DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-5, 11-12, 22-26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (Intel, “Summary for UE onboarding and provisioning for NPN; R2-2104492 found on IDS 5/9/2024)..
Regarding claims 1 and 22. D1 teaches a radio network node and a method performed by a radio network node (section 2.4 – NG-RAN, gNB) for handling services in a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), an indication (sections 2 and 2.4 – indication for onboarding) indicating selection of a service (section 2 and 2.4 - onboarding) associated with a service indication (section 2 and 2.4 – indication for onboarding) out of at least one service indication (section 2 and 2.4 – indication for onboarding); and
based on the received indication, selecting a network node (section 2 and 2.4 – select an appropriate AMF) that supports the service indicated by the indication (section 2 and 2.4 – Onboarding request … upon registration to an SNPN for onboarding, the UE provides an indication at RRC level that the RRC connections for onboarding. This information will be specified only for SNPN and allows Ng-RAN to select an appropriate AMF that supports onboarding procedures).
Regarding claims 11 and 32. D1 teaches a user equipment (UE) and a method performed by a user equipment (UE), for handling services in a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
detecting at least one service indication (sections 2 and 2.4 – indication for onboarding and/or onboarding indication) in a system information (SI) (sections 2 and 2.4 – in SIB1) broadcast from a radio network node (section 2 and 2.4 – gNB and/or NG-RAN);
selecting a service indication (sections 2 and 2.4 – onboarding indication) out of the at least one service indication (section 2 and 2.4 – onboarding indication) from the SI broadcast to represent a service the UE targets association with; and
transmitting an indication indicating a selection of the service (section 2 and 2.4 – onboarding) associated with the service indication (section 2 – Summary for UE onboarding and provisioning NPN. During RAN2#113e meeting, the following agreements were made: - Broadcast a 1-bit indication for onboarding per O-SNPN. – R2 assumes that the 1-bit indication for onboarding is in SIB1. – The UE sends an indication for onboarding to the gNB at RRC connection establishment (Intention to support AMF selection. Section 2.4 – Onboarding request. Upon registration to an SNPN for Onboarding, the UE provides an indication at RRC level that the RRC connections for onboarding. This information will be specified only for SNPN and allows NG-RAN to select an appropriate AMF that supports onboarding procedures. RAN2 also agreed to: The UE sends an indication for onboarding to the gNB at RRC connection establishment (Intention to support AMF selection). [10] thinks that the UE includes on-boarding request in RRC connection establishment only if the cell broadcast 1-bit on-boarding indication).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 23. D1 teaches wherein the radio network node is configured with a mapping of service indications and networks providing the a respective service (section 2.4 - [10] thinks that the UE includes on-boarding request in RRC connection establishment only if the cell broadcast 1-bit on-boarding indication. Other than onboarding indication, [12, 14} also proposed including the SO-SNPN list or Group ID in the RRCSetupComplete message. Section 2-1 – Proposal#1: Group IDs for onboarding purposes is also broadcast in the SIB. To discuss further online whether the same Group IDs are used for onboarding purpose and for credential by separate entity).
Regarding claims 3 and 24. D1 teaches transmitting system information (SI), wherein the SI comprises at least one service indication indicating a type of service offered by one or more networks (section 2.4 - [10] thinks that the UE includes on-boarding request in RRC connection establishment only if the cell broadcast 1-bit on-boarding indication, sections 2 and 2.1 – SIB and SIB1).
Regarding claims 4 and 25. D1 teaches wherein the indication is a service identity (ID), an index of the service ID, or a Group ID (GID) (section 2.4 - Other than onboarding indication, [12, 14} also proposed including the SO-SNPN list or Group ID in the RRCSetupComplete message).
Regarding claims 5 and 26. D1 teaches wherein the indication is received in an access request (section 2.4 – Only 1 company support sending the onboarding indication in Msg3 with new establishmentCause for onboarding purpose).
2. Claims 1, 3, 5, 11, 13-14, 22, 24, 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D2 (3GPP TSG SA WG2, “Study on enhanced support of Non-Public Networks (NPN), release 17; 3GPP TR23.700-07 V17.0.0 found on IDS 5/9/2024)..
Regarding claims 1 and 22. Embodiment 1 of D2 teaches a radio network node and a method performed by a radio network node (section 6.27.3.2.1 and figure 6.27.3.2.1-1 – RAN node) for handling services in a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
Receiving (step 4), from a user equipment (UE), an indication (section 6.27.3.2.1 and figure 6.27.3.2.1-1 – EstablishmentCause Information Element set to a new Onboarding value) indicating selection of a service (section 6.27.3.2.1 and figure 6.27.3.2.1-1 - onboarding) associated with a service indication (section 2 and 2.4 – EstablishmentCause Information Element set to a new Onboarding value) out of at least one service indication (section 2 and 2.4 – EstablishmentCause Information Element set to a new Onboarding value); and
based on the received indication, selecting (step 5) a network node (AMF) that supports the service indicated by the indication.
