Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments directed to the newly amended claims filed 9/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Claim 1 is patentable over Hiroki because Hiroki discloses permanent screw fastening rather than a detachable coupling, lacks a dedicated third drive mechanism to move the transfer and bearing assembly as a unified moving unit, and lacks a fourth drive mechanism arranged on a side of the bearing assembly for independent angular rotation.
In response to Applicant's argument regarding the detachable coupling, Hiroki explicitly discloses that base end portions of the support arms are fixed to moving sliders by screws (Hiroki ¶44). Fastening components via screws inherently constitutes a detachable coupling interface rather than a permanent fixture. Furthermore, utilizing conventional threaded fasteners such as screws or bolts to establish a detachable connection between a driving mechanism and a driven transfer body represents a routine design choice that yields predictable results in terms of serviceability and component assembly (MPEP § 2144.04).
In response to Applicant's arguments regarding the third and fourth driving mechanisms, Hiroki explicitly teaches a multi-axis driving assembly comprising multiple independent electric motors 39A, 39B, and 39C (Hiroki ¶42), including embodiments where the entire transfer base is translated linearly (Hiroki ¶59–61 & Fig. 6C). Re-arranging or incorporating supplemental driving motors (such as a third or fourth drive) alongside existing drive mechanisms to selectively impart linear or rotational movement to the transfer body and bearing structures relies entirely on a predictable choice of known mechanical actuators executing their standard, expected functional roles to increase operational mobility (MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,8-10, 11-13, 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroki (US 20050005847 A1)
CLAIM 1. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device comprising a driving unit (Hiroki ¶15 & Fig. 7) , a transfer chamber 16 (Hiroki ¶36), a plurality of process chambers 20A-F (Hiroki ¶37 & Fig. 1), a first air extraction device (Hiroki ¶37-“A vacuum exhaust unit and a N.sub.2 gas supply unit (not shown) are connected to each of the load-lock chambers 22A and 22B so that an inner pressure thereof can be controlled to be set at a level between an atmospheric pressure and a vacuum.”), a second air extraction device (Hiroki ¶37-“A vacuum exhaust unit and a N.sub.2 gas supply unit (not shown) are connected to each of the load-lock chambers 22A and 22B so that an inner pressure thereof can be controlled to be set at a level between an atmospheric pressure and a vacuum.” – Under BRI even if the vacuum for exhausting gas is singular, vacuum/exhaust coupling to each disclosed chamber for creating a vacuum for the specific chamber may be considered a independent “air extraction device). As such the claim does not draw any distinction over what is common in the prior art. ), and a bearing assembly 26-30 (Hiroki ¶8 & Figs. 1-7) ; and the process chambers 20 coupled to the transfer chamber 15 (Hiroki Fig. 1);
wherein the transfer chamber 16 is configured to provide a sealed space (Hiroki ¶37 -“air tightly”), the first air extraction device is coupled to the transfer chamber 8/16, and the first air extraction device is configured to extract gas in the transfer chamber to carry out a first vacuum treatment on the transfer chamber (Hiroki ¶37); wherein the process chambers are configured for processing wafers (Hiroki ¶1), the second air extraction device or devices are coupled to the process chambers, and the second air extraction device is configured to extract gas in the process chamber to carry out a second vacuum treatment on the process chamber (Hiroki ¶37- apparatus as described is capable of achieving vacuum in all chambers (transfer and processing). The functional description does not provide any further structural distinction.); the bearing assembly is arranged in the transfer chamber, the bearing assembly is configured for supporting the wafers (Hiroki ¶37-38); and the driving unit is configured to adjust a position of the bearing assembly in the transfer chamber (Hiroki ¶44 & Figs. 1-7), and further to drive the bearing assembly to move between the transfer chamber and the process chambers (Hiroki ¶112 & Figs. 1-7 & 17);
wherein the driving unit comprises a first driving mechanism 36A (Hiroki & 42 & Claim 5 – “a driving mechanism”.), a second driving mechanism 36B and a transfer 8/16 (Hiroki ¶5 – “It is, therefore, an object of the present invention to improves positioning accuracy, reproducibility of the positioning accuracy or a throughput in a transfer mechanism of a semiconductor processing system.” ); wherein the transfer is arranged in the transfer chamber (Hiroki Figs. 1-7), the first driving mechanism is coupled to the transfer, and the first driving mechanism is configured for driving the transfer to move or rotate at an angle (Hiroki Figs. 1-7); and wherein the bearing assembly is arranged on the transfer (Hiroki ¶42 Figs. 1-7);, the second driving mechanism is arranged on a side of the transfer, and the second driving mechanism is configured for driving the bearing assembly to move between the process chamber and the transfer chamber (Hiroki ¶42 Figs. 1-7);.
