DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 01/28/2026. The previous objections to the drawings and claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, and 5-20 remain pending for consideration.
This Office Action contains a New Grounds of Rejection. Since these new grounds of rejection did not result from an amendment to the claims, this Office Action is being made non-final to afford the Applicant the opportunity to respond to the new grounds of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the second inlet is higher than the second outlet, and a fluid path defined by the second loop of fluid conduits between the second outlet and the compressor includes a portion which is at least as high as the second inlet” in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a network of fluid conduits coupling: … the cold tank and the hot tank to locations in the vehicle to be heated or cooled using liquid from the cold tank and the hot tank” includes a typographical error and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- a network of fluid conduits coupling: … the cold tank and the hot tank to locations in the vehicle to be heated or cooled using liquids from the cold tank and the hot tank --
Claims 5-20 are also objected due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet” and “fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrases “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet” will be interpreted as -- wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to a fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet --
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the claims recite “configured to receive heat energy at the first heat exchanger, transfer heat energy from the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger and output heat energy at the second heat exchanger” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claims are confusing because it is not entirely clear if the received “heat energy” at the first heat exchanger is the same heat energy being transferred and outputted at the second heat exchanger or if Applicant is disclosing different heat energies. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the claims recite “a first loop of fluid conduits arranged to carry a first liquid from the first outlet of the third heat exchanger to the first heat exchanger via the expansion device, and then to the second inlet of the third heat exchanger” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claims seem to indicate that a “liquid” is leaving the first heat exchanger to flow to the second inlet of the third heat exchanger. However, referring to Fig. 2A of the drawings, the first heat exchanger HED2 is functioning as an evaporator. Therefore, it is unclear how a “liquid” and not a gas would be flowing out of the first heat exchanger to flow into the second inlet of the third heat exchanger. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the claims recite “a second loop of fluid conduits arranged to carry a second liquid from the second outlet of the third heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger via the compressor, and then to the first inlet of the third heat exchanger” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claims seem to indicate that a “liquid” and not a gas is leaving the third heat exchanger to flow to the compressor. Since liquid is nearly incompressible, it is unclear how a “liquid” would be leaving the third heat exchanger to flow into the compressor. More clarity is requested.
Claim 3 recites the limitations “fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet” and “fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrases “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet” will be interpreted as -- wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to a fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet --
Claim 7 recites the limitation “liquid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the ambient atmosphere” in lines 2-3 and “liquid” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “including a liquid to air heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the cold tank for transferring heat energy from the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle to liquid from the cold tank” will be interpreted as -- including a liquid to air heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the cold tank for transferring heat energy from an ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle to the liquid from the cold tank --
Claim 9 recites the limitation “liquid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “including a liquid to air heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the hot tank for transferring heat energy from liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle” will be interpreted as -- including a liquid to air heat exchanger fluidically coupled to the hot tank for transferring heat energy from the liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle --
Claim 10 recites the limitation “liquid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “wherein the liquid to air heat exchanger is also fluidically coupled to the hot tank for transferring heat energy from liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle” will be interpreted as -- wherein the liquid to air heat exchanger is also fluidically coupled to the hot tank for transferring heat energy from the liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle --
Claims 11-12 recite the limitation “liquid from the tanks” in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
For examination purposes the phrase “liquid from the tanks” will be interpreted as -- the liquids from the tanks --
Claim 13 recites the limitation “liquid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “wherein the system is arranged to supply liquid” will be interpreted as -- wherein the system is arranged to supply the liquid --
Claims 15-20 recite the limitation “the step” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the step” will be interpreted as -- a step --