Regarding claims 11 and 32. D2 teaches a user equipment (UE) and a method performed by a user equipment (UE), for handling services in a wireless communications network, the method comprising:
detecting at least one service indication in a system information (SI) broadcast from a radio network node (section 6.27.3 at B1: NG-RAN broadcast an indication of support for Onboarding UE);
selecting a service indication out of the at least one service indication from the SI broadcast to represent a service the UE targets association with (figure 6.27.3.2.1-1 at steps 1 to 4); and
transmitting an indication indicating a selection of the service associated with the service indication (figure 6.27.3.2.1-1 at step 4, section 6.4.4 – Impacts on UE: Selects the desired SNPN based on network configuration and received broadcast information. Impacts on RAN: Broadcast the support for EAA and the supported SO-ID list. Selects the AMF that supports for EAA based on UE’s EAA indication.)
Regarding claims 3 and 24. D2 teaches transmitting system information (SI), wherein the SI comprises at least one service indication indicating a type of service offered by one or more networks (section 6.27.3.1 at B1: NG-RAN broadcast an indication of support for Onboarding UE).
Regarding claims 5 and 26. D2 teaches wherein the indication is received in an access request (section 6.27.3.2.1 at “4. The UE sets the AS signalling. The UE sets up an RRC connection (RRCSetupRequest) and includes Access Network Parameters. The AN parameters include an EstablishmentCause Information Element set to a new Onboarding value” ).
Regarding claim 13. D2 teaches wherein selecting the service indication is further based on a UE preference (section 6.4.2.2 – UE that is provisioned with E-Sub also contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN: PLMNI ID, Priority, and subscribed SO ID. Section 6.2.2.4.2 SNPN subscription wherein a home SP subscription issued by an SNPN may optionally contain the following additional information: User-controlled list of preferred SNPNs, Home SP controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs and home SP groups).
Regarding claim 14. D2 teaches wherein the UE preference is based on received additional information from the radio network node (section 6.4.2.2 – UE that is provisioned with E-Sub also contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN: PLMNI ID, Priority, and subscribed SO ID. Section 6.2.2.4.2 SNPN subscription wherein a home SP subscription issued by an SNPN may optionally contain the following additional information: User-controlled list of preferred SNPNs, Home SP controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs and home SP groups).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Lai et al (2022/0240210).
Regarding claim 17. D1 does not explicitly teach receiving from the radio network node a network indication of a selected network; and accessing the selected network based on the network indication and using the service.
Lai teaches UE receives SIB with an Onboarding enable indication which enables the UE to be provisioned with SNPN (figure 3, 0024-0025). UE receives SIB broadcasting (Onboarding enabled) from NG RAN (0026, figure 4, step 412). The UE performs ON-SNPN discover and selection (0027, figure 4, step 413). In step 421, UE initiates the onboarding registration procedure … the UE provides an indication in the RRC connection establishment request message that RRC connection if for onboarding. This indication allows the NG-RAN node to select the appropriate AMF(e.g,. target AMF 403) that supports the UE onboarding procedures … In one novel aspect, this registration request further indicates the UE-supported remote provisioning is either CP, UP or both (0027). In step 422, NG RAN selects AMF 403 as the target AMF for onboarding. In step 423, NG RAN forwards the NAS registration request message to the target AMF 403. In step 431, the new target AMF 403 sends UE context request message to an old source AMF 404, which has UE context information. In step 432, the source AMF 404 sends a UE context response message, together with the UE context information back to the target AMF 403. In step 441, UE performs onboarding registration with corresponding entities in the ON-SNPN (0028). The UE sends registration request with a 5GS Registration type set to “SPN Onboarding” (0029). In step 461, upon successful registration, UE follows the remote provisioning procedure (e.g., CP or UP) … Note that the ON-SNPN determines the provisioning procedure based on UE capability, as indicated in the registration request in step 421 … The UE then uses the obtained SNPN credentials to gain access to a specific SNPN, using normal registration procedure to get normal services from that specific SNPN (0030).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include UE remote provisioning capabilities in the registration request as taught by Lai in order to enable the UE to be remotely provisioned with credentials for gaining access to a specific SNPN.
4. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Jung et al (2023/0075285).
Regarding claim 13. D1 does not teach wherein selecting the service indication is further based on a UE preference.
Jung teaches using user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0169, 0180), as well as, Credential holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0170, 0181), as well as, Credential holder controlled prioritized list of GINs (0171, 0182). Automatic network selection (0190-0195) in the following order: 1 - SNPNs in the user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (0196, 0206), 2 – SNPNs in the Credential Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (0197, 0207). User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0259) and if the UE has not been able to select a network based on the above and the UE is configured with a home SP-controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs and Home SP groups then the UE evaluates the list in priority order as follow (0260-0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs as taught by Jung in order to enable the user to control SNPN selection.
Regarding claim 14. D1 does not teach wherein the UE preference is based on received additional information from the radio network node.
