DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11 and 14-20 remain pending. Claims 11 and 20 have been amended. Claim 13 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason et al (US 20160132059 A1) in view of Himane et al (US 11915097 B1), Taylor et al (US 20200376671 A1), and Lu (US 20190156122 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Mason, Himane, Taylor, and Lu respectively)
Regarding Claims 11 and 20, Mason discloses a robot device (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0073-0075, the first robotic device is interpreted as the robot device), a method for determining an interaction machine position of at least one element of a predetermined interaction machine with respect to a robot device (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0003, 0096, and Figure 4), comprising:
an optical detection device configured to detect…a surrounding area image of an area surrounding the robot device (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0094, 0100, and 0102, the camera is interpreted as the optical detection device); and
a control device (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0003, 0039, and Figure 1b, the control system is interpreted as the control device) in which a predetermined reference marking and a predetermined reference position of the reference marking with respect to at least one element of an interaction machine are stored (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0035, 0096, 0098, and 0109-0110, the predetermined reference marking/tag is stored in a database and the position of the tag/marker with respect to an element/component of an interaction machine/second robotic device, which includes vehicles, is also stored in the database), wherein the control device is configured to:
detect…an image detail that shows the reference marking of the interaction machine in the surrounding area image of the area surrounding the robot device (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0094, 0100, and 0102, the image with the reference marking/tag is detected),
detect the predetermined reference marking in the image detail (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0094, 0100, and 0102, the reference marking/tag is detected in the image),
determine…a distortion of the predetermined reference marking in the image detail (See at least Mason Paragraph 0096, the difference in apparent position of the tag/marking is interpreted as a distortion),
determine a spatial position of the reference marking with respect to the robot device from the distortion of the reference marking (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0096-0098, the relative positioning of the marking/tag with respect to the first robotic device is determined from the distortion/difference in apparent position),
determine an interaction machine position of at least one element of the interaction machine with respect to the robot device from the spatial position of the reference marking with respect to the robot device and the reference position of the reference marking with respect to the at least one element of the interaction machine (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0093, 0096-0098 and 0108, the relative positioning between elements/components of the interaction machine/second robotic device and the first robotic device are determined from the spatial position of the marking/tag and the position of the marking/tag with respect to the element/component of the interaction machine/second robotic device), and
subject the robot device to closed-loop control and/or open-loop control for performing a predetermined interaction with the at least one element of the interaction machine in the interaction machine position (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0080, 0091-0093, 0101, and 0103, the robot is subject to closed loop control by using feedback regarding relative positioning for performing a collaborative operation/predetermined interaction with the interaction machine/second robotic device).
Even though Mason teaches detecting a surrounding area image of an area, detecting an image detail that shows the reference marking, and determining a distortion of the predetermined reference marking, Mason fails to disclose detecting a surrounding area image of an area…with machine learning methods,
detecting an image detail that shows the reference marking…using machine learning methods, and
determining a distortion of the predetermined reference marking…using machine learning methods.
However, Himane teaches detecting a surrounding area image of an area…with machine learning methods (See at least Himane Column 12 line 66-Column 13 line 20 and Figure 5, the machine learning method is used to detect a surrounding area of images of the physical environment),
detecting an image detail that shows the reference marking…using machine learning methods (See at least Himane Column 11 lines 3-25, Column 13 lines 4-38 and Figure 5, the machine learning method is used to detect details that show the reference marking/visual marker), and
determining a distortion of the predetermined reference marking…using machine learning methods (See at least Himane Column 13 lines 4-63, the machine learning method is used to rectify the visual marker and perform disparity-based estimation, which is interpreted as determining a distortion of the reference marking).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Mason with Himane to use machine learning methods to detect a surrounding area image of an area, detect an image detail that shows the reference marking, and determine a distortion of the predetermined reference marking. Himane teaches that machine learning methods are used for image analysis to detect and rectify visual markers in order to determine the position and orientation relative to the visual marker (See at least Himane Column 13 lines 4-63). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use machine learning methods to identify the image detail/marking since machine learning methods are commonly used for detecting and identifying image details/markers.
Modified Mason fails to disclose adapt one or more algorithms utilized in the machine learning methods based on performance of the robot device in the closed-loop control and/or open-loop control of the predetermined interaction with the at least one element of the interaction machine in the interaction machine position.
