DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 11/06/2023.
The Claims 16 and 20 have been canceled by the applicant.
Claim Objections
5. In accordance with MPEP 2111.04, the claim language of claim(s) 15 suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. Although these claims involve the ‘adapting to’ clause, the above reasoning for objection remains the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (U.S. Pub. 20170164386) in view of Lenzo et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO9926437), further in view of Szabo et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230345521).
Regarding claim 1 Fu disclose a method performed by a Radio Access Network, RAN, node for avoiding or mitigating cross-link interference in a Time Division Duplexing, TDD, system, the method comprising:
performing a baseline scheduling procedure for a plurality of wireless communication devices for a slot, wherein the plurality of wireless communication devices are assigned first scheduling weights during the baseline scheduling procedure that correspond to priorities of the wireless communication devices for scheduling during the slot para. 10, “determine a respective scheduling weight for the communication providing tethering and for its one or more tethered devices, and schedule the communication devices based on the determination”;
scheduling the plurality of wireless communication devices for the slot in accordance with the second scheduling weights para. 10, “determine a respective scheduling weight for the communication providing tethering and for its one or more tethered devices, and schedule the communication devices based on the determination”.
Fu does not specifically disclose, determining that the slot is a downlink slot that is preceding an uplink slot; responsive to determining that the slot is a downlink slot that is preceding an uplink slot. However, Lenzo teach, “For each active link, the allocated uplink time slot either precedes or follows the corresponding allocated downlink time slot”: see para. 36.
Fu and Lenzo does not specifically disclose, modifying the first scheduling weights for the plurality of wireless communication devices for the slot based on whether wireless communication devices from among the plurality of wireless communication devices are affected by cross-link interference to thereby provide second scheduling weights for the plurality of wireless communication devices for the slot. However, Szabo teach, “This interference takes into account how far the different UEs are located physically one from the other. The weight based scheduling scheme can select the UEs according to a weight function which includes components of all the above three factors. The first component of the weight function such as the quality of service, QoS weight”, see para. 66-67.
Fu, Lenzo and Szabo are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters to manage interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lenzo and Szabo in the system of Fu so the system can dynamically modify tis parameter related to changes on the quality of the communication channel and the interference produced by the terminals in the network. The motivation for doing so would have been to adapt the configuration of the assigned resources in order to mitigate the interference produced by terminals in the network.
Regarding claim 2 Fu and Lenzo does not specifically disclose, wherein the second scheduling weights are such that wireless communication devices that are affected by cross-link interference are not scheduled in the slot, which is a downlink slot that is preceding an uplink slot. However, Szabo teach “The advantage of the above-discussed solution is that the radio resource allocation can be adjusted on resource block level. This means that as much radio resources are used as really needed for each UE, in contrast to a dedicated allocation”, see para. 71.
Fu, Lenzo and Szabo are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters to manage interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Szabo in the system of Fu and Lenzo to be able to reallocate the radio resource for terminals being affected by interference. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication by assigning resources to terminals in the network with low levels of interference.
Regarding claim 14 Fu and Lenzo does not specifically disclose, wherein determining the set of wireless communication devices that are affected by cross-link interference comprises determining the set of wireless communication devices that are affected by cross-link interference based on, for each wireless communication device in the plurality of wireless communication devices para. 66, “A third factor can be the UE's interference impact on each other. This interference takes into account how far the different UEs are located physically one from the other. The weight based scheduling scheme can select the UEs according to a weight function which includes components of all the above three factors”:
one or more channel related statistics when the wireless communication device is assigned a downlink slot preceding an uplink slot; and one or more channel related statistics when the wireless communication device is assigned a downlink slot not preceding an uplink slot para. 66, “Selection of the uplink and downlink time slots for each link can be based, for example, on a channel selection process which determines the best link arrangement. Determination of the best link arrangement can in tarn be based, for example, on an assessment of adjacent-channel and/or co-channel interference existing at the time of call setup”.
Fu, Lenzo and Szabo are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters to manage interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Szabo in the system of Fu and Lenzo to be able to determine the quality of the communication channel based on several parameters to schedule the available resources accordingly. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the communication by assigning resources to terminals in the network with low levels of interference.
Claim 15 recites a system corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 17 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18 the limitations of claim 18 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Altrichter et al. (U.S. Pub. 20090254266) which disclose(s) apparatus of calculating a navigation route based on estimated energy consumption.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471