DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, as electronically retrieved 01/16/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2025, 01/31/2025, 01/26/2024 and 11/03/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “long rectangle” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long rectangle” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of expediting prosecution the Office is going to interpret the claim as referring to having a length longer than a square (see Fig. 5a).
Note: all dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (PG Pub 2020/0212131; hereinafter Kim) and Ochi et al. (PG Pub 2022/0190290; hereinafter Ochi).
Regarding claim 1, refer to Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig 6a provided above, Kim teaches a display panel (see claim limitations below) comprising a plurality of light-emitting areas (within groove-1) spaced apart from each other and a non-light-emitting area (area outside of the light emitting areas) between the light-emitting areas (see Fig. 8a), wherein the display panel comprises:
a substrate 210;
a pixel definition layer (B) disposed on the substrate, and comprising one or more first grooves (annotated “groove-1”) corresponding to the light-emitting areas and one or more second grooves (annotated “groove-2”) disposed in the non-light-emitting region (see Fig. 8a);
a light-emitting device layer (E) disposed on the pixel definition layer and the substrate (see Fig. 8a), comprising a light-emitting functional layer (EL) and a common functional layer (AE), wherein the light-emitting functional layer is located in the light-emitting areas and the common functional layer is located in the light-emitting areas and the non-light-emitting area (see Fig. 8a); and
an encapsulation layer 270 disposed on the light-emitting device layer;
wherein a protrusion (annotated “protrusion” in Fig. 8a) is provided at an opening of each of the second grooves (see Fig. 8a), the common functional layer is disconnected at the second grooves (see Fig. 8a), and a protruding distance of the protrusion is less than or equal to one tenth of a thickness of the first encapsulation sublayer.
Although, Kim teaches the first encapsulation is provided continuously at the second grooves and is on disposed on the light-emitting device layer, the light-emitting areas and the non-light-emitting area; he does not explicitly teach the encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation sublayer disposed on the light-emitting device layer, the first encapsulation sublayer being located in the light-emitting areas and the non-light-emitting area.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 5-provided above, Ochi teaches a display device 50a comprising: an encapsulation layer 28 (para [0065]) disposed on a light emitting device 25 (para [0025]) and comprising a first encapsulation layer sublayer 26 (para [0065]) disposed on the light-emitting device layer (see Fig. 4); wherein the first encapsulation sublayer being located in the light-emitting areas (between adjacent 22’s) and the non-light-emitting area ( outside of 25) (see Fig. 4).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the encapsulation layer of Kim comprise a multi-layered structure, as taught by Ochi, to prevent moisture from permeating within the device (para [0002]).
Note, with the first encapsulation sublayer of Ochi being directly below the first encapsulation layer of Kim the claimed limitation of the first encapsulation sublayer being continuous at the second grooves would be taught.
Regarding claim 2, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches an included angle (annotated Ɵ in Fig. 8a) between a sidewall (ex. left sidewall) and a bottom surface of each of the second grooves (“groove-2”) is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 3, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches one end of the protrusion (left end) is in contact with a sidewall at an opening of a corresponding second groove of the second grooves (protrusion extends from “groove-2” on the left die of E to the protrusion tip on the right-side groove-2), and another end of the protrusion extends toward inside of the corresponding second groove.
Regarding claim 4, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the protrusion (“protrusion”) has a first side surface (e.g. left sidewall) away from the substrate (210 (separated by at least 230,240,250), and the first side surface is aligned with a side surface of the pixel definition layer (portion of “B” abutting the protrusion sidewall) away from the substrate (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 5, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the protrusion (“protrusion”) has a second side surface (annotated “s2”) connected to one end of the first side surface (annotated “s1”) close to the inside of the corresponding second groove (“groove-2”), and an included angle between the second side surface and the first side surface is an obtuse angle.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the shape (i.e. angle of the first and second side) of the protrusion (ex. to be linear or acute) as a routine expedient.
Furthermore, according to MPEP § 2144(IV), where the facts in a prior legal decision are sufficiently similar to those in an application under examination, the examiner may use the rationale used by the court. Examples directed to various common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients are discussed below.” See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); and In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”).
Regarding claim 7, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the protruding distance of the protrusion (“protrusion”) is greater than or equal to one tenth of a thickness of the common functional layer (AE) (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 9, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches there are a plurality of second grooves (“groove-2”) provided between two adjacent light-emitting areas (E), and at least a portion of the second grooves are provided along an edge of one of the adjacent light-emitting areas (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 10, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the second grooves (“groove-2”) are curved grooves, corrugated grooves, or zigzag grooves (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 11, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches there are a plurality of second grooves (“groove-2”) arranged at intervals along a direction (horizontal direction) from a center of one of the light-emitting areas (e.g. center of left (E) toward a center of another of the light-emitting areas (e.g. right (E)).
