DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 Nov 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words in length. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 8 “Fig. 6” should likely read “Figs. 6(a), 6(b) and 6(c)”.
On page 9 “Fig. 12” should likely read “Figs. 12(a), 12(b) and 12(c)”.
On page 9 “Fig. 15” should likely read “Figs. 15(a), 15(b) and 15(c)”.
In ¶ 21, line 4 “the free end portion 32” should likely read “the free shaft portion 32”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 4 “the respective dome portions” should likely read “a respective dome portion of the dome portions”.
In Claim 1, line 12 “the communicating hole” should likely read “a communicating hole of the communicating holes”.
In Claim 5, line 8 “the other end side” should likely read “an other end side”.
In Claim 5, line 19 “a dome-shaped dome portion” should likely read “a second dome-shaped dome portion”.
In Claim 5, line 23 “an inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion” should likely read “the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion”.
In Claim 6, line 8 “the other end side” should likely read “an other end side”.
In Claim 6, line 20 “a dome-shaped dome portion” should likely read “a second dome-shaped dome portion”.
In Claim 7, line 8 “the other end side” should likely read “an other end side”.
In Claim 7, line 22 “a dome-shaped dome portion” should likely read “a second dome-shaped dome portion”.
In Claims 8-10, line 1 “a container” should likely read “the container”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “top portions” in line 4. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear what constitutes the top. Is it the apex of the dome shape? An upwards or upper portion? Or some other directional relationship? Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “a top portion” in lines 4 and 19. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear what constitutes the top. Is it the apex of the dome shape? An upwards or upper portion? Or some other directional relationship? Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “a top portion” in lines 4 and 20. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear what constitutes the top. Is it the apex of the dome shape? An upwards or upper portion? Or some other directional relationship? Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Claim 7 recites the limitations “a top portion” in lines 4 and 22. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear what constitutes the top. Is it the apex of the dome shape? An upwards or upper portion? Or some other directional relationship? Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakaguchi et al (US 20080142523).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakaguchi et al disclose a container (Figure 4 generally). The container comprising:
a container main unit (see Annotated Figure A) that includes a cylindrical base portion (see Annotated Figure A), dome portions (see Annotated Figure A) that have a dome-like shape (¶ 72 disclose a dome form) and are provided at both ends of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and a tubular first ferrule portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a tubular second ferrule portion (see Annotated Figure A) that have communicating holes (Figure 4b into which 50 and 13 are inserted) formed at top portions of the respective dome portions (see Annotated Figure A) to connect inside and outside (Figure 4), and are formed along an axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A); and
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the container main unit (see Annotated Figure A), wherein the internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) includes a free shaft portion (12; ¶ 71) provided on one end side (to the left as seen in the orientation of Figure 4) along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and a fixed shaft portion (13; ¶ 71) provided on the other end side (to the right as seen in the orientation of Figure 4) along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A),
the free shaft portion (12) is supported on a side of the first ferrule portion (see Annotated Figure A) so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (¶ 71),
the fixed shaft portion (13) is secured and supported in the communicating hole in the second ferrule portion (see Annotated Figure A) via an engaging portion (the interaction of the outer surface of 13 that contacts 25 as seen in Figure 4b) formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (the interaction of the outer surface of 13 that contacts 25 as seen in Figure 4b), and
at least part of an inner peripheral surface of the communicating hole in the second ferrule portion (see Annotated Figure A and Figure 4b at the inner surface of 25) includes a plastically deformable portion (shown deformed in the transition from Figure 4a to Figure 4b) to be engaged with the engaging portion (Figure 4b).
Annotated Figure A
Regarding Claim 5, Sakaguchi et al disclose a method for manufacturing a container (Figures 3-4). The method comprising:
a main component preparing step of preparing a one-side processed container (Figure 3c) that includes a dome-shaped dome portion on one end side of a cylindrical base portion (with 22 on the left end of cylindrical base portion 21), and a tubular ferrule portion (23) that has a communicating hole formed at a top portion of the dome portion (Figure 3c through 23) and connecting inside and outside (Figure 3c), the tubular ferrule portion being formed along an axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and has a free shaft portion (12) provided on one end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a fixed shaft portion (13) provided on the other end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A);
an internal structure unit supporting step of supporting the internal structure unit at both ends by housing the internal structure unit in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a by 50 and 51), supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit on a side of the ferrule portion so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (¶ 71 at the left side at 50), and temporarily supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit (at 51; ¶ 84); and
a both-side processed container forming step (Figure 4b by 62) of forming a both-side processed container by performing a diameter reduction process on the base portion on an opposite side from a side on which the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container is formed (Figure 4b; ¶ 85), to form a dome-shaped dome portion that has, at a top portion, another tubular ferrule portion (25; see Annotated Figure A) for supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface (see Annotated Figure A), wherein the both-side processed container forming step includes plastically deforming at least part of an inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion (¶ 85 to contact 13), to engage and secure the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion with and to an engaging portion formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (¶ 85 where the engaging portion is the outside surface of 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi et al (US 20080142523) in view of Humphress et al (US 3438115).
Regarding Claim 2, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 2-11), where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34) formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Regarding Claim 3, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Regarding Claim 4, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where a plurality of the engaging portions is formed in an axial direction of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) where a plurality of the engaging portions is formed in an axial direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Regarding Claim 8, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 2-11), where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34) formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Regarding Claim 9, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Regarding Claim 10, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where a plurality of the engaging portions is formed in an axial direction of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) where a plurality of the engaging portions is formed in an axial direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Sakaguchi et al (US 20080142523).
