DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (KR 20130057738 A)
With respect to claim 1, Song discloses a display panel, comprising: a substrate layer [100]; and a light-emitting layer comprising a first electrode [110], a hole injection layer [121], a first light-emitting unit layer [122], an electron-generating layer [131], a hole-generating layer [132], a second light-emitting unit layer [142], and a second electrode [150] stacked in sequence, the first electrode being disposed on the substrate layer (see Figure 1), the electron-generating layer [131] comprising n-type dopants (see ¶[0029-0030]), and the hole-generating layer [132] comprising p-type dopants (see ¶[0046-0047]); wherein a first direction is perpendicular to the substrate layer and extends from the substrate layer to the light-emitting layer, and in the first direction, the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer has a plurality of doping concentrations, and the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer tend to decrease in the first direction (See ¶[0042]); and/or the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer has a plurality of doping concentrations, and the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer tend to increase in the first direction.
With respect to claim 2, Song discloses wherein in a case that the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer tend to decrease in the first direction, the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer gradually decrease in the first direction; and in a case that the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer tend to increase in the first direction, the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer gradually increase in the first direction (See ¶[0031] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 3, Song discloses wherein a rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer gradually decrease in the first direction; and a rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer gradually increase in the first direction (see ¶[0037 and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 4, Song discloses wherein an absolute value of the rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer is the same as an absolute value of the rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer (see ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 5, Song discloses wherein each of the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants ranges from a first concentration to a second concentration, and a difference between the first concentration and the second concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 19 wt %; and each of the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants ranges from a third concentration to a fourth concentration, and a difference between the third concentration and the fourth concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 19 wt % (see ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 6, Song discloses wherein the first concentration ranges from 6 wt % to 20 wt %, and the second concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 5 wt %; and the third concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 5 wt %, and the fourth concentration ranges from 6 wt % to 20 wt % (see ¶[0031], ¶[0035], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 7, Song discloses wherein the electron-generating layer consists of X layers of electron-generating sub-layers stacked in the first direction, a concentration of n-type dopants in a first electron-generating sub-layer is N1, a concentration of n-type dopants in a second electron-generating sub-layer is N2, and a concentration of n-type dopants in a third electron-generating sub-layer is N3, . . . , and a concentration of n-type dopants in a X-th electron-generating sub-layer is NX; and wherein X is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and N1>N2>N3> . . . >NX-1>NX (see ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]; [131a], [131b], [131c]).
With respect to claim 12, Song discloses a mobile terminal comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a substrate layer [100]; a light-emitting layer comprising a first electrode [110], a hole injection layer [121], a first light-emitting unit layer [122], an electron-generating layer [131], a hole-generating layer [132], a second light-emitting unit layer [142], and a second electrode [150] stacked in sequence, the first electrode is disposed on the substrate layer (see Figure 1), the electron-generating layer [131] comprises n-type dopants (see ¶[0029-0030]), and the hole-generating layer [132] comprises p-type dopants (see ¶[0046-0047]); wherein a first direction is perpendicular to the substrate layer and extends from the substrate layer to the light-emitting layer, and in the first direction, the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer has a plurality of doping concentrations, and the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer tend to decrease in the first direction (See ¶[0042]); and/or the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer has a plurality of doping concentrations, and the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer tend to increase in the first direction.
With respect to claim 13, Song discloses wherein in a case that the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer tend to decrease in the first direction, the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer gradually decrease in the first direction; and in a case that the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer tend to increase in the first direction, the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer gradually increase in the first direction (See ¶[0031] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 14, Song discloses wherein a rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer gradually decrease in the first direction; and a rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer gradually increase in the first direction (see ¶[0037 and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 15, Song discloses wherein an absolute value of the rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants in the electron-generating layer is the same as an absolute value of the rate of change of the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants in the hole-generating layer (see ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 16, Song discloses wherein each of the plurality of doping concentrations of the n-type dopants ranges from a first concentration to a second concentration, and a difference between the first concentration and the second concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 19 wt %; and each of the plurality of doping concentrations of the p-type dopants ranges from a third concentration to a fourth concentration, and a difference between the third concentration and the fourth concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 19 wt % (see ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 17, Song discloses wherein the first concentration ranges from 6 wt % to 20 wt %, and the second concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 5 wt %; and the third concentration ranges from 1 wt % to 5 wt %, and the fourth concentration ranges from 6 wt % to 20 wt % (see ¶[0031], ¶[0035], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]).
With respect to claim 18, Song discloses wherein the electron-generating layer consists of X layers of electron-generating sub-layers stacked in the first direction, a concentration of n-type dopants in a first electron-generating sub-layer is N1, a concentration of n-type dopants in a second electron-generating sub-layer is N2, and a concentration of n-type dopants in a third electron-generating sub-layer is N3, . . . , and a concentration of n-type dopants in a X-th electron-generating sub-layer is NX; and wherein X is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and N1>N2>N3> . . . >NX-1>NX (see ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]; [131a], [131b], [131c]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Lim et al. (KR 20130025115 A; hereinafter Lim).
