DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 5 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 5-7 and 10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and the specification overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 5 Dec 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi et al (US 20080142523) in view of Humphress et al (US 3438115) in further view of Campbell (US 20140191499).
Regarding Claim 5, Sakaguchi et al disclose a method for manufacturing a container (Figures 3-4). The method comprising:
a main component preparing step of preparing a one-side processed container (Figure 3c) that includes a dome-shaped dome portion on one end side of a cylindrical base portion (with 22 on the left end of cylindrical base portion 21), and a tubular ferrule portion (23) that has a communicating hole formed at a top portion of the dome portion (Figure 3c through 23) and connecting inside and outside (Figure 3c), the tubular ferrule portion being formed along an axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and has a free shaft portion (12) provided on one end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a fixed shaft portion (13) provided on an other end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A);
an internal structure unit supporting step of supporting the internal structure unit at both ends by housing the internal structure unit in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a by 50 and 51), supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit on a side of the ferrule portion so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (¶ 71 at the left side at 50), and temporarily supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit (at 51; ¶ 84); and
a both-side processed container forming step (Figure 4b by 62) of forming a both-side processed container by performing a diameter reduction process on the base portion on an opposite side from a side on which the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container is formed (Figure 4b; ¶ 85), to form a second dome-shaped dome portion that has, at an apex portion, another tubular ferrule portion (25; see Annotated Figure A) for supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface (see Annotated Figure A),
wherein the both-side processed container forming step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion (¶ 85 to contact 13) by performing the diameter reduction process on the base portion while rotating the base portion with a spinning processing (¶ 85 via the spinning step), to engage and secure the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion with and to an engaging portion formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (¶ 85 where the engaging portion is the outside surface of 13),
but fails to expressly disclose where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate that prevents stir of liquid in the container,
the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion, is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion, and has a first surface facing an opening of the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion, and
the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion.
Annotated Figure A - Sakaguchi
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 2-11), where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34) formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5) and where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34),
and has a first surface (see Annotated Figure B) facing an opening of the ferrule portion (as incorporated in Sakaguchi et al to the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A) of the one-side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion (as the second ferrule portion of Sakaguchi et al of Annotated Figure A), and
the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion (Col 3, lines 55-66 where the ferrule 12 is magnetically deformed to correspond to the shape of the fixed shaft portion shown in Figure 3 by the process of Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Annotated Figure B - Humphress et al
Campbell teaches a tank (10 generally Figure 14) with an internal structure unit (the inner portion that attaches the baffles 60 to the outer tank shown in Figure 14) where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate (60) that prevents stir of liquid in the container (¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal structure unit of Sakaguchi et al with the partition plate as taught by Campbell for the advantage of preventing sloshing, as taught by Campbell (¶ 64).
Regarding Claim 6, Sakaguchi et al disclose a method for manufacturing a container (Figures 3-4). The method comprising:
a main component preparing step (Figure 3c) of preparing a one-side processed container that includes a dome-shaped dome portion on one end side of a cylindrical base portion (see Annotated Figure A; Figure 3c), and a tubular ferrule portion (the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A; 23) that has a communicating hole formed at an apex portion of the dome portion and connecting inside and outside (Figure 3c through 23), the tubular ferrule portion being formed along an axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and has a free shaft portion (12) provided on one end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a fixed shaft portion (13) provided on an other end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A);
an internal structure unit supporting step (Figure 4a) of supporting the internal structure unit at both ends by housing the internal structure unit in the one-side processed container (at 51 on each end), and temporarily supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit (via plug 50);
a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit by performing a diameter reduction process (Figure 4a with 51 and deform by 62; ¶ 84); and
a both-side processed container forming step (Figure 4b) of forming a both-side processed container by performing a diameter reduction process on the base portion on an opposite side from a side on which the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container is formed (¶ 84), while rotating the base portion with a spinning processing (¶ 85 via the spinning step), to form a second dome-shaped dome portion that has, at an apex portion, supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (of 12 in Figure 4b), wherein
the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming by performing the diameter reduction process while rotating the base portion with a spinning processing (¶ 85 via the spinning step) to engage and secure the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion with and to an engaging portion formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (the engaging portion being the outer surface of 13 shown in Figure 4b),
but fails to expressly disclose inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion, a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion, another tubular ferrule portion for supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion, the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion,
where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate that prevents stir of liquid in the container
the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion, is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion, and has a first surface facing an opening of the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion, and
the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion.
