DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 6/30/26.
Claim(s) 44-45, 47 & 48 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 29-35, 42, 44-50 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-32, 34-35, 42, 44-47, 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tao, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 20210345367A1.
As to claim 29, Tao teaches a method performed by a user equipment, UE, for determining a start position of a system information, SI, window to acquire a SI message in a wireless communication network, wherein one or more SI messages are scheduled using a first or a second list of scheduling information, the method comprising:
receiving, from a radio network node, an input parameter as a value in an information element, IE, or in a field in a message, to determine the start position of the SI window used for acquiring the SI message (Tao, page 5, paragraph 80; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0080] determine the start (or starting point) of the first time
window for each SI message as a slot with a number which corresponds to the position of the respective entry(ies). The sequence (e.g., order) in which the SI messages are referenced in the system information configuration determines the respective start of the first time window for each SI message);
if the SI message is scheduled using the first list of scheduling information, determining the start position of the SI window based on a location of the SI message in the first list of scheduling information (Tao, page 2, paragraph 24; page 5, paragraph 73-74; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0024] the availability and scheduling (e.g., mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request; [0074] the UE 110 may determine the location of the reoccurring at least one first time window by separately inferring the start of the time window and the length of the time window for each of the at least one SI messages. [0081] In a system information configuration which refers to (has an entry regarding) the SI message with periodicity of 8 radio frames, this determines the start of the respective time window at slot 0. And for the subsequent entries of SI messages with periodicity of 16 and 32 radio frames, this determines the start of the respective time window at slot 6 and slot 11 (the first slot of the subsequent radio frame)); and
if the SI message is scheduled using the second list of scheduling information, determining the start position of the SI window by taking the received input parameter into account, wherein the received input parameter is indicating the start position of the SI window used for acquiring the SI message (Tao, page 5, paragraph 73-74; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0074] the UE 110 may determine the location of the reoccurring at least one first time window by separately inferring the start of the time window and the length of the time window for each of the at least one SI messages. [0081] In a system information configuration which refers to (has an entry regarding) the SI message with periodicity of 8 radio frames, this determines the start of the respective time window at slot 0. And for the subsequent entries of SI messages with periodicity of 16 and 32 radio frames, this determines the start of the respective time window at slot 6 and slot 11 (the first slot of the subsequent radio frame)).
As to claim 30, Tao teaches the method as recited in claim 29, further comprising receiving, from the network, configuration indicating if the SI message is scheduled using the first or the second list of scheduling information (Tao, page 2, paragraph 24; i.e., [0024] the availability and scheduling (e.g., mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request).
As to claim 31, Tao teaches the method as recited in claim 29, wherein the received input parameter is a value configured at the radio network node (Tao, page 5, paragraph 80; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0080] determine the start (or starting point) of the first time window for each SI message as a slot with a number which corresponds to the position of the respective entry(ies). The sequence (e.g., order) in which the SI messages are referenced in the system information configuration determines the respective start of the first time window for each SI message).
As to claim 32, Tao teaches the method as recited in claim 29, wherein the start position is determined, in case the SI message is scheduled using the second list of scheduling information, based on an integer value, which integer value is based on said received input parameter and window length of the SI message (Tao, page 2, paragraph 24; i.e., [0024] the availability and scheduling (e.g., mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request).
As to claim 34, Tao teaches the method as recited in claim 29, wherein the received input parameter is indicated in an information element, IE, in which presence in said IE indicates a start position of the SI window (Tao, page 5, paragraph 80; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0080] determine the start (or starting point) of the first time window for each SI message as a slot with a number which corresponds to the position of the respective entry(ies). The sequence (e.g., order) in which the SI messages are referenced in the system information configuration determines the respective start of the first time window for each SI message).
As to claim 35, Tao teaches the method as recited in claim 29, wherein the received input parameter is indicated in a field in a message in which presence of said field indicates a start position of the SI window (Tao, page 5, paragraph 80; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0080] determine the start (or starting point) of the first time window for each SI message as a slot with a number which corresponds to the position of the respective entry(ies). The sequence (e.g., order) in which the SI messages are referenced in the system information configuration determines the respective start of the first time window for each SI message).