Claims 4-6 and 14 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koberstein et al. (US 20180312034 A1, herein after referred to as Koberstein), in view of Dickson et al. (US 6463757 B1, herein after referred to as Dickson), and in further view of Yang et al. (CN112539578A, herein after referred to as Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Koberstein teaches a heating and cooling system (vehicle heating and cooling system 10 Fig. 1) for a vehicle (paragraph [0039]), comprising: a heat transfer assembly (primary loop 42 Fig. 2B) having a first heat exchanger (evaporator 40 Fig. 2B) and a second heat exchanger (condenser 36 Fig. 2B) and configured to receive heat energy at the first heat exchanger (paragraph [0042]), transfer heat energy from the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger (the heat absorbed in evaporator 40 Fig. 2B is carried by the refrigerant to condenser 36 Fig. 2B) and output heat energy at the second heat exchanger (paragraph [0040]), and a liquid coolant distribution system (secondary loop 14 Fig. 1) comprising: a cold tank (second reservoir 74 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0054]) for a first liquid reservoir (disclosed “cold coolant reservoir” in paragraph [0054]); a hot tank (first reservoir 68 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0051]) for a second liquid reservoir (disclosed “hot coolant reservoir” in paragraph [0051]); and a network of fluid conduits (Fig. 1) coupling: the cold tank to the first heat exchanger (Fig. 1), the hot tank to the second heat exchanger (Fig. 1), and the cold tank and the hot tank to locations in the vehicle (disclosed “passenger compartment” in paragraph [0053] and compartment 106 Fig. 3) to be heated or cooled using liquids from the cold tank or the hot tank (Figs. 3-4), wherein the heat transfer assembly includes: a third heat exchanger (internal heat exchanger 44 Fig. 2B) having a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), a second inlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), a first outlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), and a second outlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), an expansion device (expansion device 38 Fig. 2B); a compressor (compressor 34 Fig. 2B); a first loop of fluid conduits (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein) arranged to carry a first liquid (corresponds to the fluid leaving internal heat exchanger 44 to flow to expansion device 38 Fig. 2B) from the first outlet of the third heat exchanger to the first heat exchanger via the expansion device (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), and then to the second inlet of the third heat exchanger (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein); and a second loop of fluid conduits (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein) arranged to carry a second liquid (corresponds to the fluid leaving internal heat exchanger 44 to flow to the compressor Fig. 2B) from the second outlet of the third heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger via the compressor (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), and then to the first inlet of the third heat exchanger (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein).
Koberstein teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to a fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet”.
However, Dickson teaches wherein a third heat exchanger (accumulator 10 Fig. 1 corresponds to the third heat exchanger of Koberstein) is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid (Col. 2 lines 14-18) flowing from a first inlet (inlet 232 Fig. 8) to a first outlet (outlet 234 Fig. 8) to a fluid flowing (Col. 2 lines 14-18) from a second inlet (inlet 228 Fig. 8) to a second outlet (outlet 230 Fig. 8) to provide an internal heat exchanger that ensures that the refrigerant gas flow reaching the compressor does not contain any liquid refrigerant (Col. 3 lines 46-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Koberstein to include “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to a fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet” in view of the teachings of Dickson to provide an internal heat exchanger that ensures that the refrigerant gas flow reaching the compressor does not contain any liquid refrigerant.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the first inlet is higher than the first outlet”.
However, Yang teaches wherein a third heat exchanger (the device illustrated in Fig. 1 corresponds to the third heat exchanger of Koberstein) is arranged such that a first inlet (the inlet of high-pressure liquid supply pipe 1 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first inlet of Koberstein) is higher than a first outlet (Fig. 1 where the outlet of evaporator liquid supply pipe 7 corresponds to the first outlet of Koberstein) to prevent the gas refrigerant from entering the evaporator dampening heat transfer (paragraph [11]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the first inlet is higher than the first outlet” in view of the teachings of Yang to prevent the gas refrigerant from entering the evaporator dampening heat transfer.
Regarding claim 3, Koberstein teaches a heat transfer assembly (primary loop 42 Fig. 2B) comprising: a first heat exchanger (evaporator 40 Fig. 2B) and a second heat exchanger (condenser 36 Fig. 2B), wherein the heat transfer assembly is configured to receive heat energy at the first heat exchanger (paragraph [0042]), transfer heat energy from the first heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger (the heat absorbed in evaporator 40 Fig. 2B is carried by the refrigerant to condenser 36 Fig. 2B) and output heat energy at the second heat exchanger (paragraph [0040]); a third heat exchanger (internal heat exchanger 44 Fig. 2B) having a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), a second inlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), a first outlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), and a second outlet (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), an expansion device (expansion device 38 Fig. 2B); a compressor (compressor 34 Fig. 2B); a first loop of fluid conduits (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein) arranged to carry a first liquid (corresponds to the fluid leaving internal heat exchanger 44 to flow to expansion device 38 Fig. 2B) from the first outlet of the third heat exchanger to the first heat exchanger via the expansion device (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), and then to the second inlet of the third heat exchanger (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein); and a second loop of fluid conduits (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein) arranged to carry a second liquid (corresponds to the fluid leaving internal heat exchanger 44 to flow to the compressor Fig. 2B) from the second outlet of the third heat exchanger to the second heat exchanger via the compressor (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein), and then to the first inlet of the third heat exchanger (see below annotated Fig. 2B of Koberstein)
Koberstein teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to a fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet”.
