DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on February 12, 2024, November 17, 2025, and January 7, 2026 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0095283 – cited by Applicant – hereinafter referred to as “Takeda”).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda teaches an electronic device (Figure 1 display device 100) comprising a first display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11j, [0090]), a second display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11i, [0090]), and an optical element (Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A, [0047]),
wherein the first display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11j) comprises a first light-emitting element ([0087] imaging forming unit 11j has a first light-emitting element),
wherein the second display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11i) comprises a second light-emitting element ([0087] imaging forming unit 11i has a second light-emitting element),
wherein a color of first light emitted from the first light-emitting element is different from a color of second light emitted from the second light-emitting element ([0101] a difference in wavelength between light beams K1 and K2 emitted by image forming units 11i,j is set and thus a color of light from first light-emitting element is different from a color of light from second light-emitting element),
wherein the optical element (Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A) is provided between the first display apparatus (image forming unit 11j) and the second display apparatus (image forming unit 11i; Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A is between image forming units 11i and 11j), and
wherein the optical element (Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A) comprises a first light guide plate (Figure 9 light guiding plate 32a, [0073]) and a second light guide plate (Figure 9 light guiding plate 31a, [0073]).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda teaches an electronic device (Figure 1 display device 100) comprising a first display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11j, [0090]), a second display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11i, [0090]), and an optical element (Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A, [0047]),
wherein the first display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11j) comprises a first light-emitting element ([0087] imaging forming unit 11j has a first light-emitting element),
wherein the second display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming unit 11i) comprises a second light-emitting element ([0087] imaging forming unit 11i has a second light-emitting element),
wherein a color of first light (Figure 9 light beam K2) emitted from the first light-emitting element is different from a color of second light (Figure 9 light beam K1) emitted from the second light-emitting element ([0101] a difference in wavelength between light beams K1 and K2 emitted by image forming units 11i,j is set and thus a color of light from first light-emitting element is different from a color of light from second light-emitting element),
wherein the optical element (Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A) is provided between the first display apparatus (image forming unit 11j) and the second display apparatus (image forming unit 11i; Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A is between image forming units 11i and 11j),
wherein the optical element (Figure 9 display light guiding unit 13A) comprises a first light guide plate (Figure 9 light guiding plate 32a, [0073]), a second light guide plate (Figure 9 light guiding plate 31a, [0073]), a first input portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 32b, [0087]), a second input portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 31b, [0087]), a first output portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 32c, [0056]), and a second output portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 31c, [0058]),
wherein the first input portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 32b, [0087]) is configured to make the first light enter the first light guide plate (Figure 9 light K2 enters light guiding plate 32a through diffraction element 32b),
wherein the second input portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 31b, [0087]) is configured to make the second light enter the second light guide plate (Figure 9 light K1 enters light guiding plate 31a through diffraction element 31b),
wherein the first output portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 32c, [0056]) is configured to deliver the first light (Figure 9 light K2) entering the first light guide plate to an outside of the first light guide plate (Figure 9 light K2 exits light guide plate 32a through diffraction element 32c, [0056]), and
wherein the second output portion diffraction element (Figure 9 diffraction element 31c, [0058]) is configured to deliver the second light (Figure 9 light K1) entering the second light guide plate to an outside of the second light guide plate (Figure 9 light K1 exits light guide plate 31a through diffraction element 31c, [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Takeda further teaches the first display apparatus comprises a region overlapping with the second display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming units 11i,j overlap) with the optical element therebetween (Figure 9 light guiding unit 13A is between image forming units 11i,j).
Regarding claim 18, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 2. Takeda further teaches the first display apparatus comprises a region overlapping with the second display apparatus (Figure 9 image forming units 11i,j overlap) with the optical element therebetween (Figure 9 light guiding unit 13A is between image forming units 11i,j).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0095283).
