshold value voltage U Ref1 , U Ref2 as a second input signal), and performing hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions, wherein the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are started (Sievers: Para. 35; during the start-up phase of the voltage supply to be monitored) and carried out in the integrated system circuit when the at least one internal reference voltage is available (Sievers: Para. 24; first input signal with a predefined threshold value voltage U Ref1 , U Ref2), wherein at least two hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are processed at least partly in parallel (Sievers: Para. 10, 26, Fig. 1; redundant circuit design in the form of a double independent monitoring; the voltage monitoring device for the voltage supply in the exemplary embodiment shown comprises an undervoltage monitoring system and an overvoltage monitoring system); and after the initialization phase of the at least one integrated system circuit, the at least one microcontroller is an active state (Sievers: Para. 11; automatic control by means of hardware elements, the vehicle system can be fully activated by outputting a "non-reset signal" only when all voltages are stable and the checks of all comparison devices have succeeded; system software, under the control of a microcontroller), and, after an internal self-diagnosis, activating and carrying out at least one software-supported self-diagnosis function, by the at least one microcontroller (Sievers: Para. 11, 35; in step S 100, the voltage supply to be monitored is activated; during the start-up phase of the voltage supply to be monitored; via system software, under the control of a microcontroller).
Sievers doesn’t explicitly teach a safety controller.
However Schumacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a safety controller (Schumacher: Para. 20; safety controller).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the undervoltage and overvoltage vehicle monitor system (Sievers: Para. 26) with the safety controller triggers a restraining system with stored reserve energy (Schumacher: Para. 20-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because parallel analysis of the sensor signals as a built-in self-tests of system components by a safety controller preserves the function of vehicle safety systems (Schumacher: Para. 18, 20-21).
Regarding claim 17, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein at least one additional test circuit and at least one rewritable permanent memory for carrying out the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are implemented in the at least one integrated system circuit (Sievers: Para. 5, 11; voltage monitoring can be measured, for example, directly as status information on an ASIC pin or can be read out by a software command), and wherein the at least one rewritable permanent memory provides electrical parameters (Sievers: Para. 11; carry out the checking of the individual comparison devices, the presetting of the individual voltages and the reading back of the output signals either automatically via suitable hardware elements).
Regarding claim 18, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein the at least one test circuit is configured and placed such that an occurrence of interactions that are caused by influence on electrical parameters or by crosstalk is reduced (Sievers: Para. 48; present invention may additionally automatically test already integrated voltage monitors of the internally generated supply voltages; results in a significantly higher robustness with respect to latent defects; to meet extended safety requirements).
Regarding claim 19, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein at least the at least two hardware- supported internal self-diagnosis functions each include a digital test portion and an analog test portion (Sievers: Para. 22; monitoring of the system-relevant supply voltages for supplying analog and digital functions is integrated), wherein at least the digital test portions of the at least two hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are processed in parallel (Sievers: Para. 10, 22; redundant circuit design in the form of a double independent monitoring; monitoring of the system-relevant supply voltages for supplying analog and digital functions is integrated).
Regarding claim 20, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the analog test portions of the at least two hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are processed in parallel or in a specified order depending on known feedbacks and/or safety specifications (Sievers: Para. 23, 28; undervoltage threshold and/or an overvoltage threshold is monitored; analogously to the first comparator of the undervoltage monitoring device, a second comparator of the overvoltage monitoring device is designed as a voltage comparator).
Regarding claim 21, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein, based on the at least one internal reference voltage, at least one reference voltage and/or at least one auxiliary voltage are generated and provided for the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions (Sievers: Para. 35; first comparison device of the undervoltage monitoring system must recognize an "undervoltage" state or the first "poor" state, since the voltage derived from the output voltage of the voltage supply has not yet reached the predefined threshold voltage).
Regarding claim 22, Sievers doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the at least one auxiliary voltage is replaced by a corresponding internal system voltage when the internal system voltage has reached a target value at a later time.
However Schumacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one auxiliary voltage is replaced by a corresponding internal system voltage when the internal system voltage has reached a target value at a later time (Schumacher: Para. 10, 21; reset is produced in the event of overvoltage or undervoltage or a watchdog error; energy which is stored in energy reserve to be supplied via block 101 to the output stages).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the undervoltage and overvoltage vehicle monitor system (Sievers: Para. 26) with the safety controller triggers a restraining system with stored reserve energy (Schumacher: Para. 20-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because parallel analysis of the sensor signals as a built-in self-tests of system components by a safety controller preserves the function of vehicle safety systems (Schumacher: Para. 18, 20-21).