However, Dickson teaches wherein a third heat exchanger (accumulator 10 Fig. 1 corresponds to the third heat exchanger of Koberstein) is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid (Col. 2 lines 14-18) flowing from a first inlet (inlet 232 Fig. 8) to a first outlet (outlet 234 Fig. 8) to a fluid flowing (Col. 2 lines 14-18) from a second inlet (inlet 228 Fig. 8) to a second outlet (outlet 230 Fig. 8) to provide an internal heat exchanger that ensures that the refrigerant gas flow reaching the compressor does not contain any liquid refrigerant (Col. 3 lines 46-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Koberstein to include “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged to transfer heat energy from a fluid flowing from the first inlet to the first outlet to a fluid flowing from the second inlet to the second outlet” in view of the teachings of Dickson to provide an internal heat exchanger that ensures that the refrigerant gas flow reaching the compressor does not contain any liquid refrigerant.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the first inlet is higher than the first outlet”.
However, Yang teaches wherein a third heat exchanger (the device illustrated in Fig. 1 corresponds to the third heat exchanger of Koberstein) is arranged such that a first inlet (the inlet of high-pressure liquid supply pipe 1 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first inlet of Koberstein) is higher than a first outlet (Fig. 1 where the outlet of evaporator liquid supply pipe 7 corresponds to the first outlet of Koberstein) to prevent the gas refrigerant from entering the evaporator dampening heat transfer (paragraph [11]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the first inlet is higher than the first outlet” in view of the teachings of Yang to prevent the gas refrigerant from entering the evaporator dampening heat transfer.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the second inlet (the inlet of evaporator return gas pipe 8 Fig. 1 of Yang corresponds to the second inlet of Koberstein) is lower than the second outlet (Fig. 1 of Yang where the outlet of compressor suction pipe 13 corresponds to the second outlet of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the third heat exchanger is arranged such that the second inlet is higher than the second outlet (Fig. 8 of Dickson), and a fluid path (the fluid path defined by compressor suction pipe 13 Fig. 1 of Yang) defined by the second loop of fluid conduits (the refrigerant lines that would connect compressor suction pipe 13 to liquid supply pipe 1 of Yang to complete the refrigeration circuit corresponds to the second loop of fluids of Koberstein) between the second outlet (Fig. 1 of Yang where the outlet of compressor suction pipe 13 corresponds to the second outlet of Koberstein) and the compressor (the disclosed “compressor” in paragraph [9] of Yang corresponds to the compressor of Koberstein) includes a portion (the entirety of compressor suction pipe 13 Fig. 1 of Yang) which is at least as high as the second inlet (Fig. 1 of Yang).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach including a liquid to air heat exchanger (outside air-to-coolant heat exchanger 62 Fig. 2B of Koberstein) fluidically coupled to the cold tank (Fig. 4 of Koberstein) for transferring heat energy from an ambient atmosphere (paragraph [0058] of Koberstein where the disclosed “outside air corresponds to the ambient atmosphere) outside the vehicle to the liquid from the cold tank (paragraph [0058] of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach including a liquid to air heat exchanger (outside air-to-coolant heat exchanger 62 Fig. 2B of Koberstein) fluidically coupled to the hot tank (Fig. 3 of Koberstein) for transferring heat energy from the liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle (paragraphs [0049] to [0050] of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the liquid to air heat exchanger is also fluidically coupled to the hot tank for transferring heat energy from the liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle (Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049] to [0050] of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein the cold tank and the hot tank are fluidically coupled to a liquid to air heat exchanger (first and second passenger compartment air-to-coolant heat exchangers 64, 66 Figs. 3-4 of Koberstein) for exchanging heat energy between the liquids from the tanks and air (paragraphs [0053] and [0060] with Figs. 3-4 of Koberstein) to be fed to interior regions of the vehicle (disclosed “passenger compartment” in paragraph [0053]) to be occupied by users of the vehicle (paragraph [0053] of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein the cold tank and the hot tank are fluidically coupled to a liquid to air heat exchanger (referring to paragraph [0057] of Koberstein, a person skilled in the art would recognized that component 102 is associated with a heat exchanger to cool component 102) for exchanging heat energy between the liquids from the tanks and air to be fed to an interior region of the vehicle (paragraph [0057] and Figs. 4-5 of Koberstein where the location of component 102 corresponds to an interior region of the vehicle) for holding a battery (paragraph [0055] of Koberstein) for powering the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach a method of operating the system (corresponds to the method described in paragraphs [0040] and [0042] of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy from the cold tank to the hot tank via the heat transfer assembly (paragraphs [0040] and [0042] of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach a method of operating the system (the method described in paragraph [0058] of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy from the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle to liquid which is fed to the cold tank (paragraph [0058] of Koberstein) via a liquid to air heat exchanger (outside air-to-coolant heat exchanger 62 Fig. 3 of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach a method of operating the system (the method described in paragraphs [0049] to [0050] of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy from liquid from the hot tank to the ambient atmosphere outside the vehicle (paragraphs [0049] to [0050] of Koberstein) via a liquid to air heat exchanger (outside air-to-coolant heat exchanger 62 Fig. 4 of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach a method of operating the system (the method described in paragraphs [0053] to [0054] of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy from a location in the vehicle (paragraphs [0053] to [0054] of Koberstein where the disclosed “passenger compartment” corresponds to the location in the vehicle) to the cold tank (paragraphs [0053] to [0054] and Fig. 3 of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach a method of operating the system (the method described in paragraphs [0060] to [0061] of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy between a location in the vehicle (paragraphs [0060] to [0061] of Koberstein where the disclosed “passenger compartment” corresponds to the location in the vehicle) and the hot tank (paragraphs [0053] to [0054] and Fig. 4 of Koberstein).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach a method of operating the system (the method described in paragraph [0057] of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy from an interior region of the vehicle (paragraph [0057] of Koberstein where compartment 106 Fig. 4 corresponds to the interior region of the vehicle) for holding a battery (component 102 Fig. 4 and paragraph [0055] of Koberstein) for powering the vehicle to the cold tank (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0057] of Koberstein) or a step of transferring heat energy from the hot tank to the interior region (paragraph [0065] and Fig. 5 of Koberstein).
Claims 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koberstein, Dickson, and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harper at al. (US 20200376920 A1, herein after referred to as Harper).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “including a tank level adjustment conduit coupled between the cold tank and the hot tank for carrying liquid between the cold tank and the hot tank”.
However, Harper teaches a tank level adjustment conduit (corresponds to the conduit that connects control valves 32 and 34 Fig. 4) coupled between a cold tank (expansion tank 60A Fig. 4 corresponds to the cold tank of Koberstein) and a hot tank (expansion tank 60B Fig. 4 corresponds to the hot tank of Koberstein) for carrying liquid (disclosed “coolant” in paragraph [0021]) between the cold tank and the hot tank (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0037]) to provide different cooling modes (paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “including a tank level adjustment conduit coupled between the cold tank and the hot tank for carrying liquid between the cold tank and the hot tank” in view of the teachings of Harper to provide different cooling modes.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the system is arranged to supply the liquid for cooling a vehicle drive motor from the cold tank or the hot tank, or from the cold tank and the hot tank”.
However, Harper teaches wherein a system (temperature regulation system 100 Fig. 4 corresponds to the system of Koberstein) is arranged to supply a liquid (paragraphs [0037] to [0038] where the disclosed “coolant” corresponds to the liquid) for cooling a vehicle drive motor (power electronics 30 Fig. 4 with paragraphs [0038] and [0055]) from a cold tank (expansion tank 60A Fig. 4 corresponds to the cold tank of Koberstein) or a hot tank (expansion tank 60B Fig. 4 corresponds to the hot tank of Koberstein) to quickly cool the motor during steep climb or in very hot ambient temperatures (paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the system is arranged to supply the liquid for cooling a vehicle drive motor from the cold tank or the hot tank, or from the cold tank and the hot tank” in view of the teachings of Harper to quickly cool the motor during steep climb or in very hot ambient temperatures.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “a method of operating the system comprising a step of transferring heat energy from a vehicle drive motor to the cold tank or the hot tank”.
However, Harper teaches a method of operating a system (the method illustrated in Fig. 4 where temperature regulation system 100 Fig. 4 corresponds to the system of Koberstein) comprising a step of transferring heat energy (paragraphs [0038] and [0055]) from a vehicle drive motor (power electronics 30 Fig. 4) to a cold tank (expansion tank 60A Fig. 4 corresponds to the cold tank of Koberstein) or a hot tank (expansion tank 60B Fig. 4 corresponds to the hot tank of Koberstein) to quickly cool the motor during steep climb or in very hot ambient temperatures (paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a method of operating the system comprising a step of transferring heat energy from a vehicle drive motor to the cold tank or the hot tank” in view of the teachings of Harper to quickly cool the motor during steep climb or in very hot ambient temperatures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763