Regarding claim 4, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Takeda fails to teach the first display apparatus does not overlap with the second display apparatus with the optical element therebetween. However, in a separate embodiment (Figure 10), Takeda teaches a first display apparatus (image forming unit 11) does not overlap with a second display apparatus (image forming unit 11j). It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the first and second display apparatuses with the optical element therebetween as taught by Takeda in Figure 9 such that they do not overlap as taught by Takeda in Figure 10 as doing so would be a matter of design choice and would merely require a rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 19, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 2. Takeda fails to teach the first display apparatus does not overlap with the second display apparatus with the optical element therebetween. However, in a separate embodiment (Figure 10), Takeda teaches a first display apparatus (image forming unit 11i) does not overlap with a second display apparatus (image forming unit 11j). It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the first and second display apparatuses with the optical element therebetween as taught by Takeda in Figure 9 such that they do not overlap as taught by Takeda in Figure 10 as doing so would be a matter of design choice and would merely require a rearrangement of parts.
Claims 5-7, 10, 20-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0095283) as applied to claims 3 and 18 above in view of Kubota (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0063815).
Regarding claim 5, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Takeda fails to teach the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, and a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element are different from each other. However, Kubota teaches a head mounted display (Figure 1) with a third light-emitting element (Figure 2 light emitting device 20 has third light emitting element pixel Pb1) and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, and a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element are different from each other (Figure 7 light emitting device 20 emits red, green, and blue light, [0062]). Kubota further teaches using a third light-emitting element with emitting a different color in order to display a full color image ([0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second display apparatus taught by Takeda to have the third light-emitting element with emitting a different color taught by Kubota in order to display a full color image (Kubota [0014]).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda and Kubota teaches all the limitation of the claimed invention with respect to claim 5. Takeda fails to teach the optical element further comprises a third input portion diffraction element and a third output portion diffraction element, wherein the third input portion diffraction element is configured to make the third light enter the first light guide plate, wherein the third output portion diffraction element is configured to deliver the third light entering the first light guide plate to the outside of the first light guide plate, and wherein an image is formed by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate.
However, Kubota teaches the optical element further comprises a third input portion diffraction element (Figure 7 diffractive optical element H9, [0065]) and a third output portion diffraction element (Figure 7 diffractive optical element H11, [0065]), wherein the third input portion diffraction element is configured to make the third light enter the first light guide plate (Figure 7, [0065] diffractive optical element H9 is configure make B1 enter light guide unit 42), wherein the third output portion diffraction element is configured to deliver the third light entering the first light guide plate to the outside of the first light guide plate (Figure 7, [0065] diffractive optical element H11 is configure make B1 exit light guide unit 42), and wherein an image is formed by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate (Figure 7 light R1 and B1 are delivered by light guide unit 42) and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate (Figure 7 light G1 is delivered by light guide unit 41). Kubota further teaches a third input and output diffraction element to guide blue light to the eye and forming a image by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate in order to reduce loss of green and improve image quality ([0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by including third input and output diffraction elements and forming an image by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate as taught by Kubota to guide blue light to the eye and forming a image by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate in order to reduce loss of green and improve image quality (Kubota [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Takeda and Kubota teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 5. Takeda fails to teach wherein the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pr1 emits red light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pg1 emits green light), and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pb1 emits blue light). Kubota further teaches using red, green, and blue light in order to display a full color image ([0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to emit red, green, and blue light as taught by Kubota in order to display a full color image (Kubota [0014]).
Regarding claim 10, Takeda and Kubota teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 5. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pb1 emits blue light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting red light. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pg1 emits green light), and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting red light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pr1 emits red light). Kubota further teaches using red, green, and blue light in order to display a full color image ([0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to emit red, green, and blue light as taught by Kubota in order to display a full color image (Kubota [0014]).
Regarding claim 20, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 18. Takeda fails to teach the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, and a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element are different from each other. However, Kubota teaches a head mounted display (Figure 1) with a third light-emitting element (Figure 2 light emitting device 20 has third light emitting element pixel Pb1) and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, and a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element are different from each other (Figure 7 light emitting device 20 emits red, green, and blue light, [0062]). Kubota further teaches using a third light-emitting element with emitting a different color in order to display a full color image ([0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second display apparatus taught by Takeda to have the third light-emitting element with emitting a different color taught by Kubota in order to display a full color image (Kubota [0014]).