Hiroki further discloses support arms 32A and 32B fixed on moving sliders 46A and 46B by screws (Hiroki ¶44—"Base end portions of the support arms 32A and 32B are fixed on the sliders 46A and 46B by screws, respectively.") and multiple distinct motor mechanisms 39A–C (Hiroki ¶42).
Hiroki is silent on a configuration wherein the transfer and the first driving mechanism are explicitly detachably coupled thereto, wherein the driving unit further comprises a third driving mechanism arranged on a side of the transfer configured for driving the transfer and the bearing assembly to move, and wherein a fourth driving mechanism is arranged on a side of the bearing assembly configured for driving the bearing assembly to rotate at an angle.
However, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to modify Hiroki to include:
Detachable coupling between the transfer and the first driving mechanism: A PHOSITA would recognize that providing a removable, threaded fastening interface or interlocking detachable bracket between a primary structural transfer component and its corresponding driving mechanism is a standard mechanical configuration utilized to facilitate rapid component replacement, simplify system maintainability, and allow for easier alignment adjustments during tool assembly. This rationale is supported under MPEP § 2144.04 regarding the equivalency of known structural designs and standard modifications.
A third driving mechanism arranged on a side of the transfer: A PHOSITA would recognize that adding an auxiliary or independent third drive motor assembly to handle secondary mechanical displacements, such as elevating, pivoting, or providing secondary linear travel to the entire transfer deck and its underlying support surfaces (as shown in Hiroki ¶59–61 & Fig. 6C), is a standard architectural layout for expanding the degree of kinetic freedom in multi-axis substrate handling robots. This rationale is supported under MPEP § 2144.04 regarding the duplication of parts.
A fourth driving mechanism arranged on a side of the bearing assembly: Incorporating an additional independent driving motor alongside existing drive mechanisms to selectively rotate substrate support structures relies entirely on a predictable choice of known mechanical actuators executing their standard, expected functional roles to increase operational mobility and wafer orientation precision.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time the invention was made to modify the wafer processing device of Hiroki to include a detachable coupling between the transfer and the first driving mechanism, a third driving mechanism arranged on a side of the transfer, and a fourth driving mechanism arranged on a side of the bearing assembly as claimed.
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to combine these standard structural modifications and predictable mechanical actuators to facilitate rapid component replacement, improve system maintainability and assembly alignment, expand multi-axis kinetic freedom, and enhance operational mobility and wafer orientation precision. Furthermore, because these modifications rely on routine engineering choices and predictable structural changes under MPEP § 2144.04, the PHOSITA would have proceeded with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 2. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, wherein the process chambers are defined to have a first pre-heating chamber and a first mini processing chamber, the first pre-heating chamber configured to pre-heat the wafers and the first mini processing chamber configured to process the pre-heated wafers (Hiroki ¶38 Figs. 1-7);.
CLAIM 3. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 2, wherein the process chambers are defined to have a first pre-heating chamber, a second pre-heating chamber, a first mini processing chamber and a second mini processing chamber, wherein the first pre-heating chamber and the second pre-heating chamber are configured to pre-heat or heat a first group of wafers and a second group of wafers respectively, and the first mini processing chamber and the second mini processing chamber are configured to process the first group of pre-heated or heated wafers and the second group of pre-heated or heated wafers (Hiroki ¶38 Figs. 1-7);..