With respect to claim 8, Song fails to disclose wherein the hole-generating layer consists of Y layers of hole-generating sub-layers stacked in the first direction, a concentration of p-type dopants in a first hole-generating sub-layer is M1, a concentration of p-type dopants in a second hole-generating sub-layer is M2, a concentration of p-type dopants in a third hole-generating sub-layer is M3, and a concentration of p-type dopants in the hole-generating sub-layer of a Yth layer is MY; and wherein Y is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and M1<M2<M3< . . . <MY-1<MY. In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein the hole-generating layer consists of Y layers of hole-generating sub-layers stacked in the first direction, a concentration of p-type dopants in a first hole-generating sub-layer is M1, a concentration of p-type dopants in a second hole-generating sub-layer is M2, a concentration of p-type dopants in a third hole-generating sub-layer is M3, and a concentration of p-type dopants in the hole-generating sub-layer of a Yth layer is MY; and wherein Y is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and M1<M2<M3< . . . <MY-1<MY. (See ¶[0019], ¶[0025] and ¶[0030]). Implementation of sub-layers within the hole generating layer allows for improved charge transfer speeds and reduced driving voltage, and color control (See Lim ¶[0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Song and Lim discloses wherein the electron-generating layer comprises a first electron-generating sub-layer, a second electron-generating sub-layer, and a third electron-generating sub-layer stacked in the first direction (see Song ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]; [131a], [131b], [131c]), and the hole-generating layer comprises a first hole-generating sub-layer, a second hole generating sub-layer, and a third hole-generating sub-layer stacked in the first direction; and wherein a concentration of n-type dopants in the first electron-generating sub-layer is the same as a concentration of p-type dopants in the third hole-generating sub-layer, a concentration of n-type dopants in the second electron-generating sub-layer is the same as a concentration of p-type dopants in the second hole-generating sub-layer, and a concentration of n-type dopants in the third electron-generating sub-layer is the same as a concentration of p-type dopants in the first hole-generating sub-layer (see Lim ¶[0019], ¶[0025] and ¶[0030]).
With respect to claim 19, Song fails to disclose wherein the hole-generating layer consists of Y layers of hole-generating sub-layers stacked in the first direction, a concentration of p-type dopants in a first hole-generating sub-layer is M1, a concentration of p-type dopants in a second hole-generating sub-layer is M2, a concentration of p-type dopants in a third hole-generating sub-layer is M3, and a concentration of p-type dopants in the hole-generating sub-layer of a Yth layer is MY; and wherein Y is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and M1<M2<M3< . . . <MY-1<MY. In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein the hole-generating layer consists of Y layers of hole-generating sub-layers stacked in the first direction, a concentration of p-type dopants in a first hole-generating sub-layer is M1, a concentration of p-type dopants in a second hole-generating sub-layer is M2, a concentration of p-type dopants in a third hole-generating sub-layer is M3, and a concentration of p-type dopants in the hole-generating sub-layer of a Yth layer is MY; and wherein Y is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, and M1<M2<M3< . . . <MY-1<MY (See ¶[0019], ¶[0025] and ¶[0030]). Implementation of sub-layers within the hole generating layer allows for improved charge transfer speeds and reduced driving voltage, and color control (See Lim ¶[0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Song and Lim discloses wherein the electron-generating layer comprises a first electron-generating sub-layer, a second electron-generating sub-layer, and a third electron-generating sub-layer stacked in the first direction (see Song ¶[0031], ¶[0037] and ¶[0042]; [131a], [131b], [131c]), and the hole-generating layer comprises a first hole-generating sub-layer, a second hole-generating sub-layer, and a third hole-generating sub-layer stacked in the first direction; and wherein a concentration of n-type dopants in the first electron-generating sub-layer is the same as a concentration of p-type dopants in the third hole-generating sub-layer, a concentration of n-type dopants in the second electron-generating sub-layer is the same as a concentration of p-type dopants in the second hole-generating sub-layer, and a concentration of n-type dopants in the third electron-generating sub-layer is the same as a concentration of p-type dopants in the first hole-generating sub-layer (see Lim ¶[0019], ¶[0025] and ¶[0030]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Ma et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0159084 A1; hereinafter Ma)
With respect to claim 10, Song fails to disclose wherein in the light-emitting layer, an intermediate layer is disposed between the electron-generating layer and the hole-generating layer, and a material of the intermediate layer has a property of transporting electrons. In the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches wherein in the light-emitting layer, an intermediate layer [52] is disposed between the electron-generating layer [53] and the hole-generating layer [51], and a material of the intermediate layer has a property of transporting electrons (See Figure 2) Implementation of an intermediate layer as taught by Ma within the device of Song improves electron transport performance (see ¶[0029-0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the combination of references would arrive at the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Song and Ma discloses wherein the material of the intermediate layer comprises at least one of metal compounds, alkaline metals, and inorganic compounds (see Ma ¶[0039]).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818