Claim(s) 42 is/are directed to a non-transitory claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 29. Therefore, claim(s) 42 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 29.
Claim(s) 44-47, 49-50 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 29-32, 34-35. Therefore, claim(s) 44-47, 49-50 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 29-32, 34-35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 & 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 20210345367A1 in view of Li, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20200344814A1.
As to claim 33, Tao teaches the method as recited in claim 32. But Tao failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the integer value is calculated by taking the received input parameter minus 1 and multiplying it with a value representing the window length of the SI window.
However, Li teaches the limitation wherein the integer value is calculated by taking the received input parameter minus 1 and multiplying it with a value representing the window length of the SI window (Li, page 4, paragraph 46 & 55; i.e.,
[0046] (ii) determine the integer value x=(n-1 )*w+k*g*l0, where w is the si-WindowLength, while g is SI request window for SI request, k=0 ... MaxSIGroup with k=0 corresponding to the first SI Group; [0055] (ii) determine the integer value x=(n-1 )*w+SI group gapl+ ... SI group gap k, where w is the siWindowLength, while g is SI request window for SI request,
SI group gap is the gap between two neighbor SI groups, and k is the gap numbers before this SI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Tao to substitute SIREQ from Li for CORESET from Tao to improve the demand for capacity and connectivity, and other aspects, such as energy consumption, device cost, spectral efficiency, and latency (Li, page 1, paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 48 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 33. Therefore, claim(s) 48 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 33.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed 6/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that: A) with respect to claims 29 & 44; Applicant submits, at least based on the foregoing, the claim language "the first list" and "the second list" that can determine the start position would be clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and also whether "the input parameter" identifies what is the start position would also be clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art; B) with respect to claims 29 & 44; Applicant respectfully submits that these portions of Tao fail to disclose or suggest the claimed features. There is no disclosure in Tao of “(1) a first list or a second list of scheduling information, and (2) "if the SI message is scheduled using the first list of scheduling information, determining the start position of the SI window based on a location of the SI message in the first list of scheduling information; and (3) if the SI message is scheduled using the second list of scheduling information, determining the start position of the SI window by taking the received input parameter into account, wherein the received input parameter is indicating the start position of the SI window used for acquiring the SI message" (page 13-14).
In response to A); The applicant' s argument(s) regarding to the Objection of claim(s) 29-35 & 44-50 under 35 U.S.C §101 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. The Objection has been withdrawn due to the Applicant's argument(s).
In response to B); Tao does teach the claimed limitation of “if the SI message is scheduled using the first list of scheduling information, determining the start position of the SI window based on a location of the SI message in the first list of scheduling information” (Tao, page 2, paragraph 24; i.e., [0024] the availability and scheduling (e.g., mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request); and “if the SI message is scheduled using the second list of scheduling information, determining the start position of the SI window by taking the received input parameter into account, wherein the received input parameter is indicating the start position of the SI window used for acquiring the SI message” (Tao, page 5, paragraph 73-74; page 6, paragraph 81 & 88; i.e., [0074] the UE 110 may determine the location of the reoccurring at least one first time window by separately inferring the start of the time window and the length of the time window for each of the at least one SI messages. [0081] In a system information configuration which refers to (has an entry regarding) the SI message with periodicity of 8 radio frames, this determines the start of the respective time window at slot 0. And for the subsequent entries of SI messages with periodicity of 16 and 32 radio frames, this determines the start of the respective time window at slot 6 and slot 11 (the first slot of the subsequent radio frame)). Moreover, Tao discloses the method of scheduling or mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand which clearly equating to determining the start position of the SI window. Furthermore, Tao discloses the method of determine the location of the reoccurring at least one first time window by separately inferring the start of the time window and the length of the time window for each of the at least one SI messages, which clearly equating to received input parameter is indicating the start position of the SI window. Therefore, Tao meets the claim limitation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Kim, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230142130 A1 discloses SI window starts slot and integer value.
Agiwal, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20200084704 A1 discloses SI window starts slot.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416