Regarding claim 21, Takeda and Kubota teaches all the limitation of the claimed invention with respect to claim 20. Takeda fails to teach the optical element further comprises a third input portion diffraction element and a third output portion diffraction element, wherein the third input portion diffraction element is configured to make the third light enter the first light guide plate, wherein the third output portion diffraction element is configured to deliver the third light entering the first light guide plate to the outside of the first light guide plate, and wherein an image is formed by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate.
However, Kubota teaches the optical element further comprises a third input portion diffraction element (Figure 7 diffractive optical element H9, [0065]) and a third output portion diffraction element (Figure 7 diffractive optical element H11, [0065]), wherein the third input portion diffraction element is configured to make the third light enter the first light guide plate (Figure 7, [0065] diffractive optical element H9 is configure make B1 enter light guide unit 42), wherein the third output portion diffraction element is configured to deliver the third light entering the first light guide plate to the outside of the first light guide plate (Figure 7, [0065] diffractive optical element H11 is configure make B1 exit light guide unit 42), and wherein an image is formed by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate (Figure 7 light R1 and B1 are delivered by light guide unit 42) and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate (Figure 7 light G1 is delivered by light guide unit 41). Kubota further teaches a third input and output diffraction element to guide blue light to the eye and forming a image by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate in order to reduce loss of green and improve image quality ([0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by including third input and output diffraction elements and forming an image by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate as taught by Kubota to guide blue light to the eye and forming a image by synthesizing the first light and the third light delivered by the first light guide plate and the second light delivered by the second light guide plate in order to reduce loss of green and improve image quality (Kubota [0016]).
Regarding claim 22, Takeda and Kubota teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 20. Takeda fails to teach wherein the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pr1 emits red light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pg1 emits green light), and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pb1 emits blue light). Kubota further teaches using red, green, and blue light in order to display a full color image ([0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to emit red, green, and blue light as taught by Kubota in order to display a full color image (Kubota [0014]).
Regarding claim 25, Takeda and Kubota teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 20. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pb1 emits blue light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting red light. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pg1 emits green light), and wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting red light (Figure 2, [0039] pixel Pr1 emits red light). Kubota further teaches using red, green, and blue light in order to display a full color image ([0014]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to emit red, green, and blue light as taught by Kubota in order to display a full color image (Kubota [0014]).
Claims 8-9, 11, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0095283) in view of Kubota (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0063815) as applied to claims 7, 10, 22, and 25 above, and further in view of Fabien et al. (International Publication No. WO 2020/163436 – cited by Applicant – hereinafter referred to as “Fabien”).
Regarding claim 8, Takeda and Kubota teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a micro light-emitting diode (LED) comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting elements may be an inorganic LED). A prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device taught by Takeda to use inorganic LEDs as taught by Kubota since the use of inorganic light emitting diodes is well known and common in the art.
Takeda and Kubota fail to teach the LEDs are micro LEDs. However, Fabien teaches an LED display (Abstract) using micro LEDs ([0003]). Fabien further teaches micro LEDs are useful due to their small size, high packing density, and high brightness ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda and Kubota to use micro LEDs as taught by Fabien since micro LEDs have several benefits including small size, high packing density, and high brightness (Fabien [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Takeda and Kubota teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is a light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material, and wherein the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element is a light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting element may be an organic LED), and wherein the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting element may be an inorganic LED). A prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device taught by Takeda to use organic and inorganic LEDs as taught by Kubota since the use of organic and inorganic LEDs is well known and common in the art.