Since Sakaguchi et al disclose forming the fixed shaft portion in the another tubular ferrule portion (within 25 shown in Figure 4b) and the free shaft portion fixed in the ferrule portion (to the left at 23 in Figure 4 via 50), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to secure the fixed shaft portion to provide a stable connection between the internal structure unit and the container.
Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion and the free shaft portion for the advantage of it being "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success since the internal structure unit can only be inserted into the one-sided process container with either the free shaft portion end or fixed shaft portion end first, thereby there being a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore Sakaguchi et al, as modified results to form the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion would teach inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion (fixed end 13 into ferrule portion 23 seen in Figure 4), a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion (at 3c), another tubular ferrule portion (25) for supporting the free shaft portion (12 as modified to be located at portion 25) of the internal structure unit so as to be movable along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion (Figure 3c at 23).
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 2-11), where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34) formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5) and where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34),
and has a first surface (see Annotated Figure B) facing an opening of the ferrule portion (as incorporated in Sakaguchi et al to the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A) of the one-side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion (as the second ferrule portion of Sakaguchi et al of Annotated Figure A), and
the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion (Col 3, lines 55-66 where the ferrule 12 is magnetically deformed to correspond to the shape of the fixed shaft portion shown in Figure 3 by the process of Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Campbell teaches a tank (10 generally Figure 14) with an internal structure unit (the inner portion that attaches the baffles 60 to the outer tank shown in Figure 14) where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate (60) that prevents stir of liquid in the container (¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal structure unit of Sakaguchi et al with the partition plate as taught by Campbell for the advantage of preventing sloshing, as taught by Campbell (¶ 64).
Regarding Claim 7, Sakaguchi et al disclose a method for manufacturing a container (Figures 3-4). The method comprising:
a main component preparing step (Figure 3c) of preparing a one-side processed container that includes a dome-shaped dome portion on one end side of a cylindrical base portion (see Annotated Figure A; Figure 3c), and a tubular ferrule portion (the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A; 23) that has a communicating hole formed at an apex portion of the dome portion and connecting inside and outside (Figure 3c through 23), the tubular ferrule portion being formed along an axis of the base portion (See Annotated Figure A),
an internal structure unit (see Annotated Figure A) that is housed in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and has a free shaft portion (12) provided on one end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A) and a fixed shaft portion (13) provided on an other end side along the axis of the base portion (see Annotated Figure A), and a holding plug (50) that is movable relative to the free shaft portion (to 12; Figure 4a);
an internal structure unit supporting step (Figure 4a) of supporting the internal structure unit at both ends by housing the internal structure unit in the one-side processed container (Figure 4a), and temporarily supporting the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit (within 50);
a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit by performing a diameter reduction process (Figure 4a with 51 and deform by 62; ¶s 84-85); and
a holding plug (50) installing step of installing the holding plug in the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit in a relatively movable manner (Figure 4a); and
a both-side processed container forming step (Figure 4b) of forming a both-side processed container by performing a diameter reduction process on the base portion on an opposite side from a side on which the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container is formed (¶s 84-85), while rotating the base portion with a spinning processing (¶ 85 via the spinning step) to form a second dome-shaped dome portion that has, at an apex portion, supporting the holding plug installed in the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface (of 12 in Figure 4b), wherein
the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming by performing the diameter reduction process while rotating the base portion with a spinning processing (¶ 85 via the spinning step) to engage and secure the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion with and to an engaging portion formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (the engaging portion being the outer surface of 13 shown in Figure 4b),
but fails to expressly disclose inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion,
a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion, another tubular ferrule portion for supporting the holding plug installed in the free shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface, the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion,
where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate that prevents stir of liquid in the container
the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion, is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion, and has a first surface facing an opening of the ferrule portion of the one-side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion, and
the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion.
Since Sakaguchi et al disclose forming the fixed shaft portion in the another tubular ferrule portion (within 25 shown in Figure 4b) and the free shaft portion fixed in the ferrule portion (to the left at 23 in Figure 4 via 50), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to secure the fixed shaft portion to provide a stable connection between the internal structure unit and the container.
Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the fixed shaft portion and the free shaft portion for the advantage of it being "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success since the internal structure unit can only be inserted into the one-sided process container with either the free shaft portion end or fixed shaft portion end first, thereby there being a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore Sakaguchi et al, as modified results to form the fixed shaft portion to be located within the ferrule portion and the free shaft portion to be within the another ferrule portion would teach inserting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit into the communicating hole in the ferrule portion (fixed end 13 into ferrule portion 23 seen in Figure 4), a fixed shaft portion securing step of securing and supporting the fixed shaft portion of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion by performing a diameter reduction process on the ferrule portion (at 3c), another tubular ferrule portion (25) for supporting the holding plug installed in the free shaft portion (12 within 50 as modified to be located at portion 25) of the internal structure unit with an inner peripheral surface (see Annotated Figure A), and the fixed shaft portion securing step includes plastically deforming at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the ferrule portion (Figure 3c at 23).