CLAIM 4. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, wherein the process chambers are provided on an upper side or a lower side of the transfer chamber, and the driving unit is provided on a side of the transfer chamber away from the process chamber (Hiroki Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 8. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, wherein there are provided with at least two bearing assemblies (Hiroki Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 9. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, wherein at least two second driving mechanisms are provided, and each of the second driving mechanisms works independently (Hiroki Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 10, Hiroki discloses that each individual support arm includes structural features for holding a wafer position (“first and second support arms 32A and 32B... have a first and a second support surface for holding the substrates”). Hiroki is silent on a configuration wherein the bearing assembly is provided with N support portions, each of the support portions is configured for supporting the wafer, and N is an integer greater than 1. However, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to modify Hiroki to configure a single bearing assembly with multiple discrete support portions. A PHOSITA would recognize that configuring a substrate support fixture, blade, or carrier base to include multiple localized support pins, steps, or multi-level tiers (n > 1) represents a notoriously well-known mechanical configuration used to securely seat a wafer at multiple points or to accommodate multiple wafers in a stacked arrangement on a single structural arm. This rationale is supported under MPEP § 2144.04 regarding changes in structure and proportions. Altering a substrate bearing frame to provide a plurality of localized support interfaces or multi-point seating portions represents a routine variation of a known structural design choice that yields the standard, fully predictable advantage of enhanced mechanical stability during transport.
CLAIM 11. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, wherein there are provided with a plurality of process chambers, each of the process chambers works independently, and the driving unit is configured for driving the bearing assembly to move between the plurality of process chambers and the transfer chamber (Hiroki ¶7 & Figs. 1-7)..
CLAIM 12. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a feeding mechanism; wherein the feeding mechanism is coupled to the process chamber, and the feeding mechanism is configured for providing raw materials for the process chamber to process the wafer (Hiroki ¶7 & Figs. 1-7)..
CLAIM 13. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a seal or assembly provided on the bearing assembly, the seal or assembly being configured to separate the transfer chamber from the process chamber (Hiroki ¶44-46 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 14. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a fourth driving mechanism; and the fourth driving mechanism is arranged on a side of the bearing assembly, and the fourth driving mechanism is configured for driving the bearing assembly to rotate at an angle (Hiroki ¶44-46 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 15. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, further comprising an equipment body; wherein the equipment body is provided with the process chamber and the transfer chamber, the driving unit is arranged on the equipment body, and a sealing mode between the driving unit and the equipment body is adopted with a dynamic seal (Hiroki ¶43-44 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 16. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 15, further comprising a fifth driving mechanism; wherein the equipment body comprises a first fixing part and a second fixing part; wherein the process chamber is arranged on the first fixing part, and the first fixing part and the second fixing part are stacked with each other to form the transfer chamber within the first fixing part and the second fixing part; and wherein the fifth driving mechanism is arranged on the first fixing part and/or the second fixing part, and the fifth driving mechanism is configured to drive the first fixing part or the second fixing part to move (Hiroki ¶43-44 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 17. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a heating unit; wherein the heating unit is coupled to the transfer chamber, and the heating unit is configured for heating the transfer chamber (Hiroki ¶43-44 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 18. (Original) A wafer processing system, comprising a transport device and a wafer processing device according to claim 1; wherein the wafer processing device is provided with a transport channel, a transport device is coupled to the transport channel, and the transport device is configured for transporting the wafer (Hiroki ¶44 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 19. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing system according to claim 18, wherein at least two wafer processing devices are provided, and the two wafer processing devices are provided on different sides of the transport device, the transport device is configured for transporting the wafers to the respective wafer processing devices, and the transport device is configured for transporting the wafers of the respective wafer processing devices (Hiroki ¶44 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 20. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing system according to claim 18, further comprising a front processing device; wherein the front processing device is arranged at a side of the transport device, the front processing device is provided with a wafer circulating box, the transport device is configured to transport the wafer to the wafer circulating box and/or the wafer processing device, and the front processing device is configured for transporting the wafer circulating box (Hiroki ¶44 & Figs. 1-7).
CLAIM 21. Hiroki teaches a wafer processing system according to claim 20, further comprising a wafer transport box and a transport mechanism; wherein the wafer transport box is arranged on the front processing device, and the front processing device is configured for conveying the wafer circulating box to the wafer transport box; and the transport mechanism is configured for conveying the wafer transport box (Hiroki ¶44 & Figs. 1-7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
10/5/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898