DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the reference asserted by the Patent Office does not disclose or render obvious the special technical feature of the present claims. This is not found persuasive because the claim states that “an array of clocking feature interfaces disposed in the repository plate configured to guide clocking features of each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices into predetermined radial orientations,” and this recitation does not specify how the repository plate guides the clocking features and as this limitation is a functional limitation (MPEP § 2114), as long as the device of Marcos can be used to guide the clocking features, Marcos would read on the instant claims. In this case, as the applicant has pointed out, the Taylor cone emitter devices are only able to be inserted in a precise radial orientation, means that it can only be inserted in certain directions and therefore is considered to “guide” the clocking features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marcos, Tascon et al., “High-Throughput Screening and Quantitation of Target Compounds in Biofluids by Coated Blade Spray-Mass Spectrometry”, Analytical Chemistry, vol. 89, no. 16, 17 July 2017, pages 8421-8428, hereinafter Marcos.
Regarding claim 1, Marcos teaches a Taylor cone emitter device repository (abstract), comprising: a repository plate (figure 2B); a repository wall (the walls holding the plate as shown in figure 2D) extending from the repository plate and peripherally surrounding a substrate chamber (figure 2D); an array of orifices (figure 2c) disposed in the repository plate (figure 2), each configured to receive and retain a substrate and a receptacle mount of one of an array of Taylor cone emitter devices (figure 2); and an array of clocking feature interfaces disposed in the repository plate configured to guide clocking features of each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices into predetermined radial orientations such that the array of clocking feature interfaces fixes each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices in the predetermined radial orientations (figure 2, the flat surface have two orientations and therefore guide in a predetermined radial orientation), wherein: the substrate chamber is configured to at least partially receive a microtiter array tray and to accept the substrate of each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices with the substrate and a tapering tip extending from the substrate being remote from contact with the repository wall or any adjacent of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices disposed in the Taylor cone emitter device repository (lowering the blades into the microtiter plate labeled extraction in figure 2C); and the array of orifices disposed in the repository plate is distributed in alignment with the microtiter array tray such that each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices, when the microtiter array tray is at least partially received by the substrate chamber, is disposed within a separate well of the microtiter array tray (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Marcos teaches wherein the array of orifices includes 96 orifices in an 8x12 matrix (page 8423, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 4, Marcos teaches wherein the repository wall is configured to fit over the microtiter array tray in peripheral contact with a peripheral surface of the microtiter array tray (figure 2C).
Regarding claim 5, Marcos teaches further including a repository base (the bottom of where the walls holding the plate as shown in figure 2D) having a cavity configured to receive the microtiter array tray (figure 2D), wherein the repository wall is configured to engage with the repository base (figure 2), defining the substrate chamber in conjunction with the repository plate (figure 2), with the microtiter array tray being disposed entirely within the substrate chamber (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Marcos teaches further including a repository cover (the structure holding the array of Taylor cone emitter devices), wherein the repository cover is configured to mount over the repository plate so as to secure the array of Taylor cone emitter devices within the array of orifices (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, the Taylor cone emitter device is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the Taylor cone emitter device has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Marcos. Further, this limitation is taught in figure 2A.
Regarding claim 8, Marcos teaches wherein the receptacle mount is a pipette tip receptacle mount (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcos in view of United States Patent No. 6,066,848, hereinafter Kassel.
Regarding claim 2, Marcos teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Marcos fails to teach the array of orifices includes 48 orifices in a 6x8 matrix.
Kassel teaches a device which utilizes microtiter plates with either 96 wells or 48 wells (6x8 array) (Kassel, column 24, lines 24-33).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., an array with 48 orifices) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., an array with 96 orifices) with other component(s) (i.e., an array with 48 orifices), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., an array with 96 orifices with one of 48 orifices), and the results of the substitution (i.e., holding fluid) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute an array with 96 orifices of reference Marcos with an array with 48 orifices of reference Kassel, since the result would have been predictable.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796