However, Taylor teaches adapt one or more algorithms utilized in the machine learning methods based on performance of the robot device in the closed-loop control and/or open-loop control of the predetermined interaction with the at least one element of the interaction machine in the interaction machine position (See at least Taylor Paragraphs 0091-0093, the robot assemblies software, which is interpreted as algorithms utilized in machine learning methods, is modified using artificial intelligence based on performance of the robot device during closed loop control using sensor feedback of the predetermined interaction with the element of the interaction machine/vehicle in the interaction machine/vehicle position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Mason with Taylor to adapt one or more algorithms utilized in the machine learning methods based on performance of the robot device in the closed-loop control of the predetermined interaction with the at least one element of the interaction machine. This modification, as taught by Taylor, would allow the robot to modify its future performance of tasks based on previous performance of the same or similar tasks by the same robot (See at least Taylor Paragraph 0093), which would improve the performance of the robot.
Even though Himane teaches using machine learning methods for detecting image details, modified Mason fails to disclose the machine learning methods comprises both symbolic machine learning and subsymbolic machine learning, where the subsymbolic machine learning utilizes a neural network.
However, Lu teaches machine learning methods comprises both symbolic machine learning and subsymbolic machine learning, where the subsymbolic machine learning utilizes a neural network (See at least Lu Paragraphs 0036, 0052, and Figure 2, the machine learning model/method used for analyzing images and identifying objects comprises a combination of a neural network, and a decision tree/inductive logic programming, which are symbolic machine learning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Mason with Lu to have the machine learning methods comprise both symbolic machine learning and subsymbolic machine learning, where the subsymbolic machine learning utilizes a neural network. Using neural networks in combination with symbolic machine learning models, such as decision trees or inductive logic programming, to analyze images, as taught by Lu, is routine and well-understood in the art and allows the system to identify objects within the image with predictable results (See at least Lu Paragraphs 0036, 0052, and Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Mason teaches the reference marking is a barcode and/or an area code (See at least Mason Paragraph 0109, the marking is a barcode).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Mason teaches the predetermined interaction comprises: a transfer of a target object by the robot device to the interaction machine, and/or a transfer of the target object by the interaction machine to the robot device (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0103-0104, the robot device transfers the target object to the AGV/interaction machine).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Mason teaches the predetermined interaction comprises driving the robot device onto and/or into the interaction machine (See at least Mason Paragraphs 0035, 0072-0073 and Figures 1B, 3E, and 4, the robot device “318” is driven into truck “320”, which is interpreted as the interaction machine).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Mason teaches the robot device is configured as a forklift truck (See at least Mason Paragraph 0064 and Figure 2D).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Mason teaches the robot device is configured as a gripper robot or crane (See at least Mason Paragraph 0056 and Figure 2A, the robot device is a gripper robot).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason in view of Himane Taylor, and Lu, and in further view of Satat et al (US 20220168909 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Satat)
Regarding Claim 19, modified Mason fails to disclose the optical detection device comprises two cameras configured to:
generate the surrounding area image of the area surrounding the robot device from at least two partial images from the respective cameras, and
record the partial images from different perspectives.
However, Satat teaches the optical detection device comprises two cameras configured to:
generate the surrounding area image of the area surrounding the robot device from at least two partial images from the respective cameras (See at least Satat Paragraphs 0003, and 0105-0106, the robot has two cameras that generate the surrounding area image by combining the two partial images), and
record the partial images from different perspectives (See at least Satat Paragraphs 0079-0080 and Figure 5, the two cameras have different perspectives/field of view).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Mason with Satat to record partial images of the surrounding area of the robot from different perspectives from two cameras. This modification, as taught by Satat, would allow the system to generate a 360-degree panoramic image by combining the partial images taken from different perspectives (See at least Satat Paragraphs 0003, and 0105-0106), which would increase the field of view of the robot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the independent claims to include the limitation “the machine learning methods comprises both symbolic machine learning and subsymbolic machine learning, where the subsymbolic machine learning utilizes a neural network”. This limitation is taught by newly added reference Lu, which teaches using a combination of a neural network with symbolic machine learning like decision trees or inductive logic programming in order to analyze images and identify objects within the image. Therefore, the claims still stand rejected under 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESVINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657