DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, encompassed by claims 1-2, drawn to compounds of formula (I), in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant has not pointed to any errors in Examiner’s analysis of the different inventions. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Therefore, claims 1-3 are currently pending and claims 1-2 are presently under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 International Application of PCT/JP2022/016405, filed 3/31/2022, which claims priority to Japanese Patent Application No. JP-2021-085967, filed 5/21/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 11/02/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. All references have been considered except where marked with a strikethrough. A signed copy of Form 1449 is included with this Office Action.
Specification
The Applicant is reminded of the content of the Specification, which includes:
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
The specification is objected to because it lacks a section that cross-references to related applications.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: for chemical patent abstracts, in addition to the general nature of the compound or composition, the use should be given as well. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the bracketed term “[Chem. 1]” should be removed from the claim. The Examiner is unaware of its intended meaning or implication in the claim, especially since the compound of formula (I) is already clearly labeled as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2 are rejected as vague and indefinite for the recitation of the term “(meth)allyl group-containing”. It is unclear whether Applicant are claiming a generalized “allyl” group, or a more specific “methallyl” group. To overcome this rejection, Examiner recommends removal of the phrase “thioepoxy group and (meth)allyl group-containing” altogether so the claim simply reads, “A compound of formula (I) below…”, especially since it will be evident to a POSITA that the salient features of the claimed genus of compounds are allyl and thioepoxy functional groups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al. (US 6,680,007 B2, published January 20, 2004)(hereinafter, ‘Honda’) and Lü et al. (“Studies on Syntheses and Properties of Episulfide-Type Optical Resins with High Refractive Index”, published June 12, 2003)(hereinafter, ‘Lü).
Honda discloses the following species, Compound F, taught in Synthesis Example 6 (col 15-16):
The compound differs from instantly claimed compounds in that Compound F contains an oxygen-containing epoxide, instead of a sulfur containing thio-epoxide. This limitation is obvious over Lü.
Lü teaches the synthesis and properties of episfulfide-type optical resins with high refractive index. Lü teaches (Introduction, page 2426) that while optical resins have the advantages of light weight, excellent impact resistance, good processability, and dyeability compared with glasses, the refractive index of the normally used resins is lower than 1.60. Importantly, Lü specifically teaches:
Similar to epoxy resins, episulfide-type resins also possess the advantages of chemical resistance, small shrinkage, good heat resistance, and excellent mechanical properties. In addition, episulfide-type resins contain more sulfur elements, which can increase the refractive index of polymers. (emphasis added)
Indeed, Lü teaches (Table 1, page 2427) that two thio-epoxy compounds, BEPTES and ESDGEBA, have a “higher refractive index, in the range from 1.63 to 1.7” (Conclusion, Page 2430). Furthermore, Lü teaches the synthesis of BEPTES (Synthesis of BEPTES, page 2427), which employs the same synthetic protocol (thiourea, acetic anhydride, toluene, and methanol) as the instant application (Examples 1, 2, and 3; pages 12-15).
The instant application discloses that summary of the invention is “to provide a material which is useful as a macromonomer for heat-resistant resin materials, and moreover which is useful also as a highly refractive optical material that enables the resulting polymer to be made highly refractive” (emphasis added) (page 1, para [0004]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute sulfur with oxygen (as taught by Lü) into the epoxy groups of the compound of Honda, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the refractive index using a well-known replacement.
Thus, said claims are rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanaizumi et al. (US 9,840,484 B2, published December 12, 2017)(hereinafter, ‘Yanaizumi’) and Lü.
Yanaizumi discloses the following generic structure (col 21, claim 1), where the only difference between the reference disclosure and the instant application is the epoxide versus thio-epoxide, circled below:
Reference: Instant:
Both instant and reference application disclose that R1 is at least a trivalent or tetravalent C3-C20 hydrocarbon, R2 is hydrogen or methyl, and n is 3 or 4.
Yanaizumi further discloses (cols 5-7) numerous species that read on instant claims 1-2. One example, Compound B (cols 13-14) is shown below:
The compound differs from instantly claimed compounds in that the species of Yanaizumi contains an oxygen-containing epoxide, instead of a sulfur containing thio-epoxide. This limitation is obvious over Lü, where the teachings of Lü have been addressed in the previous 35 USC § 103 rejection and are being incorporated herein.
The instant application discloses that summary of the invention is “to provide a material which is useful as a macromonomer for heat-resistant resin materials, and moreover which is useful also as a highly refractive optical material that enables the resulting polymer to be made highly refractive” (emphasis added) (page 1, para [0004]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute sulfur with oxygen (as taught by Lü) into the epoxy groups of the compounds of Yanaizumi, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the refractive index using a well-known replacement.
Thus, said claims are rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,840,484 B2 in view of Lü.
Instant application claims the following genus:
Reference patent claims the following genus:
The difference between the instant application and reference patent is that the instant application is drawn to thio-epoxides, while the reference patent is drawn to epoxides.
The previous teachings of Lü (see first 35 USC § 103 rejection “unpatentable over Honda et al. and Lü et al.”) are being incorporated herein.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to substitute sulfur with oxygen (as taught by Lü) into the epoxy groups of the compounds of reference patent, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the refractive index using a well-known replacement.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/L.A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/SUSANNA MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624