Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-4 and 6-19 are pending, claim 5 is cancelled, and claims 1, 7-9, and 17-19 are amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: drive mechanism in claims 1, 17, 18, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 currently depends from a cancelled claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noakes (U.S. 5,121,884) in view of Kelly (U.S. 4,581,675).
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Noakes discloses a device for electro spraying or electro spinning wherein said device comprises a chamber (chamber of container 14) for housing a fluid to be electro spun or electro sprayed (title, figure 1), said chamber comprising:
i) a non-conductive outlet (outlet formed by 8, 8 being made from plastic and the nozzle is noted being insulated, column 5 rows 25-55, where both 8 and nozzle within are made from insulating materials being non-conductive materials) through which said fluid is dispensed (as fluid is dispensed via the element within 8); and
ii) an associated drive mechanism (the drive mechanism being 20, the vale) for ensuring said fluid is moved towards said outlet (as the valve opens allowing fluid to move through the outlet);
at least one electrically conducting member (32) situated in and/or about said fluid in said chamber (being about the fluid such that it contacts the chamber, which is conductive) or at least one movable electrically conducting member that can be at least partially positioned in said fluid in said chamber when the fluid is to be charged (column 4 rows 45-57). Noakes discloses the chamber and the movable electrically conducting member, but fails to disclose said chamber has a wall including an aperture through which said movable electrically conducting member can be inserted, wherein said wall is provided by at least one apertured and aligned sheet.
Kelly, figures 6-7, discloses the chamber of 16 which has a conducting member 38 that is movable with respect to an aperture (column 11 rows 54-67 moving the electrode within the chamber, column 13 row 60 through column 14 row 5, discloses such gap spacing between the electrodes can change the flow rates obtained by the current, where the movement of the electrode allows then for change in flow within the chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the moving electrode teaching of Kelly within the chamber via an aperture in the chamber wall into the system of Noakes, to not only apply voltage to the chamber as Noakes teaches, but to vary the amount of current applied by adjust the gap between charging elements within a system to change the flow of fluid in the system.
With respect to claims 6 and 19, Noakes as modified discloses wherein said aperture and said movable electrically conducting member are sized and shaped to ensure fluid is unable to leak from said chamber when the two engage (as understood in Kelly, the moveable element would be sized such that there isn’t leaking and fluid would be supplied via the outlet as desired and not leaking through a sidewall of the device).
With respect to claim 2, Noakes discloses said non-conductive outlet is a nozzle (outlet formed by 8, 8 being made from plastic and the nozzle is noted being insulated, column 5 rows 25-55, where both 8 and nozzle within are made from insulating materials being non-conductive materials).
With respect to claim 4, Noakes discloses conducting member is aligned with a part of the chamber (figure 3, 32 aligned with 14) which is proximal to, but spaced from, said nozzle and so represents a part of the chamber that is upstream of said nozzle (being the back end of the chamber which is upstream from said nozzle and spaced away from said nozzle).
With respect to claim 8, Noakes ad modified by Kelly discloses each aperture is designed to accommodate said movable conducting member (as disclosed by Kelly, the shown aperture allows for the conducive member to move relative thereto).
With respect to claim 9, Noakes as modified by Kelly discloses said sheet of the wall is made from a different material to the rest of the chamber and its nozzle (as the modified element of Noakes is that of the sheet being the wall of 14, which is different from other materials of the chamber such as that of metal foil sac 19 and the nozzle of 20, 14 being conductive but not made of the foil of the chamber at 19).
With respect to claim 11, Noakes discloses the inner part of the chamber wall i.e. the part that makes contact with the fluid is conductive (chamber 14 being conductive, column 4 rows 45-55), and extends from the wall comprising the aperture (taken as the outlet aperture) and the chamber comprises and non-conductive outer surface (the outer surface of 14 being that of the body, which is insulating plastic, column 2 rows 52-56).
With respect to claim 12, Noakes discloses 1wherein said movable conducting member is in the form of a pin (see figure 2b and 3, 32 shown to be a pin, understood as a pin contact).
With respect to claim 13, Noakes discloses said pin is tensioned whereby once the pin is released the tension forces the pin into the chamber or aperture (via tension spring 29 pushing it against 14, see figure 3).