Regarding claim 23, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein at least one comparator is checked by at least one of the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions, the check being performed to check a switching point of the at least one comparator by changing an applied reference voltage, wherein forwarding of an output signal of the at least one comparator is blocked during the check (Sievers: Para. 23; voltage monitoring systems implemented hitherto for voltage supplies, which are embodied, for example, as linear controllers; that the regulated output voltage at an undervoltage threshold and/or an overvoltage threshold is monitored by means of at least one voltage comparator).
Regarding claim 24, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein, after the check is error-free, the at least one comparator is used by at least one further hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis function to check an undervoltage threshold value and/or an overvoltage threshold value: (i) of the at least one internal reference voltage, and/or (ii) of the at least one internal system voltage and/or of at least one power voltage (Sievers: Para. 23; the regulated output voltage at an undervoltage threshold and/or an overvoltage threshold is monitored by means of at least one voltage comparator).
Regarding claim 25, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein at least one logic path of the sequence and logic controller and/or at least one logic path of the safety controller of the corresponding integrated system circuit, is check by at least one of the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions (Sievers: Para. 23; if the output voltage is outside the permissible range, this state is detected via the at least one voltage comparator, so that corresponding analog and/or logical states or reactions can be derived).
Regarding claim 26, Sievers doesn’t explicitly teach wherein at least one PSI interface, via which sensor signals from at least one peripheral sensor unit are received and conditioned, is checked by at least one of the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions.
However Schumacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one PSI interface, via which sensor signals from at least one peripheral sensor unit are received and conditioned, is checked by at least one of the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions (Schumacher: Para. 18; security functions, which include the parallel analysis of the sensor signals from sensors 107 through 110, this analysis occurring in parallel to that of microcontroller, and the watchdog function, which monitors the function of microcontroller; functions are all executed via SPI buses).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the undervoltage and overvoltage vehicle monitor system (Sievers: Para. 26) with the safety controller triggers a restraining system with stored reserve energy (Schumacher: Para. 20-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because parallel analysis of the sensor signals as a built-in self-tests of system components by a safety controller preserves the function of vehicle safety systems (Schumacher: Para. 18, 20-21).
Regarding claim 27, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein at least one analog interface, which receives analog signals from external analog signal transmitters or outputs analog signals to external analog signal receivers, is checked by at least one of the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions (Sievers: Para. 23, 28; undervoltage threshold and/or an overvoltage threshold is monitored; analogously to the first comparator of the undervoltage monitoring device, a second comparator of the overvoltage monitoring device is designed as a voltage comparator).
Regarding claim 28, Sievers teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein an undervoltage threshold value and/or an overvoltage threshold value of at least one energy reserve of: (i) the vehicle system, and/or (ii) an analog interface, which receives analog signals from external analog signal transmitters or outputs analog signals to external analog signal receivers, and/or (iii) a central acceleration sensor, and/or (iv) a central rotation rate sensor, and/or (v) a data bus communication interface, is checked by the at least one software self-diagnosis function (Sievers: Para. 23; voltage sources, are for the most part constructed in such a way that the regulated output voltage at an undervoltage threshold and/or an overvoltage threshold is monitored).
