DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4,6-7,10-13,15,40,53,56,57,60-61,74,147,156 are pending. Claims 5,8-9,14,16-39,41-52,54-55,58-59,62-73,75-146,148-155,157-167 have been cancelled.
An action on the merits is set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4,6-7,10-13,15,40,53,56,57,60-61,74,147,156 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims include numerous capitalization of words that should not be capitalize because they are not proper nouns. For example, Primer, Stopper, and First. Further the term “nt” should be spelled out for clarity in the first instance with the abbreviation following. For example nucleotide (nt). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2-3 are indefinite as the claim limits the target structure. It is not clear how this claim, therefore, limits the structure of the claimed composition which does not comprise the target.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4,6-7,10-13, 40,53,56,57,60-61,74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to product of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) composition that can encompass oligonucleotides which represent fragments of naturally occurring nucleic acids. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the structures do not include anything other than a component that is found in nature. The recitation samples encompasses fragments of products of nature.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106.
Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II. The unpatentability of natural products was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme Court in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, (2013).
The claimed invention is directed to naturally occurring fragments of a naturally occurring nucleic acids as the claims encompass fragments of the samples that are naturally occurring. These molecules are not patent eligible, whether isolated or not, pursuant to the Supreme Court decision in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., US (June 13, 2013). The Supreme Court has made clear "separating [DNA] from surrounding genetic material is not an act of invention" Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2117. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because they convey the same genetic information as their naturally occurring counterparts. In Myriad v. Ambry CAFC 2014-1361,1366, December 17, 2014, the CAFC further (regarding a claim directed to a pair of primers) stated “In fact, the naturally occurring genetic sequences at issue here do not perform a significantly new function. Rather, the naturally occurring material is used to form the first step in a chain reaction—a function that is performed because the probe or primer maintains the exact same nucleotide sequence as the relevant portion of the naturally occurring sequence. One of the primary functions of DNA’s structure in nature is that complementary nucleotide sequences bind to each other. It is this same function that is exploited here—the probe hybridizes to its complementary nucleotide sequence. Thus, just as in nature, probes utilize the innate ability of DNA to bind to itself.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6-7,10-13,15,40,53,56,57,60-61,74,147,156 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (WO2015/081229 June 4, 2015 cited on the IDS).
With regard to claims 1, 74, Zhou et al. teaches a common primer oligonucleotide (p 16 lines 30-45). Zhou et al. further teaches an omega primer (p 16 lines 1-5). The term “stopper” does not provide any particular structure of the oligonucleotide other than the structure is recited. Further the terms first, second loop, third and fourth do not provide any particular structure of the oligonucleotide structure. As such any nucleotides of the oligonucleotide can be described as these particular sequence. Zhou et al. teaches a sequence that includes a region with a length wherein there is a region of a first and second and a third and fourth sequence that can be hybridized to the target or to each other (figure 1). Zhou et al. further teaches a loop sequence (figure 1). Zhou there for teaches the claimed stopper sequence (see figure 1B, 4a, p. 11-p. 12 and p. 25). Zhou et al teaches length of the omega primer (stopper) that would encompass regions that are within the nucleotide lengths of the combination of the sequences (p. 13). As noted the use of first, second, loop, third and fourth do not provide any structural limitations of the entirety of the oligonucleotide.
With regard to claim 2, the claim does not limit the primer composition of claim 1.
With regard to claim 3, Zhou et al. teaches use of a target (p. 9 lines 10-15).
With regard to claim 4, Zhou et al. teaches a region that binds and that there is also a region that matches to the oligonucleotides (p. 11-12 and Figure 1).
With regard to claims 6-7, Zhou et al. teaches template dependent polymerase enzymes and reagents and buffers (p. 11 lines 1-30).
With regard to claims 10 and 12-13, Zhou et al. teaches a hairpin structure which would be considered noncomplementary (p. 11-12 and figure 1).
With regard to claim 11, the fifth, sixth sequences re only defined by positions relative to other sequences and as such a single nucleic pair could be considered the fifth and sixth sequence of the omega probe (stopper) taught by Zhou.
With regard to claim 15, Zhou et al. teaches a 3’ OH end (p. 6 lines 40-45).
With regard to claims 40 and 53, 61, Zhou et al. teaches multiple oligonucleotides (stoppers) and primers (p. 48 lines 25-35 and figure 2).
With regard to claims 56-57, 60, Zhou et al. teaches multiple primers (p. 48 lines 25-35) and these primers would have 3’ regions.
With regard to claims 147 and 156, Zhou et al. teaches methods of generating chimeric amplicons (p 1). Zhou et al. teaches a common primer oligonucleotide (p 16 lines 30-45). Zhou et al. ferther teaches an omega primer (p 16 lines 1-5). The term “stopper” does not provide any particular structure of the oligonucleotide other than the structure is recited. Further the terms first, second loop, third and fourth do not provide any particular structure of the oligonucleotide structure. As such any nucleotides of the oligonucleotide can be described as these particular sequence. Zhou et al. teaches a sequence that includes a region with a length wherein there is a region of a first and second and a third and fourth sequence that can be hybridized to the target or to each other (figure 1). Zhou et al. further teaches a loop sequence (figure 1). Zhou there for teaches the claimed stopper sequence (see figure 1B, 4a, p. 11-p. 12 and p. 25). Zhou et al teaches length of the omega primer (stopper) that would encompass regions that are within the nucleotide lengths of the combination of the sequences (p. 13). As noted the use of first, second, loop, third and fourth do not provide any structural limitations of the entirety of the oligonucleotide. Zhou et al. teaches a method of mixing template depending polymerase with this composition and incubating by performing a PCR (11-12).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682