With respect to claim 14, Noakes discloses said chamber is in the form of a cartridge for use in a dispensing device (figures 1-3, where 14 is a container (cartridge) comprising the fluid within is then discharged).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Noakes discloses a fluid, but fails to disclose wherein the fluid is selected from any range of aqueous suspensions, emulsions or solutions, that are electrically conductive and ideally viscous, where the degree of viscosity is inversely related to its conductivity, wherein the fluid is selected from the group comprising: collagen, gelatin, poly(caprolactone) (PCL), polycarbonate (PC),polyethylene terephthalate (PET), poly(etherehterketone) (PEEK), Poly(vinyl chloride) (PVC) and polyurethane (PU), Poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO/PEG), poly(vinylpyrrolidone) (PVP), poly(acrylic acid) (PAA) and poly(acrylamide) (PAM), cellulose, cellulose acetate, ethyl cellulose, chitin, chitosan, fibroin, dextran and sodium alginate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize one of the noted claimed fluids being; collagen, gelatin, poly(caprolactone) (PCL), polycarbonate (PC),polyethylene terephthalate (PET), poly(etherehterketone) (PEEK), Poly(vinyl chloride) (PVC) and polyurethane (PU), Poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) poly(ethylene oxide) (PEO/PEG), poly(vinylpyrrolidone) (PVP), poly(acrylic acid) (PAA) and poly(acrylamide) (PAM), cellulose, cellulose acetate, ethyl cellulose, chitin, chitosan, fibroin, dextran and sodium alginate, in the system of Noakes, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (in this case the material being sprayed) on the basis of is suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
With respect to claim 18, Noakes in the above rejection of claims 1 and 12-13 discloses a kit of parts comprising: at least one cartridge comprising a chamber for housing a fluid to be electro spun or electro sprayed, said chamber comprising: a. a non-conductive outlet through which said fluid is dispensed; and b. an associated drive mechanism for ensuring said fluid is moved towards said outlet; characterized in that, said chamber also includes at least one electrically conducting member situated in and/or about said fluid in said chamber or at least one movable electrically conducting member that can be positioned in said fluid in said chamber when the fluid is to be charged; and a dispensing device comprising a tensioned pin, wherein said device is adapted to accommodate the at least one cartridge whereby once the pin is released the tension of the spring forces the pin into the chamber or into contact with the conductive member thereby charging the fluid.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noakes in view of Huang (U.S. 2013/0319599).
With respect to claim 3, Noakes discloses a drive mechanism, but fails to disclose said drive mechanism is in the form of a plunger sized and shaped to slide in said chamber.
Huang, paragraph 0033, discloses the use of a plunger to move a liquid through the spraying/spinning apparatus as doing so allows for the liquid to move through the orifice at a controllable flow rate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plunger as disclosed by Huang into a system such as Noakes, as this would provide means for a controllable and metered flow rate of the fluid out of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose said wall is provided by at least two apertured and aligned sheets whereby the aperture in each sheet sits next to the aperture in an adjacent sheet. With regards to claim 10, the sheet is being taken as part of the chamber and would thus be conductive and thus the “chamber and the nozzle is non-conductive and the sheet is part conductive” overcomes the prior art further limiting that of claims 1 and 9 from which it depends
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The Amendment filed (06/09/2026) has been entered. Currently claims 1-4 and 6-19 are pending, claim 5 is cancelled, and claims 1, 7-9, and 17-19 are amended. Applicants’ amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Office Action dated (06/09/2026).
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ amendment of claim 5 into claim 1 and a limitation of claim 7 did not include all of the indicated allowable subject matter of claim 7. Specifically claim requires “apertured and aligned sheets whereby the aperture in each sheet sits next to the aperture in an adjacent sheet” is not found in the prior art. A singular sheet of wall can be understood as the wall itself with a hole therein in which the electrode moves, as the claim language in claim 1 “said wall is provided by at least one apertured and aligned sheet” reads on the wall itself having a sheet with an aperture (being the sheet of the wall itself). Examiner suggests clarifying either amending in claim 7, or clarifying that the chamber itself has a wall that is separate from the wall with the aperture being the aligned sheet with the at least one aperture.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752