Regarding claim 29, Sievers teaches a vehicle system that is supplied with energy by an on-board vehicle electrical system and comprises a control unit with at least one integrated system circuit (Sievers: Para. 5; ASIC), which includes at least one internal energy supply (Sievers: Para. 22; battery), a sequence and logic controller (Sievers: Para. 27; an associated first evaluation logic in order to check whether the first comparison signal of the first comparison device), and ……… , and with at least one microcontroller (Sievers: Para. 11; microcontroller), the vehicle system configured to: after applying an on-board electrical system voltage in an initialization phase independently of an activation state of the at least one microcontroller, within the at least one integrated system circuit (Sievers: Para. 6; self-diagnostic function makes it possible to initially test the voltage comparators used for the voltage monitoring and thus to ensure the correct output of the status information), generate at least one internal reference voltage and at least one internal system voltage for supplying the vehicle system from the applied on-board electrical system voltage (Sievers: Para. 24; a predefined threshold value voltage U Ref1 , U Ref2 as a second input signal), and perform hardware-supported internal self- diagnosis functions, wherein the hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are started (Sievers: Para. 35; during the start-up phase of the voltage supply to be monitored) and carried out in the integrated system circuit when the at least one internal reference voltage is available (Sievers: Para. 24; first input signal with a predefined threshold value voltage U Ref1 , U Ref2), wherein at least two hardware-supported internal self- diagnosis functions are processed at least partly in parallel (Sievers: Para. 10, 26, Fig. 1; redundant circuit design in the form of a double independent monitoring; the voltage monitoring device for the voltage supply in the exemplary embodiment shown comprises an undervoltage monitoring system and an overvoltage monitoring system); and after the initialization phase of the at least one integrated system circuit, the at least one microcontroller is an active state (Sievers: Para. 11; automatic control by means of hardware elements, the vehicle system can be fully activated by outputting a "non-reset signal" only when all voltages are stable and the checks of all comparison devices have succeeded; system software, under the control of a microcontroller), and, after an internal self-diagnosis, activate and carry out at least one software-supported self-diagnosis function, by the at least one microcontroller (Sievers: Para. 11, 35; in step S 100, the voltage supply to be monitored is activated; during the start-up phase of the voltage supply to be monitored; via system software, under the control of a microcontroller).
Sievers doesn’t explicitly teach a safety controller.
However Schumacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a safety controller (Schumacher: Para. 20; safety controller).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the undervoltage and overvoltage vehicle monitor system (Sievers: Para. 26) with the safety controller triggers a restraining system with stored reserve energy (Schumacher: Para. 20-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because parallel analysis of the sensor signals as a built-in self-tests of system components by a safety controller preserves the function of vehicle safety systems (Schumacher: Para. 18, 20-21).
Regarding claim 30, Sievers teaches a vehicle system, comprising: a control unit including at least one integrated system circuit (Sievers: Para. 5; ASIC), which includes at least one internal energy supply (Sievers: Para. 22; battery), a sequence and logic controller (Sievers: Para. 27; an associated first evaluation logic 18 in order to check whether the first comparison signal V 1 of the first comparison device), and ……… , and the control unit further including at least one microcontroller (Sievers: Para. 11; microcontroller).
Sievers doesn’t explicitly teach a safety controller, which controls a corresponding output stage to trigger at least one ignition circuit of a restraining device.
However Schumacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a safety controller (Schumacher: Para. 20; safety controller), which controls a corresponding output stage to trigger at least one ignition circuit of a restraining device (Schumacher: Para. 21; the ignition elements are fired, and in turn the restraining means are triggered).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the undervoltage and overvoltage vehicle monitor system (Sievers: Para. 26) with the safety controller triggers a restraining system with stored reserve energy (Schumacher: Para. 20-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because parallel analysis of the sensor signals as a built-in self-tests of system components by a safety controller preserves the function of vehicle safety systems (Schumacher: Para. 18, 20-21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 29 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 16-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Sievers does not teach “at least two hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions are processed at least partly in parallel”.
In response to the applicant argument, Sievers teaches embodiments of the self-diagnostic function that do not perform checks for both overvoltage and undervoltage issues (Sievers: Para. 10). Sievers’s Figure 1 depicts the voltage monitoring device 1 for the voltage supply 3 in the exemplary embodiment shown comprises an undervoltage monitoring system 10 and an overvoltage monitoring system 20 (Sievers: Para. 26). This creates a redundant circuit design in the form of a double independent monitoring (Sievers: Para. 10). Sievers has two monitoring system: an undervoltage monitoring system 10 and an overvoltage monitoring system 20. Figure 1 should two hardware-supported internal self-diagnosis functions in the circuit diagram for the voltage monitoring device which has different paths for the undervoltage and the overvoltage monitoring. The same parts are being monitored by the undervoltage and overvoltage at least some of the same time. Sievers carries out the checking of the individual comparison devices, the presetting of the individual threshold voltages and the reading back of the output signals automatically via suitable hardware elements or via system software, under the control of a microcontroller (Sievers: Para. 11). The system watches the current voltage versus the undervoltage and the overvoltage thresholds automatically, which creates a parallel process.
The applicant’s arguments have failed to point out the distinguishing characteristics of the amended claim language over the prior art. For the above reasons, Sievers’ self-diagnostic function in view of Schumacher’s safety controller reads on applicant’s method for self-diagnosis of a vehicle system. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663