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) formed on a surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 2-11), where the engaging portion is one of a protruding member or a recessed member (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34) formed on the surface of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5) and where the engaging portion is formed in an annular shape in a circumferential direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34),
and has a first surface (see Annotated Figure B) facing an opening of the ferrule portion (as incorporated in Sakaguchi et al to the first ferrule portion of Annotated Figure A) of the one-side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion (as the second ferrule portion of Sakaguchi et al of Annotated Figure A), and
the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion (Col 3, lines 55-66 where the ferrule 12 is magnetically deformed to correspond to the shape of the fixed shaft portion shown in Figure 3 by the process of Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Campbell teaches a tank (10 generally Figure 14) with an internal structure unit (the inner portion that attaches the baffles 60 to the outer tank shown in Figure 14) where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate (60) that prevents stir of liquid in the container (¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal structure unit of Sakaguchi et al with the partition plate as taught by Campbell for the advantage of preventing sloshing, as taught by Campbell (¶ 64).
Regarding Claim 10, Sakaguchi et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where a plurality of the engaging portions is formed in an axial direction of the fixed shaft portion.
Humphress et al teach a tank (10) with a fixed shaft portion (14) secured and supported in the communicating hole (within 18 in Figure 1) in the second ferrule portion (formed by 18) via an engaging portion (shown in Figures 2-11 on the outer surface of 14) where a plurality of the engaging portions is formed in an axial direction of the fixed shaft portion (Figures 3-5 at least show annular ribs 30; Col 4, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed shaft portion of Sakaguchi et al with the engaging portions as taught by Humphress et al for the advantage of forming a secure mechanical joint, as taught by Humphress et al (Col 1, lines 36-38).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends Claims 5-7 to incorporate the limitation “wherein the internal structure unit includes a partition plate that prevents stir of liquid in the container”. As discussed above this limitation is taught by Campbell.
Campbell teaches a tank (10 generally Figure 14) with an internal structure unit (the inner portion that attaches the baffles 60 to the outer tank shown in Figure 14) where the internal structure unit includes a partition plate (60) that prevents stir of liquid in the container (¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal structure unit of Sakaguchi et al with the partition plate as taught by Campbell for the advantage of preventing sloshing, as taught by Campbell (¶ 64).
Next, Applicant amends Claims 5-7 to incorporate the limitations previously presented in Claims 8-9 along with newly added limitations where the engaging portion “has a first surface facing an opening of the ferrule portion of the one- side processed container and a second surface facing an opening of the another ferrule portion, and the at least part of the inner peripheral surface of the another ferrule portion is plastically deformed to engage with the first and second surfaces of the engaging portion” and argues that neither Sakaguchi et al nor Humphress et al teach these limitations.
Applicant argues that the structural differences between Humphress et al and Sakaguchi et al make the deformation method of Humphress et al unsuitable for the structure of Sakaguchi et al. However, Humphress et al teaches the engaging mechanical joint, which when incorporated into the system of Sakaguchi et al would be subject to the deformation as disclosed in Sakaguchi et al. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Next, Applicant argues that the apparatus of Sakaguchi et al would not function when joined by the deformation method of Humphress et al. However, Humphress et al teaches the engaging mechanical joint, which when incorporated into the system of Sakaguchi et al would be subject to the deformation as disclosed in Sakaguchi et al. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Further, Applicant argues that since the neck/ferrule of Sakaguchi et al is held by a clamping force, there is no need to modify to provide the structure of Humphress et al. However, Humphress et al teaches the engaging mechanical joint, which when incorporated into the system of Sakaguchi et al would be subject to the deformation as disclosed in Sakaguchi et al. Sakaguchi et al recognizing an advantage of the structure of the neck does not constitute a teaching away, as preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. Therefore, even if the preferred embodiment of Sakaguchi et al is a clamping hold, that does not constitute a teaching away from the structure taught by Humphress et al. Therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Last, Applicant amends Claims 5-7 to incorporate the limitation directed to performing a diameter reduction process by a spinning processing. These limitations are disclosed in Sakaguchi et al at ¶ 85. Additionally, Humphress et al teaches the engaging mechanical joint, which when incorporated into the system of Sakaguchi et al would be subject to the spinning processing deformation as disclosed in Sakaguchi et al. Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753