Takeda and Kubota fail to teach the LEDs are micro LEDs. However, Fabien teaches an LED display (Abstract) using micro LEDs ([0003]). Fabien further teaches micro LEDs are useful due to their small size, high packing density, and high brightness ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda and Kubota to use micro LEDs as taught by Fabien since micro LEDs have several benefits including small size, high packing density, and high brightness (Fabien [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Takeda and Kubota teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a micro light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting element may be an organic LED). A prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device taught by Takeda to use organic LEDs as taught by Kubota since the use of organic LEDs is well known and common in the art.
Takeda and Kubota fail to teach the LEDs are micro LEDs. However, Fabien teaches an LED display (Abstract) using micro LEDs ([0003]). Fabien further teaches micro LEDs are useful due to their small size, high packing density, and high brightness ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda and Kubota to use micro LEDs as taught by Fabien since micro LEDs have several benefits including small size, high packing density, and high brightness (Fabien [0002]).
Regarding claim 23, Takeda and Kubota teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 22. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a micro light-emitting diode (LED) comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting elements may be an inorganic LED). A prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device taught by Takeda to use inorganic LEDs as taught by Kubota since the use of inorganic light emitting diodes is well known and common in the art.
Takeda and Kubota fail to teach the LEDs are micro LEDs. However, Fabien teaches an LED display (Abstract) using micro LEDs ([0003]). Fabien further teaches micro LEDs are useful due to their small size, high packing density, and high brightness ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda and Kubota to use micro LEDs as taught by Fabien since micro LEDs have several benefits including small size, high packing density, and high brightness (Fabien [0002]).
Regarding claim 24, Takeda and Kubota teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 22. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is a light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material, and wherein the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element is a light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting element may be an organic LED), and wherein the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an inorganic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting element may be an inorganic LED). A prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device taught by Takeda to use organic and inorganic LEDs as taught by Kubota since the use of organic and inorganic LEDs is well known and common in the art.
Takeda and Kubota fail to teach the LEDs are micro LEDs. However, Fabien teaches an LED display (Abstract) using micro LEDs ([0003]). Fabien further teaches micro LEDs are useful due to their small size, high packing density, and high brightness ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda and Kubota to use micro LEDs as taught by Fabien since micro LEDs have several benefits including small size, high packing density, and high brightness (Fabien [0002]).
Regarding claim 26, Takeda and Kubota teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 25. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a micro light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material. However, Kubota teaches the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element are each a light-emitting diode comprising an organic compound as a light-emitting material ([0019] light emitting element may be an organic LED). A prima facie case of obviousness exists when selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device taught by Takeda to use organic LEDs as taught by Kubota since the use of organic LEDs is well known and common in the art.
Takeda and Kubota fail to teach the LEDs are micro LEDs. However, Fabien teaches an LED display (Abstract) using micro LEDs ([0003]). Fabien further teaches micro LEDs are useful due to their small size, high packing density, and high brightness ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda and Kubota to use micro LEDs as taught by Fabien since micro LEDs have several benefits including small size, high packing density, and high brightness (Fabien [0002]).
Claims 12-17 and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0095283) as applied to claims 3 and 18 above in view of Fabien (International Publication No. WO 2020/163436).
Regarding claim 12, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Takeda fails to teach wherein the first display apparatus further comprises a fourth light-emitting element, wherein the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other.