Regarding claim 12, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the light-emitting areas (E) are each rectangular (see Fig. 8a) and are arranged at intervals in a first direction (horizontal direction) or a second direction, and the second grooves (“gorove-2”) are each long rectangle correspondingly extending in the first direction or the second direction (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 13, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches there are two second grooves (“gorove-2”) provided at intervals between the two adjacent light-emitting areas (E), the two second grooves are both long rectangles extending in the first direction (horizontal) (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 14, refer to Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig 6a provided above, Kim teaches a display device (see claim limitations below) wherein the display device comprises a display panel (see limitations below), the display panel comprising:
a substrate 210;
a pixel definition layer (B) disposed on the substrate, and comprising one or more first grooves (annotated “groove-1”) corresponding to the light-emitting areas and one or more second grooves (annotated “groove-2”) disposed in the non-light-emitting region (see Fig. 8a);
a light-emitting device layer (E) disposed on the pixel definition layer and the substrate (see Fig. 8a), comprising a light-emitting functional layer (EL) and a common functional layer (AE), wherein the light-emitting functional layer is located in the light-emitting areas and the common functional layer is located in the light-emitting areas and the non-light-emitting area (see Fig. 8a); and
an encapsulation layer 270 disposed on the light-emitting device layer;
wherein a protrusion (annotated “protrusion” in Fig. 8a) is provided at an opening of each of the second grooves (see Fig. 8a), the common functional layer is disconnected at the second grooves (see Fig. 8a), and a protruding distance of the protrusion is less than or equal to one tenth of a thickness of the first encapsulation sublayer.
Although, Kim teaches the first encapsulation is provided continuously at the second grooves and is on disposed on the light-emitting device layer, the light-emitting areas and the non-light-emitting area; he does not explicitly teach the encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation sublayer disposed on the light-emitting device layer, the first encapsulation sublayer being located in the light-emitting areas and the non-light-emitting area.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 5-provided above, Ochi teaches a display device 50a comprising: an encapsulation layer 28 (para [0065]) disposed on a light emitting device 25 (para [0025]) and comprising a first encapsulation layer sublayer 26 (para [0065]) disposed on the light-emitting device layer (see Fig. 4); wherein the first encapsulation sublayer being located in the light-emitting areas (between adjacent 22’s) and the non-light-emitting area ( outside of 25) (see Fig. 4).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the encapsulation layer of Kim comprise a multi-layered structure, as taught by Ochi, to prevent moisture from permeating within the device (para [0002]).
Note, with the first encapsulation sublayer of Ochi being directly below the first encapsulation layer of Kim the claimed limitation of the first encapsulation sublayer being continuous at the second grooves would be taught.
Regarding claim 15, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches an included angle (annotated Ɵ in Fig. 8a) between a sidewall (ex. left sidewall) and a bottom surface of each of the second grooves (“groove-2”) is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 16, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches one end of the protrusion (left end) is in contact with a sidewall at an opening of a corresponding second groove of the second grooves (protrusion extends from “groove-2” on the left die of E to the protrusion tip on the right-side groove-2), and another end of the protrusion extends toward inside of the corresponding second groove.
Regarding claim 17, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the protrusion (“protrusion”) has a first side surface (e.g. left sidewall) away from the substrate (210 (separated by at least 230,240,250), and the first side surface is aligned with a side surface of the pixel definition layer (portion of “B” abutting the protrusion sidewall) away from the substrate (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 18, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the protrusion (“protrusion”) has a second side surface (annotated “s2”) connected to one end of the first side surface (annotated “s1”) close to the inside of the corresponding second groove (“groove-2”), and an included angle between the second side surface and the first side surface is an obtuse angle.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to change the shape (i.e. angle of the first and second side) of the protrusion (ex. to be linear or acute) as a routine expedient.
Furthermore, according to MPEP § 2144(IV), where the facts in a prior legal decision are sufficiently similar to those in an application under examination, the examiner may use the rationale used by the court. Examples directed to various common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients are discussed below.” See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); and In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”).
Regarding claim 20, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Kim and Ochi, Kim teaches the protruding distance of the protrusion (“protrusion”) is greater than or equal to one tenth of a thickness of the common functional layer (AE) (see Fig. 8a).
Prior Art
2. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a. Tsai et al. (PG Pub 2019/0058020) teaches a display device.
b. Ko et al. (PG Pub 2025/0143123) teaches a display device.
c. Xie et al. (PG Pub 2022/0263048) teaches a display device.
d. Seong et al. (PG Pub 2020/0287157) teaches a display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 6, claim 8 and claim 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 6, the included angle between the sidewall and the bottom surface of each of the second grooves is greater than 90 degrees and less than 100 degrees, and a depth of each of the second groove is less than or equal to a maximum thickness of the pixel definition layer.
Claim 8 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 8, the
EL includes a first light-emitting sublayer and a second light-emitting sublayer, and the common functional layer AE includes a charge-generating layer disposed between the first light-emitting sublayer and the second light-emitting sublayer; and the charge-generating layer is disconnected at the second grooves.
Claim 19 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 19, the included angle between the sidewall and the bottom surface of each of the second grooves is greater than 90 degrees and less than 100 degrees, and a depth of each of the second groove is less than or equal to a maximum thickness of the pixel definition layer.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817