DETAILED ACTION
Priority as a 371 of PCT/SE2021/050440 filed 5/10/2021 is acknowledged.
Preliminary Amendment filed 11/6/2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 have been amended, claim 14 has been cancelled, and claims 15-21 have been newly added.
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 4 are directed to an apparatus/node that is configured to perform certain functionality of transmitting and receiving without any positively-recited limitations defining the structure or components making up the apparatus. Therefore, the claims are held to be indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed “computer storage medium” could be construed to include carrier mediums, i.e. transitory signals, that store a computer program, as described in paragraphs 54 and 90 of the application as originally filed. Adding “non-transitory” to the preamble would obviate the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US20190327065A1), hereafter Li.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 13,
Li (Title: Reference Signal Sending and Receiving Methods and Apparatus) discloses a method (Fig. 2) of operating a signaling radio node in a wireless communication network (Fig. 1; Background) and computer storage medium (Fig. 13, memory 1303) storing a computer program comprising instructions (paragraph 271) causing processing circuitry (Fig. 13, processor 1301) to control and perform a method of transmitting reference signaling (Fig. 2, step 202) having a pattern comprising, in a time domain, N blocks, each block comprising a plurality of symbols (Fig. 3, first reference signal over 4 symbols; second reference signal over 2 symbols), wherein for each symbol of a first block of the N blocks (Fig. 3, first reference signal), the reference signaling is transmitted having a first frequency domain distribution (Fig. 3, first reference signal in 30 kHz spaced sub-band), and for each symbol of a second block of the N blocks (Fig. 3, second reference signal), the reference signaling is transmitted having a second, different frequency domain distribution (Fig. 3, second reference signal in 15 kHz spaced subband).
Regarding claims 3 and 4,
Li discloses a method (Fig. 2) of operating a feedback radio node in a wireless communication network (Fig. 1; Background) configured to/for receiving reference signaling (Fig. 2, step 203) having a pattern comprising, in a time domain, N blocks, each block comprising a plurality of symbols (Fig. 3, first reference signal over 4 symbols; second reference signal over 2 symbols), wherein for each symbol of a first block of the N blocks (Fig. 3, first reference signal), the reference signaling is transmitted having a first frequency domain distribution (Fig. 3, first reference signal in 30 kHz spaced sub-band), and for each symbol of a second block of the N blocks (Fig. 3, second reference signal), the reference signaling is transmitted having a second, different frequency domain distribution (Fig. 3, second reference signal in 15 kHz spaced subband).
Regarding claims 5 and 15,
Li discloses the N blocks are pairwise neighbouring in time (Fig. 3; paragraph 206) or between a pair of blocks, there is inserted a guard period (paragraph 159).
Regarding claims 6 and 16,
Li discloses each of the N blocks comprise M symbols (Fig. 3; each of first/second reference signal across plurality of symbols).
Regarding claims 8 and 18,
Li discloses the reference signaling is CSI-RS (paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 9 and 19,
Li discloses the reference signaling for neighbouring blocks is transmitted having different frequency domain distributions (Fig. 3 as described above; first reference signal in 30 kHz spaced sub-band; second reference signal in 15 kHz spaced subband).
Regarding claim 12,
Li discloses one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution, and the frequency distributions are shifted relative to each other (i.e. offsets of each respective reference signal; Fig. 3; paragraph 28, 53, 158, 165, 172, 206-216, 225-226).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hajri et al. (US20230361842A1), hereafter Hajri.
Regarding claims 7 and 17,
Li does not expressly disclose the reference signaling of different blocks are associated to different transmission beams.
Hajri discloses analogous art including reference signaling of different blocks are associated to different transmission beams (Fig. 2A; paragraph 114; multiplexing CSI-RS symbols corresponding to different beams).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Li by including reference signaling of different blocks are associated to different transmission beams, as shown by Hajri, thereby enabling the UE to estimate the effective channel frequency response for each of multiple CSI-RS ports corresponding to different beams.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Xiao et al. (US20210359819A1), hereafter Xiao.
Regarding claims 10 and 20,
Li does not expressly show one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution and the frequency distributions associated to the blocks correspond to combs.
Xiao discloses analogous art (Title: Sounding Reference Signal Transmission and Reception) including one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution and the frequency distributions associated to the blocks correspond to combs (paragraph 41; OFDM symbols in SRS resource including transmission comb, comb offset and spatial relation between CSI-RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Li by providing one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution and the frequency distributions associated to the blocks correspond to combs, as shown by Xiao, thereby enabling semi-static configuration by higher layer parameter used for uplink timing estimation and downlink scheduling.
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Chatterjee et al. (US20210409173A1), hereafter Chatterjee.
Regarding claims 11 and 21,
Li does not expressly disclose one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution, and the frequency distributions are non-overlapping in frequency domain.
Chatterjee discloses analogous art (Title: Collision Handling of Reference Signals) including one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution, and the frequency distributions are non-overlapping in frequency domain (paragraph 196; PRBs used by the CSI-RS are non-overlapping with PRBs of the SS block).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Li by including one or more of the first frequency distribution, the second frequency distribution, and the frequency distributions are non-overlapping in frequency domain, as shown by Chatterjee, thereby supporting indication of the slot for CSI-RS transmission and the associated SS block.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477