Jung teaches using user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0169, 0180), as well as, Credential holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0170, 0181), as well as, Credential holder controlled prioritized list of GINs (0171, 0182). Automatic network selection (0190-0195) in the following order: 1 - SNPNs in the user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (0196, 0206), 2 – SNPNs in the Credential Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (0197, 0207). User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0259) and if the UE has not been able to select a network based on the above and the UE is configured with a home SP-controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs and Home SP groups then the UE evaluates the list in priority order as follow (0260-0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include Credential holder controlled prioritized list and/or home SP-controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs as taught by Jung in order to enable the Credential holder and/or home network to control SNPN selection order.
5. Claims 2, 4, 12, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D2 in view of Jung et al (2023/0075285).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 23. D2 does not teaches wherein the radio network node is configured with a mapping of service indications and networks providing the a respective service.
Jung teaches UE receives system information for a list of standalone non-pubic networks (SNPN) and a list of group identifiers of the network and information for a list of bitmaps identifying one or more group identifiers supported by each SNPN (0008-0013) which reduces signalling overhead (0016).
Jung further teaches using user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0169, 0180), as well as, Credential holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0170, 0181), as well as, Credential holder controlled prioritized list of GINs (0171, 0182). Automatic network selection (0190-0195) in the following order: 1 - SNPNs in the user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (0196, 0206), 2 – SNPNs in the Credential Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (0197, 0207). User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (0259) and if the UE has not been able to select a network based on the above and the UE is configured with a home SP-controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs and Home SP groups then the UE evaluates the list in priority order as follow (0260-0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D2 to include bitmaps as taught by Jung in order to enable the network signal a list of SNPNs thereby saving on network signalling by using bitmaps.
Regarding claims 4 and 25. D2 does not teach wherein the indication is a service identity (ID), an index of the service ID, or a Group ID (GID).
Jung teaches [0253] For example, home SP group may include: [0254] National operating companies of a multi-national operator. By broadcasting the home SP group ID assigned to the multi-national operator, a V-SNPN can enable the UEs from all the national operating companies of the multi-national operator to select the V-SNPN (instead of having to broadcast the home SP IDs of each of the national operating companies, which may also exceed the number of home SP IDs supported by SIB); [0255] Home SPs that are connected to an interconnection provider. Typically mobile operators have direct interconnections and agreements only with large partner networks. For the large amount of small partner networks, mobile operators typically use the services of an interconnection provider that provides interconnection with a large amount of partner networks while avoiding the need for bilateral agreements and interconnections. By broadcasting the home SP group ID assigned to the interconnection provider, a V-SNPN can enable the UEs from all the home SPs connected to the interconnection provider to select the V-SNPN (instead of having to broadcast the IDs of each of the home SPs, which may also exceed the number of home SP IDs supported by SIB) while also avoiding the need for the home SPs to maintain an accurate list of all the supported V-SNPNs.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D2 to group ID as taught by Jung thereby a V-SNPN can enable the UEs from all the national operating companies of the multi-national operator to select the V-SNPN and reducing network signaling.
6. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D2 in view of Lai et al (2022/0240210).
Regarding claim 17. D2 does not explicitly teach receiving from the radio network node a network indication of a selected network; and accessing the selected network based on the network indication and using the service.
Lai teaches UE receives SIB with an Onboarding enable indication which enables the UE to be provisioned with SNPN (figure 3, 0024-0025). UE receives SIB broadcasting (Onboarding enabled) from NG RAN (0026, figure 4, step 412). The UE performs ON-SNPN discover and selection (0027, figure 4, step 413). In step 421, UE initiates the onboarding registration procedure … the UE provides an indication in the RRC connection establishment request message that RRC connection if for onboarding. This indication allows the NG-RAN node to select the appropriate AMF(e.g,. target AMF 403) that supports the UE onboarding procedures … In one novel aspect, this registration request further indicates the UE-supported remote provisioning is either CP, UP or both (0027). In step 422, NG RAN selects AMF 403 as the target AMF for onboarding. In step 423, NG RAN forwards the NAS registration request message to the target AMF 403. In step 431, the new target AMF 403 sends UE context request message to an old source AMF 404, which has UE context information. In step 432, the source AMF 404 sends a UE context response message, together with the UE context information back to the target AMF 403. In step 441, UE performs onboarding registration with corresponding entities in the ON-SNPN (0028). The UE sends registration request with a 5GS Registration type set to “SPN Onboarding” (0029). In step 461, upon successful registration, UE follows the remote provisioning procedure (e.g., CP or UP) … Note that the ON-SNPN determines the provisioning procedure based on UE capability, as indicated in the registration request in step 421 … The UE then uses the obtained SNPN credentials to gain access to a specific SNPN, using normal registration procedure to get normal services from that specific SNPN (0030).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D2 to include UE remote provisioning capabilities in the registration request as taught by Lai in order to enable the UE to be remotely provisioned with credentials for gaining access to a specific SNPN.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 6-7 and 27-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2024/0224163) Starsinic et al teaches Onboarding wherein UE selects and attempts to register with a RAN node that is broadcasting in the SIB or MIB, an indication that the network supports UE onboarding and the RAN performs AMF selection.
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646