However, Fabien teaches a head mounted display (Figure 4) where the first display apparatus further comprises a fourth light-emitting element ([0127] image source 412 may include one or more micro-LED devices , [0103] may emit yellow light), wherein the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element ([0127] image source 412 may include one or more micro-LED devices and may emit blue light), and wherein the color of the first light ([0103] red light), the color of the second light ([0103] green light), a color of third light ([0103] blue light) emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light ([0103] yellow light) emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other ([0103] emits red, green, blue, white, or yellow light). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by modifying the first display apparatus to add a fourth light-emitting element, the second display apparatus to add a third light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 13, Takeda and Fabien teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Takeda fails to teach an image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element. However, Fabien teaches an image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element (Figure 5A waveguide display 530, [0131]-[0132], [0138]). ). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to form an image by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 14, Takeda and Fabien teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light, and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting yellow light. However, Fabien teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light ([0103] red light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light ([0103] green light), wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light ([0103] blue light), and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting yellow light ([0103] yellow light). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by having the light-emitting elements emit red, green, blue, and yellow light as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 15, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Takeda fails to teach wherein the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element and a fourth light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other. However, Fabien teaches the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element and a fourth light-emitting element ([0127] image source 412 may include one or more micro-LED devices, [0103] may emit blue and yellow light), and wherein the color of the first light ([0103] red light), the color of the second light ([0103] green light), a color of third light ([0103] blue light) emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light ([0103] white light) emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other. Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by having the second display apparatus comprise a third and fourth light emitting element emitting different colors as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 16, Takeda and Fabien teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 15. Takeda fails to teach image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element. However, Fabien teaches an image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element (Figure 5A waveguide display 530, [0131]-[0132], [0138]). ). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to form an image by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 17, Takeda and Fabien teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 15. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light, and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting white light. However, Fabien teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light ([0103] red light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light ([0103] green light), wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light ([0103] blue light), and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting white light ([0103] white light). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by having the light-emitting elements emit red, green, blue, and white light as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 27, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 18. Takeda fails to teach wherein the first display apparatus further comprises a fourth light-emitting element, wherein the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other.
However, Fabien teaches a head mounted display (Figure 4) where the first display apparatus further comprises a fourth light-emitting element ([0127] image source 412 may include one or more micro-LED devices , [0103] may emit yellow light), wherein the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element ([0127] image source 412 may include one or more micro-LED devices and may emit blue light), and wherein the color of the first light ([0103] red light), the color of the second light ([0103] green light), a color of third light ([0103] blue light) emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light ([0103] yellow light) emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other ([0103] emits red, green, blue, white, or yellow light). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by modifying the first display apparatus to add a fourth light-emitting element, the second display apparatus to add a third light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 28, Takeda and Fabien teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 27. Takeda fails to teach an image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element. However, Fabien teaches an image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element (Figure 5A waveguide display 530, [0131]-[0132], [0138]). ). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to form an image by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 29, Takeda and Fabien teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 27. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light, and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting yellow light. However, Fabien teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light ([0103] red light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light ([0103] green light), wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light ([0103] blue light), and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting yellow light ([0103] yellow light). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by having the light-emitting elements emit red, green, blue, and yellow light as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 30, Takeda teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 18. Takeda fails to teach wherein the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element and a fourth light-emitting element, and wherein the color of the first light, the color of the second light, a color of third light emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other. However, Fabien teaches the second display apparatus further comprises a third light-emitting element and a fourth light-emitting element ([0127] image source 412 may include one or more micro-LED devices, [0103] may emit blue and yellow light), and wherein the color of the first light ([0103] red light), the color of the second light ([0103] green light), a color of third light ([0103] blue light) emitted from the third light-emitting element, and a color of fourth light ([0103] white light) emitted from the fourth light-emitting element are different from each other. Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by having the second display apparatus comprise a third and fourth light emitting element emitting different colors as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 31, Takeda and Fabien teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 30. Takeda fails to teach image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element. However, Fabien teaches an image is formed by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element (Figure 5A waveguide display 530, [0131]-[0132], [0138]). ). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda to form an image by synthesizing the first light, the second light, the third light, and the fourth light delivered by the optical element as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Regarding claim 32, Takeda and Fabien teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 30. Takeda fails to teach the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light, wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light, wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light, and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting white light. However, Fabien teaches the first light-emitting element is an element emitting red light ([0103] red light), wherein the second light-emitting element is an element emitting green light ([0103] green light), wherein the third light-emitting element is an element emitting blue light ([0103] blue light), and wherein the fourth light-emitting element is an element emitting white light ([0103] white light). Fabien further teaches any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display [0138]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Takeda by having the light-emitting elements emit red, green, blue, and white light as taught by Fabien since any number of colored LEDs may be used in a color display (Fabien [0138]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0263324) teaches a display device using multiple waveguides and diffraction optical elements to conduct different colors of light through the display.
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872