Regarding Claim 6, Sakaguchi et al disclose a method for manufacturing a container (Figures 3-4). The method comprising:
a main component preparing step (Figure 3c) of preparing a one-side processed container that includes a dome-shaped dome portion on one end side of a cylindrical base portion (see Annotated Figure A; Figure 3c), and a tubular ferrule portion (the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A; 23) that has a communicating hole formed at a top portion of the dome portion and connecting inside and outside (Figure 3c through 23), the tubular ferrule portion being formed along an axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and has a free shaft portion (12) provided on one end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a fixed shaft portion (13) provided on the other end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A);
an internal structure unit supporting step (Figure 4a) of supporting the internal structure unit at both ends by housing the internal structure unit in the one-side processed container (at 51 on each end), and temporarily supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit (via plug 50);
a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit by performing a diameter reduction process (Figure 4a with 51 and deform by 62; ¶ 84); and
a both-side processed container forming step (Figure 4b) of forming a both-side processed container by performing a diameter reduction process on the base portion on an opposite side from a side on which the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container is formed (¶ 84), to form a dome-shaped dome portion that has, at a top portion, supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (of 12 in Figure 4b), wherein
the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming to engage and secure the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion with and to an engaging portion formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (the engaging portion being the outer surface of 13 shown in Figure 4b),
but fails to expressly disclose inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion, a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion, another tubular ferrule portion for supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion, the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion.
Since Sakaguchi et al disclose forming the fixed shaft portion in the another tubular ferrule portion (within 25 shown in Figure 4b) and the free shaft portion fixed in the ferrule portion (to the left at 23 in Figure 4 via 50), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to secure the fixed shaft portion to provide a stable connection between the internal structure unit and the container.
Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion and the free shaft portion for the advantage of it being "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success since the internal structure unit can only be inserted into the one-sided process container with either the free shaft portion end or fixed shaft portion end first, thereby there being a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore Sakaguchi et al, as modified results to form the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion would teach inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion (fixed end 13 into ferrule portion 23 seen in Figure 4), a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion (at 3c), another tubular ferrule portion (25) for supporting the free shaft portion (12 as modified to be located at portion 25) of the internal structure unit so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion (Figure 3c at 23).
Regarding Claim 7, Sakaguchi et al disclose a method for manufacturing a container (Figures 3-4). The method comprising:
a main component preparing step (Figure 3c) of preparing a one-side processed container that includes a dome-shaped dome portion on one end side of a cylindrical base portion (see Annotated Figure A; Figure 3c), and a tubular ferrule portion (the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A; 23) that has a communicating hole formed at a top portion of the dome portion and connecting inside and outside (Figure 3c through 23), the tubular ferrule portion being formed along an axis of the base portion (See Annotated Figure A),
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and has a free shaft portion (12) provided on one end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a fixed shaft portion (13) provided on the other end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and a holding plug (50) that is movable relative to the free shaft portion (to 12; Figure 4a);
an internal structure unit supporting step (Figure 4a) of supporting the internal structure unit at both ends by housing the internal structure unit in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and temporarily supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit (within 50);
a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit by performing a diameter reduction process (Figure 4a with 51 and deform by 62; ¶s 84-85); and
a holding plug (50) installing step of installing the holding plug in the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit in a relatively movable manner (Figure 4a); and
a both-side processed container forming step (Figure 4b) of forming a both-side processed container by performing a diameter reduction process on the base portion on an opposite side from a side on which the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container is formed (¶s 84-85), to form a dome-shaped dome portion that has, at a top portion, supporting the holding plug installed in the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface (of 12 in Figure 4b), wherein
the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming to engage and secure the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion with and to an engaging portion formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (the engaging portion being the outer surface of 13 shown in Figure 4b),
but fails to expressly disclose inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion,
a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion, another tubular ferrule portion for supporting the holding plug installed in the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface, the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion.
Since Sakaguchi et al disclose forming the fixed shaft portion in the another tubular ferrule portion (within 25 shown in Figure 4b) and the free shaft portion fixed in the ferrule portion (to the left at 23 in Figure 4 via 50), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to secure the fixed shaft portion to provide a stable connection between the internal structure unit and the container.
Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion and the free shaft portion for the advantage of it being "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success since the internal structure unit can only be inserted into the one-sided process container with either the free shaft portion end or fixed shaft portion end first, thereby there being a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore Sakaguchi et al, as modified results to form the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion would teach inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion (fixed end 13 into ferrule portion 23 seen in Figure 4), a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion (at 3c), another tubular ferrule portion (25) for supporting the holding plug installed in the free shaft portion (12 within 50 as modified to be located at portion 25) of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface (see Annotated Figure A), and the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion (Figure 3c at 23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-3217920-A is directed to a tank with an internal tank fixedly and freely connected
US-3513531-A is directed to tank insert connected with engaging portions
US-4038832-A is directed to a tank with an internal tank fixedly and freely connected
US-20040035870-A1 is directed to a method of forming a tank
US-6729170-B1 is directed to a method of forming a container
US-7326281-B2 is directed to a tank with an internal tank fixedly and freely connected
US-20170130900-A1 is directed to a tank with an internal tank fixedly and freely connected
US-20220373085-A1 is directed to a tank boss with engaging portions
US-20240102614-A1 is directed to a tank with internal structure and method of forming
US-12455045-B2 is directed to a tank with an internal tank fixedly and freely connected
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753